Rent Despicable Me for Wii
view large frontback

Despicable Me

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $9.99

Also on:DS, PSP Games, PS2
GF Rating
4.7

408 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

Despicably Tedious

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Jul 9, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

17 out of 21 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

The only thing I found Despicable about this game are the puzzles. (Okay, maybe some of the plat forming levels aren’t that great, either.)
Despicable Me tells the story (somewhat) on how Gru gets his hands on the parts he needs to make the rocket to steal the moon. Each of the 11 levels plays out the same way - there are three sections.
One section is plat forming puzzles where you have to jump and use your guns to get to the other side.
The next section are puzzles where you use your minions to hit buttons, work gears, and other similar things to make a path to the other side.
The third section is a short trounce through a room where you vandalize paintings and sculptures and zap some guards.
There’s a fourth section that shows up every now and then where you fly a plane and protect your minion ship by blasting several other ships.
Thing is, if the game makers do a good job on presentation and overall structure of the game, this might be fun. But nope, not here; the game makers make it tedious and boring.
The puzzle sections come one after another after another - and they get really hard late in the game. You can use hint cards to get solutions to the puzzle, but some hints are vague and don’t help very much.
The platforming sections also come one right after another, and it left me wondering how much more do I have to go through in order to get to the end of the level.
Once I get to the end, it’s off to the next level, and the bland process repeats over again. I got bored with this game very quickly. (Even the 2-player plane combat can’t make up this deficiency.)
Despicable Me, the Wii game, will delight fans of hard puzzles, but it didn’t thrill me for very long. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not worth it

posted by Junebug620 (DES MOINES, IA) Oct 27, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game was really bad. There isn't much you can do on it. All it consists of is puzzles. How do you use the minions to get to the end of the level.... That's it. Pretty boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Despicable Me

posted by GAMER30007 (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Sep 14, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was totally BOGUS! Please do not rent or buy this game it would be a waste of money and time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

one of the worst

posted by rodamain (JUNCTION CITY, KS) Oct 3, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

the wii console really needs to work on the graphics for their system. horrible!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWSOME!!!!!!!!

posted by knightrace (NEW ORLEANS, LA) Aug 4, 2010

Member since May 2010

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

IT JUST AWSOME NOTHING ELSE!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Surpisingly Better Than I Thought.

posted by PizzaFreak (BEAVERTON, OR) Aug 23, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I found Despicable Me much better than I expected. I had thouroghly read the reviews and it didn't seem all that great. But than I thought I should try it and see for myself. It. Was. AWESOME!!!!!! That is all I have to say. PizzaFreak out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Disappointed

posted by gamenerd2 (HOLLISTER, MO) Jun 21, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

I was really disappointed in this game its not what i expected it to be

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

This Game Is.....

posted by Lostinmusic06 (SAINT PAUL, MN) Nov 4, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

Not even worth renting. I mainly rented this game for my 7yr old brother. Only played it once or twice & it was left in the basement for a wk. The tutorial level is ok. Please do not waste your time renting this. It looks fun in the commercial, but it's mostly for kids. By the way, I've been a gamefly member since April 2013.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Disk Nicked

posted by southernfist (OLNEY, MD) Mar 2, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

This disk is very nicked around the edges of the disk. It did not work on our WII system.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Despicable Me

posted by JoseMaria2821 (ENNIS, TX) Aug 5, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

For a game the is targeted towards younger kids it dose tend to frustrate them. First the story mode is not 2 players which my kids did not like. And as for the Vs mode it not very long and will not keep your kids busy I found my 3 year who has is unusually good at Wii games found it very hard to figure out the controls. Once he did he was bored easily with it. So out of 5 stars i give it a max of 3 maybe 2 1/5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Hi

posted by lonewiso (FREEMANSBURG, PA) Sep 28, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

The game was good but difficult at some points for my kids.. They kept asking me for help.. But over all they loved the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Minions AVIOD this game

posted by squrtle337 (HAVERTOWN, PA) Mar 29, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

This is not a good game if you like terrible platforming levels, brain burning puzzles,bad controls,boring and long explanations by Dr.Nefareo that are impossible to understand or skip then this is the game for you. The movie is one of my favorites though

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Great graphics, but repetitive gameplay.

posted by Pallies (PAOLI, PA) Jan 31, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

The game has great graphics and was looking forward to playing it. Once you figure out the confusing controls, the game does become repetitive. Also, the movement controls are not precise enough for the game. For example, you might need to stand on the edge to shoot down, but can't just tap the controller to get to the edge. The character will walk to the edge, then turn around. Also the other buttons didn't quite seem to make sense, and all of us kept hitting the wrong button at the wrong time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »