Rent Deus Ex: Human Revolution for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Deus Ex: Human Revolution

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
7.3

12276 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Oh my god JC..an amazing sequel..er..prequel!!

posted by HrdcrGamr (HIGLEY, AZ) Aug 26, 2011

Member since May 2010

92 out of 103 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I am a huge fan of the original Deus Ex and I am glad to say that this game is not only a worthy sequel to the original, but it surpasses it. Everything about this game from the art style, level design, AI, story, and gameplay is all top notch. To me, this is perfect 10, but to anyone who isn't a raging Deus Ex fanboy like myself, the game is at least a good 8 or 9.

In this game you play as Adam Jensen, a head of security at Sarif Industries. Your girlfriend is killed and you are beaten up and left for dead and are forced to get heavily augmented to save your life. Then you vow revenge and go after the people responsible. The story is full of twists and turns and is very immersive. But, I won't spoil anything here.

One of the high points of the Deus Ex series is that you can solve missions any way you see fit. For nearly every mission in the game there are multiple ways of beating it. And there are many augs that allow you to do just that.

From Hacking and Stealth Enhancements. The ability to see or punch through walls. They even have augs where you can jump and run faster or float down like a angel when falling from any height and stun anyone below or crouching down and firing off a hail of bullets that can clear any room.

Also, the game is incredibly immersive and well thought out. So much so that if you see an e-mail on someones computer, you can track down the person who sent it and it will be on their computer as sent mail. And even things minor NPCs or e-mails mention can usually be tracked down.

As for the pros/cons:

Pros:

Amazing Art Style
Great Level Design
Good AI
Incredibly immersive world
Freedom to solve every mission in a variety of ways
Radios that play classic Deus Ex music
Game plays very smoothly on consoles

Cons:

Ran into a few very rare glitches(Enemies running into walls and one side quest got glitched)

If you are a fan of the original Deus Ex or just love a good rpg/shooter, you would be a fool not to give this a shot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Human revolution? Nah but RPG/FPS revolution? Yes!

posted by Sweedie (MOUNT PLEASANT, SC) Aug 22, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2011

80 out of 97 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

This game is from my opinion the best game so far this year.

Ill begin with the graphics which are more than fantastic and you will probably get amazed by everything you see in the beginning.
So far the game has not been a little boring for a blink of an eye it has it all, Tactic, shooting, action, great story.

Ill begin with Tactics which is extremely important, its not just you and captain price attacking a base with 100s of russian thugs shooting in all directions except from yours. This is harder than that and you have too use the so called "brain" which i prefer... Here you can hack their systems sneak through their bases, get new information by sneaking and listening too enemies conversation. Wait for enemies, take them out one by one without being detected hiding the dead bodies for guards and this is just a tiny piece of what you can do.

It's 1st person shooter, with a great story I will try to explain without any spoilers. In the beginning you are in an accident and you are the chief of security for a large corporation so they decide to save you at all cost so you can live. The story plays out on emotions and it does so brilliantly, it plays out in the future and its a war coming and this war will be thought in our land, in our homes. Ill keep it simple. The story is a very strong asset to the original l Deus ex game because its so closely tight to the human condition it pulls you right in and you feel emotionally attached. It may though feel like just another normal FPS in the first 30 minutes. But soon it will let you get in in this open world and reveal this conspiracy.

The controls are perfect and the first person shooter experience can definetly compete with games like Call of Dutys, What I love is that every thing you get to do in this game you can do in like 15 different ways, if your character is good in stealth he can use stealth to get in to the room and finish the objective or he might use security
Worth buying and renting, 9 of 10 toasts

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing, Satisfying, and Engrossing. Enough said.

posted by RedMisfit87 (BRONX, NY) Sep 2, 2011

Member since May 2011

17 out of 22 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

I'm going to get straight to the point: This game is awesome.

I'm around 50% through and so far I'm enjoying it beyond belief. The game is increasingly satisfying. I don't know want to say that I was a skeptic at first but I had no idea what I was getting myself into (in a good way) after delving into the game for a couple of dozen hours.

Deus Ex: Human Revolution allows you to play the game exactly how you want to. It's filled with so much depth and a rich story that it rivals the production values of the scripts that are produced in Hollywood. From beginning to throughout the game experience it feels as though you're involved in a convoluted film story narrative, along the lines of a Bourne film or anything that has to do with corporate conspiracy.

Also the game does a great job employing the switch between 1st and 3rd person perspective. I never thought I would say this, but the blend and mix between the two is flawless and greatly organic. It's an amazing feeling when you're in a gun fight ducking behind cover and watching your character to then transition out in seamless motion for a more precise shot.

Eidos Montreal did a fantastic job with this game. I really didn't plan to be this immerse into the story. The visuals are awesome (with the exception of a few poor NPC character models), combat is immensely gratifying, and the story (even though it may sound cliché but is true in every letter) will keep you on the edge of your seat. It's been very hard for me to put this down.

It's is undeniably one of the best and fun game I've played for this gaming generation. You will not be disappointed if you give this game a shot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent

posted by boredbren (SCHENECTADY, NY) Aug 28, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

The game has a big time Mass Effect feel to it as far as the choices impacting the story. The augmentations are fun. I tend to play run and gun style games, so this is a big change with the amount of stealth involved, but that change up is a big part of why I am really digging this game. With the amount of time for a play through, and the fact that the replay value is so high with the amount of different ways to play, this is a definite buy as opposed to a rent. Great Game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

DEUS EX HUMAN REVOULUTUION

posted by gamespro (LA PUENTE, CA) Nov 13, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

this game could be almost perfect but it has two major flaws one when you die it almost seems unfair how eaisly it happens yhe second thing is it get very frustrating when it comes to loading it seems like going into place to place in ares that bring up loading it seems like forever till the game has loaded besides these two things its an alaround fun role playing game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Expectations exceeded.

posted by Balckmonkey (THORNTON, CO) Dec 18, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I grew up with the original game and still play it to this day. When I heard Eidos was developing a new Deus Ex I was excited, but weary. The original Deus Ex was innovative and established a new genre of games. It revolutionized video games. It raised the bar. How could a new Deus Ex even dream of meeting the expectations of fans of the original. My expectations were exceeded. Human Revolution takes the tactical freedom of the original and transforms it into a constant thought process that keeps you on your toes. The game never punishes a player for their play style. Want to be a stealthy player that hacks security hubs? No problem. Want to be a combat heavy beast? No problem. The original demanded stealth in some area and combat in others. This difference between levels is gone.
The story of Human Revolution is fantastic. The story starts out with a simple attack by a group of augmented mercenaries, unfolds into a vast conspiracy of corporate competition, how morality ties into technological innovation, and how it affects society. The plot rivals most modern day movies. If you were doubting this game, don't. Go out and buy this game immediately. The game shapes around your play style, not the other way around. My expectations were blown out of the water.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I play videogames for fun, not monotany

posted by Despero (CHICAGO, IL) Sep 16, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

16 out of 30 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

Deus Ex is in fact a well done game from the respect of creating a very immersive universe. But if I wanted a story without quality game play, I would read a book.

Personally I am a run and gun fanboy, and when a game forces me to sit in the same spot waiting for a guard to pass I get frustrated. I tried playing the game in every style from run and gun, to hide and seek, to methodically picking off guards. None of them felt satisfying and the shooting in particular fell short.

Also keep in mind that Square Enix was involved in this game, dialogues will be stiff with over explanations of things that don't matter.

Pass if you are an action junkie, buy if you love attention to detail.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not what I expected

posted by gelsaesser (EL PASO, TX) Oct 15, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

Played the original game on PC in 2000 and it was a great role playing game back then, but now in it's latest form it seem like a rehash of the game it was eleven years ago. The graphics seem dated and the story just didn't hold my interest for long. I didn't finish the game in fact I didn't go past the second story mission before I put it back in the envelope and sent it back to Gamefly. I'm so glad I didn't have to buy this game to find out it wasn't what I expected, and just not for me. I gave it a 6 out of ten because I am sure there are many out there who can appreciate this game more then I.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game, NOT A SHOOTER

posted by SolidusPrime (MONTGOMERY, AL) Aug 26, 2011

Member since May 2011

8 out of 15 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

First and foremost, let me wade through some bs in other reviews. Square didn't make this game, they published it. Eidos Montreal developed it. That's in Canada, not Japan. This is NOT an FPS. It is a mix of FPS, RPG, and stealth. If you're looking for Call of Duty play Call of Duty.
Now, for anyone who played the original, this game does it great justice. The graphics are good, maybe not the super highest quality in the industry, but I didn't feel like I was playing last gen. The environments are nice to look at. The controls are not as crisp as CoD, but not clunky like Fallout. Once you get the controller layout down, you should have no problems. I did find that the crouch/stand with the left stick would stick occasionally. The voice acting is good, I didn't run into anyone who's voice made me cringe or say my drunk friends and I could do better. Leveling up your abilities is very satisfying, especially since you don't have many at the onset. Some contextual abilities, like taking two guys down at once or punching through walls aren't as useful as others, but most are helpful constantly. Some can make the game alot easier, turning an hour long mission into a 10 min one if you play your cards right.
There are plenty of side missions and places to explore to keep you busy. The areas you play in are sections of the city you in, so it's not as expansive like GTA or Fallout, but there are lots of nooks and crannys to get into just like the first game. Missions can be worked through more than a few ways which adds alot of replay value and you'll never do everything on your first or even second playthrough. Exploring the environment is a must as it is full of clues, like passwords on post-it notes or dropped PDAs, or just listening on peoples conversations.
All in all this game is excellent if it's your style and if you liked the first then you'll love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This Game is a Lie

posted by Al3ch (SANTA ROSA, CA) Sep 28, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

13 out of 26 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was REALLY looking forward to this title, and it actually was the first game I ordered after signing up for Gamefly. What followed was a huge disappointment, as the game's advertising had written a bunch of checks that the game itself could not cash. Here are the highlights:

Graphics: Nothing special here. I certainly wouldn't call this an ugly game, but the animations during the cutscenes are a bit janky, and the framerate frequently gets choppy when lots of stuff is going on. That being said, the world looks good.

Controls: The controls in this game simply are not up to current generation standards. For instance, you can't swap between guns on-the-fly: the game forces you to go into the inventory and manually equip everything. With the game forcing frequent gun changes, this really sticks out like a sore thumb. Additionally, moving your character around the world feels very slow and clunky; adjusting axis sensitivity doesn't really do much to fix the problem. Cover controls also aren't up to par.

Story: Definitely the saving grace of this game -- the world feels unique and alive, and most of the characters you meet are pretty interesting. Lots of gameplay here, too -- expect at least 30 hours, probably closer to 50 if you do all the side stuff.

Gameplay: This is where the game absolutely falls apart -- despite promising the ability to approach any problem from multiple angles, the game is constantly shoehorning you into a particular playstyle. Shooting is awful: the guns feel weak, ammo is too rare, and even on normal mode, you die very quickly. Stealth is half-baked: the enemy AI feels circa-1997, and the first person viewpoint just feels out of place when sneaking around. Boss battles are awful, as you have to fight them even if your guy doesn't do gunplay. Finally, the loading times take FOREVER -- expect a good 15-20 seconds every time you die.

Bottom line: if gameplay matters to you at all, stay away from this title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

meh

posted by BostonKev (MEDFORD, MA) Nov 2, 2011

Member since Aug 2009

10 out of 20 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

too slow...not enough rpg type elements to be engrossing ...too krappy of a shooter to entertain. poor attempt of a hybrid of the two games imo... If you like mind numbing stealth games you may like it but I recommend splinter cell over this any day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

DuezzzzZZZZzzzZZZ Ex

posted by rjcpdx (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Sep 13, 2011

Member since Jan 2004

7 out of 14 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Who knew? The future is going to be cybernetic -and- dull as nails.

Human Evolution isn't a lot of fun, which is the first problem, neither as a shooter or a stealth creeper. Enemies are simply too easy to take out even on the highest difficulty and the same challenges are thrown up countless times. Can this diluted stuff really be what's happened to the DNA of the cool, creepy original game from a decade ago?

Secondly for a story-driven game, it's a pretty comically bad hack job of trying to do characterization. In dialogue scenes, character models move herky-jerky like 1960s TV puppets (think Thunderbirds). If you can look past that dated, choppy animation, you'll find yourself guffawing at the dreadful voice acting. It's really a stretch for the head of a world-topping technology company to sound exactly like a sleazy New Jersey loan shark. Is this what happens when you let French Canadians make games?

On the plus side there's some very ambitious city design (even if you are forced to criss-cross it interminably on non-consequential missions). Finally, though, there are very few surprises, lots of boring cut-and-paste corridors, a formulaic approach to enemy encounters, and -- most wastefully of all -- it looks like a fortune was spent developing this sad mediocrity.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty game...Questionable gameplay

posted by JesusToast (ROCKVILLE, MD) Aug 26, 2011

Member since Jul 2007

14 out of 29 gamers (48%) found this review helpful

In every aspect this game has exceeded expectations in one way only to disappoint in another.

Graphics - Environments are very detailed, you could wander around for hours and take in all the little nuisances but at the same time the graphic quality itself isn't anything special compared to today's standards. Call of Duty it is not. The art style is great, especially if you're a Blade Runner fan. But again that kinda gets lost in stiff animations and character models that look and act like they have as many hinges as a toy action figure.

Story - Amazing. Nothing else to say there. This is the best reason to play this game.

Gameplay - And here is where everything crumbles a bit. The selling point of this game is that you can approach any given situation in multiple ways. Sounds great, problem is that whatever way you choose, it's been done better in another game.

Want to shoot your way through? Well controls are a little wonky, using the left trigger for cover (which will put you in 3rd person) can be disorienting when in a fire fight. Guns are not too accurate, and moving while firing can be...difficult. Again, Call of Duty it is not.

Wanna go stealth? Well all your abilities can only be used when your energy cells are full. Only one will recharge (takes about 30 seconds) the others can only be filled by using boosts found in the environment. So stealth usually goes like this: walk into room, watch enemy AI until figured out paths, take out one, drag body out of line of sight, wait 30 seconds, repeat...and repeat...and repeat. This mechanic more than any other has killed this game. It reduces gameplay to a tedious repetitive format that will have you bored by the end of the first level.

None of this is helped by a leveling system that takes a long time to reward you with points to use to upgrade and buy new abilities, or takedowns that feel like activated cut-scenes rather than a satisfying visceral experience.

Rent it for the story not the gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

FPS, RPG and Missions along with sides?

posted by TheGamersNation (PAIGE, TX) Aug 24, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The Game-Play:
All the characters do their own things, the play PSP-like video games (Yes the adults), they have their own conversations that you can over-hear. I myself like hearing over them just in-case something important come up like secret paths or passwords to computers.

Awesome:
I love it. You can hack doors and cameras, and there are obsticals in-case your not a hacker person. You can also upgrade you augmentations, running faster, becoming stronger, stealth... its practicly an Infamous or [Prototype] type gaming, except not as many gangs or alien zombies trying to kill you. You can actually roam around without dying every time you show your face.

The Obsticals:
You can build stair-case-like obsticals with boxes and garbage cans. You can also go in sewers, and if thats not enough you can use ladder escapes to jump on roofs. And just in-case you mess up at the front door and cant get in without the FED shooting you, their might be a window or air duct to go in! AWESOME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Deus Ex Human Revolution

posted by DEFx_Wrekr (COKEBURG, PA) Dec 29, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Deus Ex has a good story line, and the graphics are decent overall. The one main issue is the targeting system compared to other games it is awkward to the extreme.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Def not as good as advertised

posted by WRONGonRED (DELTONA, FL) Sep 25, 2011

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I don't get why everybody liked this game. The controls are horrible! This is especially frustrating when you decide to try to sneak around. I gave up on that because it's so unrealistic. I hate the ragdoll effect when you have to drag somebody out of the way and hide them. Seriously, this game is no revolution. If you want to actually beat this game, just Rambo through it or else you won't even want to play through it all. And even when you do decide to go this route, the aiming is way off. You can be standing on the other side of a box of somebody standing straight up and totally miss them unless you move the aim! How is that even possible? You would think that somebody who is a seasoned vet of armed combat would be able to hit something two feet away from him on the other side of a box without having to struggle to do so... Shesh.

On the other hand, the graphics, cut scenes, and story are interesting enough to keep your attention. It would have made for a better game if the mechanics were better but I wouldn't recommend this game to anybody other than those who played the first one or is really bored.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW Just WOW!!

posted by racoonsurvivor (HIGH RIDGE, MO) Aug 29, 2011

Member since May 2011

6 out of 13 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

This game is amazing. The first minute is an action story pro log, then after the title and credits you are shown how cool Jensen(your character) is. the story is awesome and the voice acting is great, if you can look past some of the characters acting like they are having seizures whenever you talk to them there is depth here in spades, also there are voice trees. Every decision matters, you can literally decide how you want to play the game, lethal or non, stealth based or cover shooter. everything that you could want is doable. invisibility, punch through walls, melee take downs and kills, looking through walls, you can do it all by the end of the game. in the beginning it can be a little overwhelming and you may feel forced into some early lvl choices that you may not quiet love but all the choices will eventually work out in the end. I am starting my second play through now for all non lethal. 15-20 hours of game play are good. Play this game then play it again, I cannot recommend this game highly enough, if you like metal gear or mass effect, this is perfect for you, and if you like shooters that are a little different than COD and Gears then give this a shot. Good for everyone who likes holding a gun in a video game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

deus ex Human Revolution

posted by xpart123 (KANSAS CITY, MO) Aug 24, 2011

Member since Jun 2008

6 out of 13 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

This is one of the best games i have played in a long time i love the strategy/fps this is a long awaited game not for the series but in general
it takes me back to when video games where always different not the same like they are now. the only criticism i have is the loading time it takes 5 mins to load when it should only time 2 to 3 mins this is not ps2 or xbox people its xbox 360 and ps3.

gameplay 8 out of 10

graphics 9 out of 10

story 10 out of 10

overall worth a rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Wanted To Like It

posted by d448105 (WARMINSTER, PA) Sep 1, 2011

Member since Dec 2006

15 out of 34 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed this game in the begining. There was shooting, problem solving, and all kinds of missions. You could play the game however you wanted; Rambo like or stealthy. Even trying to figure where to spend your praxis points on Augment upgrades was fun. You could tailor your Augs to the way you like to play. Your interactions with people were important. You could almost always save before you expected trouble so you could reload if you didn't like the outcome. I even liked to music score so much I would turn it up in game. I would have given it a 8 or 9 except that when I encountered the first "Boss" fight the combat system doen't lend itself to quick weapon changes. I never had enough ammo, even though there are caches everywhere, you have to press X to pick it up, not just pass by it. By the time I would do that I was dead or dying. I was playing on "Tell me a story" level which was the easiest. After dying 25 times I had to throw in the towel and send the game back. games should be fun not frustrating. Easy mode should be easy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Unique and Complex...why so many don't like it

posted by ggirl (TARPON SPRINGS, FL) Jun 12, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'm not a big fan of simple first person shooters with lots of fighting and no strategy. So I loved this game. It was clever and creative, which I'm sure is why so many people didn't like it. If you are simple then you should play simple games, not this. Let me say that you actually can play this as a basic run around and shoot, but it's more fun to play like a puzzle. You can actually go thru the whole game without killing anyone (except in boss fights) by using strategy, planing, skills and a tazer. Mind you, it will take 5 times as long, but who wants to rush a good game?
The in game graphics were good, but the cut scenes were rather sad (almost everyone looked like they had ms). That said, the voice acting was better than most.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Strong in many areas, WEAK in the most important..

posted by mrholland (MARINA DEL REY, CA) Aug 29, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

8 out of 18 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

I'm starting at the end and working backward...

In closing, I just have to say that Halo: ODST did the sci-fi noir setting better, Crysis 2 did the sci-fi action/stealth better, and the Mass Effect Series does the RPG elements better.

This game's augmentations are nearly a carbon copy of the upgradable abilities in Crysis 2 which did EVERYTHING so much better making for a much more concise and smooth gameplay experience.

The Negative:

The gold color palette is interesting but allows for too much visual repetition. Many of the environments, although lit well, seem oddly sterile. These are relatively minor complaints, which leads me to arguably the most important aspect of an interactive medium--gameplay. My problem with this game is that everything it does has been done better by other games. Nearly every review I've read of this game states that the balance between augmentations never made the reviewer feel punished for making the wrong decision with upgrades. My experience: I always felt weak. If my choice was strength and fidelity, I was punished by the boring and poorly implemented shooting mechanics which nearly always leads to immediate death--not to mention ammo is scarce. Other sci-fi games with better shooting mechanics: Mass Effect Series, Halo Series, Resistance Series, Killzone Series. If I chose to max out my stealth abilities, I'm limited by the terribly implemented battery power system and scarce items to replenish it, thus, forcing me to rely on the one battery which recharges automatically for a majority of a mission. This is insanely frustrating if you're trying to play the game as a non-lethal stealth agent, which I'm usually inclined to do. Other sci-fi games with better stealth mechanics: Crysis 2, Metal Gear Solid Series. It is considered an Action RPG and fortunately is does the RPG elements well. However, other sci-fi games with better RPG elements: Mass Effect series.

The Positive:
Art, audio, score and story are generally fantastic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Dues ex human revolution

posted by Sevas627 (BARNESVILLE, GA) Dec 28, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

This game is great..... for 10 years ago. This game is boooring, complicated, and forced. the graphics and voice acting just dont live up to todays standards. I didnt even finish the game, I got about 75% though and just quit out of boredom, thats only happened one other time, because I always finish a game once I've started playing it. I never played the original deus ex, and for fans of the original its probably a great game, but I wouldnt recommend it to anyone else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Waiting...

posted by Donis187 (DORCHESTER CENTER, MA) Oct 22, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

I kept playing this game and leveling myself up wondering at what point will I feel at least half as powerful as the game game tricks you. I can punch thru solid walls but two gun shots gun me? Sitting around patiently waiting to pick off guards was fun in Batman, heck it was fun in Riddick. It got boring here for some reason. Perhaps its the controls, as I found them somewhat clunky. Regardless, I leveled up all my shields, my energy packs, my strength, and it a still felt like a boring sit in a corner 10 minute a time type game. Was ok to deal with but with all the leveling up comes a point where you assume eventually you will get to Rambo your way along. I guess that is the overall issue with this game? It builds so much high expectations. If it created none I feel it would be amazing. Instead I felt somewhat disappointed and bored

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Choppy Controls

posted by Niki_N_MoOg (CHARLOTTE, MI) Oct 19, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

The idea of the game was good... Cliche storyline.. Choppy controls... I sure due miss those Matrix games for the original XBOX.... lol... Maybe that's why I tried this one out...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Boxed In

posted by PhatDaddy (THE VILLAGES, FL) Aug 26, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

10 out of 24 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

I had been waiting on this game since it was announced. Boy, was I glad I didn't buy it.

First, I was very disappointed with the graphics. The faces of the characters were very plastic and terrible looking. Had they used motion capture on the faces I think the entire experience would have been better.

Although the backgrounds were presentable, the level maps were awful! I played for about 24 hours and spent almost the entire time trying to figure out where I was.

Game play sucked. Very quirky and hard to control. Also, If I never "hack" another PC in a game it will be too soon. Very hard to do and seemed to have nothing to do with the missions.

Because it took so long to level-up, I spend almost the entire time behind the eight-ball. Never quite enjoying any of it. I played on the lowest level and still couldn't find a way to enjoy myself.

I should also mention that one of the reasons I bought this game was because the original Deus Ex always had an alternative way around the hordes of baddies. This game had some of that but not nearly enough. If it did have optional avenues, I couldn't find them. After 24 hours of play I found myself boxed in with no ammo, few upgrades, and no way out. Instead of replaying, I returned the game rental and applauded myself for not buying this over rated game. And, I saved myself $60.

If only this had live up to the trailers. Whew, would have been great!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse