Rent Deadpool for PS3
view large frontback

Deadpool

Rent

Keep for: $19.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $19.99

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.3

642 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Deadpool is simple, and that's okay

posted by SupermanfromGA (TEMPLE, GA) Jun 27, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

16 out of 16 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First off, I want to say I am a HARDCORE Deadpool fan.

That being said, Deadpool: The Game is not revolutionary and there's nothing fancy about it. If you are a fan of the Deadpool comic or at least familiar with it, you will LOVE this game like I did. If you have never heard of him, move on and play something else.

There's not much of a story to speak of in Deadpool: The Game. A lot of people have complained about this, but here's the thing: IT'S F'N DEADPOOL. High Moon Studios didn't make a game this simple by accident. They did it to be IRONIC. Deadpool himself is simple(and insane), thus his game should be simple like he is. Honestly, it wouldn't FEEL like a Deadpool game if it was more complex like Devil May Cry or Ninja Gaiden.

The graphics aren't horrible, but they're nothing to write home about. Sound effects are appropriate and music choice is bland. The actual combat itself is quite plain and simple. It is your basic hack-and-slash/shooter, although you can string together some pretty awesome and gruesome combos.

And that's another thing. Plenty of blood and gore courtesy of Deadpool. And boob jokes. Lots and lots of boob jokes. And weiner jokes. And poo jokes. You get the picture.

Honestly, with all of the game's faults, the only thing about it that bothered me was the lack of hidden collectibles or unlockable costumes. No nothing. Unfortunately, this leaves the game with little replay value.

But again, as I said before, if you're a fan of Deadpool, you're going to love the game for it's humor. You can tell High Moon Studios had a blast making this game. And if you have a childish sense of humor, you will have a blast as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great For What it is...

posted by SpideyGixx (CENTRAL POINT, OR) Sep 23, 2013

Member since Sep 2013

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was hilarious....I can't remember the last time I laughed out loud so many times playing a game. The gameplay was linear and not spectacular, but I still had a good time playing it and was hungry to keep playing. Bottom line? Great game to rent, and this is Gamefly, so it was perfect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Humourous but short

posted by Mutguts (FOREST LAKE, MN) Jul 17, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Fun gameplay and basic upgrade system and the levels kind of all look the same. That being said not a bad game. fun, funny and short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

It's great

posted by sob___300 (BANNING, CA) Feb 5, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i mean yea the controls might need some adjusting other than that it's a great game and also the humor is good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not too Shabby...

posted by gfsubscriber1 (SOUTH PASADENA, CA) Sep 6, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Way too short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

FUn but could have done better

posted by DPGUY (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jul 9, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I expected more from this title. THe play was fun, yet the graphics and movement were weak.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Lazy!!!

posted by ave1124 (DALLAS, TX) Jul 8, 2013

Member since May 2013

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Im a big deadpool fan and I completely get the character but with that said he's still a B.A. but this game only focused on the humor and thats my biggest gripe.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

DEADPOOL

posted by jordan44jordan (GREENVILLE, NC) Jun 24, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

8 out of 33 gamers (24%) found this review helpful

this game is awesome its a must buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Mediocre at best!

posted by N3xium (DETROIT, MI) Jun 30, 2013

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Just as the title of this review says this game is mediocre at best. The game has bland level design and horrible camera angles that really hurt any fun that can be had with the gameplay. The controls are a little wonky since there is a button that you have to hit for a special move that also is the same button you use for transportation. Needless to say, this creates some issues when you try to execute that move. It can even be ironic that a superhero that is so self-aware doesn't even bother poking fun at the generic qualities of this game.

The only redeemable qualities that warrant this game even a 4 is the voice acting from Nolan North and some of the jokes are funny, but most boil down to just trashy potty humor.

Overall: This game is nothing special and almost every aspect of it is mediocre with the exception of Nolan North. What even further hurts this game is that it has almost no replay value. Because of all of this I give the game a 4/10 and that is being a little generous.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

DeadFool

posted by StarRaven (LAKE WORTH, FL) Jul 5, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful


Eh, nope.

I appreciate the attempt to make a game about Deadpool, and to a certain extent, they did a great job. It's bloody, he has crazy moves and is totally out of his mind. Which is great. But, as a game, it's pretty lame. There's a lot of senselessness between random gags, the enemies, the story. All of it seems like any other terrible 'edgy' game (Conker/Naughty Bear/Eat Lead, etc.) but, because it's Deadpool it's supposed to be better. Well it's not. It's still stupid. And as a game, it's nothing spectacular, not that it had a huge budget or anything anyway, but, just saying, there's much better games out there. I will say it's very very rewarding though, unlocks and progression is all solid. And what it does have, works.

I think the worst part, is that, truthfully, the game feels like it's for kids, even though it's very obviously not because of it's content. Which makes me wonder why the game is so lame. It's definitely geared towards adolescents with weak humor.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This Game Is AWESOME!!

posted by thedarkprince12 (MONROE, GA) Apr 5, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

Lemme tell you about this game. Lots of action it keeps you on your toes and its not to hard. I really like how they integrated other mutants and mutates from the X series. I really think they need to come out with a sequel. Altogether this game has everything a gamer needs. Plenty of crude comedy, lots of jokes, plenty of action, an upgradable character, plenty of awesome weapons, and a surprising amount of baddies. If you like comedy in your games this is the one for you. They couldn't have picked a better voice for deadpool either. It took me roughly 6 hours to beat. Controls are good nothing is out of place no glitches nothing like that. Loading times were great. And in the game is says to play fast for a better experience I agree its a great idea bc you get the full action packed experience. I do not recommend this game for anyone that can't take crude jokes. I rated this game a ten because like i said its awesome. Definitely recommend this game. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

What A Game!

posted by Dcash1106 (WHITE HALL, AR) Mar 26, 2014

Member since Oct 2013

This game rules! The action is intense/challenging and there are lots of ways to frag the enemies you'll encounter. You get to use both swords for close-quarter combat and guns such as pistols, shotguns, and other ways to splatter the bad guy's guts all over the place! Not only do you get swords but you can also get nunchuks, sais, and all sorts of ways to slice & dice. The gameplay is good and you get to upgrade your weapons and abilities as you play. The graphics are awesome to. I just hope they release this game for the PS Vita.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Deadpool Review

posted by Beast383 (SANTA BARBARA, CA) Mar 25, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

I didn't like the game overall. I mean the game did have good fighting, shooting, and weapon aspects, but when I finished the game I didn't even know that it was the ending. Overall if you really like Deadpool and also if you like a good laugh then play the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST GAME EVER!!!!

posted by successful (UPPER MARLBORO, MD) Mar 22, 2014

Member since Jun 2009

YOU HAVE TO PLAY IT, AND BUY IT!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Deadpool

posted by jaketra (SACRAMENTO, CA) Mar 16, 2014

Member since May 2013

I have to say this game is good. the graphics are good the action is good the laughter is funny. Deadpool is a actually kind of funny in some parts of the game. other than that the story is good theirs a lot of hot girls in the game too. the theme song is pretty cool too. but is it good enough to buy? their are a few problems to the game such as the camera angels are annoying and deadpool has a huge ego. other than that this game gets a 7.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

What I Expected

posted by meb730 (HENDERSON, CO) Mar 13, 2014

Member since Oct 2011

I rented this game seeing the high reviews. As a 36 married man with two kids I guess I should have known better. The humor was lame and the graphics were okay. I will be honest and say I stopped playing before I got to the first boss. The reason is because the game reminded me of a game I would like in middle school. Absolutely nothing wrong with that, but I feel like I played all these games when I owned my Sega Genesis.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Boring

posted by kidoplivous (CLEVELAND, OH) Mar 1, 2014

Member since Sep 2013

This game played like a choppy ps 2 port over. it gets boring REALLY QUICK and the jokes become so subpar

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Deadpool Thumbs Down

posted by Anathema706 (LEXINGTON, KY) Feb 8, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

This game is stupid and boring. Very glad I didn't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

repetitive

posted by junktea1 (MONTROSE, CA) Jan 21, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

game angles are horrible - your in for a real headache. game play is blah blah blah, just like deadpool says in the game. upgrades get annoying after awhile. pretty much a hack and slash game like wolverine. using the guns in the game are horrible, targeting sights awkward. i wanted to puke after playing this game after 1 hr.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Funny N Entertaining

posted by mklplaya321 (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Jan 12, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

If you like the character youl like the game. There are a few twists and turns. Some of the characters are really boring like the vilians but some of the female characters are few of my favorites from back in the day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Humor saves a mediocre game

posted by Riotcraft (FRIENDSWOOD, TX) Dec 31, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

Were it not for the Deadpool laughs to be had throughout the game, this wouldn't even worth picking up in a bargain bin. The gameplay is extremely basic and awkward melee/shooting combat. It feels and even looks like a game that should have come out on the PS2.

However, the game is funny enough to be worth playing all the way through IF you're looking to be entertained by comedy over gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

deadpool not cool

posted by jasconan (CHICAGO, IL) Dec 29, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

the game is kinda ok but it seems to have you doing a lot of jumping around like a monkee instead of fighting the bad guys and like most games that are like this when you jump you have no control of where you jump or land. Bottom line it seems the game creator was more interested in making a monkee out of you then fighting the villian!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Merc with a Mouth...

posted by Karasu87 (PITTS, GA) Dec 15, 2013

Member since Dec 2010

As a massive Deadpool fan, who reads the comics all the time, I was ecstatic about this game. Could it have been better? Way better, but for what it is, it pulled it off well. Kinda expected more of Psylocke though, and, well, more of a story. Would have loved a more open world, Arkham-style, and maybe a tad more characters. Deadpool in an open world would be, pretty much, a dream come true. And that difficulty spike towards the end... talk about wanting to stick a katana through the TV...

Nolan North did a fine job as Deadpool, and I did have plenty of laughing out loud moments. Some stuff that was in it came as a surprise, like the second mission. And the graphics aren't the best, but I did enjoy the details of some of the levels. Mainly the Genosha level. The main villain, Mister Sinister was an interesting choice, since they were mainly going for lesser known villains. But the main highlights of the game were Death and Cable (Cable: Totally gonna make that theme of his into my ringtone.) I honestly didn't expect Death, so that can be considered a spoiler, so oops to that. But to be honest, I kinda preferred if they had gone the skeletal route for her, instead of skin.

Gameplay-wise, the controls were spot on. But the camera can get in the way at times. Not sure what I think of the weapons, but I would've liked it better if you could only use Wade's katana's and hand guns. Upgrading only them would've been awesome. And they were zero hidden items around the levels, but one might come across tiny easter eggs. And a lot of the action was kinda repetitive, like killing the SAME enemies that come after you in waves. And would've been nicer to have better upgrade options as well. And the game had a custom soundtrack, that's always a plus. Some nice music for the slaughter. All in all, if you're a Marvel fan or a Deadpool fan, then this is a must play. If not, then you may want to stay away.

Was gonna write this as Wade, but not gonna risk that...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

EXACTLY WHAT YOU EXPECT

posted by SirTucker (DALLAS, TX) Nov 23, 2013

Member since Sep 2010

Not a deep, "thinking man's" game. Not the smoothest graphics, or best control. It's EXACTLY what you'd think a Deadpool video game should be. Chaotic, random, and HIGHLY ENTERTAINING! Everything is "passable". Personally, I enjoyed it despite the little annoyances I mentioned in the beginning. The gameplay itself is totally awesome. It's truly Deadpool at his finest. Not sure if its worth a purchase but, definitely worth a play through. The random in game antics & conversations alone are reason enough to give the game a try. #HILARIOUS

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It is alright.

posted by NekoAdachi (RENO, NV) Aug 7, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

I wasn't a very big on the game play in this one. It felt very clunky to me and kind of slow. The aiming was just a bit laggy too. Honestly the only thing that kept me playing was the dialogue.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »