Rent Destiny of Zorro for Wii
view large frontback

Destiny of Zorro

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
2.9

79 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome game!

posted by jacoby (AGOURA HILLS, CA) May 10, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

4 out of 19 gamers (21%) found this review helpful

this is the best game i have played on wii. it has great action and adventure. GET IT NOW!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Is the new Zorro adventure game worth the hype?

posted by Funfan12 (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Jun 22, 2009

Member since Oct 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Too many people have given this game either a too low score (in the 1 or 2 range) or a far too high score (like a perfect 10/10). Zorro is slightly above average, but not awful or perfect.
The Destiny of Zorro has some great creative aspects to it. For example, Zorro can use his whip to whack through a maze of crates. And Zorro can slash enemies with a "Z-Move" by swinging the Wii remote in a Z-shape.
But it has some cons as well. The graphics are not perfect, and the camera is awful. The other con is that there's one part in the third level where Zorro has to raise a bridge by whacking down the switch with his whip. He goes through a maze and beats up riflemen, then jumps over poles, and can only whip the pole once which will only raise the bridge up an inch or so. Then you have to go through the same maze like five more times before Zorro may cross the bridge. It can be boring.
But the game is set in several different places, like villages, the Wild West and the California Gold Rush (1848-1849), which is a great setting.
Destiny of Zorro has a few cons but is a mostly good game. It doesn't join my list of Best Wii Games of the Year, but is above average. I noticed Gamestop is currently selling the game for half-price at $20, and in that case I would buy it. Otherwise, at other stores, where the price is $40, I would suggest renting it then deciding whether you want to buy it or not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

kids MIGHT enjoy

posted by RKW747 (NORTH WALES, PA) May 14, 2009

Member since May 2007

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this was a return the day i played it after 30 minutes. i kept trying and waiting for it to get good but no. it really feels like a computer game i played 15 years ago with graphics from 8 years ago.

first off... the sound is terrible, think early 90's x-men arcade with one character that has 3 "sayings" that are repeated and two short midi background musics: one for no enemies on the screen and one for enemies on the screen.

the fighting, while unique in a way gets boring after 15 battles (i.e, 10 minutes)... & the strategy never really changes. For younger people under 10 they might enjoy swinging the remote around. Zorro does have a couple unlockable special moves where you trace the screen in the air with your mote but it also gets old.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse