Rent Death Jr.: Root of Evil for Wii
view large frontback

Death Jr.: Root of Evil

Not Rentable
GF Rating
6.2

303 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

A solid rent

posted by Icebane (BALTIMORE, MD) Jan 9, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

11 out of 11 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is actually the perfect gamefly game. Its fairly short (took me less than 12 hours to beat), but the game play itself is quite enjoyable. All of the worlds are entirely original, and you don't end up seeing the same general layout repeated over and over. The best part of the game is actually the character dialogue; While the voice acting isn't all that great (it is above average for a Wii game however) the lines themselves will actually make you laugh while playing the game. Rent it for sure, probably don't buy it, but love it while you've got it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Many ordinary elements together make extraordinary

posted by Shazbot (BROOKLYN, NY) Jun 1, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

DJ does a lot of things we have seen many times before. Wander round a landscape collecting power, looking for hidden stuff, fight some funky creatures along the way....

What DJ does really well, however, is make all of this fit together in a way that just makes the game downright FUN. The game has an underlying sarcastic and cynical sense of humor running through the character comments, which pop up at the start of levels and when they think you need a hint - and even though you can see the gag coming a lot of the time, the method of delivery still makes you break into a smile. Honestly, even if you don't think the game is brilliant you can't hate it - just doesn't happen! :-)

It's easy to pick up as the basic controls are obvious and a little messing around with combinations of buttons will get you the moves you need. Pressing B three times fairly close together gets a nice downward chop for the third move that is very effective at getting enemies out of the way.

Graphics are on the top side of very good and the controls fit in very well with the resultant actions on the screen. Cut scenes are done well also.

Sound, game play and combat are average but still fit together in a natural way that somehow just ends up feeling better than you would think.

The bad stuff? - bad bad bad camera angles at times. Even though you can reset the camera to behind your head it still ends up botching it a little too often by not removing something right in front of the virtual camera position that blocks all of your view. Very frustrating and almost criminal when you consider that this was apparently a major criticism of the portable versions of this game - they didn't fix it by the looks of it.

Even so, this game just exudes good vibes. Maybe not huge replay value unless you spend time searching for all the weapon upgrades but it's definitely worth the rent. Not outstanding but still pretty darn good as long as your sense of humor fits that of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

"Death" comes far too easy in "Root of Evil"

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Jun 4, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Death Jr.: Root of Evil is your basic 3D platformer; you go from start to finish while beating up bad guys, solving simple riddles and making several jumps.
The weapons are a nice touch, and it gives an incentive to look throughout the level. Also, the story has interesting characters, and I like the notion of Death having a kid.
But there are problems with Death Jr.: Root of Evil.
First off, there are too many sections where you have to perform several (4 or more) precise jumps in a row. If you miss one, you'll have to start that section over again. This makes the game frustrating.
Second, the camera has a mind of it's own. It tends to wander about, giving you a terrible view of the area. It also makes it hard to shoot bad guys.
Speaking of shooting bad guys, this game needs a lock on feature for more than just boss fights.
And the last thing the game needs is at the end of each level to ask us if we would like to save the game or not.
If you're really into platformers, then this is for you - otherwise move along, there's nothing to see here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

FUN FUN FUN!!

posted by gamecat78 (DENTON, TX) Jul 25, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is one of the funnest games I have played on the Wii. It is simple enough to just pick up and play but still somewhat challenging in parts. It will make you laugh as well. Multi-player is a good time as well. Overall a game I would suggest you rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

An under-rated play that deserves so much more!

posted by Mannon (RUSSELL, KY) Jul 5, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

I really liked this game, its got a wacky story, cute graphics and some very interesting characters. Fun little add-on of having to get weapon parts to upgrade your weapon makes the collector in me happy. I played 2-player all the way through, part of what made it so fun. It is VERY easy to die, though, and I think single player would be very frustrating as you have to start the level over if you die.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by lrcssmith (LUBBOCK, TX) Aug 20, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

I really enjoyed this game. It wasn't very long, but it was super fun, which makes it a great game to rent! My husband and I are always looking for multiplayer games that we can enjoy together that aren't the "party" style games and I tell you, this one was awesome! The atmosphere in the game is very unique and the dialogue is fun. I loved it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Nice game I wouldn't mind owning.

posted by catsamurai (GROVES, TX) Oct 23, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

The whole game is filled with interesting characters and good voice acting. The actions are good, the gameplay is good, the levels are mostly good. There's one set of levels I could do without. I won't give it away for anyone who would like to play it, so I'll just say the whole level is traps and colors.

Anyway, the game is mostly enjoyable. I'd recommend this game for anyone who likes beating the tar out of enemies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

OK

posted by super10man (CHARLOTTE, NC) Jun 2, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

It's OK, but it's either too easy or too hard.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Flat Out Fun - Great For Two Players

posted by Finjamin (DENVER, CO) Apr 15, 2009

Member since Aug 2005

The graphics are better than merely good, the levels are really clever, the characters and enemies are well designed and fun, there is a lot of humor (a lot of the humor is definitely grown-up - this is really not a kids' game), and the gameplay is intuitive, fast and fun. For me and my wife, this is a perfect split-screen, decently challenging, co-op game that we can share and have a great time. The fights are not too hard, the weapons are actually really cool, and there are some fairly challenging jumping/swinging puzzles. Overall this is one of the most fun co-op games we've ever played, and we have very different gaming skill sets.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good Game Except for Camera

posted by StarPower (DAVIS, CA) Jul 25, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

Death JR. was a pretty decent game. My wife and I enjoy playing coop games so this was a treat. The graphics are ok, and the story is ok. The only problem we had was with the camera.

You constantly have to re-align the camera to look where you want to look. And it seems that if you re-align during a battle, a monster will jump out of nowhere and attack from off camera. Also, the constant jumping to next obstacle was kind of annoying. But all in all it is ok.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Should've been so much livelier

posted by MoodyCat (HILLSBORO, OR) Jun 19, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

This is a pretty game with lots of chances to be hilarious, most of which go by unmarked in silence, punctuated only with the anguished screams of player and character alike as another darned jump-or-die situation is botched. If you're fabulous at jumping games, this little number might work out for you. I'm not; I gave up in disgust shortly after infiltrating the robot llama ranch (which clearly has nigh-unlimited humorous potential -- so very squandered...)

If you rent it anyway: It may have been my imagination, but Pandora seemed slightly easier to play with than DJ.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Stick with the PSP version.. way better

posted by 1redqt (LONG BEACH, CA) Jun 13, 2008

Member since May 2008

I simply love the PSP version of this game. Play it all the time and have completed many levels. Thought it would be even better for the Wii, boy was I mistaken. Not much improvement on graphics, even less for the story. The PSP version has more action and a more direct idea what the ultimate goals are. Maybe I just have to play it more and get further along for the real action to come. Area look too common and similar, getting me confused and lost with where I have benn and want to go. With the Wii version, I had no idea what was really going on or what I was expected to do. If you want a good version stick with the PSP, hours of enjoyment. This one, I was bored within a hour.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Crash of The Titans Gameplay But Not The Quality!!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Jun 3, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

If there was as much effort put in as the opening scene as in the game then there would not be bad camera, bad graphics and no replay; even after an hour you want to put it away. I did not play the handheld version but now I don't want to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »