Rent Def Jam Icon for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Def Jam Icon

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
5.2

3701 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
4

Weak

Def Jam gone wrong

posted by Drin23 (CUPERTINO, CA) Apr 25, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

34 out of 41 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Def Jam Icon is a big disappointment. In single player it feels more like a wrestling game with a rap feel than a fighting game. Almost all AI has the same strategy, block or counter your attacks, hit you a few times, then throw you into the nearest object and follow it up by "scratching" and doing massive damage. Simply put, single player mode is more frustrating than fun. Not to mention, the basic attacks like punching and kicking feel somewhat sluggish.

The enviroments themselves are rather boring, basically all of them flat ground with a few explosive objects or what not surrounding each one. Also, the effects are really annoying. When you or someone else changes a song mid fight, the colors change to give a different effect, but it's not a cool effect, just annoying. When you get close to dying, the screen gets kind of bright and it makes it harder to fight, atleast for me; and the camera views itself can get rather annoying. There will be times when all you can see is your characters back, with your opponent in front of you attacking you, but you can't see where to block because all you can see is the back of your character.

So does the multiplayer aspect redeem this game? Well, from my limited online expierence I would say no. Because the fighting itself in this game just isn't that good, online play feels very similar to single player. It's basically just block your opponent, punch or kick a few times, then when they block grab them and throw them into the nearest object, and scratch to blow them up.

If your a fan of the other Def Jam games, you will definetly be disappointed with this game. It feels like a completely different game than the last Def Jam, and thats not a good thing. Icon is more focused on the music aspect of the game, than the actual fighting; and yet it's a fighting game.

Overall, if you liked the other Def Jam games, give this one a try; but don't get your hopes up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Hip-Hop Hooray! ...but not really

posted by Twizlex (DAUPHIN, PA) Mar 7, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

26 out of 34 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

Simply put, this game is not as good as the last game, Def Jam: Fight for New York. It looks great and has some innovative music stuff, but it's significantly lacking in the fighting department, which is a total bummer considering this is supposed to be a fighting game. It seems they concentrated so much on the music aspect that the fighting is almost an afterthought.

The basic gameplay is this: beat guys up to beat of the song. It's a fresh idea, I'll admit, but doesn't seem to work very well in practice. Maybe it's just my whiteness and accompanied lack of rhythm that's the problem, but I've played other music style games without any hiccups. The issue here is that pushing buttons to try to punch a dude's face at the same time as the bass beats just doesn't work like it should. You can also jiggle the analog stick to "scratch" the song all DJ like but that never seemed to help me either.

Icon definitely seems like a step in the wrong direction when compared to Fight for New York. There's no HUD, no health meters, and no special fighting moves or techniques other than punching and kicking and some mediocre grabs. It's much more realistic in terms of the moves, but also a lot less fun. It has fewer battlegrounds and fewer playable characters than Fight for NY, and it also doesn't have any female characters. I enjoyed beating people up as Carmen Electra and now I can't.

It's sorta fun to beat down fools online, and the ability to use your own songs in the game would be neat if it actually worked correctly. You can't "scratch" custom songs, and the beats don't seem to register as well as the in-game songs. Sometimes a gas tank will explode nowhere near a bass beat and make me wonder if it just blows up at scheduled intervals instead.

Basically, if you like fighting games, you MIGHT like this, but anyone that really loved the last game will probably be disappointed. I'd only recommend Icon to people who are really into hip-hop music. Overall it's just OK.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

What happened?

posted by slokom123 (SENOIA, GA) Mar 22, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I am so disapointed in this game. The first def jam was great. The second was perfect.. The third is LAAAAAAAME... Now compared to the 1st two the fighting is slow. It just sucks. What happened to grapples and slamming and throwing theminto walls and all that? Now you punch kick anthrow in slow motion.. Themusic is a 10, the characters are a 10. The fighting and actual gameplay is 0. Now if you did't change a thing and all that was changed was the fighting this game would be thegreatest ever.. I love how you can sign artists and drop their albums and choose ryalties and make money off that. But, the gameplay ruins everything. All you have to do is remake it and make the actual gameplay the same as fight for newyork. That's the only thing that needs to change.. What the (BLANK) were they thinking with the air turntable bull (BLANK) Bad idea.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

no fight for new york

posted by martin (MACON, GA) Mar 16, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

What happen EA...???
You had a good game in ffny but the hype of this game is all just that hype. to much of the old great fun is now gone and we all are left with another button masher thanks EA. thanks alot you came and we saw how fast you can make a game and that's it just make a game.. i thank that if EA keeps making games like this and a few more of the games that people wait to see and then they end up like a few of the earily games. lets just say i'll end out saying 2ksports alot more..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Solid Fighting Hybrid

posted by Brickhouse (SMITHS STATION, AL) Oct 21, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This game is getting a bad rap, no pun intended, from people who just don't want to take the time to learn how to master it. You don't have to be a pro to learn the fighting system. It's a great game with a solid storyline. The graphics are nice and the soundtrack is off the chain. If you're looking for a fun fighter this is it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

DefJam let down

posted by dacarter (TACOMA, WA) Mar 21, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

12 out of 18 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If you are a big fan of the DefJam fighting franchise then this game is a big let down. The entire game is all about punching, kicking and throwing. There are no more special moves that you have to build up power to execute, no picking your opponent up off the ground. The game is just boring. I mean the characters are designed to the "T" but the game is a big let down from the other 2 DefJams.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Really bad

posted by bjc617 (BOSTON, MA) Mar 21, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Please do not even bother to rent this game, it is horrible. The only good thing in this game are the graphics and the music, oh and to dress your character. The gameplay goes so slow it is unbearable the controls are horrible and the storyline has to be one of the worst i seen. Nothing like ffny. Not worth it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

its a great game

posted by neverdie (PHOENIX, AZ) Aug 2, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

ok i rented this game a wile ago but i remember that it was fun its like and old style fighter but with a twist of rap and running a rap company its cool I'm not a fan of rap at all but i got addicted to this game its worth renting it -

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

it was pretty good

posted by shocker (BRANDON, FL) Mar 21, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

i liked the graphicks but in the next one i hope for more of a social network and more freedoms like traviling and buying houses and women and feeling more in control and having more of a fighting feeling

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Too Easy

posted by HarlemsKK (NEW YORK, NY) Mar 16, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I give this game an 8 out of 10 for 2 things. 1. The game play is one of the most creative I've ever seen... And 2. It has a soundtrack that would blow any and everybody's roof top off. But the negative which brought the game to an 8... Just like my title the game is "TOO EASY"!!! I recieved the game on March 13th and played all the way to today just half an hour each day and just a little while ago I finished it. So thats four days I played this game. So if your a excellent gamer I advice to have a good game right after this one in your "Game Q" because it should be delievered to your house real soon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Another Def Jam, Another Success

posted by TjDaKing (LUSBY, MD) Mar 14, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

8 out of 13 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

The next-gen fighting game, Def Jam Icon differs from the rest, it has its own unique gameplay, no more wrestling, but all out brawling. The build a label mode is a great new mode, as you rise from an young talent into a huge producer, it adds its own unique style and it is very fun to play, but it only clocks in about 4-5 hours.

Gameplay is somewhat sluggish and fustrating at times, but it is still a blast to play. There are about 6 different fighting styles and they all have thier special moves and speed movement. The animation is smooth, but you will see some jumpy textures, but still great. Nothing to really say about online except that it can be laggy at times.

The graphics are unbelievable as all the rappers looks like themselves, EA got everything to thier own style of clothing and stance. Background is very "colorful" as the musics plays the backgrounds move with it, making the background a must see.

Sound is unbelievable, if you are a rap fan, you will most likely know all the songs, as EA picked the most known songs to date. The explosions are sounds pretty good and the voice acting are superb.

Overall this is a excellent game, maybe a rent for non-rap fans, but a buy for the people who love rap and love easy to learn gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

An Absolute Must-Rental.

posted by neogreg707 (SALINAS, CA) Mar 7, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Def Jam: Icon has been hyped up ALOT by how this will change how we look at Hip Hop and fighting games altogether. From this, I was expecting nothing less that amazing from a game so beautifully rendered that has captured the look and feel of a truly urban, street fighting game.

First, let's get the bad stuff out of the way. The combat is simplistic, narrowing it down to basically the four face buttons and triggers for punches and taunts. But there is also a shining point within this. The innovative DJ controls allow you to use the environments to your advantage like blowing the speakers of a club straight up to eleven, or getting that swirling heli to whip your opponent with its tail. Back to the bad news, since it was made by EA Chicago, the team behind Fight Night Round 3, the fighting can feel a bit slow compared to other fighting genres. But also because it's made by EA Chicago, the graphics are absolutely freakin' goregeous. The backrounds and stage pulsate to the beat of song, sparks fly from electrical surges, and the stage itself crumbles as the fight continues and players take more damage. Characters are made right down to the pores of their skin. In other words, this game is well up there with Gears of War as far as graphical achievements go.

The story mode is entertaining and adding your own music can be pretty fun when it works, and when you know how to do it correctly. Online play is considerably lag-free and a blast to just lay the beat down on your friends.

The Def Jam series has definetely taken a step in a new and right direction. Loving this game right now and an absolute must-rental, if not, purchase. You don't hear the beat. You don't feel the beat. You live the beat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

fun game

posted by codeman14 (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Jul 30, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

it's good but the controls are kinda hard but you will get use to it. Overall it is a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Moderately Weak

posted by cg3finess (NORTH HOLLYWOOD, CA) Mar 13, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I found Def Jam Icon to be less than mediocore and moderately weak. the story line was too limited as well as the gameplay. However the concept of running a business with the music industry was inspiring, I found it to be the only reason keeping my attention.

Def Jam could have come stronger on the XBOX 360

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best "Fighting" Game Ive Ever Played.. Easy

posted by BondsJuice (DAVENPORT, IA) Mar 28, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First off I keep hearing Def Jam Fight for NY was better.. But since I never played that game I cant comment on that.. All I can say is that game is too deep, too much fun to ever be called corny..

The story is Holy S#!t!! good.. With cameos that any one familiar with hip hop would know..

The character customating is the best Ive ever seen in a game.. From the faces, to the clothes that you can buy.. You can basically make the best video "you" youve ever made..

I will say this is probably the type of game we all got gamefly for.. Cause its a disgustingly great game.. Till you beat the story mode, then theres basically nothing to do but to play online or against your friends..

So its definately worth the rent, and might be worth $20 to $30 something down the line but I wouldnt pay $60 for this game.. Cause the replay value isnt there as much as some games like sports tittle where you can do 30 seasons..

The fighting is fun once you learn the buttong and how to really play the game..

The demo doesnt show you the buttons so its hard for people to realize how fun the fights can be..

The key to winning online is basically learning to block.. if you do nothing but smash buttons you'll get stomped out bad by some one who knows what their doing..

Presentation-10-(Hood Seal of Approval)
Gfx-10-(Some of the best Ive seen)
Sound-10-(Great music and Acting)
Gameplay-7-(Simple but fun)
Replay Value-6-(Once you beat the game its hard to go back and do it again)

Over all-9- (I highly recomend renting this game.. I think even if your not crazy about the fighting system, the story wont let you stop playing)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

What were they thinking!!!

posted by Drayno3000 (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Mar 10, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I dont know why they took the wrestling aspect out of this game. That was the best part. The fighting is very cut and dry. Punch and kick. Thats about all. As good as the game looks, you would think that the fighting would be just as spectacular. Honestly, the fighting needs to improve if they want me to buy part 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Renter not a Buyer

posted by TheMailman (ALBION, RI) Jul 15, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

As a huge fan of the Def Jam fighting games I was extremely disappointed with this new title. While it improves in a number of areas like graphics and sound it looses many of the things that made this franchise so much fun.

First and foremost I have to ask. What happened to our blazing moves? Secondly the overall movement and controller feel of this game is off. Grabs have no variety or weight in the actual fighting. Just toss your enemy into an exploding wall as often as possible and you win. Its almost as if someone who hated the first few games came in and overhauled the whole system.

I will say that the new create a label mode is pretty fun. Choosing what artists to sign and if you're going to pay for those new spinners is a nice twist but not nearly enough to make up for a poorly implemented game that should have been scrapped and remade before it went retail.

If they decide to make another game in this series I hope they go back to the old system of mayhem and over the top finishing moves.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A huge disappointment - worst game I ever played

posted by stumpsmike (COLUMBUS, OH) Apr 23, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

After playing and THOROUGHLY enjoying Def Jam Vendetta, and Def Jam Fight for New York, I was looking forward greatly to this third title. The previous two games, while the storyline was weak, had outstanding gameplay, intuitive controls, and solid replay value. This game is travesty. It is scar on the Def Jam name. From what I played, there is not a single redeeming quality here. VERY limited gameplay, coupled with clunky controls, barely adequate graphics, and pseudo interactive environments make this THE worst game I have ever played. For some asinine reason, the creators focused on the music, and the rap career advancement, and completely overlooked gameplay. The Def Jam crew should be ashamed with themselves; they could have put out an awesome game, but instead through some beats and pixels together and called it Icon. Shame on the house of Jam; shame.

mike

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

most of my favorite rappers

posted by gand1786 (DEAL, NJ) Jan 4, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game has cool songs,cool graphics, its very challenging but I beat it in 8 an a hafe hours.If u r a fan of rap u get this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

All you other losers

posted by gameboy04 (WASECA, MN) Oct 29, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Don't get me wrong, because I liked the first 2 Def Jam games, but I felt like I was playing a wrestling game with a hip hop story line. With Icon, the story does make sense, unlike what others say, one reviewer couldn't even spell, how are you going to take his word on what makes sense? It is about a guy (you) who is invited onto a record label after helping "dispose" of a situation. You have to fight to sign people to your label, you have to fight to keep them happy, and in the end you have to fight for your life. Very simple concept. The fighting styles, if you were good enough to unlock them changed up the gameplay, each location varied things up, and had various hotspots at your disposal to help weaken or finish an opponent. Yes the control mapping changed, but its for the better, you actually have to have skill not just mash buttons now. Just like fight night round 3. No you don't have custom finishers, but its a stinkin' street fight. How often if you've ever been in a fight, when you were about to win, did you powerbomb or suplex the other guy? When was the last time you did a big spin and knocked a guy out? It's more believable that you are fighting on the street. If they put it in multiplayer or something, I could understand, but in the actual game it just wouldn't flow. The music selection was very good, the cast was great. All in all it takes the best of wrestling, and the best of fight night, and mashes it with the best of hip hop to make a pretty cool, although new and different, Def Jam game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

HIP HOP TO THE FULLEST!

posted by Layza1 (COLUMBUS, OH) Aug 17, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS NICE. THE FIGHTING IS FUN, MUSIC FEATURES SOME OF THE HOTTEST TRACKS. THE MAKING YOUR LABEL MODE IS GOOD (COULD OF BEEN MORE DETAIL ADDED TO IT) BUT IT'S CREATIVE AND FUN. IT IS HIP HOP TO THE FULLEST AND GIVES YOUR GAME COLLECTION SOME STREET CREADIABILTY (HA!). THIS GAME HAS BEEN OUT FOR A WHILE SO BUYING IT FOR A LOWER OR PRE-PLAYED PRICE IS WORTH IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

O.K. no this game is not what I want

posted by Tyler007 (ARCADIA, CA) Jul 13, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

God this game is worse than new york
yeah it has you deal with maore than just skills fights a cloths, ur in a weird story that makes no sence at all. If you think of renting our buying this game u dont know what a game is.
GET SOMETHING ELSE!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Def Jam... it don't Jam nothing.

posted by War0979 (PICKERINGTON, OH) Apr 26, 2007

Member since Jan 2005

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This is the worst sequel I've played in years. This game sucks. It's just not any fun. There's an old saying "If it isn't broken don't fix it." Perhaps EA should take that advice to heart. When Def Jam was a wrestling/fighting game it was fun and entertaining. Now they go all fighting and it's just dumb. I played the game for 2 days and I've never gotten more frustrated with a fighting system then I do with this one. It's just a button masher with no skills really needed. It's a coin toss to if you win or not. The DJ spin table thing is just dumb. The environments aid the AI player more then you because the AI plays like a 10 year old kid who only knows 2 moves. And for some reason the color of the screen changes which just makes it look stupid and takes away from the graphics. The camera sometimes zooms all the way in and can't see your legs or if your near a hazard area. I would have rather gotten a game with less graphics and better game play but as always. EA went the opposite road. Great graphics and OK music. The rest is garbage. And am I the only one who noticed that Rappers are just ripping off WWE? Paul Wall calling himself "the People's Champ" that's THE ROCK and "THE GAME"...give me a break. Do rappers have anything original anymore? This game isn't even worth renting. The storyline is tired, the fighting system is none existent. Double Dragon has more gameplay as a fighter then this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

icon

posted by meandog14 (FALL RIVER, MA) Mar 17, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

this game is awsome this game has mind blwoing graphics

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Def Jam Icon

posted by KingNate18 (LAKE BUTLER, FL) Mar 8, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS STILL BRINGIN THE SAME TRAITS THAT THE ORIGINAL DEF JAM GAMES HAD BUT YEA EEVN THOUGH THEY ADDED SOME MORE STUFF IN IT MAKES IT ALL THE BETTER NO W I KNOW EVERYONE HAS A OPINION BUT IN MINE THIS GAME SHOULD B ON EVERYONES QUEUE THAT HAS PLAYED THE FIRST SET OR ARE INTERETED IN PALYIN GAMES LIKE THIS

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse