Rent Deus Ex: Invisible War for Xbox
view large frontback

Deus Ex: Invisible War

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.3

885 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good sequel

posted by FLOWDANGO (MORRISTOWN, NJ) Jun 30, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2007

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Deus Ex Invisible War is a fun single player game that has a god story and the great gameplay mechanics of the first one brought together by very nice graphics. The gameplay is largely the same where you the player can really decide on what paths to take and how to accomplish various tasks. The levels offer a lot of interactivity, and the game has nice physics to it. The game is a first person shooter that offers choices for run and gun play or the stealth calm route that i took and enjoyed completely.

The only problems with this game are the frame rate issues, the need for more content and freedom and the need for some side quests and missions along with places of exploration.

This title is worth playing for any gamer who was a fan of the original and for any fan of this genre. A very great title for anyone to try!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game, but not free-walking like Morrowind

posted by Starscream (ORLANDO, FL) May 1, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

What I mean is that this is a great game and has cool powers, Like heal, super speed, strength, cloak, hacking. But little problems, like you have to go to the location and can't go back. Anotherthing that I hate is this a short game.
About 8-10 hours during the time I was playing. Besides the lows points in the game that the high points are greater gameplay, graphics and voicing then the last Deus Ex. And towards the game the story gets better about who you can trust, your firends, faction, or anybody. You can choose who you want to work with towards the later hours of the game.So I think you should rent this game for the great story and fun areas.You birbe, kill, hack, or sneak to the next area to uncover about the conspiracy and your allegiance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The most under rated game ever

posted by Blimps (SOUTH LAKE TAHOE, CA) Apr 18, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

To start this game gets off slow and I dont know why but it seems that the game glitiches and breaks off in the begining. But as for the game it is just genious. The graphics are great for when the game came out and are still really good compaired to the newer games. This game is just still one of the best. The game play takes a hour or to, to get into and is best played in detail "take your time". The sound isnt anything special compaired to halo or fable but is still new and made fir the game. The game aslo has one of the greatest story lines I've ever played because of the multi factions that can be joined makeing it tons of fun and always keeping the player in it buy constantly switching it up. So even though this game isnt worth buying new anymore it's more then worth your time.

ps- not sure but the mass effect game may be the sequil and man is that game looking great " xbox 360"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Doesn't hold a candle to the original

posted by DarkScion1 (MANORVILLE, NY) Jun 30, 2007

Member since May 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Invisible War is the sequel to the award winning Deus Ex, which was released for PC, Mac, and PS2. To say the least, Invisible War had a lot of great ideas, but everything was poorly executed.

The game offers a lot of choice, which is a good thing. You can choose between which factions you want to side with, choose which path you want to take, or choose to be a guns blazing type or be stealthy and not kill anyone. That's probably the best thing about Invisible War.

The story isn't nearly as compelling, coherent, or engaging as the original Deus Ex. Inivisble War takes place after one of the possible endings from Deus Ex. People are out to kill you for some reason, but it doesn't really get explained, and different factions are trying to recruit you to kill other factions. The story is just confusing and not very clear on what's going on.

My main problem was the overall gameplay. Invisible War takes a giant step back to the days of Wolfenstein 3D where all the guns used one kind of ammo. Some guns use more ammo than others, so when you run out of ammo, you're screwed.

Skill points have been eliminated, which allowed you to increase different skills like computer, water breathing, healing etc.

The character animations are rigid and the environments are very cramped. The games graphics are very bland in color and the overall game world itself just looks and feels incomplete.

Deus Ex is a must play. Invisible War is not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I like the first one but this wasn't as good.

posted by jxsilicon9 (FORT POLK, LA) Feb 2, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was okay but somewhat boring for me. The biomod was bad at times. And some of the features just weren't that good. Good for a rent but not to buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Does not work on 360 !!!!

posted by michstar08 (WIXOM, MI) Sep 7, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

I just got this game in the mail and it will not play on my
360.Looked online for more info it is not BC, some one at Game Fly needs to let users know that it only works on Xbox
and not the 360.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

good times

posted by breenbean (FEDERAL WAY, WA) Aug 23, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

I played this game completely thru 4 or 5 times. took different good/bad choices, stealh, aggresive. Loved it and wish I still had my original xbox.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I was amazed

posted by jackpizza (ACUSHNET, MA) Apr 25, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

It doent take much to make a good game, but it does for a great game wich is this one. It doesnt give you the choice to walk-around and has other flaws. But overall the games is good and intense.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing Game!

posted by Johngame27 (BERWYN, IL) Aug 9, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

Deus Ex started as a PC game the sequel is a bit different on the story than gameplay, you have the choice to play as a male or female cherecter Im not sure about the female name but as male you play the role of Alex D a trainee in the company Taurus, set 20 years after the first game Chicago is destroyed by a mysterious person You start off in Seattle and you wake up and the game starts. The whole game is first person, you can also collect items to use or carry like weapons, multitools(hacking devices) food, power cells (Energy boost, get to that in a sec) and more, now for 2003, the graphics look impressive, now you can collect, find, or buy these tanks (sorry I forgot the name) to gain a certain power to your body like you can apply to your legs run fast, or sneak more quitely, and theres also blackmarket tanks that let you have more deadly abilities, weapon play range from guns, and melee weapons, you can also upgrade your guns with upgrades you find in game. Their are many areas to explore and blackmarket salesmen which let you buy some items, their are many quests, missions and more areas to explore, with great gameplay, good graphics, amazing story, and good fighting, this was definetly a game that flew under the xbox radar, the only complaints I have is, some stupid glitches, annoying deaths from powerful weapons, but those can be avoided. Definetly a solid 9 out of 10 try it out at least to see if you like it, incase you ask, I do not know if this game is 360 compatable, so if you have a xbox original and some time on your hands, definetly try out this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

it was good

posted by phantom102 (CORPUS CHRISTI, TX) Jul 22, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

In my own personal opinion, Deus Ex was a pretty good game. There are things i don't like about it. One, the fact that your guns all share the same ammo you pick up. And also what some of the organizations do. they ask for help and you dont do it so they send people to terminate you then ask for your help again. that's pretty stupid if you ask me. But other than those two problems the game was alright.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great, Entertaining Game, though a Little Preachy

posted by dwmatt (CHULA VISTA, CA) Apr 7, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

Having played the PC version of this game, I enjoyed it on the XBOX too, though getting to learn the controller was a little more difficult than mouse and keyboard. Overall, the game is well done, it really isn't a grind game, giving you options instead of leading you along the path. Very much like my two most favorite XBOX games (ST:KOTOR and ST:KOTOR2,) with, amazingly, less bugs than KOTOR2.

The game itself is well done, a great plot and just the right level of challenge. The only problem, for new players, is that you really need to save the game constantly, as decisions you make during the game (and the occasional moment of indiscretion,) can result in catastrophic outcomes -- you won't be able to clear some of the lesser important missions if you kill off people you need for completing them -- and often the urge to kill off folks, even accidentally, is hard to avoid without a clear understanding of what is going on.

-- Spoiler Alert --

The game itself is pretty preachy, from a rather conservative ideology and end-of-the-world play, though it is important to note that just about every option ends poorly for humans (going with the Illuminati ends with tyranny, as does going with the Knights, but of course going with Paul and JC ends with a tyranny of a different sort, and killing them all off results in the quiet death of humanity.)

Overall, quite a fun game to tackle on a weekend, if you have nothing better to do (otherwise, you aren't playing games anyway.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun, But Not Interesting

posted by OKRecords (ASHBURN, VA) Dec 31, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

If the title confusses you, I will try to elaborate. The game is fun...at first. But it's not fun enough to remain interesting. While I will agree that this game was underrated by most major reviewers, I won't agree that it's a great sleeper hit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THE AWSOMEST GAME EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by Yakz666 (STROUDSBURG, PA) Jun 10, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

This Game is probably the best roleplaying Si-Fi game you can get It has A Conspiercy, Super powers like cloak were you become invisable or super strength to illegal powers like neraul interface which allows you to hack computers and atm's! You get the best weapons and a ammo system that makes sure you want every bullet to count.your weapons even get weapon mods to make them more efficent. You should rent it and if you ever see it for sale by it it good to play over and over and over and so on again. it should be only a T rated game i would rate this a 100 out of 10 if i could.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »