Rent Def Jam Rapstar for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Def Jam Rapstar

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, PS3
GF Rating
6.0

541 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game!

posted by aidenkael (ANN ARBOR, MI) Feb 3, 2011

Member since Jan 2008

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game has everything you need in a game if you like hip hop. Good beats, addictive game play, and funny online videos.

PROS:
Great track list-Everything from Biz to Pac, TI to 50, Weezy to Kanye
Good DLC- Good DLC selection with more to come
Freestyle- Great addition for messing around with friends
Duet and Battle-Why rap alone when you have friends?

CONS:
Need a Vision Camera for some features- No uploading videos without a camera.
Community Section- Defiantly needs some polish, hard to find videos.

To close I feel I need to addressee some common misconceptions:
1. You don't need to run out and $30 dollars on a new mic, ANY MIC WORKS. Headsets do not however. Go to GameStop and get a $10 mic.
2. Kinect works now. The game has been updated so that it is Kinect compatible.

Overall 9/10
Definite buy if you love rap, but rent it first if not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Lots of Fun

posted by scottfree1 (ARLINGTON, TX) Nov 15, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

12 out of 13 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

I was really excited to get this game, and the wait was worth it. It's not perfect, but it still exceeded my expectations.

Pros
1. Song Selection (they really picked some gems!)
2. Freestyle mode (I rap so I loved this)
3. Interface (no learning curve. like karioke for thugs.)
4. Learned lyrics to songs i've been screwin up for years
5. DLC (can't wait to grab My Mind's playin tricks)

Cons
1. Forced to sing chorus (i'm a rapper not a singer)
2. Freestyle beats (they are good, but i want to rap on game tracks)
3. Forced to buy mic (is there any other game u gonna use it on?)

All in all I got a kick out of this and think there is much room for expansion. As an underground rapper myself, the game really speaks to me. I just wish there was an option to not have to sing the chorus (having enough breath for the verses is tough enough and some choruses overlap with verses).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

GOOD

posted by nakara (RIO RANCHO, NM) Apr 25, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS VERY FUN BUT THE ONLY THING IS THAT IS DOES NOT
COME WITH A MICROPHONE SO IT IS BETTER OFF BUYING THE GAME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

what a let down

posted by TheBean (WICHITA, KS) Jan 15, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

so i've been waiting weeks on this, said it worked with kinect so im thinking awesome...put it in, doesnt pick up the kinect microphone...plug in a headset, doesnt pick up that mic either...turns out u need a 30.00 mic accessory just to play this game, only the kinect video works. Why would i pay 30.00 to play a game for a month or 2 and cost me 1/3 of my 30 dollar a month membership for 2 months...50 dollars total to play this game for 2 months...i dont even know if I would play the game for 2 months, so to expect me to have to buy a 30 dollar mic on top of pay for monthly fee for a game i dont even know if i'll like is redonkulous...this gaming industry is getting notorious for price raping. If it doesnt work for xbox kinect mic and video it SHOULD be stated somewhere BEFORE u wait weeks, get it and find out you've been dubed (like on need for speed online multiplayer, having to pay extra to play online). I'm so ticked right now, i have to send this back and wait another 2 weeks on a different game...thx for another let down, almost ready to throw the idea of gamefly out the window...nothing about it been fly so far.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What a disapointment...

posted by MattBear (WOODBRIDGE, VA) Oct 26, 2010

Member since Mar 2004

11 out of 22 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Man, I love music games. I've been there since the very first Guitar Hero game. I even loved the (mostly hated) game "Get On Da Mic". The reason I loved it (outside of it being a great, fun game with good songs) was that it made hip-hop the center of attention. Even though I love rock music, I love rap too. I've always thought that rap hasn't gotten it's due in the video game world. Sadly, "Def Jam Rapstar" has NOT fixed that problem at all.

The game is a (slightly) glorified karaoke machine...seriously. I can't even believe they put this out as a video game. There's no stage performances, there's no story line, there's nothing in the "game" that makes it an actual video game. All it is is music videos with lyrics running underneath it. That's it. SERIOUSLY.

I really wanted this game to be more, but sadly it was the worst "music game" I've ever played...if it can even be clasified as that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Horrible!

posted by Havoc_RLJ (VACAVILLE, CA) Jun 26, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game need a xbox 360 mic for it to work.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mama Has Arrived

posted by Cloud324 (HOPEWELL JUNCTION, NY) Oct 7, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 43 gamers (5%) found this review helpful

this game is amazing nuff said

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Radio edit??

posted by JanN0ne (MADISON, WI) Mar 20, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

Overall, this game is OK. I enjoy music games, and love rap so I thought it would be a nice addition to my collection. Unfortunately, all songs are the radio edit version....I understand they wanted to keep a Teen rating for the kiddos but seriously??? Why would children be playing this game anyway? It still contains numerous references to drugs. This was the single most disappointing feature of the game, and easily knocked off 3 points.

Otherwise, I enjoy the similar system to Guitar Hero, and they have a nice albeit small selection of songs. I also wish there was more downloadable content to purchase so I could expand the library of songs but oh well, maybe I just haven't played it long enough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

okay

posted by payge (NEW ORLEANS, LA) Sep 28, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

the game sucks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Loved It

posted by SayitaintSean (NEW ORLEANS, LA) Aug 23, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

The only reason this game missed a 10/10 from me was because of the small size of the song library. I absolutely loved that the music videos played in the background unlike the Rock Band & Guitar Hero games, with their dumb fake people. I also loved the game modes and co-op versions. If only it had a larger library (both including & excluding the downloadable content)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good concept! Needs updates

posted by djhollygrove (STAFFORD, TX) Jul 6, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

This game has ALOT of potential.. Just need more updates and a better GUI(Graphics User Interface) but over all its a GOOD GAME.. It just takes a few mins to get used to and your off.. A better song selection would help as well!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Very Disaapointed

posted by richlile36 (NORCROSS, GA) Mar 28, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

Was very angry at this game when i got it. I had preordered it and hyped myself up 4 it n everything. I was use to da original def jam games where there b fightin so when i got home n started playin, i was tryin 2 figure out 4 da longest how 2 fite. Finally it don over me dat their was no fightin. I was so angry i felt like breakin da game n half. I did not want 2 pay 60 dollars 4 dis game, actually 70 with da mic. I knew of course it was goin 2 b da whole karoke thing, which i was i was happy about, but i jus thought there was goin 2 b fightin along with da kaoke thing. If da no fightin on da game thing wouldnt have caught me off guard, i would have gave dis game bout a 6 becuae it has sum gud songs, i like da idea, n dey got sum gud features on it dat u can do with ur music. Even if i did know, i still wouldnt have paid 60 dollars 4 it though, but its a alrite game though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Def Jam rapstar..

posted by Thebalance (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Mar 23, 2011

Member since May 2010

Overall this was not a horrible game. The game play is nice and sticks to the singing game format. The only draw backs is that there are not enough songs on the game itself, and not enough up to date hits from everyone favorite artists. There is one song from 2pac, no Bone thugs in Harmony, No Jay-Z or eminem and the list goes on.
With the 5 tier system in the "Become a legend mode" It seems short lived, I completed all five tiers within the first 2 hours, set on hard mode. If this game had take the rought that Rock band has It would be a 9, but the lack of game play and variety of songs and artist really hurt this game in all. Tho it is still a fun game to play, one can only sing the same songs so many time before it gets annoying.

Overall its a good game, not great or incredible. If they come out with a second edition they should follow the lead of rock band and creat more venues, instead of just videos they should add stage performances and a character creation. Some how impliment a freestle battle segment within a story mode. ADD MORE SONGS that are up to date and popular artist to make this a 9-10 star game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Rapstar - As close as it gets

posted by Elite_Sage (OCALA, FL) Feb 18, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

Not all things translate well.

Rapstar does about as good a job as it can get thus far. The problem with doing a Rap/HipHop type game is its measured on the aspect of hitting beats with it rarely on pitch control (a change for those accustomed to other singing games).

With all things being said it does a good job of it. If you have a history of appreciating this genre of music you will definitely recognize songs from the last 20 years so you aren't stuck with just current songs. Thankfully, they are songs you will most likely recognize because if you don't know the song it is VERY hard to fake your way through since again its not based on pitch and rap has A LOT of tempo changes.

Its weakness comes in its repetition. Other than showing off for someone or a pure love for the song there isn't much depth to the game. You can unlock a couple songs but it's not going to do much since it already starts with a pretty decent collection and the unlockable ones aren't the best.

If you like this type of music this is a good game to try out because the song selection is really nice. (Warning: rap songs usually have profanity and these all mute during those portions, which doesn't bother most songs unless you like Lil' Wayne in which case the song is ABSOLUTELY a trainwreck). If you aren't a rap fan then you will definitely find yourself putting it back in your mailbox the same day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Rap Karaoke

posted by MoveUser (HOPEWELL, VA) Feb 15, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

If anyone has heard/is into the Lips series of games or even SingStar, Def Jam Rapstar plays the same way.
The DLC is great. The online community - especially the videos are HILARIOUS (many, not all).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Surprisingly Good!

posted by Icemkr (DAVENPORT, IA) Jan 31, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

I have to admit, that when I put this on my "Q" list I follow with an audible "this outta be good".

After it arrived I was amazed with how entertaining this game really was, as a really white guy, it is absolutely disgraceful to watch me play. Even though it is one of the more addictived titles I have played in a long time, it has a great setlist as well as many good downloads. The only real cons that I noticed was a very terrible interface for game calibration, song censoring that causes you to stumble on your words and has an inconsistent dictionary of censored words. I still think that it is worth the rental and even a purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

DEf jam Rapstar

posted by Pwalter10 (NEW CASTLE, IN) Jan 11, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

This game i thought was ok could have had a little more songs and stuff but over all was fun too play....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not what you expect

posted by lilmamame (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Dec 10, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

All I can say is this game was wack, I was so excited to play this game because all of def jam games I have loved, But this game the concept was koo but they did not have the right soundtrack. Good artist but definley the wrong songs by the artist. I just wasnt felling it and it gives u points if ur laughing or it hears background noise so it throws off ur pitch. Ole well maybe next time def jam

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »