Rent Deadly Premonition: The Director's Cut for PS3
view large frontback

Deadly Premonition: The Director's Cut

Rent

Keep for: $19.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.6

268 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

A fun and entertaining game, don't you agree Zack?

posted by JW420INTUCSON (TUCSON, AZ) Jul 30, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Deadly Premonition was first released on the XBOX 360 a few years back at a bargain price, which allowed me to take my first trip into the town of Greenvale for 1/3 the price of most of the other games at the time. This "Director's Cut" of the game on the PS3 has added a few new things such as DLC and an added chapter, but seems to have some added frame rate issues this time around as well. Let's get into my time spent in Greenvale now...
Storyline-
You play as FBI Special Agent Francis York Morgan, and his special friend Zack. York's friend Zack is that imaginary friend from childhood he never grew away from. York is called into the town of Greenvale to investigate the murder of one of its young residents. Zack and York encounter many colorful characters during the investigation and each of the town's residents has their own unique personality. Along with the main quest which is fairly long, there are 50 sidequests that give more info about the case and add to the overall length of the game.
Graphics/Sound-
The graphics look like they almost belong on the PS2 or XBOX and while they were updated slightly for this remake they aren't the high point of this title. Sound is hit and miss. The SFX are decent but the music is quirky and fits the mood at any given time.
Gameplay takes place in both the real world when interacting with residents and questioning them, and a shadow world where the combat takes place as well as finding clues which York uses to profile the killer. The gunplay is engaging enough but as many other players have said the real meat and potatos is in the wonderful story and original characters.
Deadly Premonition is a unique open world/survival horror game, the likes of which most gamers have never seen before. Humor, drama, and suspense keep the story moving a pretty decent pace. If you're a gamer who appreciates a great story and content over flashy presentation and like suspenseful games check it out. Reminds me of the tv show Twin Peaks!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

What did you think of the game Zach?

posted by Emoney244 (SACRAMENTO, CA) May 7, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

15 out of 18 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

A great intriguing story, amazing characters, charm, and a world that sucks you in, than flashy graphics and presentation, then this game is a must play. The game starts off kind of slow and a bit confusing, but if you are patient, then you will be rewarded greatly!

The main character has to be one of the most odd and most memorable characters I have ever played as in a video game. The soundtrack, though a bit repetitive, is awesome and will literally have you whistling lol.

I have played so many games this generation including huge big budget triple A titles, all which are great, but none of them left as long lasting impression on me as this game did. And that truly speaks volumes in this day in age. It is no easy feat to create a game so compelling and memorable with such little resources. The mind behind the game, a man named SWERY, truly is passionate about video games and its culture. This is apparent in all the small references toward other games.

The game is fantastic but this PS3 is mediocre. Many of the early and open areas run at a low framerate. There is the occasional audio skip. Some improvements were made. The shooting and hud are better. The map is still poor. Menus and text boxes are faster. No more fixed camera angles. No more tank controls. And the new cutscenes have a decent pay off in the end. Overall it is worth a rent. Just give it a little time and you will see this game's strengths.

Original game score: 9
PS3 port score: 7

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The definition of don't judge a book by it's cover

posted by link9559 (WORCESTER, MA) May 4, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

18 out of 24 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Many people judge this game harshly because of it's bad game mechanics, graphics, or voice overs. They clearly don't get the point. This game was made with story in mind, to show players that a great game does not need to be extremely well polished to be enjoyable. The slow and repetitive gameplay may be a deterrent to some people. However, if you stay and play the game, you will find yourself unable to stop playing as the story unravels. This is a game that doesn't take itself too seriously (which should be clear after the first few cutscenes as it uses this to drive some comedic situations) and should be treated as such. A truly magnificent game which has sadly not gotten the attention it deserves.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Deadly Poo

posted by AreA_17 (DENVER, CO) Jun 1, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

If you rated this game anything over a 3 at best....SLAP YOURSELF!!! This game was crud from the first second.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Should be rated negative 100!

posted by klme9 (WINGDALE, NY) Jun 22, 2013

Member since Nov 2011

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

What an incredibly horrible game. The graphics are so bad I can't believe this game was even made this century. Truly terrible game play and spastic controls. Literally played it for less than an hour before sending this garbage back. Can't believe I waited for two weeks for Gamefly to send it. Don't listen to anyone who says this game is anything other than trash. They are delusional at best. Try The Last of Us or the new Tomb Raider.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Exceeds Expectations

posted by shonnuff (LYNCHBURG, VA) May 19, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This is a really great game. At first I didn't take to it so well but after a few hours and getting passed the what i call (zombie part) of the game, It really opened up for me. I was thinking that the hold game was just wondering around and shooting these crippled looking zombies. I saw after continuing to play that there's a real nice plot to this game with the detective work solving murders with a guy that seem disturb himself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Dont bother

posted by wjo5027 (DURHAM, NC) Jun 7, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Wow this game is terrible. It's similar gameplay to resident evil, but way worse graphics, voices and controls. Played it for a day, sending it back tomorrow.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

PS2 Game on PS3??

posted by alc322 (WESLEY CHAPEL, FL) May 4, 2013

Member since Feb 2012

6 out of 29 gamers (21%) found this review helpful

This game should have never been considered for the PS3. The graphics are extremely outdated, the game play is old school. The weapons mechanics are horrible. When you try to break a box with the pipe and it is again a wall, you have to move back and pray you will break it. The characters voiceovers are embarrassing. The driving is disgusting. Turning is a challenge. DON'T RENT THIS GAME!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

killed myself

posted by marylou1 (WARRIOR RUN, PA) May 10, 2013

Member since May 2013

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

i wanted to slit my throat. one of the worst games i ever played. i wasted 20 mins of my life.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Deadly Premonition

posted by thecrick (GUSTINE, CA) May 8, 2013

Member since May 2012

3 out of 16 gamers (19%) found this review helpful

This game is just plain bad,this is not even a good rental you would enjoy watching paint dry or grass growing, please trust me don,t bother trying this game you will regret it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Deadly Abomination - A Failed Try-Hard

posted by TheFilth (WATERTOWN, NY) Jul 16, 2013

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This is a disappointment at every turn. With this you can see there was practically no effort in developing the game itself. Even with graphics aside, the gameplay is extremely poor.

So you start the game up, everything is going alright, so the graphics aren't that good. You see right off that the storyline is going to have lots of twists. It seems like everything might be alright.

Then the gameplay starts.. andddd it's over. Everything from outdated interface ideas, poor enemy movement, unrealistic everything. I don't care that people found the story interesting, it certainly does not come close to making up for all the games flaws, and it certainly does not make up for the fact that it couldn't even touch 98% of same-style games in past consoles.

The combat in this game is some of the poorest of all time. Take the time to look around at some real combat reviews of the game. Chances are almost everything you hear about it has happened. If you can't do combat well, don't do it at all.

This is something that should have been made in the Playstation 1 era at best. And even then it's not even remotely good enough to compare to many of the titles back then, let alone now.

Director's Cut? He should have cut it in half and threw it in the trash. It's like the cheap dollar store version of Silent Hill

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

An unforgettable experience if nothing else.

posted by capthavic (ATHOL, MA) Feb 10, 2014

Member since Mar 2011

As you can tell from the other reviews this is a very "love it or hate it" kind of game. Overall I enjoyed it but maybe because I'm the kind of person who can find entertainment in things that are...less than great.

By all conventional definitions, yes, this game is bad, really bad. It looks like an old Dreamcast game, the audio quality is all over the place, the controls are clunky and stiff, etc. In fact its so bad that I was half convinced that that was all intentional. And thats what made this game enjoyable for me and my roomate who watched me play the entire game, just the constant hilarious "what the f-?" moments that this game provides. The story was decent enough to keep me interested and the gameplay wasn't too bad until the final boss which was made difficult only because of quick time events and awkward controls.

While I can't really blame people for giving up on it quickly, I do feel that they are missing out. If you are at all interested then by all means give it a shot, if you give it the time you'll certainly have an interesting ride.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

OMG

posted by rob465 (SANTA FE, NM) Jan 17, 2014

Member since May 2006

One of the worst games I have ever played. From graphics, to game play, to voice over, to controls. I will never get the time back that I wasted.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WORTHLESS . . .

posted by Frigid2Die (FRANKLIN, WV) Jan 13, 2014

Member since Jan 2009

I started hating this game right off ... the movie sequences had no flow into gameplay, the aim for weapons is wretched, hand to hand is horrible when gauging distance between throat hold or pipe hit! The obvious fluidity errors in graphics were up to par with systems as old as PS2 or even PS1 games like LEGEND OF DRAGOON. This game was lucky to get one star.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Save this for another day

posted by PipsMcClawski (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Jan 7, 2014

Member since Oct 2012

Let me start by going ahead and saying that I did not finish this game. I'm not an advocate of sitting through a game thats unenjoyable just out of principle. As many have probably already said, this game looks and sounds absolutely horrible. Like early PS2 horrible. The sounds are repetitive, where enemies say the same annoying things or it sounds downright unrealistic. The gameplay is slow, not exciting at all and the story will mostly confuse those who don't stick with it for an extended period. Though graphics and sound shouldn't make a game, if you're the average gamer you probably have a list of big titles that you want to play. Save this game for if you find yourself without anything else to play or if you just REALLY want to dive into this. Because if you have other big hits you want to try, chances are you'll get this first, be disappointed AND set further back in line for the popular games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Weird, Ugly, and An Amazing Game

posted by Sterling_Archer (LAS VEGAS, NV) Oct 29, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

I never get on my computer, it's a hassle and with a phone app, and tablet I never need to. However I felt I had to after finishing this amazing game, just so I can write a review.

First off, this game does not look pretty, it looks old and very unpolished. That's because it is old, and very unpolished. If you can't see past bad graphics this game is not for you. Other than that though, that's really the only negative thing I can think of about this game.

The story is where Deadly Premonition really shines. The story is odd to say the least, and can get very confusing, but it's also one of the few stories that really touched me and got to me emotionally. I find myself continuously thinking about what happened as if it a page from my own life. I remember the characters as if I knew them and if what happened to them, actually happened to me. This will obviously go away within a few days, but that it stuck with me so long really amazes me, and hasn't happened since Final Fantasy was still great. This will be a game I think about a lot in the future and may compare other games to. This will also go down as one of my favorite games of this generation.

If you play games for a thrilling story this is the game for you. I will continue to recommend it to anyone I meet now, unless I'm on a date. Then I'll just sit awkwardly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

what do you think zach?

posted by shadowfox121 (MANCHESTER, TN) Sep 4, 2013

Member since Sep 2013

i loved this game, it has tons of intresting and very weird characters to meet. it does have older graphics but the story is what you are truly going to enjoy the most i would recommend this game to anyone who enjoys story over graphics. try the coffee you wont be disappointed i promise i bought this game after renting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »