Rent Dementium: The Ward for DS
view large frontback

Dementium: The Ward

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.1

510 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun in a I want to punch a wall kind of way.

posted by Hollowcow (BUCHANAN, MI) Nov 6, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

30 out of 32 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

I am going to break this down into segments to avoid confusion

Graphics- Simply amazing. They are the best on the DS by far. Gamecock pushed the DS to its limits and the frame rate holds steady throughout. Shadows look great and character models are top notch for a DS title.

Sound- Again great. Play this game with headphones on or you will be missing out on some atmospheric music and monster sounds. The sounds of grinding meat cleavers still haunt my dreams.

Gameplay- The FPS controls are just like Metroid prime hunters. Aside from that you have a weapon select on the touch screen and a note pad to help you figure out the games rather clever puzzles. Now here is where the game takes a turn for the frustrating. The save system. I am sure you have heard horror stories about this games save system. I will break it down for you. Every time you go through a door the game auto saves so that if you have to stop playing you can save and quite. However if you die you restart the entire chapter you are playing. This means you will be replaying several levels over and over again. This puts an emphasis on the Survival part but ends up just making the game boring. The save system in Dead rising is similar in frustration.

Overall- A spooky shooter with a good story and great graphics and sound. The game losses several points with me due to a terrible save system. You should rent this game before you buy or you may regret it. It really depends on how you feel about the save system.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good rent, but not a buy.

posted by Ace3342 (POMPANO BEACH, FL) Dec 1, 2007

Member since Sep 2003

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Dementium: The Ward is an exciting fast-paced game. The controls are spot on and the weapon variety is great. Even the graphics are really good, which is rather rare on the DS. The grimy, blood-spattered environments are spooky and the music is really creepy. But the game does have it's flaws. Dementium is a bit too short and the zombies are too easy too kill. Furthermore the story gets very complicated near the end. But in the end I highly suggest is as a rent, but I wouldn't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

game that's actually scary and violent on the ds.

posted by pokefreak (BRANDON, FL) Dec 16, 2007

Member since Aug 2005

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i bought this game yesterday ,at best buy before renting it. it rocks. it's got probably the best graphics on the ds and it is actually scary. i watch all kinds of horror movies and like to play other horror movies and although they used to scare me when i was younger i've toughened up to them now and they don't scare me at all . somehow though this game actually does scare me. if your just playing it normally with light then ti might creep you out a little bit but then turn off all lights in the room and hook up headphones and the game scares even me . the sound effects are really good. the controls and gameplay are really good too. two complaints though are that
1. in order to see anything almost at all you have to use flashlight which you can't use at the same time as your weapons so you can hardly see when your using weapons.

2. the save system , the game auto saves whenever you enter a room so that if you just turn the game off for some reason or let's say battery dies , you will be at that spot when you play again. but if you get killed then you have to start the chapter over again. most people don't seem to realize it but if your really low on health and it look like your going to die then just turn off your ds and you will be back at the beginning of that room.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

So close and yet so far

posted by MrDark (LEWISVILLE, TX) Dec 3, 2007

Member since Sep 2003

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This title looks great, has tight and intuitive controls, and makes the best use of the sound and video capabilities that I've seen yet.

Why is it a 3?

Two things. One, the minor complaint, my GOD how many of the same identical rooms and halls can you wander through? Probably a DS limitation, but jeeze does it get repetitive fast.

Two, the biggie. Others have said it, and I'll say it too: Worst. Savegame. Ever. You 'save' your game every time you pass through a door...although this does not actually save your game. If you quit, when you restart you'll be back at that door. Of course, the game says you're choosing to 'save and quit' which you aren't...if you've done 50 things since passing through that door, they're gone when you restart, because you aren't 'saving and quitting', you're just quitting and the most recent save is your save game.

Most importantly, as has been said elsewhere, if you die, you go back to the beginning of that chapter. In the case of the last chapter I bothered with, Chap. 4, you have a ton of stuff to wade through before the boss fight...which is ridiculously hard, with no health or ammo available. So you die...and there goes another 10 minutes getting back there.

I'll be frank: it's a gamebreaker. I can't believe this had any professional QA done, no QA tester worth his weight in salt would approve such an incredibly pointless design.

Avoid it, my friends, or face the frustration.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Repetition leading to hand cramps

posted by ikeredwolf (BLOOMINGTON, IN) Nov 5, 2007

Member since May 2004

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The over-all play of the game feels more like Wolfenstien 3D then Doom, with moderately accurate targeting, and phenomenally dumb enemy AI. The Enemies are aided more by the darkness of the game and the difficulty aiming then by any effecting programming or challenging level design. All in all Im glad the Shooter style is making its way to the DS and this game is a step in the right direction. However, the issues associated with making a shooter on such a small device exist and in some aspects are made worse in this game. Human nature will cause players to grip the DS more tightly and react more eratically as the tension increases, and this game does a good job of raising tension, and the tighter you hold the DS the hard it gets to keep playing. The other failing of this game I will point out is the fact that upon death you restart the entire level, despite the screen saying "Saving" as you change rooms you never get to reload from the last save. This leads to frequent replay of levels which undermines the tension, and leads to hand cramping.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not a bad game, but it has one major flaw...

posted by Robstein (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 28, 2007

Member since Sep 2003

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Based on what I had been reading about Dementium, I wasn't really expecting to be blown away by it. However, I tend to like "off-beat" games quite a bit and wanted to give it a try for myself.

The game isn't bad, to be honest. The environments are repeated quite a lot and there's not a whole lot of enemy variety (I'm sorry, but a zombie standing next to a green zombie still only count as one bad guy in my book), but the controls work just fine, the graphics are great for a DS game and along with the sound they convey the mood perfectly. I was having fun playing it until I died for the first time.

This brings me to my reason for rating it a 5. Once you die, no matter where you've saved your game (i.e. right before a boss fight), you get booted back to the beginning of the chapter. If you try to reload your game, it still takes you back to the beginning of the chapter. It's got to be one of the most questionable and just all-around awful design decisions I've ever experienced in a video game.

If the game didn't opt to punish you severely for dying I'd have given it a much higher score, but the save system drags it down. It goes beyond being a challenge. It's just plain mean.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Presses the Envelope

posted by ibelieve01 (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Nov 6, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Dementium: The Ward really presses the edges of what is possible with the DS...and makes effective use of both the dual screen and touch-screen capabilities. This is kind of a first-person shooter, and kind of a spooky (really spooky) graphic-adventure game. Graphics are some of the best I've seen for the DS, and seem more like what you'd find on a regular console system. There have been a couple places where I genuinely JUMPED while playing this game. The ambient sound is quite effective, by the way...and adds to the eerie effect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Fun for about 10 minutes

posted by roseofdoom (KENT, WA) Jan 15, 2008

Member since May 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Okay, when I got this game I loved it. The sound was good, the controls worked, and at times I got freaked. Half an hour in it gets bad. The fact that monsters respawn is bad, but what is worse is that you might go in the same room om mistake, because everything looks the same. GEtting killed will send you to the start of the chapter. and boss fights are very, very hard. So if you die at a boss (which you will) you will have to redo the 10 minutes of getting to him. It's scary the first time you see a zombie, and even after a few times, but it gets old fast. Finding parts of the puzzles is the worst, and going the wrong way is easy. The ending is not worth it, seeing as how it's about 1.5 minutes long. And most monsters seem to look the same, there are two zombies, but one is green. And it seems that half the time you are meant to run, because I don't think you are going to kill 28 worms with 21 shots. I really wanted to like this game, but in the end all I can say is avoid it at all costs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game!

posted by Dohboy (ATLANTA, GA) Nov 4, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Dementium: The Ward is a rare title in the DS library. Not only is it one of the very few games that is M rated, it's also played in first person and a survival horror title. Dementium puts you into a seemingly deserted psych ward and something bad has occurred while you were knocked out. You are equipped at first with a flashlight and baton as you fend yourself against the unholy inhabitants of the now infested ward. You will eventually gain access to more lethal weapons. You use the bottom screen the control and aim your player on the top screen. Movement is done with the D-pad. I suggest you play the game with a set of headphones to really feel the effects of the ambient sounds and effects. Sound is a key part is these types of games. Uncover the mystery through puzzle solving and investigation as well as some first person shooting. Dementium is a dark and creepy title and is a must buy for any DS owner looking for a thrill.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not all it's cracked up to be

posted by Crispin (MECHANICSVILLE, MD) Nov 29, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Well, I found this game pretty boring, really. The environments were all pretty similar, and it was essentially get from here to here alive. Not too scary. Definitely not as good as the DS remake of Resident evil, or Metroid Prime Hunters. If you want survival horror, go with RE, if you want first person shooter, go with Metroid. Dementium is not that good. And I was very excited about this game, too. I really wanted to like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dementium: The Bored

posted by kcgeek (SHAWNEE, KS) Nov 19, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is SLOOOOOOOOOOWWWWWW!

Also get use to seeing nothing but bloody hospital room after bloody hospital room.

I know this is all setup to build atmosphere. But I get more creeped out playin Resident Evil.

This game feels like Duke nukem 3d without the humor. I can not flush the toilets or make rude jokes?? Oh come on!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

HOT GAME , BAD GAME SAVING..

posted by Atlantiz (FALL RIVER, MA) Nov 25, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

So rented this game cuz it looked really cool on a preview I seen.My wife has a DS lite so I figured I would give it a shot.
Soon as i started playing it I loved it. It's like Resident evil, meets Condemned. I got pretty far in the game, and then I died...
That's when I got really mad..
I had to restart the entire Chapter, which was like 45 minutes of what I just did.. I got so mad I took it out of the DS slipped it into the envelope and sent it back to gamefly..

WHY DOESN"T IT HAVE CHECKPOINTS!!!

I don't mind if I die restarting the last checkpoint and playnig maybe the last 5 minutes.. but the whole dang chapter???

Big mistake... I would have put many many hours into that game...

If you like repitition and poor game saving ability go for it..

with that issue aside.. its one of the hottest games to come to DS..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by Lostfan (VACAVILLE, CA) Nov 1, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

This game rocks!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

scary and cool at the same time

posted by soaj123 (CARROLLTON, TX) Nov 4, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

I have played this game before and I got to say, this game is awesome! you should play this if you haven't.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

rip off of resident evil

posted by rlbyles (ROANOKE, VA) Mar 7, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

and a poor one at that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

dementium

posted by kimAdmiral (NICE, CA) Jan 5, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

awesome!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

COOL

posted by goodgamer500 (Coupland, TX) Oct 21, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

THE GAME IS AWSOME ZOMBIES VERY SCARY BUT THE FLAW IS THAT IF U DIE U START BACK TO THE BEGINING OF THE CHAPTER GOOD TO RENT BUT KINDA NOT TO BUY BUT ITS A GOOD GAME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Scary game with a few flaws.

posted by AtmaWepn22 (MURRIETA, CA) Nov 20, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

I never thought that a hand-held game could be legitimately scary until Dementium. For anyone who doubts this statement, rent the game, turn off the lights, plug in some headphones, and prepare to wet yourself.

PROS: Actually scary, Solid 60FPS, Ambient Music/ Sounds, Superb Lighting Effects

CONS: Very Short, Re-spawning enemies, Lackluster Boss Music, Poor Storytelling

GRAPHICS: The game is beautiful, with an extreme frame-rate, and a lack of draw distance when the flashlight is used. FMV sequences, however, look a tad too clunky for my taste.

SOUNDS: Though Dementium will not make you jump, hearing the heavy breathing of a zombie, or the screams of a flying head always beats the "boo" sequences found in too many survival-horror games. Musically, the game is a mixed bag. The few themes that play while exploring are moody and somewhat memorable, but boss themes are quite bland; a low came during the final boss battle, which recycles the boss music from the first boss.

GAMEPLAY/STORY: Moving through the abandoned hospital is quite creepy, and bosses are rather tough, but re-spawning enemies and limited ammo/ health punishes players who go out exploring. Saving is another major gripe, as the game will inform you that it has saved when you open any door, but will put you back at the beginning of the chapter should you perish. Story wise, the game falls flat. There is almost no introduction to the story, and explanations only ever come forth near the conclusion. The ending doesn't feel like a proper close to the story, and lacks emotional power.

LENGTH/REPLAY: Dementium is short, quite short. The entire game can be beaten in under three hours on the first time through, and a lack of post-game content means that you will be paying $10/hr total if you purchase the game at retail price. There is little incentive to play through a second time, but if you leave it for a while, Halloween may be a sign to power up your DS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A terrible game that had so much potential

posted by Vegito (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Aug 26, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

This game had the potential to be so much, yet it was squandered on the horrible controls, like of story, character development, or even direction to why you are playing the game by the end. At the end of the game, you will have handcramps.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not Original, but Good

posted by djsquelch (ARLINGTON, VA) May 22, 2010

Member since May 2010

The one thing that occurred to me repeatedly during game play was that this game was a lot like the game Silent Hill- so much so that I was compelled to research the game online and even found similar remarks in the Wikipedia entry. Roaming through an institution with a flashlight and small assortment of weapons and health restorers while battling monstrous creatures to a dark and creepy soundtrack was all too familiar to me and it kept sending shivers up my spine during the first few game levels. I was impressed that it looked as good as it did for being projected from a small DS screen; there was plenty of detail- except for the acid attacks, which looked like something from an old Atari game. The monsters' noises mostly sounded digitally generated, which was also a small downside, but I did enjoy playing this game from start to finish. I would say that it would have been nice to run through on an easy mode as some of the controls were a little challenging at critical times, but it didn't prevent a decent experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

FIRST REVIEW

posted by NemesisKU (SUAMICO, WI) Aug 15, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

OK, THIS IS MY FIRST REVIEW USEING THIS FORMAT. TELL ME WHAT U THINK OF IT!!!!!OK WELL TO START WITH THE GAME.
DEMENTIRIUM THE WARD: WELL IN THE GAME U START OFF IN A MENTAL WARD. THERE ARE TONS OF FREAKY ALIEN/ZOMBIE/BUG THINGS SNOOPING AROUND EVERYWHERE KILLING EVERYONE AND THIS LITTLE GIRL LAUGHING AND CRYING. IT IS A VERY SPOOKY GAME. AND THE BEGINING IS THE BEST IN MY OPINION. HERE ARE THE STATS
CHALLENAGE: 7.5/10 THE CREATURES KEEP YOU ON YOUR HEELS. THEY ARE HIDING AND ATTACKING FROM EVERY ANGLE. BUT THERE IS ALOT OF HEALTH SO U DON'T NEED TO WORRY ABOUT GETTING HIT TO OFTEN.
CONTROLS: 6/10 THE DS MAKES FOR ADVANTAGES AND DISADVANAGES. THE GOOD IT THAT IT MAKES IT EASY TO TWIRL AT INCOMING FOES. BUT IF U GET TO SCARED AND TOUCH THE SCREEN WITH ONE OF UR OTHER FINGERS, U CAN GET A PAINFUL DEATH. ANOTHER THING IS THAT THE WEAPON SWITICH SHOULD BE A BUTTON, NOT AN TOUCH ICON.
GRAPHICS: 8/10 VERY GOOD FOR THE DS, ALOT OF BLOOD AND EASY TO TELL WRITINGS AND CREATURES.
LENGTH: 7/10 CAN GET HARD TO FIND WHAT GOES WITH WHAT ITEM WISE BECAUSE ON THE MAP, IT DOESN'T SAY WHICH DOORS ARE BLOCKED, MAKING IT HARD TO TELL IF THE DOOR IS LOCKED OR BLOCKED.
SOUND: 9/10 VERY CREEPY MUSIC AND SOUND EFFECTS. THE SOUND ON THE GAME IS NEAR PERFECT.
STORYLINE: 7/10 I THOUGHT FROM THE BEGINING OF THE GAME THAT THE STORY WOULD BE KEY...BUT I WAS WRONG...THERE WERE NO STORY POINTS OTHER THEN GET THE HECK OTTA THIS PLACE B4 U DIE.
RENT OR BUY: RENT

THANK YOU FOR READING MY FIRST REVIEW!!!!
HAPPY GAMING!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Old School Fun

posted by NavyET (GULFPORT, MS) Aug 14, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

First off, this game is definitely not for everyone. I'm not talking about the ultra-violent content; I'm talking about the game design. There is absolutely no storyline at all. This is just a fact. Actually, I take that back: there is a short cutscene at the end that is completely silly. This compliments the gameplay though, as the gameplay is extremely basic and bare bones to a degree where all you can focus on is the shooting. It really boils down the concept and feels refreshingly like something I should have played in the 90s. It is very fast-paced and can be quite challenging. Also I can honestly say it made me jump out of my seat on multiple occasions. Nothing was genuinely scary or terrifying, but simple stuff like zombies jumping out at you from out of nowhere. It is a simple, cheap thrill. If you go into it expecting that, it is exactly what you will get and will not disappoint.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A visceral Treat for the DS, but far from perfect

posted by Youduno (SAN DIEGO, CA) Mar 18, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

It's no secret that in the current handheld market the technology driving the nintendo DS is a bit lackluster. However, the Gamecock media group found a way to show off some of the untapped power that the little monster has.

The first thing you'll realize about Dementium is that is graphically somewhere between Silent Hill 1 and Dino Crisis 2. For the DS this is quite impressive as this was achieved without muddy visuals and little to no chugging. The company that produced this game proved the same thing that the developers of the most recent Metroid for the Wii proved. You don't need to be on the most powerful platform available to produce top notch results.

The Gameplay is what you would expect. The d-pad controls your character's movement and you look around the environment via the touch pad. You also have a notepad for scrawling short notes and a very well implemented inventory system.

Combat can be frantic (until you get a certain weapon) which is good for a game like this. It keeps you on your toes except for the occasional enemy that is parked in a spot you can't hit or see and makes you have to retrace the level entirely. The combat system is not really flexed until the very last stage of the game, but it does show that the engine has some potential as a solid FPS engine for the DS.

As for the story it leaves a lot to be desired. But even the developers admit that this aspect was not something they were entirely satisfied with as the game shipped.

When it comes to survival horror on a handheld this is the best that it gets. It is not the best in the genre, but hey, you hve to make sacrifies for mobility.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Kill All Zombies...

posted by Neurotica (HUDSON, MA) Jan 29, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

Cool game, interesting plot. The controls are a bit difficult to get into at first, but the more you play, the easier it is. There were a few scenes where I actually screamed in surprise because something came around a corner - pretty cool, considering the last game that did that for me was Resident Evil 2. Overall, good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty good actually

posted by cbeaty (ELK RIVER, MN) Jan 23, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

Graphics: Excellent for the DS. Very nice lighting effects with darkness everywhere until you take out your flashlight. Detail with character and weapon models, animations, and effects.

Gameplay: Great. It can get repetitive with the cramped hallways and small closets everywhere you go. And it's not very satisfying to kill things except for the bosses, which are AWESOME! It's actually a very easy game too. While you can die quickly, there is health and ammo a-plenty. But it's also a very atmospheric experience. You feel like you're in this guy's shoes. It's also got puzzle solving, nothing incredibly hard--in fact, most are really clever. The save system is great: it's at every door you go through so you don't have to worry about that.

Story: Sorry, I don't want to spoil the story. It's really creepy.

Sound Design: Excellent. Along with gorgeous visuals comes great audio in this game. They don't sound tinny or snowy or static-ish. And you know which directions things are coming from as well with the "surround sound".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse