Rent Def Jam Icon for PS3
view large frontback

Def Jam Icon

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.3

1508 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

Disappointed

posted by soltakr (YORBA LINDA, CA) May 18, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

In all honesty, I was very disappointed with ICON. It seems that all the tools and budget were in place to make a great game but fell short. I personally would place blame on the game director. The game graphic are great and the script work was good as well, however it feel short to at least match up with the early editions. The fighting system (which the previous games where all about) just wasn't there. The styles are "cheesy" to say the least and the fighters are just too slow, as if moving in water. The moves a limited plus the delays in action left me bored. The sound track was great but it was totally over shadowed by the repetitiveness. Everyone told me not to play this game but I gave Def Jam the benefit of the doubt and sadly to they failed miserable. Save yourself the agony and don't play ICON.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Def Jam Icon: Pleasing, but disappointing

posted by FatHippo (LAS VEGAS, NV) Mar 13, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed this game, I did. But I have a few things to say.

For a fighting game, it's really lacking on the fighting. It's not as smooth or entertaining as the last titles. And they took out the fight-ending moves where you completely destroy people. But I did like the addition of the DJ system. It allows you to cause massive damage to your opponent through timing (if you know the song) or through scratching the song to a place where the beat hits and the scenery attacks your opponent.

Nonetheless, whereas I enjoyed the storyline for the last few games, this one takes it to a whole new level. It's extremely engaging. But I did find myself at a point where I was only fighting to progress the storyline. I think it should be a good mix of both: where you're fighting to progress, and progressing to fight.

Overall, I really enjoyed this game. But, I had been considering keeping this game from Gamefly but now I know that it has very little replay value. Rent it, beat it, and move on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Better than it appears!

posted by Liquidswar (BROOMFIELD, CO) Mar 11, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

12 out of 17 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I'm not a huge fan of 1vs1 fighting games, and this hip-hop, urban game wasn't appealing to me at all (sorry, rock guy all the way).

However, I rented it, and it's great! It has a storyline you can follow in single player where you work for a record dealer. You are basically his "shark," taking care of all the dirty work for him. Meanwhile you build a record empire by recruiting hot rappers, and you can use your mooney to progress your record empire through investments or just buy a $300,000 watch for the heck of it.

The graphics on HDMI High Definition are amazing. The soundtrack is top notch.

Definitely gives this title a try. Lots of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WHAT IS IT?!

posted by rigo1 (PHOENIX, AZ) Sep 27, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

it is not like the original def jams if you can remember them, i got lost if its fighting or if its about learning how to become some famous producer of music artist, and everything you do is the same even the way you fight! your characters fighting style remains the same the only thing you unlock is the songs of characters. The dj system is hard to get used to because it does nothing for you but interact with the background and all the computer does is block all the time. Also if the song your using for your fight song it would end and you cant activate any of the environment traps. All in all if they would have kept the old def jam style the game would have been better!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A Tantalizing taste

posted by Hemy07 (HOUGHTON, MI) Mar 11, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Wow, the game play is awesome, and the graphics are superb. I love the fighting, but lacks variety, you can do two things fight and read your email. Sound is intense with a good sound system. Extremely good game for 3 hours. It is extremely repetitive, no variety, combine this games fighting with GTA variety and you would have the most addictive game in the world, comparable to W.O.W. good to rent not to buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Worth trying once

posted by LunarJon (PECULIAR, MO) Mar 22, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

For a 1 on 1 fighting experience this game just does not do the job. You'd be better off going with Virtua Fighter 5. But if you love the music and want to show off a little bit of the graphical capabilities of the PS3, give this game a shot. The 1 player story mode was interesting and it does get quite difficult in the later stages. Fighting to the beat of the music works well and I love seeing the buildings and things bounce with it. Quite fun. Not a keeper in my opinion but rent it and play it at least once!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Ooh Man

posted by topgamenyc (FOREST HILLS, NY) May 4, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Have you ever bought something like ice cream or a slice of pizza and dropped it as you were gunna take the first bite that's what this is like a big let down.
Honestly I Downloaded the Demo from the Playstation store and thought hey I should rent this game its probably fun.
It wasn't the I played the game for 5 minutes and was so bored the game is so clunky and the controls stink I dont know unless your a die hard rap fan and wanna imagine that you are these character's I would tell you that I have seen previous versions and they looked more fun than this.
Everythings worth a shot with a game fly acct but honestly this selection is like flipping a coin you either like it or you dont.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Really Great Game

posted by PS3GOD93 (BOCA RATON, FL) Mar 7, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

6 out of 15 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This Game is great. It has many things new and old. The charecter line up varies from Jim Jones to Fat Joe. The Dj tool is very cool it is a new thing in the Def Jam series, but why I gave it a 9 is because I am sick of button mashers after I played Virtual Fighter 5 I wanted to take a relif from button mashers. I recommend this game for its gameplay and interactive arena .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great fighter with cool combos

posted by billys202 (MONTGOMERY, AL) Mar 11, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I liked this game because it let you fully use your character. Not just pounding 1 or 2 buttons the whole time. The graphics are very clean and the effects are assume. The camera angle is a little aggravating at times, but that's it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this is bad very very baad

posted by freezebite (DETROIT, MI) Mar 17, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

not only is the fighting slow and glitchy the story is repetitive, this isn't even worth renting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Game Ever

posted by Manofsteel (WARREN, MI) May 11, 2007

Member since May 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game was horrible. They really destroyed the game play. The fighters are slow with weak moves and almost no impact with the hits. Yes you can cause a bang with the music and send your enemy souring but so what.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

DEF JAM ICON

posted by hutch20501 (MINOOKA, IL) Jul 29, 2014

Member since Apr 2012

I give it a 3 cause it had cool music and characters but the fighting was very bad don't rent don't buy. If u have a playstation 2 get def jam vendetta and fight for new York way better games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Appreciate it for what it is, rap fans.

posted by cloakXdagger (OMAHA, NE) Jan 27, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

This game was alot of fun when it came out in 06-07 or so, and i just rented it & discovered it still is. The only downside to the PS3 version is the lack of custom soundtracks; this makes the in-game fight music extremely limited compared to the 360 release. Other than that, the line-up of rappers playable for the fights is pretty legit. Young Jeezy, The Game, Redman & Method Man, E-40, Ludacris, Bun B from UGK, Big Boi from Outkast..the list goes on. With the "F.A.C.E." character creation, the game allows for some seriously deep character customization. I was even able to use several of my four slots for custom fighters to make additional artists (Young Buck, Rick Ross, Pimp C) that looked like the real rappers enough that friends picked them not knowing the difference, wondering where their fight songs where on the music selection. Play around with it, it's a lot of fun! Combat is fairly simple to master. Controlling the fight songs via dj scratching moves, fully destructible environments vividly detailed with a grimy hiphop filter over them, and hearing your favorite artists trash talking eachother all make this game wild when the fights break out. There are some issues with fighting, though : Too many characters' fighting styles are imbalanced (i.e, majority of moves are kicks or high moves leaving them vulnerable often), and EVERYONE's combos/moves are painfully slow. This is not for the seeker of fast-moving, fly across the screen with gi-normous fireballs flying out of your %$# type fighting games. Story mode is interesting, different situations each run allow for some replay value there. Not too much unlockable content, on the downside. Bottom line..if you like rap and want to see major artists throw down in the club, on 106th & Park or outside the corner store to a decent 06-07 era soundtrack, rent this game. Im gonna buy it used if I find it. I read these bad reviews, they made me laugh. Its not Def Calibur V, dont set the bar so high.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Icon

posted by BloodyHeck (HOLCOMB, KS) Jul 17, 2012

Member since Oct 2008

I liked it; was ok. Though I did love the first, so you can understand my disappoinment in this one. I liked the label storyline; I do miss the dynamic characters, multi acts in music, and voice overs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not even worth a "curiotsity" rental

posted by Linklex7 (BRIDGEVILLE, DE) Jun 29, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

The worst thing to ever happen to the Def Jam series was them changing it from a wrestling game (an original one too in a time where every WWE Smackdown game seemed the same) to a generic fighting game. Instead of having four players duke it out, you can only have two players at once now. The controls are clunky & stiff making it difficult to pull off many moves. The "music is your weapon" gimmick gets old really fast as most of your fights will just be spent scratching an invisible turntable to make the environment hurt your opponent. The story of you being an up and coming rapper is decent enough. However, it doesn't matter how good a storyline is if the gameplay is frustrating and terrible. I can't stress enough how terrible the controls are. You'll fight those more than you will your actual opponent. I brought this game brand new for only $2, and I still ended up taking it back for a full refund. If there is ever a 4th Def Jam game, which this 3rd installment pretty much insures won't ever happen now, it needs to return to a 4-6 player wrestling game. That's what made the first two games so fun to play. This game is not worth even renting. Even if you're a huge Def Jam fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Icon not what it hyped up to be

posted by Dre077 (AINSWORTH, NE) Jun 4, 2012

Member since Jun 2008

There are some many disappointments with this game. The fighting scheme sucked, it was slow, and you got your butt handed to you for it. The only good thing about this game was the music, and you could style your fighter. But Im just not into playing barbie with a bad fighting scheme.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the best fighting game since fight for NY

posted by djflame (POOLER, GA) Aug 11, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

simply an instant classic i love it. .... BUT if they had some more songs and better cilebrties to fight with like lil wayne, and ace hood just for the publisaty. but they should have a bigger and better def jam game called def jam street ledgend comeing out some that i bet will be a 30 on the ratings chart. take it frome me DJ FLAME peace

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

If its not broken...don't fix it!

posted by krisreed82 (GLEN CARBON, IL) Sep 27, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

If you are (were) a fan of the Def Jam series, take all of your favorite things from Vendetta, and remove them...

Simplicity of controls - Gone. Replaced with "Fight Night" -esque controls instead. I.E. Overly complicated for this type of game.

Brutal, Gritty atmosphere - Gone. The big hits and crunches are replaced with clumsy and soft sounding special moves.

Interactive Environments that affect the fight - Gone. Replaced with environments that move to the beat and have less to do with the fight. Then they added a strange "remix" feature that has you making a DJ motion while the background bounces.

It has been a while since I have been dissappointed in a game I wasn't expecting much from...but they pulled it off!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Couldn't do it!

posted by Zeckard (CENTENNIAL, CO) May 7, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

I stuck the game in and enjoyed the soundtrack, but past that I couldn't play the game more than 10 minutes. I didn't like the controls and couldn't get into the fighting and the storyline was pretty standard.

I can't waste time playing a game like this when there is Grand Theft Auto that is much better than Def Jam. There wasn't enough things happening at the beginning of the game to keep my interest up to continue playing. Good luck to all who desire to play this, I might have just given up to soon, but I will take my chances in regretting playing this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

def jam 3

posted by xpart123 (KANSAS CITY, MO) Apr 28, 2010

Member since Jun 2008

This game is tons of fun the music is good to if your into rap
which i like. the 3d like graphics are cool to this is a really underated
game but its still a good game
I hope they make a def jam 4 soon and be like fight for ny
and have a longer story and you can build your own person like fight for ny
and have group online multiplay

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

def jam icon EXTREMELY HARD

posted by krazyalan (FORT LAUDERDALE, FL) Mar 16, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

alright first of all the fighting is great but the difficulty is encredibley hard once you go to story it starts off easy and then the game takes total control and starts to beat you if you want to win or not trust a waste of your time after an hour

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Stupidest game ever.

posted by Chaotyx (ASHEBORO, NC) Feb 15, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

So it looks like a bunch of rappers just pooled their money and wasted it on a game. Controls are okay at best. and thats the best thing that can be said about this game.

This just shows that anyone can do anything they please, because they have money.

Dont waste your space on your gameq with this... abomination.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game whooooooo god

posted by Drtc24073 (CHRISTIANSBURG, VA) Sep 7, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

This freaking game is so harde god man so freaken harde its not for sor lozers like me lol this game is the worst fighting game i haveever played to harde.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DO NOT RENT!!!!

posted by Clipped (ONTARIO, CA) Aug 8, 2009

Member since Dec 2005

This is seriously the biggest piece of junk I have ever played!! And for it to be on a system like PS3 is an even bigger joke!!! I can't believe games this bad exist on a next gen system of this caliber!!!! THE WORST!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

motownzfinezt

posted by timsmoove (DETROIT, MI) Jul 1, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

really honestly the worst fight game DEF JAM can do after fight for new york u would think ICON would be a monster not sum lost hungry kitten,1st the controls were off very confuseing 2, the fights was wack as heck 3 just the sorty line it self was blah!! i fought 3 fights on this game and ran rite back 2 gamestop .IM a huge rapp fan hey! i even do it my self produce tracks and all.. bottom line NOT WORTRH RENTING DONT DO IT RUUUUUNN. thank u and peace 2 u and yours

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse