Rent Deca Sports for Wii
view large frontback

Deca Sports

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS
GF Rating
4.7

1541 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun Game

posted by TiptonP (DIAMOND BAR, CA) May 28, 2008

Member since May 2007

16 out of 16 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is extremely fun. It can be played by those with little gaming experience or be perfected by those true gamers. I played against another gamer for hours because of the quickness and challenge of the games. I love the fact that the motions you make are pretty close to that of the sports. Not that great of graphics, but is a great game for parties or just to have fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Better than most Wii games

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Jun 3, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

14 out of 15 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

Most Wii games are either really good but dont use the wiimote to its full potential or they're really bad and try to use the wiimote. This games reminds me of Wii sports and Wii play. It is much like those but it has more games. However it isnt that good it is just "ok". If you love Wii play and Wii sports you will prouble like this too even though it isnt quite as good. If you dont like those game i suggest you dont try this games out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Deca Sports

posted by TC2390 (POWDER SPRINGS, GA) Feb 5, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Deca sports is basically a take on Wii Sports, with different games. All of the games are pretty shallow, and get boring after 1 or 2 plays. the only game i actually wanted to play again was curling, but that got boring after a few more plays. also, the controls are very poorly done and you cannot use your Miis. overall, if you want a good simple gaming experience stick with the wii series or check out Carnival Games for the wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bad controls, presentation ruin "Deca Sports"

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) May 18, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

22 out of 26 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

Deca Sports is a collection of ten min games, but each mini game has nasty flaws in them.
Figure Skating is the best of the bunch. The player has to follow the small dots on screen like Pac Man eating his dots. When the skater hits the center of a big circle, you flick the Wiimote up, and you'll perform tricks, then go back to following little circles to the next big circle. But there are only three "tracks" to choose from, so this sport got boring quickly.
The racing games (Kart Racing, Snowboard Cross and Supercross) are the most disappointing. You steer your vehicle through bland, short tracks from start to finish. There are only three tracks for each - a total of nine - and I got bored with them very quickly. Mario Kart Wii does this so much better.
Badminton and Volleyball play the same way - you flick the Wiimote up and/or down to send the ball or shuttlecock flying so your opponent can't return it. It took only a set or two before the game play got tiring.
Archery could be fun, but the target is so small that you'll score more with luck than skill. Those without steady hands can forget about this sport.
Curling (the Olympic sport few people know about) suffers from control glitches. I had major trouble launching and steering the stone; something the AI doesn't have to deal with.
The last two - Soccer and Basketball - play very sluggishly. Watching the players walk up and down the field killed any fun these games had. Soccer suffers from lack of scoring - I had a two minute game go into overtime 0-0, and had to go another 11 minutes and 11 seconds before I scored the only goal of the game.
One more problem Deca Sports has is the graphics and presentation are terrible, adding to the lack of enjoyment.
Deca Sports needs to have more excitement, better graphics and tighter controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

It's worth trying out.

posted by DonnieB (HENRICO, VA) Feb 23, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Some of the games are fun like archery and curling. Snowboard Cross is just too easy. The rest of the games are personal preference. You either like them or you don't. I wouldn't discount at least giving this one a test drive before you make up your mind. That's the beauty of Gamefly. Try it before you buy it. Thanks Gamefly!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't rent this...

posted by smcpartlin (KELLER, TX) Sep 23, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is just plain BAD! Very lame. I played with 3 friends for about 15 mins.. We all agreed it just stunk! Do NOT RENT>>> THROW THIS IN THE GARBAGE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great game!

posted by jordan0717 (DAYTONA BEACH, FL) Aug 11, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Deca Sports is a great game and fun for the whole family. With 10 games all of them are great except for supercross. Supercross is very hard to steer. So it is almost impossible to win. It has simple controls that makes it a good games if you just got your wii and also for young children. After you buy this game you will never play wii sports again. It is a great games for the price.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible Game

posted by cmd1971 (MILFORD, CT) Aug 1, 2008

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

One word, awful.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Felt like i was playing an 80's arcade game

posted by maninahat1 (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Feb 17, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

When i was playing Kart Racing on it the kart didn't even look like it was on the track, kind of like it was just hovering over it. If you crash no effects are there and when you crash you don't crash you are barely touching the side so this is just a piece of junk game you don't want at all;

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Horrible!!!

posted by Eagles_lover101 (REIDSVILLE, NC) Apr 18, 2013

Member since Nov 2011

I don't care what anyone says. This game totally isn't worth renting OR buying. Save your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

deca sports

posted by aaron1234 (PORT LAVACA, TX) Jan 18, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

i don't really like this game it gets boring really quick their is nothing to do i don't recommend renting this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

nice game

posted by databank (GREENSBORO, NC) Apr 4, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

This game has lots to do but a little slow on the controls there is no way to gain any speed in the basketball section and volleyball is nice also. I just need to check out the others.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Deca Sports/ boring

posted by winston31 (NEWARK, NJ) Mar 5, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

this is the most boring game ever soon as i got it i played and thought this is so boring so i returned the next day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Some good, some bad.

posted by tim05753 (EAST MIDDLEBURY, VT) Dec 21, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

Overall the controls are good, and the graphics are cartoonish like Wii sports. You cannot use your own Wii, you choose from several teams.

If you're looking for one of the team sports games (basketball or soccer), I'd say go ahead and get one of the games that specialize in that. I had a little trouble with the controls for these, but in all fairness, I didn't try very hard, as I don't like these sports.

Badminton and volleyball play the same way, and are no better or worse than the Wii Sports tennis.

The racing games (Kart Racing, Snowboard Cross and Supercross) are OK, but the tracks are short and boring. Again, I'd recconmend a game that specializes in this.

Figure skating was ok, but got old fast. You just follow the path of little circles on the ice and flick the wiimote when you get to a big circle to do whatever trick that circle has pre-programmed. It's all just steering and timing.

Archery was fun, but requires a very steady hand.

Curling was the best of the bunch by far. The controls were very good, and easy to master. Play is just like the real sport, and requires strategy. Like a lot of Wii games, you have a power bar to determine how hard to throw, so it requires good timing.

Definitely worth a rental. Curling and archery almost makes it worth a keep. If you like Wii Sports, you'll like this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

bad game

posted by coolster99 (POTTSTOWN, PA) Dec 3, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

Deca sports is a bad game because the graphics are really bad and the controls are really sensative and sometimes they don't work right. I give this game a 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Just an OK game.

posted by meerkat (NOBLE, OK) Nov 21, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

If you have played wii sports then this game will be a big disappointment. Game play is not great and just not that fun. The package has some really fun games, but you play them you get frustrated and bored. I'd skip this games if you want a sports game there are better ones out there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Doesn't deserve a "1"

posted by WiiLad (LARGO, FL) Oct 15, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

I didn't expect too much, but I did expect it to be somewhat fun. It was not. First of all, there aren't really 10 games but 8 because volleyball and badminton are layed out identically likewise with kart racing and supercross, and the controls for the former two couldn't be farther off sync making the gameplay quite aggrivating. The racing was just terrible, though in the game's defense I am not a big on racing games as it is. The snowboarding was very short and stupid; tilt your hand to the right, now the left, now you've basically played the game. the controls for the basketball game are terrible as well (it seems to be a running theme) and likewise for the soccer and curling. The archery and figure skating games were somewhat interesting, but no where near interesting enough to save this game. I would highly suggest removing this game from your que if you have it there now, it's not ever worth trying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

sory

posted by fly809 (REYNOLDS, IL) Aug 6, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

sory for writeing on the disk by tim

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not Wii Sports

posted by WFO4LIFE (EAST STROUDSBURG, PA) Jun 20, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

This game is nothing like the Wii Sports that came with the system.

Plus:
Simple controls, you can pick it up and get right to it.
A few fun games that you won't find anywhere else.
Very easy game, probably a good one for the kids or the Girl Friend who does not play games very much
Good veriaty of games, 10 in all.

Minus:
Can't use your Mii character's
This game is to easy
Because its so easy, you will most likely stop playing after a day

Overall:
Good for kids, but not for the rest of us. If you think this game is anything like the Wii Sports, think again. I had it for one day, played it with a few friends and sent it back the next day. We all decided that 2 fun games out of 10 is not worth the time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Deca Sports

posted by EshnE92 (RIVERSIDE, CA) Jun 16, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

The game is very slow to respond. Wii sports is clearly better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ok

posted by Julzdenver (LITTLETON, CO) Jun 15, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

Typical sports on the Wii. I did though very much enjoy the figure skating! Something different - fun and challenging. Other than that it was an ok game. Not something I would buy full price.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game is not any good!

posted by soccer66 (READING, MA) Apr 22, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

All the games are the same. I only played 5 games out of ten, because it was awful. DO NOT RENT THIS GAME ITS TERRIBLE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

lame!

posted by MonicaL (SPRINGFIELD, MO) Apr 7, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

I thought this game was boring. It did not keep my attention very long at all. It was fun for about 10 minutes and then I realized that it's just boring. If they're going to market it, it needs to be marketed as a game that you get when you first get the Wii. It was just really boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Just plain bad!

posted by lancelot (MIDDLETOWN, CT) Mar 15, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

The tile of my review says it all! If you care enough to read on here on some particulars. The graphics are very dated. They would be appropriate on the game cube! The graphics could be overlooked if it wasn't for the beyond horrible motion controls. While the instructions claim that if you moving the Wii remote in different ways will it should elicit different results.. they don't. Don't bother renting and especially don't bother buying unless you really want to help stimulate the economy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game - Curling and Archery are cool

posted by WiiRay (SAN MATEO, CA) Mar 5, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

I like this game. Easy to play sports game besides Wii Sports that is easy to learn and pick up. Worth renting and buying as it's relatively inexpensive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse