Rent Deadly Premonition for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Deadly Premonition

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
4.6

2152 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This game is not for everyone

posted by cernunnos (GAINESVILLE, FL) Mar 4, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2009

97 out of 112 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

Okay so if you aren't at least 25 years old (probably more like 30) you probably won't "get" this game. The main character is constantly referencing old movies from the 80's (most of you reading this weren't even born for another decade) so it may be difficult for you to appreciate how quirky and funny this game is. I should add that Deadly Premonition is basically a video game version of Twin Peaks, a short lived television series that first aired in 1990. Sure, names and places have been changed but for the most part, this is Twin Peaks. So for all of you who still remember Special Agent Dale Cooper and company you may want to give this game a whirl. Just don't judge this game by the first 15 minutes because those are terrible and made me want to sell this game on ebay asap.

Presentation: Brilliant ideas here (a lead protagonist with a personality disorder is great fun); GREAT STORY (very intriguing); Even some of the QTEs are different than what I am used to

Graphics: PSone at best, but honestly, it adds to the charm and hilarity of it all

Sound: you will probably hate it but I for one love the same 3 songs that play over and over and over...not to mention how the music constantly drowns out the dialogue (this was done on purpose...I think)

Gameplay: downright terrible; terrible control scheme (somewhat like RE4 but feels like Alone in the Dark in its clunkyness); bad camera angles sometimes; right thumbstick/camera control is terrible; combat sequences are nearly unplayable due to bad controls; terrible map system (the city is rather large and the map doesn't zoom out enough to let you navigate easily)

Lasting appeal: really depends on your ability to put up with the bad controls, overall strangeness and repetitiveness

In all, if you have no idea who the "log lady" is, I suggest looking somewhere else; however if you prefer your coffee "Black as midnight on a moonless night" and can deal with archaic controls then def give this game a shot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game I've played in a while.

posted by TaterSalad (LINTON, IN) Feb 26, 2010

Member since Jul 2004

63 out of 84 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Look, if all you care about is shiny graphics and high production values, yeah, you won't like this. But if you like originality and outright weirdness, this game is right up your alley.

It's essentially Twin Peaks: The Video Game, as you direct a quirky detective around a small mountain town solving murders with a supernatural element. However, the game gives a bad first impression. The monsters rarely appear, and most of the time it's very much like a surreal Fargo. You have freedom to roam around town and find clues that tie into the main investigations, and can even peek in people's windows and watch them go about their day. You have hunger/fatigue levels, and can go fishing.

Honestly, this game is very much like a Dreamcast game, and not only in the graphics. The controls mostly utilize the left stick, and the camera follows behind you. Trying to adjust the camera with the right stick is asking for trouble. Driving is kind of wonky but you only use it to get from place to place, so it's not a big deal.

Aside from the gameplay mechanics, this is just an extremely bizarre (and awesome) game. The main character, Agent York, constantly talks to "Zach", an imaginary friend (and the player). When you drive around, he talks to you about 80s movies such as Tremors and Ferris Bueller's Day Off. This is the first game I've seen that actually does stuff like that. The voiceacting ranges from hilariously bad to hilarious and good.

When you first enter the town and go to a hotel, the old owner lady invites you to breakfast. You both sit on opposite ends of a giant Mr. Burns-type table and York has to yell the same stuff at her over and over. There's weird whistling music in the background that keeps getting louder and drowning out her voice, and the floor is some sort of weird orange and brown camouflage pattern.

Honestly, I think this is a massively under-appreciated game, mostly due to the Modern Warfare style of games popular now. This is the new God Hand.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good or bad?

posted by Greatscoot (DALLAS, TX) Mar 10, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

The game is good if you like survival horror or puzzle games. The controls are very similar to a playstation 2 game called Rule of the Rose, except for the driving parts. The when you drive you stuck in the driver's view, and I've never liked that. the graphics for the characters are okay, however the graphics for the environment look like they belong on the early Playstation 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent game for those who want it

posted by PooBone (LEXINGTON, KY) Apr 24, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

I am not your typical gamer. I'm not interested in God of War, Gears of War, or all these other games all about the action and thrills. The sort of alpha male, girl with big breasts and no clothes, big guns, chainsaws, etc. have no place in my heart. Games like Heavy Rain and Alan Wake are what I look forward to more than anything. That's why I found this game, a quaint little $20 purchase, to be perfect for me. Yes, the controls stink, the graphics are bad, and the overall production value is very low. But this game is creepy as some of the best (Condemned 1 is still the creepiest game I've played though) and dripping with atmosphere. The design is very interesting, with an open world town, side quests, interesting dialogue between character(s), and a genuinely intriguing and masterful story behind it all.

Basically, if anyone reading this considers themselves a Twin Peaks and/or Silent Hill fan, just get it already. That's basically all you've got to know to make your decision.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

sadomasochism has never been so fun

posted by redz4twind (RIVERSIDE, CA) Mar 2, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

16 out of 23 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

I must be playing a different game than everyone else, or perhaps this kind of humor is a bit sick for them. First of all I must get it out that I also find the controls to be archaic and clumsy. I also think the graphics are less than desirable, yet for it being a budget title I understand. I also think the writing is corny, but this is where I and most reviewers differ. For what the game set out to do it achieved in spades. If you played this game and didn't get past the prologue and didn't really mesh with the humor than It's not your style. I assure you though if you are into quirky humor, oddball situations, B-movies, inappropriate stories while eating, or the idea of having the hero of a game being completely nutty. (There is one scene where you, detective York, have dinner with the towns sheriff and deputies and share a tale of a murderer killing women and using their skulls to urinate in. But what brought York to the conclusion of the murderer being insane is him drinking cola out of it after without rinsing, so unsanitary he states)......Then this game might be for you. There will be moments this game pisses you off, and when people say it's a dookie that shines through it's craptasticnes, they speak the truth. If you want to play a game that is unique and you can be open minded and handle some design flaws, I say play this game and give it a FAIR shot. If you hate it after 3 hours of play you most likely are more sane than me. Have a coffee filled day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Horror fans will love this.

posted by LIQUIDFX00 (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Mar 19, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I give this game an 8 for length and overall great story. I went into this game thinking the worst and came out very pleased. IGN gave this game a bad score but I'm guessing they just didn't get it. They were so wrong this time. I loved this game, no lie.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Underated Cult game of the year

posted by zombiemike (UNIVERSAL CITY, TX) Mar 6, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

10 out of 15 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I bought this game at gamestop. They looked at me like I was a fool for buying a game for 20 dollars on release day.

The moment I saw the title "Deadly Premonition" I was so fascinated by it, I had to just go for it. I couldn't find a demo, the reviews I read were terrible. Every critical review of this game was absolutely downing the game, nothing was "This game is good for this sort of crowd." It was just insulting. So like vampire rain I had to try it.

Unlike vampire rain which is really a straight forward Splinter Cell rip off that is unplayable.

This game is playable and completely original.

Downsides:

Graphics:

Are sub-par if not 2 generations old. The graphics leave something to be desired. If they were better then maybe people would be more forgiving of it? I don't know, I can't really say. If this game had something of Heavy Rain level graphics then people would just complain about the crummy controls or the weird animations and voice acting.

Sound:

Funky jazz and weird voice acting, the game has a weird feel to it entirely through its sound. The characters either speak realistically about real subjects or they talk in length about goofy subjects. Nothing is really spot on. Its just oddball. But either way it comes out crystal clear?

Controls:

The character controls like a tank, resident evil style. The game would benefit from the 3D, point in the direction there you go style.

Story:

Weird but fun in that masters of horror goofy sense.

The game has a sort of Grindhouse feel to it, especially how characters are introduced with a title card, characters make dramatic animations even to do simple thinks such as smoking, the entire game as a whole is best described as a unique experience. If your willing to give it a try then its totally worth it.

If this game was only released earlier then perhaps this game would recieve better recognition from critics. But who cares about them, right?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Old Sckool Survival Horror! Work's just fine!

posted by JoeBTL (HELENA, AL) Mar 18, 2010

Member since Aug 2006

11 out of 17 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

This rare jem creeped out onto a few shelfs for purchase in late Feb this year and would be easily missed by most be cause it had no marketing or hype, nor did big time game sites reviewed this game.

To see an overall 4.1 for this game really ticks me off because someone expects high budget and top graphics and forget story that keeps you connected until the end. It has the freaky which makes it fun, cool, and well off the wall. The game story places you into a an investigation with some great moments and scares. I will keep this simple is that it is great old school survival horror fans. The pacing is slower which makes the game not feel rushed to get you to the end. If you can overlook a few minor things there is a ton to quench your thurst!

I made the twenty dollar purchase at a local GS but Amazon is the only one I found who cares this great addition to anyone with the classic Silent Hill or Resident Evil itch should find enjoyment and satisfaction. Ignition Entertainment has a sleeper hit! Thanks to all the ladies and gents at Ignition for delivering a tasty horror treat!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game is good, depending on yourself.

posted by JOEBAG (KNOXVILLE, TN) Mar 21, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

17 out of 27 gamers (63%) found this review helpful

Okay I say this game is great for the people who like RPGs. This game does have flaws, but the only flaw I cannot stand is the driving. But the combat just reminds me of old RPGS like Resident Evil 1 ( which was amazing!). The music is repetitive and is loud, but again you can turn just the music down in the options menu. The music itself, some of it, I really enjoy because it is acoustic and being a guitar player I love acoustics. The graphics in this game are original Xbox or PS2 at best. People describing this as PSOne is ridiculous. The enemies you encounter are repetitive as well. They usually make the same noices constantly, so that does get old fast. So why did I give it a 9? Because the story is awesome! The main character does talk to himself a lot but thats mainly because he is talking to you to help you out. The story though, has kept me stuck in this game. The voice acting was done very well and the developers put a lot of time into the story. If this game would have came out last generation, I say it would have got better feedback. In closing, I do recommend this game to anyone wanting to try an RPG that is different and would like to have a B movie kind of feel to it. It is very fun when you get over the flaws, which in the end are not that bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

An interesting title that isn't for everyone

posted by MeesterO (OLYMPIA, WA) Mar 27, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Now to start off, as most people have been saying about this game in their reviews, this game doesn't hold a candle to the first resident evil. What most people tend to forget this generation is that, much like the first Silent Hill, Resident Evil 1 isn't the classic everyone wants to believe it is. In fact relating this game to resident evil 1 is an insult to Deadly Premonition, since atleast Deadly Premonition has side strafing whilst shooting.

Now even though this game is overall dated, and doesn't really fit in his generation of games, it's a nice breath of fresh air from all the chest high walls shooting games overloading the market. What differentiates this game from them is the freedom we once use to have in games like Shenmue, and an atmosphere that isn't nearly ventured into as much as it should. Deadly Premonititon in no way, shape, or form performs well in the gameplay department, but where it excels at is its characters, story, and overall atmosphere. All these alone get you throughthe sub-par shooting, and it's somewhat lackluster puzzles. Each character has their own moments within the game that will stick to you for awhile, even though some of them do have the tendency to be Resident Evilish with their dialog, their blunders are still so bad it's acceptable. The story and atmosphere are that of the TV show Twin Peaks, and like it's kin Alan Wake, share a brilliant story about a paranormal murdering force that an FBI agent (a writer for Alan Wake) must get to the bottom of to attempt to save a loved one.

If you are one of those people like myself that can appreciate a good story with a great atmosphere regardless or it's dated look, then I'd recommend this game to you. However it is understandable that most people would be turned off by this game, it does only appeal to a niche audience like Earth Defense Force, yet because of that it shouldn't stop Deadly Premonition from being called a good game, it just comes down to what you like to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sometimes, less is more and DP proves this.

posted by Linkin112 (BEACH PARK, IL) Mar 17, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I wasn't expecting much from Deadly Premonition, I mean it's only $20-$25 brand new. When I rented this game, I wasn't aware that I would have so much fun with it. Yes, the graphics aren't up to par with standard 360 games and the gameplay leaves something to be desired, but this is still a very enjoyable game. The main character for instance, Francis York Morgan, is by far one of the most interesting characters I have seen in a video game for awhile. He is a sarcastic, witty, FBI agent that has a duel personality known as Zach. He will randomly converse with Zach throughout the game, talking about old 80s movies to Punk Rock music. The other main characters and minors as well are also very interesting and have alot of personality put into them. The voice acting is much better than expected from a $20 game, I would even go to say it's better than a few major titles. The sound quality is a little skippy on times, but it didn't really bother me much. The gameplay is also another thing that was enjoyable to me. Sure, the action sequences of it are a much crappier version of RE4, but once you get the hang of aiming and using melee weapons, you start to enjoy them. The free roam parts of the game around the town of Greenvale is also fun. You can choose to start main missions, do some side missions, eat food, fish, drive around, stop at stores, talk to other characters, collect trading cards, and go to your hotel, where you can change clothes, shave, sleep, and more. There is a sleep/hunger meter for the game as well that could use a little improvement as well. If you stay up for too long, the sleep meter goes down. You can either go find a bed to sleep or drink a coffee to raise it slightly. The same goes for hunger, expect you can only eat food to raise it. If either of this meters go down, you pass out and wake up in the hospital. Overall, the story, environment, characters, and most of the gameplay makes DP a great game that offers over 20 hours of a good time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

New Game with an Old school feeling

posted by jerico79 (OMAHA, NE) Mar 6, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This is my first review, I decided to write it because I felt a good majority of the reviews for this game are terribly uninformative.

First of all, this game is certainly going to be hated by most of today's gamers. This game has the graphics of a PS2 game and the controls of the original Silent Hill or Resident Evil. However if you are an old school gamer who remembers those games and as of this day still plays them, then I think you will find this game worth its very low price tag.

The graphics of this game are as I said about equal to an early PS2 game, they are just fine however if you dont care about graphics.

The controls are also very archaic, but I have seen some people give inaccuracies about them in their reviews. This game does have a quick turn, and you can reload at any point, you do not need to empty the magazine as one person pointed out.

This game has a rather large town and it gets annoying to traverse it at times, thankfully you can get some faster cars rather quickly.

The combat is rather basic, very similar to RE4 (just abit clunkier) in my personal opinion.

I found the story to be very strange but good in its own weird way. This game can be long depending on how much you do sidequests, but it took me almost 14 hours to beat rushing through.

Final opinion, I give this game a 7/10, its controls are abit outdated and the town is to large, but the story isnt bad and the price tag is low.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The surprising budget-horror title.

posted by Kman172 (GRAND ISLAND, NY) Mar 16, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

At first, when I saw this game, I immediately called shenanigans and hailed it a rip-off of the 1990's TV show, Twin Peaks. I merely decided to rent it because I heard it was "So bad its funny" from some people.

However, I was entirely wrong.

This game is a very good game believe it or not. While the controls and graphics leave more to desire, the story, characters and gameplay are just.....well.....awesome!

The story is a mystery-thriller with many strange and quirky characters in a very strange town in rural Washington. When a grisly murder occurs there, FBI Agent Francis York Morgan, a strange man who trusts his coffee to help him solve an investigation and also has a split personality named "Zach", is sent in to investigate. Red herrings are dropped everywhere, really making you believe just about any of the townsfolk could be the killer at large.

The gameplay is a mix of open world gameplay with shooter mechanics and driving. The driving controls are god-awful but definitely not gamebreaking or incredibly, unbearable frustrating in the slightest. The combat is a bit iffy as well but nowhere near unplayable.

I myself am not a graphics guy, I don't score a game based on its graphics. While many complain the graphics are PS2 quality, who cares? Graphics don't make a game, a story and good game mechanics do, which are areas this game strives in.

This $20 survival-horror/mystery-thriller is a bound to be a cult classic. It may not be everyone's cup of tea, but it sure was mine.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Really Fun

posted by Treant99 (YONKERS, NY) Mar 4, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I've never written a review before, but here goes. Despite all the critic reviews and the few user reviews I've read already, the game isn't that bad.. I've rented it knowing it was a budget title and the fact it was released at $20 budget price unlike other so called budget titles retailing at full price that was a plus. I'm already 20 hours into the game and far from finishing it, at first you have to drive everywhere with sub-par controls but definately not a game breaker. Once you complete a certain side mission you get a police radio that lets you fast travel between locations which is a plus. This game was supposed to be released years ago but due to copyright issues and similarities to 'twin peaks' they had to scrap it for a while and change certain plot points so keep this in mind when renting it. The game isn't even close in term of graphics or sound, to newest releases like Heavy Rain, but I can assure you its a lot longer and to me more fun so far. The main story can take you 20 hours to complete but with side missions and card collecting it adds on more hours, so think of this in terms of $1 an hour, if you can get past the graphical issues and kinda choppy controls at times, and see the game for what it is, you're in for a treat. So give it a rent what do you have to lose really, this game is going to be a cult hit and for older gamers like me I'm having a blast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Would've been a Shenmue killer eight years ago

posted by Kavakura (EUGENE, OR) Mar 2, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

A very unique game, with a feel very similar to Twin Peaks. The graphics aren't at all up to today's standards, but if you can get past that, you'll find a very fun, humorous game that plays open world like Shenmue, and like Resident Evil 4 in combat. In spite of its humorous nature much of the time, it can be honestly tense at times as a horror game. There's lots of content in this game: far more than enough to merit $20.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It's just like a good B-movie

posted by FinalOne (ABINGDON, VA) Feb 26, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I am tired of reading posts flaming this game. It is a very good BUDGET game and for 20 dollars it is really good. It has it flaws in it, but you can't compare it to the new just coming out games that the other studios, that have the money to put into their games, are releasing. I have all played a lot worse. -Cough- Two Worlds -cough-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game deserves your money

posted by BigChabub (SHELBYVILLE, KY) Mar 15, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

One of the most entertaining and unconventional games I've ever played - that's what Deadly Premonition is. Forget the IGN review, they judge games based on graphics and polish. This is not that type of game. There never was and never shall be another game like this on the video game market. If you want a quirky throwback to survival horror, stuffed with cultural references and with a story/premise that was lovingly lifted right out of Twin Peaks, buy this game.

Deadly Premonition is a delicious biscuit of a game. And I'll have you know I'm very particular about my biscuits.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Very Dissapointing

posted by whijess03 (BELLPORT, NY) Aug 13, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I love horror/sci-fi just overall creepy games but this game was very dissapointing . The controls eventhough basic are annoying . The camara angle in game play is horrible . That was a big downfall for me . The graphics are bad. It reminds me of early Playstaion 1 eventhough the game i had was for the xbox 360. The story line was dragging and dull.
What sold me to go rent this game was the fact it looked like a cross between SILENT HILL and RESIDENT EVIL with the creepy story line but when I played it I was highly dissapointed . Not good at all :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

It hurts...

posted by CharlieB19 (OCEANSIDE, NY) Jun 24, 2010

Member since Jul 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game hurt to play, the animation is not even par, the game as a whole is just awful...so much so that I did not even attempt to play more than 15 minutes of it. The controls are AWFUL, I had the worst time attempting just to move around and aim...pass by this and never look back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Outstanding.

posted by Tanukichan (SAN DIEGO, CA) Apr 13, 2010

Member since Sep 2007

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Featuring the latest in last-generation graphics and a control scheme inspired by dashboard videos of DUI stops, Deadly Premonition walks the razor's edge.
I'm struggling here. I really love this game.
This game is amazing on so many levels. It has dialogue. It has driving. It has sleuthing, and a contrived mode of profiling. It has shooting and slicing and... and it has fishing! It plays out almost entirely in pseudo realtime, which is only slightly slower than right now. It dares to break the Fourth Wall!
I'm struggling to not make David Lynch references, but this game continually blows my mind. I hate it, and I love it, as I hate and love myself.
A game like this can't be rated on its graphics, or gameplay, but on its gestalt. Like "Sentient" back on the PlayStation. Now that was a game! And this is a game! Play it. Go ahead and hate it, just finish it, like you finished that skillet at Denny's!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Don't expect a flashy thing

posted by Crazymouse (CRESTON, IA) May 10, 2010

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Hmm where to begin, well first off all these morons writing these reviews of bad graphics and horrid movement wont ever understand. This is mainly because they must be children or trolls who expect everything to be like a virtual reality simulation. For those however(like myself) who were around in the 80's, and still love the classics this game might be good for you. First off don't listen to these morons that are just whining you'll find most complain about every game yet I highly doubt they even plaid any of them. Now on to a review well I haven't got a copy myself but a friend of mine rented a copy of this game and i got to not only play it but get his take on it. This is definitely one for those who like the underground cult classics. While the game itself may not have the most premier in graphics, good shiny graphics don't make the game. A true game is made in its depth, story and its ability to tell said story. In that regard this game wins, granted its a bit different and slightly odd anyone who just likes good B-movies or just like story-telling then this game is one you should at least try. Also it may sound weird but don't base you're game rentals on someones review, play it yourself to find out if you like it because everyone different so one fools opinion may not be you're own. Going simply by another persons review is like saying that you're letting them speak and think for you, you do have a brain of you're own right? Anyhow this game has alot of weird moments and the only thing my friend and I have found almost disturbing was that he talks to himself. Then again it is inner monologue so I guess being in that genre it kinda fits. The controls aren't as bad as you may have heard in other reviews but they do have a bit of a leaning curve. Definitely at-least give it a try and more than a 10 min try too, if you don't like it , well you rented it from gamefly. You may find its not so bad. Just try it out that's all I'm saying, its not for everyone tho.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I played it for 5 mins and here is review

posted by NubianGirl (AKRON, OH) Oct 20, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Deadly premonition is one of those games where the graphics are ok, gameplay descent, creatures are weird, not really scary game. It's to me a step down from resident evil games. If you like crime detective solving resident evil with long driving games then this is the game for you. Rent it to see how you like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best games of 2010

posted by Vader3 (GULFPORT, MS) Feb 19, 2011

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game will put people into two camps one will absolutely loathe it and the other will just fall in love with it. Just a heads up before I played this game and the time I have never heard of Twin Peaks before but this game got me into that show too (but that’s a different story). As I was playing the opening of the game I knew this game was different and from then on I fell in love with the game. All the characters are great and Francis Morgan is one of my favorite main characters of all time. The story is very interesting to the point that I just ate up the story. Now on to some of the bad aspects of the game, the graphics are passable the character models are well done but everything else is mediocre. The controls take some time to get use to they are clunky but in all honestly they were not the worst I've played in a game. Last and this is a tossup the Music personally I love the music it’s quirky and off beat and I love it but I can see how people could find it annoying. So in my conclusion I comes down to the type of person you are if you go for the triple A games with big budgets and just like shooters and anything that’s popular and hate originality I say pass this up but if you enjoy B-movies and likes when developers take risk even though it’s a low budget game I say play it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Surprising

posted by TheDude1 (COLUMBIA, TN) Jan 5, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Graphics...not very good (Xbox gen at best). Control...poor. Facial animation...bad (the muppets do a better job). Music...silly (but it grows on you).

This game has everything going against it. However, I really really enjoyed playing it. It goes to show you a great story will draw you in.

I would venture to say if Deadly Premonition had come out 5 years ago it would be considered one of the best games of the year. I am still willing to call it one of the best due to the "Twin Peeks/Allen Wake" story.

If you are looking for something different and are willing to give this game a chance I have a feeling you will be lost in this game and playing way more than you thought when you first began. You will be working to figure out the mystery and enjoy the plot twists and turns.

Get past the graphics, choppy control, and bad animation and just embrace it. I think it makes the game more charming and fits it's quirky plot. In the day and age of high graphics it is great to see a game that doesn't rely 100% on them.

Plus, it's a pretty scary game at times as well.

Have fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great ideas can't escape bad gameplay

posted by hadokin (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 9, 2010

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I had this rental for about a week and a half and I really wanted to play through the whole thing and get through it. I enjoyed the quirkiness of it and what it was trying to go for in terms of story and most of the characters. The idea of the game itself is still very appealing, the idea of being an investigator in a "Twin Peaks town" and having most of the world available to you. A game where open world means moving about in real time and being able to go around where ever, and that people move around, too.

During my time with the game I tried, tried, tried to get into it and keep up with it, to get more of the story. I'd play for an hour or so, but kept getting put off by the game itself that I just got sick of it. I wanted to enjoy the game, so I'd go back the next day and try to play some more, only to be frustrated by it again and end up quitting. By the time I got to the halfway point of the game, I was so sick of it, so annoyed by the game that I just put it back in the mailer and ended it.

Why is it so bad? If you've read some of the other reviews you can easily see because it's the terrible gameplay. Most of the things that actually make the gameplay basics are so shoddy, crippled and broken. Here's a list:

- Getting around the world is a pain, cars drive like lead boats and use way too much gas.

- The world is too hard to navigate (the map is terrible and won't let you zoom it out and it constantly rotates based on which direction you're facing, constantly confusing you.)

- Character control is stiff and wooden.

- Level design is simple or lackluster.

- The shooting segments awkward and pointless.

- The menu screen is convoluted and your personal inventory system will remind you of a PSOne game.

- I kept swearing this was a port of a Dreamcast game, since the environments and character animation was so last gen.

This game could have easily been great (writing/idea/voice acting), but just can't escape its horrible gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse