Rent Def Jam: Fight for NY for PS2
view large frontback

Def Jam: Fight for NY

Not Rentable
Also on:GC, Xbox
GF Rating
8.5

1369 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best ps2 fighter yet.

posted by Iamkk15 (RICHFORD, NY) Jul 12, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

12 out of 12 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'll open up and say immediately I think this is possibly the best ps2 fighting game I have played in a very long time. I own most of the tekken games, beat soul calibur2&3, and I liked this game more than any of the others. But here is why.

The games overall graphics aren't that bad, actually, they are pretty good. Not the best, but it fits the scene pretty well. My only complaints were the occasional ears showing through a hat. Annoying, that's all. I was probably most surprised by the lighting, better than average.

The game play itself is really would took me, but not completely. My favorite aspect is you seemingly can't just knock somebody out by a normal punch. I loved this. This means you need to use the environment, a weapon, or special attack like your blazing moves once they are in the "Danger Zone". That right there made it MUCH more interesting, and made for some VERY intense fights, some of which lasted 3 minutes, to my record of 11. The blazing moves are incredible, and wow they look painful, they did an awesome job of putting a "wow" effect on most of them. But what about our standard moves? We could really use some more to beat down how repetitive some of the moves are. This however does change a bit once you learn more styles.

The overall sound is pretty well done, and not a bad list of songs. However, you may hear some of them several times until you unlock more. I wish they were all available from the start.

The story mode wasn't that bad at all, but the "story" can mostly be summed in one line. Go take this club for me.

I loved the character creator actually, the sketch artistry works perfect for the story mode, and the reason to why you get to choose how your character looks.

I was glad I rented the game, I actually was unsure if I was going to like it when I put it in my Q. This one is a great one to rent for possibly a couple weeks. I know I have had it for 3 weeks all ready. I rarely keep a game for a week.

-kk15

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Def jam 2 Beats the competition

posted by MrChaos (SUMNER, WA) Dec 27, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

One of the best fighters on the PS2. Adding the new create a Fighter mode made this game a lot better. Being able to give your guy the voice you want out of the choices they gave you, Awesome. Plus the storyline was pretty cool too. Rappers on the game this time seemed a lot more productive and the creators seemed to put more work into this time. Play this game, you will have loads of fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Oldschool is better

posted by bakedcrakr (AVONDALE, AZ) Jun 15, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Only a brief statement is needed to review this game. Better then Def Jam Icon!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best def jam ever

posted by sonyh8er22 (BINGHAMTON, NY) Apr 1, 2007

Member since Jan 2004

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Perfect game. Tons of characters to choose from, great storyline, and a choice of your clothes, jewelery, tatoos, and haircuts. You even choose your girlfriend. Your enemy is crow (snoop dog) magic (busta rhymes) and Fat Joe (whos name in the game they wont let me say on on here), along with their entire army. This game is full of twists and turns, some of them predictable. You can go into free-for-all, train match (where you get to throw them in front of a train), a window match (you guessed it, throw em out a window), and much more. I loved this game, and I'm sure you'll find love for it. RENT IT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good but after a while boring

posted by 1GAMER4LIF (VICTORVILLE, CA) Mar 19, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is pretty good but after a while it gets to easy and to boring

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Who said sequels are no good.

posted by Knockout24 (MIAMI, FL) May 9, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

Listen here who ever said sequels are no good should just shut up. Well maybe they're right on other things but not this game. The graphics are great. The game play is tight and the moves performed by the characters are amazing. This game truly kicks the first versions butt. Story mode is so much better, loading time needs improvement as well as giving the player more options on decision making while in story mode. In whole the game is good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

You get to beat up Rap Stars.

posted by MasterKBates (TEMPLE, TX) Mar 15, 2013

Member since Sep 2011

Obviously, it's not the best fighter, but they put s much effort into making what they thought was an balls to the wall hiphop showdown world where fists determined who was best. Second Favorite Fighting game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

the best fighting game ever

posted by jdble (MEMPHIS, TN) Nov 5, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

this is hands down the best fighting game i have ever played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

def jam fight for ny

posted by noelpratt Aug 29, 2012

this is one hardcore game bro

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Hardcore!!!

posted by Ryujisama17 (SACRAMENTO, CA) Jun 22, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

I Love This Game! however i CAN get hard at first but youll get used to it.... the controls can get complicated untill you change them. has mutitap support as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good game

posted by tyjuan123 (ELKTON, MD) Nov 20, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

best game every you got to play it. it is the most awesome game in the world you get to fight people and you get to choice bewteen five diffence types of fighting and you buy moves and you upgrade your charaters by haveing ponits so you got to get a lot and you will have a person that can beat every person you fight and you will be able to crunch they with your moves and you got to pick kickboxing and martals art and sudmisson but i got kickboxing and martals art and streetfight.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Hip-Hop's Underground

posted by shadowmove (ENDICOTT, NY) Nov 10, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

Outstanding grappling moves, environmental throws, graphics, and venues within all 5 boroughs of New York. I highly recommend you fight in the Gunhill Garage, greatness.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing Game!!!

posted by OttoMatik (IRVINE, CA) Sep 6, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

Def Jam FFNY tops all 3 Def Jam games. It's one of my all time favorite games, besides, Bully, Need For Speed Undercover and Grand Theft Auto San Andreas. But it's hard at times. But in my opinion, if you like fighting games, i would recommend this one, this is as good as it gets!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the game is SUPERB!

posted by crzycam (MILLBRAE, CA) Jun 26, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

this is one of my favorite games
ive been playing it since it came out, ive played the 1st one and the thirs one but this one is the best one out of all of them!

the gameplay is a 10
graphics a 9
story a 9
sounds 10

i really just have zero complaints about this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Rappers beating each other up gets even better!

posted by Devkit (CENTREVILLE, VA) Dec 17, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

I was kind of skeptical of getting Def Jam:FFNY at first, but I saw this getting many 9s and 8s, which meant it had to be pretty decent. "Decent" would be an understatement. I was completely blown away.

Gameplay - 10/10

You can create a character and take him(can't create women in this one) through story mode which is pretty long for fighting games(three hours not counting how many hours you'll spend trying different clothes and jewelry on your guy to make him look cool).

Gameplay is simple to learn and hard to master. There's a punch button, a kick button, a grapple button, a run button, a guard button, and a blazing(finisher) button. To reverse an opponent's grab or attack, just press either of the attack buttons in the direction your fighter is standing in front of your opponent.

There's five fighting styles(Wrestling, Submissions, Martial Arts, Kickboxing, and Streetfighting) and even more styles by knowing two or three(three maximum) specific styles of the five main styles.

There's a LOT of blazing finishers to collect, stats to increase(health, punching power, etc.) and trophies to unlock. You can go through story mode with as many characters you want. It's pretty addicting.

Graphics - 9/10

The graphics look pretty great in DJ:FFNY. Whenever characters start bleeding, their blood gets all over the fighting stage and stays there until the match(s) end! Characters look well detailed and again, blood really stands out here.

Sound/Music - 8/10

The sound and music is rather.. bland in FFNY. Some pieces of rap don't sound too great and others fit perfectly with the game. The sound has the standard groans, punches, kicks, and grabs. There's also blazing yells(people yell out whenever you activate their blazing modes), taunts, and certain phrases said when specific moves are used on opponents.

Overall - 9.6/10

Aki really outdid themselves when they came up with FFNY. FFNY can easily last you 60+ hours. It's definitely worth the $20.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dont work

posted by Tatertot99 (PADUCAH, KY) Oct 6, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

Its to scratch to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible!!!

posted by Shane375 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Aug 20, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

How the &#$% are you supposed to play this game it's just like press this to hit and this to block but the other guys do all the crazy moves(not when they're in blazin') and i have no idea how to do them.
This game is only fun if your playing multiplayer with someone who dosen't understand it either.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

i did not get it

posted by case1010 (TEANECK, NJ) Jun 23, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

i got the game but it didnt work it cap on stop before the fight would start

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

it was to scrached to play

posted by bugmike (RENO, NV) Jan 27, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

so i couldnt tell you how it was do to the fact it was twas to scrached to play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »