Rent Deadpool for PS3
view large frontback

Deadpool

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.3

1078 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Deadpool is simple, and that's okay

posted by SupermanfromGA (TEMPLE, GA) Jun 27, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

20 out of 21 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

First off, I want to say I am a HARDCORE Deadpool fan.

That being said, Deadpool: The Game is not revolutionary and there's nothing fancy about it. If you are a fan of the Deadpool comic or at least familiar with it, you will LOVE this game like I did. If you have never heard of him, move on and play something else.

There's not much of a story to speak of in Deadpool: The Game. A lot of people have complained about this, but here's the thing: IT'S F'N DEADPOOL. High Moon Studios didn't make a game this simple by accident. They did it to be IRONIC. Deadpool himself is simple(and insane), thus his game should be simple like he is. Honestly, it wouldn't FEEL like a Deadpool game if it was more complex like Devil May Cry or Ninja Gaiden.

The graphics aren't horrible, but they're nothing to write home about. Sound effects are appropriate and music choice is bland. The actual combat itself is quite plain and simple. It is your basic hack-and-slash/shooter, although you can string together some pretty awesome and gruesome combos.

And that's another thing. Plenty of blood and gore courtesy of Deadpool. And boob jokes. Lots and lots of boob jokes. And weiner jokes. And poo jokes. You get the picture.

Honestly, with all of the game's faults, the only thing about it that bothered me was the lack of hidden collectibles or unlockable costumes. No nothing. Unfortunately, this leaves the game with little replay value.

But again, as I said before, if you're a fan of Deadpool, you're going to love the game for it's humor. You can tell High Moon Studios had a blast making this game. And if you have a childish sense of humor, you will have a blast as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great For What it is...

posted by SpideyGixx (CENTRAL POINT, OR) Sep 23, 2013

Member since Sep 2013

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was hilarious....I can't remember the last time I laughed out loud so many times playing a game. The gameplay was linear and not spectacular, but I still had a good time playing it and was hungry to keep playing. Bottom line? Great game to rent, and this is Gamefly, so it was perfect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Humourous but short

posted by Mutguts (FOREST LAKE, MN) Jul 17, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Fun gameplay and basic upgrade system and the levels kind of all look the same. That being said not a bad game. fun, funny and short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun but repetitive

posted by pandasan13 (CHICAGO, IL) Aug 26, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Deadpool had the potential to be a really good game. The concept was good, the art was amazing, and it was really something different. It ended up being a button masher that was repetitive and tiresome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Mediocre at best!

posted by N3xium (DETROIT, MI) Jun 30, 2013

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Just as the title of this review says this game is mediocre at best. The game has bland level design and horrible camera angles that really hurt any fun that can be had with the gameplay. The controls are a little wonky since there is a button that you have to hit for a special move that also is the same button you use for transportation. Needless to say, this creates some issues when you try to execute that move. It can even be ironic that a superhero that is so self-aware doesn't even bother poking fun at the generic qualities of this game.

The only redeemable qualities that warrant this game even a 4 is the voice acting from Nolan North and some of the jokes are funny, but most boil down to just trashy potty humor.

Overall: This game is nothing special and almost every aspect of it is mediocre with the exception of Nolan North. What even further hurts this game is that it has almost no replay value. Because of all of this I give the game a 4/10 and that is being a little generous.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

It's great

posted by sob___300 (BANNING, CA) Feb 5, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i mean yea the controls might need some adjusting other than that it's a great game and also the humor is good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

DEADPOOL

posted by jordan44jordan (GREENVILLE, NC) Jun 24, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

8 out of 35 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

this game is awesome its a must buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not too Shabby...

posted by gfsubscriber1 (SOUTH PASADENA, CA) Sep 6, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Way too short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Lazy!!!

posted by ave1124 (DALLAS, TX) Jul 8, 2013

Member since May 2013

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Im a big deadpool fan and I completely get the character but with that said he's still a B.A. but this game only focused on the humor and thats my biggest gripe.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

FUn but could have done better

posted by DPGUY (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jul 9, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I expected more from this title. THe play was fun, yet the graphics and movement were weak.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

DeadFool

posted by StarRaven (WELLINGTON, FL) Jul 5, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful


Eh, nope.

I appreciate the attempt to make a game about Deadpool, and to a certain extent, they did a great job. It's bloody, he has crazy moves and is totally out of his mind. Which is great. But, as a game, it's pretty lame. There's a lot of senselessness between random gags, the enemies, the story. All of it seems like any other terrible 'edgy' game (Conker/Naughty Bear/Eat Lead, etc.) but, because it's Deadpool it's supposed to be better. Well it's not. It's still stupid. And as a game, it's nothing spectacular, not that it had a huge budget or anything anyway, but, just saying, there's much better games out there. I will say it's very very rewarding though, unlocks and progression is all solid. And what it does have, works.

I think the worst part, is that, truthfully, the game feels like it's for kids, even though it's very obviously not because of it's content. Which makes me wonder why the game is so lame. It's definitely geared towards adolescents with weak humor.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It's funny

posted by Robofish (OWINGS MILLS, MD) Nov 26, 2014

Member since Dec 2009

Rented this one because I was curious to see how deadpool would translate into a game. It was certainly a funny game, but at least for me that's where it ended. It was cool to explore his apartment and all the neat touches there. But when it came to the actual gameplay I wasn't really impressed. It was an action game, and I usually love action games, but this one was missing something. The enemies weren't really that tough, the frame rate would drop with a lot of enemies on screen and it just didn't feel fun. If you like action games you're better off sticking with something like Devil MAy Cry.

Now if you can look past that. You'll have fun. The game is really self aware which is hilarious at times. And Deadpool definitely lives up to his comic book reputation in terms of character. Nolan North did a fantastic job. It's just to bad that they didn't go further with the gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Deadpool

posted by harold73 (LAKELAND, FL) Nov 25, 2014

Member since Nov 2012

I love it. Dead pool must funny. And good game ....great

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game suckkkk

posted by thepete509 (ANAHEIM, CA) Nov 17, 2014

Member since May 2012

this game is so horrible it should have been rated IMARTURE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Deadpool

posted by lorrainejuarbe (MIAMI, FL) Nov 8, 2014

Member since Nov 2014

We didnt get to finish the game. I dont even think we even got halfway. The game wasnt working properly. But what we were able to play was fun. Its a good game. To bad the copy wasnt a good one

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

language

posted by baseballdad9 (SPRINGDALE, AR) Sep 17, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

Of not for the language this would be a 7

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game full of Chimichangas and craziness!

posted by pinkybear12 (LUBBOCK, TX) Sep 15, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

I actually thought this game was better than I originally thought. Very funny! I liked it alot! Once you get into the game, You have so many choices to pick from that affect and enrich the storyline...I greatly enjoyed playing this game. If you have never heard of the Merc with a Mouth, check this out!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bad games

posted by alexnderthgreat (TWIN FALLS, ID) Aug 18, 2014

Member since May 2014

not a good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A glimmer of fun overshadowed by inexperience

posted by Prinetna (YORKTOWN, VA) Jul 15, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

Perhaps I am not the target audience for something like this...buy maybe that makes me the perfect person to review this as bias is nonexistent in my case. Regardless, this game suffers from minor bugs, including: enemies glitching into environments, rare, but still prevalent, crashing, and texture pop in which is more or less a personal complaint as it is not overtly in one's face. The main issue I have with this game is...despite it having moments of fun, battling the same 4 reskins of enemies throughout a 5-6 hour experience with a decent battle system is grating. Deadpool tries SO hard to vary its monotony with various weapon choices and upgrades, in addition to story elements thrown in, which never amount to anything more than pointing and shooting. That's really ALL this game is. Also, the fourth wall humor just falls on its face so much it's ridiculous. Honestly, I know of the character and wow...I can't quite put my finger on it, but the whole experience of the game, story, and character were just lackluster and a waste of time in my honest opinion. Trying so hard to be "funny", "edgy", and "fresh", with a whopping three repeated boss fights throughout the game, Deadpool is an average slog I recommend that only hard-core fans stick out to see their favorite character in his first, and hopefully last, starring role in a video game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Really disappointing.

posted by weckst (BREMERTON, WA) Jun 21, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

Third person adventure games have got to start improving their controls, this one especially. The game itself is fun, but it's repetitive, and the fighting controls are weak. I understand getting hit by another enemy when I'm attacking one, but there os no way to escape or get out of it. A lot of the "tough" enemies aren't really tough, you just have to hit them a bunch. That's boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Its defintely deadpool

posted by sirRupert (MISSOULA, MT) Jun 3, 2014

Member since Nov 2011

Awesome if you like Deadpool!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome and hilarious!!!!

posted by xGrim420x (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) May 16, 2014

Member since May 2014

This game had me laughing nearly the entire game good game play and awesome weapons arsenal but the only thing I was disappointed in was the length it was too short would've gave it a ten if it was longer!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Basic but in a good way.

posted by SlajeD (WESTFIELD, IN) May 13, 2014

Member since Sep 2010

This game is nothing special but that is the idea. If Deadpool really had control over making a game that stars himself this would be it. The game is not intended to be taken seriously and devote weeks of playtime to, it simply accomplishes its goal to perfection. It wasn't meant to be epic it was meant to be a quick pick up the controller beat up AI and laugh while doing it. You may never buy this game but rent it at least and enjoy it for what it is, not what you think it should be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awsome

posted by Raul12 (NEW ROCHELLE, NY) May 12, 2014

Member since Mar 2012

This game was awesome just like Deadpool said at the end. This guy is like the perfect fighter teleportation,healing factor,superb fighter and the game was really humorous

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great but Short

posted by KillikVon (HOUSTON, TX) May 6, 2014

Member since May 2014

The game was great, but it is way too short. I plat the trophies within 10 hours. But within those tens hours I had alot of laughs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse