Rent Def Jam Rapstar for PS3
view large frontback

Def Jam Rapstar

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.9

190 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good Game!

posted by marisdaman (LAWNSIDE, NJ) Oct 28, 2010

Member since Jul 2007

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a good game if you like rap, (which I do) I can see this as a great party game or if you want to become a master at rhyming your favorite rap songs. If you don't like rap.... I say don't rate the game on that! Rate the game on its Gameplay. To me it has the same value as guitar hero Rock band etc. All in all jump in if your a rap fan, you'll enjoy. (Movies corrupt more kids than music.. think scarface, goodfellas, blow, just to name a few) IMO

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

If You're a Fan of this music

posted by johnnywebb (YELM, WA) Oct 6, 2010

Member since Sep 2007

12 out of 13 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

If You're a Fan of this music you can probably already recite all the lyrics to all the songs you know without the game's help, on the hardest difficulty, no problem. If you're an amateur rhymer, the game does offer some helpful stats letting you know if your timing or pitch is off. Other than that, though, the game is pretty bare bones, the graphics are pretty bad and look like they are upscaled from 480p, and although the community aspect is promising, as of today (two days after release) there isn't a single video online to rate. The videos range from new releases to early 80's rap, so they are all SD, of course. They are already offering some DLC, so that's a plus. Bottom line, if you're a fan of singing games and you have been wanting to sing rap songs (which most singing games lack), then this is your game. If not, this game is not going to change your mind.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ok

posted by baz788 (BARRINGTON, RI) Jan 18, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i dont like how you can record your freestyles in the game but not listen to them because i really want to listen to my fresh raps but the music is ok and it a pretty fair game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Idea

posted by Bridge3000 (BELTSVILLE, MD) Dec 17, 2010

Member since Nov 2007

We liked this game a lot, but just thought the developers were being less than generous with opening you with only 5 songs. We're keeping the files and definitely want to get this game back when the price drops.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Really

posted by Kansasguy (OVERLAND PARK, KS) Oct 23, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

If you know all the words to b rate songs then you will do well. Very fast, you rap tracks that are overlayed and not actually done by the real artist. Not very realistic or fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

stop stealing from little kids

posted by threaldeal (ORLANDO, FL) Oct 17, 2010

Member since Feb 2007

why are you trying to corrupt the minds of innocent children?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »