Rent Defiance for PS3
view large frontback

Defiance

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.6

485 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good but could be better

posted by kbodin1 (LYNN, MA) Apr 15, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

11 out of 11 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I find this game to be pretty fun, i was kinda worried with the bad reviews it got very quickly out of the gate by other gamers, but once i got it i realized that it's not that bad of a game. It's very vast and at times a little complicated to understand with he upgrades and keys and other things, but you just have to read and understand what and how to get them.
The graphics could be a little better but overall they are not bad.
I really dont like how on a sniper rifle it zooms out as soon as you shoot it so you cant see the mutants head explode, but it is a single shot bolt action rifle so i guess i understand why it does that.
I have put in like 3 hours on the gae so far and i have unlocked the 4 wheeler so it makes getting around alot easier. I am liking the game the more i play it for sure.
I love the 3rd person view as well, if this game had been FPS i would have sent it back already.
I can't wait to see what more play time brings up, im excited to see what other kinds or weapons and vehicles i can unlock.
I have seen quite a few bugs, but every game has those.
It's a good rent so enjoy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

LOL Did they port a PSP game to PS3?

posted by ihave3boobs (MEMPHIS, TN) Jun 18, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was really intrigued by the show on Sci Fi. Thats what made me want to try this game. Ummm.... it looks like it was originally made for the psp, and stretched to be played for the PS3. Thats just the graphics. The gameplay was so dull and lackluster, I could barley make it past the first mission. I think the only thing I really liked was creating my character. LOL. No...Ill pass. Ill check out the show more, but the game will get no action from me. I put this back in the mail the same day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

well this was a joke.

posted by PoetToucher (CANOGA PARK, CA) Jun 3, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Facts: Game mechanics ( aiming, running, jumping e.t.c ) literally appear and feel like a ps2 game.
Graphics 2/5
Sound 2/5
Controls 1/5
Replay value 5/5

The game becomes repetitive almost right away.
If you are the rpgmmo type you'd think its ..alright.

Personal opinion: The concept of the game is the only good thing about it. Then again Trion or "tryagain" studios didn't deliver that concept AT ALL they delivered a disaster. THE VOCAL ACTING is a 10/10 For ANNOYING.

Bottom line if you're a story/ shooter guy skip it. Mmorpg ppl... give it a shot before you buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Borderlands meets Rift MMO

posted by Minion010 (TUCSON, AZ) Apr 4, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

17 out of 21 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

The game feels a lot like Borderlands and Rift mixed in with thousands of people running around on this giant map. The graphics are not the best in the world, but you can't expect beautiful graphics on a mmo with current hardware. Gameplay can get repetitive after a while, but it does get more challenging farther in the game. I did experience some server crashes, and had my stats reset on one of them. But I figured out that if you unlink your console from their website then that seems to fix this issue for the most part. If you are a huge Borderlands fan than I highly recommend this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very decent game

posted by Arcs (MATTHEWS, NC) Apr 16, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

There is no online code required,first ofall. It plays almost like a mass effect online. Really fun to get together with freinds and shoot it up or just mess around.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mind Blown

posted by Jrodriguez90 (BLAINE, WA) Apr 11, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I'm so impressed with this game, it has everything you could ask for from a shooter and an MMO! it has an interesting story, tons of quests, huge enviroments, fun bad guys to shoot, a billion guns and somehow they found time to tie this whole thing into a on going television series. This game is a must have for anyone who like MMOs, Borderlands, Halo, or anyone who just wants to see the first tv/videogame combo play out. April 15th is going to be an exciting day for all Defiance owners. (BTW the servers still crash less then World of Warcraft) :D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Average with too much Hype

posted by Timrsings1 (HILLIARD, OH) Jun 24, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It's a basic open world third person shooter with an MMO feeling. But the problem with the massive multi-player aspect is that there are way too many people trying to play it. That in turn causes the system to crash and kick me out all of the time, besides the freezing up and other players lost in the atmosphere. Always makes me feel like there's a hacker trying to get into my stuff.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Really fun and multi-platform!

posted by FASTCOREVIEWS (MARSHALLTOWN, IA) Jun 15, 2013

Member since May 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I played Defiance for 2 hours yesterday because I was really bored and had bought it 3 days ago. This game, while a little buggy (but VERY PLAYABLE), is so enjoyable! It reminds of Borderlands with more customization, car choices, mods (as in weapon modifiers), and objectives to do. The story is flowing really well, and I can't believe it runs so smoothly for how many people can be on one server. By the way, if you don't know already, it is an MMO RPG, or massive-multiplayer-online role-playing-game. You can play with friends or complete randoms, and still enjoyment is to be had. The only drawback is the bugginess, but it still runs better than Fallout Games, and I don't know if that's because I am playing the game after 3 major patches, but hey... who cares. People who judge a game on the first day are not very wise...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

buggy mess

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) May 30, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Overview
======================
There is without a doubt a faction of people craving a MMO on consoles that will like this game and say it is great regardless of its issues.

I really wanted to like this game, but I couldn't find any real reason to play it. The concept is great like Dust 514 is, but the execution is 2nd rate at best.

The graphics are pretty bad. There is no story per se. The controls are not that good and there are frame rate issues. There are just so many games that do a shooter better (this is just a neat concept that they failed to achieve).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

well done

posted by jcrahl (Louisville, KY) Apr 7, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

A very well made game. Im enjoying this alot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I think there's more here than you think....

posted by Valdien (LINCOLNTON, GA) Apr 6, 2013

Member since Jun 2011

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

I think when the Tv show written by the same people that did Battlestar Galactica and Caprica; will make people want to play more; more than that, I can tell they don't any of the current day game perks on. Once then hit the Directx 10 button or even 9 with upper setting, this will be a wonderful game, like a Rift meets Skyrim/Borderlands II sort of game when the dev's get the graphics under control. The good thing about an MMO type game, is endless patching. So they can and will fix most bugs and make it look better. Good Luck to the crew on the game and on the TV show; think the mix will be interesting to see. I hope it survives to the new consoles actually.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Game gives me a Pain in the head

posted by mars188 (BRISTOW, OK) Apr 3, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2003

10 out of 39 gamers (26%) found this review helpful

Frist off Defiance is a ugly game looks like a game should of came out 6 years ago. Alot of pop in Texture you can walk through people and other things just walk right on through. The Enemies are boring shoot run shoot and roll Repeat so on and so on. Game Menu is a Pain to go through, Maybe if you want too spend 10hrs on this Game you can find a few good things, But it was so boring for me- dont care too play it for 10hrs Sorry!!! Just Giving my Review sorry if i hurt your feelings. Worst game of the year for me!! Sorry again

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Game I've Played Yet

posted by chargerbrett (PIQUA, OH) Mar 26, 2014

Member since Apr 2013

They tried to make this game an all online game like DC Universe and failed terribly. I had the game two days and was unable to play due to constant game down time. Not a single thing was realistic. The improving of weapons and equipment was way more complicated then it needed to be. I'll straight out say that it's not even worth and rent and sorry I wasted my time on it when I could have been playing a different game. Final score....F-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

skip it

posted by hititalday (TRENTON, NJ) Feb 18, 2014

Member since Mar 2010

terrible game, it took me 25 minutes to download the "patches" and once the game started it was boring and slow.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game is not what i had expected

posted by evasive1 (WHITE HAVEN, PA) Dec 24, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

this game is something other than a 6.6 rating if you have to play the game as well as you have internet access is horribly wrong..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Could not get into it

posted by 3stooges (BOCA RATON, FL) Oct 30, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

For some reason I could not get into this game. It was pretty boring right from the start. They should have made it more exciting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Couldn't Play. Failed to download patch twice

posted by BURZUM (TROY, AL) Sep 9, 2013

Member since Nov 2010

I tried to play the game, but it requires that you download the patches and install before getting to play. I tried twice to download the patches, each time taking hours before giving me an Error message. Don't know what the problem is, but you may encounter the same issue. Might be a better idea to download from PSN since it's only 9.99 now, but I don't know how much access you get without the deluxe/season pass. Anyway, I was forced to mail it back this morning, because it obviously isn't going to successfully download the patches. Lame.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

reminds me of Mercenaries!

posted by ksambad (SANTA ROSA, CA) Aug 23, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

this game is fun story is long and cool at times, some of the side quests are alot of the same, but its got me hooked, sometime the Ais weapons are a little to crazy powerful. reminds me of mercenaries from ps1 o ps2 whichever it was, but def cool and fun worth a try if ur waiting for ur next game to come out like i am.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

They should of waited

posted by thewolftard123 (WASHINGTON, MO) Aug 13, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

All I can say is wow. This game Blows. This is why it tanked the Defiance show just started this year and too be honest WAS NOT that Good. They should of waited till the show was established with a fan base. If they would of waited and worked on the graphics so it didn't look like a ps2 game then they would of made a killing. One thing that was very bad they had like 6 or so patches and you can only play online.

What I would like too say is that stay away from this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Finally a real MMO for console

posted by NekoAdachi (RENO, NV) Aug 7, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

I really enjoyed the game play and the open world. The controls take a bit to get use to and I think the story itself takes a bit to open up but once you get past that there is just a lot to do and honestly I just enjoy shooting mutants. I think this game also is aimed towards a very specific audience, so definitely give it a try before buying it. It seems that the MMO crowd was targeted more than anything. If you like MMOs with some scifi shooting then this one is definitely for you, while the shooter crowd might feel a little out of place.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

uggg load already!

posted by gman101808 (CORAL SPRINGS, FL) Jul 7, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

so to start off i couldnt even play this game its so long with all the updates and hours of loading tht to my standards arent even worth the wait the game took so long to just get to the main menu tht i immediatley gave up and returned the game just awful ugg.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

are ytou kiddn me ppl this game at the very least

posted by zlariviere20 (WOONSOCKET, RI) Jun 30, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

i hate how people completely focus on the few falts in a great games and give it a 1 the game is amazing but because you dnt liek maybe the way the controls feel when aiming you give it a one well i bet you also never bothered to adjust the settings i played the beta version with all the flaws and even at that time i give this game a 8 now i give it a 10 becuase i dnt care abotu one stupid little flaw that has no affect on gameplay jsu the whole aroudn idea that you and the rest of the world fight together or on your own if you wnt is awsome and unlike any ohter ghame and if you dnt liek tht aspect of it then why give it a 1 jus cuz you dnt like mmo's doesnt mean this game is horrible and deserves a 1 if you dnt like mmo's then you shouldnt be voicing yoru oppinion and giving it a bad reveiw abotu a game purely made to be an mmo

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Don't bother

posted by AzBman1 (SAN TAN VALLEY, AZ) Jun 10, 2013

Member since May 2006

I had a better experience with the Open Beta than the final product.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

would be better if it came out 2-3 years ago

posted by An_Evil_Angel (TREVOR, WI) May 28, 2013

Member since May 2013

the graphics are kinda out dated, the game play is simple to pickup, the story doesnt get explained well. the game has a good idea like borderlands with way more people but again... its like borderlands 1 with worse graphics ;/

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun, Innovative

posted by Justdawg08 (WAUSAU, WI) May 14, 2013

Member since Mar 2011

Rented it and within the first day I was wanting to buy it and the Season Pass. So I kept it on Gamefly for $45, saved me $15 from buying it anywhere else. The game is just so deep and if your going to want to master it your going to have to put a lot of time into it.

The graphics aren't spectuacular but they are still good enough, the colors and everything blend nicely on my television and everything is pretty crisp. No eye popping graphics though.

This games all about 3rd person shooting and leveling up and getting lost in a world that will hopefully keep providing you with content via the Weekly Updates, Season Pass, and of course the Television Show which is apparently doing real good and got renewed for a 2nd season.

This game is perfect for someone who likes sci-fi type shooters and wants to try something new in an open world game with hundrends and thousands of players playing through the game right by your side pretty much.

Since the game was first launched to now I have increased my grade from a 7 to a 9 simply because of their amazing support towards this game. So many bugs and glitches have been ironed out and it's noticeable to those who played early. Runs much smoother now.

You can report bugs and send comments to them via the Main Menu. Something also fairly new to console gaming. You can even open up support tickets. Defiantly succedding at trying to be involved and adapting with their community. A little more in game content would be nice though as the show episodes go by.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse