Rent Deadly Creatures for Wii
view large frontback

Deadly Creatures

Not Rentable
GF Rating
6.4

1909 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Deadly Creatures worth the rental, not a buy.

posted by Zigjustice (LOS ANGELES, CA) Mar 20, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

18 out of 18 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

THQ and Rainbow Studios should be paying ME. I totally had this idea years ago. Oh well.

Deadly Creatures offers you the unique perspective of playing as a lifelike tarantula and scorpion. No anthropomorphism here; these guys are the real deal, or as close as you'll get to play in an existing video game.

You closely investigate their desert home fighting insects, lizards, and even a rattlesnake (so no, the cover ain't just bull). You may ask what's realistic about a tarantula taking on a rattlesnake, but without giving anything away, I assure you the encounter is awesome.

The levels can be a little repetitive for about the first half of the game, then we finally get some new settings. The environments are wonderfully detailed, and really give you the sense of what it's like to get around when you're that small. Occasionally, however, I found it nearly impossible to navigate without getting turned around or trapped. Fortunately you can hold down a button to bring up an arrow which points you in roughly the direction you should be headed.

Concerning the controls: the developers clearly wanted you to feel like were getting the most out of your bugs. As you progress you will gain more and more moves, which all, for the most part, involve pressing A then wiggling your wii mote around. The sensitivity is a little wonky so you end up pressing A repeatedly and flailing a lot, regardless of which character you are at the time, through most of the game.

The real highlight of the game for me was the story. It's a short and sweet tale of villainy in the desert. Billy Bob Thornton and Dennis Hopper are two lowlifes hunting for a treasure, starting with digging up a dead man. Always a good place to start.

As you crawl through the levels you get glimpses of the two, or hear their muffled words from below the ground. I was quickly caught up in their story, and wanted to see how it ended. An ending, which in my opinion, was a little too quick.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Much Better Than The Cover Art

posted by Stabby (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Feb 12, 2009

Member since Nov 2005

18 out of 19 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

If I saw this game on the shelf I'd probably avoid it due to the cheesy artwork on the cover. I'd be missing out on a great game.

It's immensely satisfying playing as a scorpion and a tarantula. Each character plays differently, the spider is quick and agile while the lumbering scorpion unleashes lethal bludgeoning attacks.

The combat is handled well, using the A button for basic attacks and motion control for special moves and combos. The desert setting from the perspective of these creatures is like some sort of alien world to be explored. Battling snakes and gila monsters and various insects is a really great idea that is executed to perfection.

There's some great voice work in this game by Billy Bob Thornton and Dennis Hopper. (Playing a couple of unscrupulous gas station attendants.)

Check this game out, you'll undoubtedly enjoy it far more than you'd think. If you've got kids that are fascinated by bugs they'd probably enjoy this as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent Game!

posted by mcuser75 (CHATTANOOGA, TN) Feb 20, 2009

Member since Mar 2006

11 out of 13 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

For what it lacks in depth and game length, this game makes up for it with style and originality. Following the story of two guys hunting buried treasure from a bugs eye view, you'll witness the twists and turns with excellent Wii graphics and top notch voice talent featuring Billy Bob Thornton. I don't want to spoil the ending, but I could not believe how the Scorpion and Spider affected the final outcome of this story. If you own a Wii, you definitely owe to yourself to try this game out for yourself. The high production value, great story, top notch voice talent and atmospheric graphics and music make any slight technical and control issues obsolete. Please support the efforts made by the developers of this game so we might see more innovative title like this appear not only on the Wii, but other consoles as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent game

posted by LSKennedy (CONCORD, CA) Feb 16, 2009

Member since Nov 2006

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

After a long drought we are finally getting some decent games on the wii. This game is excellent. You really feel like you are a scorpion or tarantula while playing. I highly recommend this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Nature can be so "Deadly" and fun

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Feb 15, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

It's a Bug's Life or an Arachnid's Life as you switch between a tarantula and a scorpion in this 3D platformer.
Sure, you go from point A to point B. You overcome obstacles by jumping, cutting, digging and web shooting. You also beat up certain bugs, spiders, scorpions, rats, lizards and other creatures.
But there are a few good thing that separate Dangerous Creatures from the other 3D platformers.
First, the camera is about as good as I've seen in some time. It rarely wanders about and instead keeps focus on where you're going to.
Then, there's the layout. I like the view of the world from a very small creature. It's very immersing and I always had an urge to see what - and who - is around the next corner. The level design here is great.
Deadly Creatures also gives a good reason to find the collectible items (in this case it's bugs). With every collectible bug you get, you restore some health. The unlocked artwork is also good to look at.
But there are problems with this game. First off, you get into sections that get walled off and in order to move on, you have to find and kill certain enemies. This gets very aggravating in the bathroom section.
The second, and larger, problem is the game's too short. I finished it in five to six hours on medium, and there's very little desire for me to give the game another go. If it were easy, the game would be over in four to five hours.
At $50, this isn't a good deal since we are in the midst of a recession.
Still, Deadly Creatures is one game you shouldn't pass up on. RENT IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good, Not Great

posted by dio1121 (RANCHO SANTA MARGARITA, CA) May 12, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game's controls are OK and the look is cool. Being the spider and then the scorpion is fun for a bit, but overall, there is not much more to it. Good game, just not great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Control sucks!

posted by halltris (CORBIN, KY) Feb 13, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

Game has a nice unique concept but the controls are terrible. After two hours of playing I became so frustrated that I just stuck it back in the mail. The main problem is with trying to do on screen commands (live waving the remote and etc.) - the game isn't accuratly responsive in the least. Without a doubt this is the worst Wii game I've ever played - if it was on any other system and the game didn't reply on hand gestures, it might be a different story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

boring

posted by robertwile (MIAMI, FL) Mar 15, 2010

Member since May 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

really boring not that good graphics so many ways to describe... how bad this game was.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good

posted by soniic93 (RICHARDSON, TX) May 14, 2009

Member since May 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game has an awesome story line and the whole idea of playing as one of the most deadly creatures on earth is a great idea

This game even if you dont like these kind of games it is
WORTH TRYING!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

ewwww

posted by Nsubordnit (SPOKANE, WA) May 22, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Do they have a wireless nunchuck because every time that wire rubs on my arm Its a creepy crawly goodness.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great graphics

posted by Eric_Kartman (OLATHE, KS) Jun 9, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

for a wii game, the graphics are incredible! although, i agree with some of the other commits, gameplay could be better but for what it is worth it is one of the greatest wii games i have ever played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Honey I Shrunk the Spider

posted by giger4life (CLEBURNE, TX) Apr 18, 2012

Member since Jul 2007

I like the concept for this this game but the execution failed on multiple levels. Motion controls are frustrating. Combat is not very fun, and the camera will make you wanna slap yo mama. I can't believe this game was in my Q for almost a year in the number one spot. Very much let down, but glad I didn't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Really Great Game

posted by HILEALY (COCONUT CREEK, FL) Jun 16, 2011

Member since Dec 2009

When I saw the snake and spider on the cover I immediatly clicked rent. I mean, it looked cool. So I played it, and I was hooked. Theres so much to do, you play as a spider and a scorpion and roam around and kill stuff - including rattlesnakes! And theres a great story line which I wont talk about, I dont wanna spoil it. Its really really fun and I recomend to rent it and if you like, which im sure you will, then buy it and enjoy the fun!
:)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

deadly video game

posted by hazelheart (EVERETT, WA) Jun 9, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

I thought the game was stupid because all you are supossed to do in the game is kill the other things and find a hole to crawl into the controlls are soooo easy and its just not really challeging sooo people PLEASE FOR YOUR OWN GOOD dont get this game as a matter of fact dont look at the game web page its a waste of time, energy, and life.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A fresh and unique experience, bit disappointing.

posted by hekifier (WINCHESTER, OH) Apr 18, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

Deadly Creatures offers a very interesting concept. You take control of a scorpion and spider. The scorpion is slower, stronger and more tactical, while the spider can't block, isn't as strong, and attacks faster.

The controls work for the most part. The arthropods move fluidly but the wii specific motions leave something to be desired, particularly the quick time events. They flashed by too quick and the motions weren't always responsive.

The graphics aren't pushing the hardware, but the insects are vividly detailed and the environments are broad and large. The sound is much better, with creepy ambient music and blood chilling death cries. They nail the state of mind of being an insect.

The difficulty is really uneven. Some enemies can be cut through like paper, while others can block with precision and attack in swarms. Luckily, there are multiple difficulty settings. Putting the game on easy even made the QTE's better, but then it was too easy.

The game can be cleared through in as little as 4 hours and 30 minutes, and there isn't much replay ability to speak of. Only if you go back in the levels and find the collectibles. Unfortunately, I don't see myself getting motivated to buy this, but the experience was fun while it lasted.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game is Great

posted by CJHansen36 (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Jan 31, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

My 10 year old son loves this game. I was not disapointed at all

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

How would it feel to be a spider?

posted by Chakotay (AMARILLO, TX) Dec 20, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

Kinda neat. Especially once you unlock all of your moves and LEARN them. I had to play this on the easy setting, which meant I could still win fights just by flailing both controls around and feverishly pushing buttons. (I think in the hard mode, you actually have to have some skill and control.)

So you start as a freaky huge fuzzy spider, crawl around underground fighting other critters and eating stuff. After that, you switch to being a scorpion. Same concept, you get attacked by other bugs and spiders.
At the end of each level is a BIG critter you have to fight. I managed to get past the snake, but a later level had a huge Gila monster that I couldn't defeat... so I gave up.

I didn't get as far as I would have liked, but I enjoyed the game while I lasted. Someone who has more experience in action/fighting type games could probably get farther.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

...

posted by mario5000 (SAINT GEORGE, UT) Sep 30, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

I like this game but I sent it back the next day because it gave me nightmares.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A sad failure in a could be great game

posted by deltaspike (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Sep 25, 2010

Member since Jun 2008

Well, first off i didnt even want this game very much in the first place. when i got it in the mail, and played it for about 30 minutes, i was disapointed immensly. the graphics were terrible and the gameplay was dull and pointless. it was the same thing every time. do not buy or even rent this it is a failure of a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not up to expectations

posted by Link00 (LITTLE VALLEY, NY) Aug 7, 2010

Member since Oct 2008

When I first saw this game I had high hopes and expectations. It seemed to have alot of potential. But then I got the game...
The fighting is kind of repetitive. The upgrading system isn't so great. You don't get to choose your upgrades it automatically does for you. Crawling around and exploring is fun. The boss battles are also a great experience. Overall wasn't as good as I was hoping.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

\WARNING\ DO NOT BUY!

posted by mecha12 (ALDIE, VA) Jul 5, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

The game is not worth buying... at all. The controls are frustrating, theres barely a story, and the game can be just plain boring. The whole games boring, until the end when you get to sting a dude somewhere not mentionable on this review. but he does try to shoot u with a shotgun. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not worth the time!!

posted by JoDGo1981 (PICKENS, SC) Apr 23, 2010

Member since Oct 2008

This game caught my eye mainly cause its just different from other games....as i began playing it i found the controls fairly simple and easy to use, the graphics were pretty decent for the WII.....however..........the problem with this game is the gameplay is very boring....the game is not interesting i found myself very bored going through this game its just not worth the time......somebody who isnt into gaming a lot but enjoys maybe spending time just killing time might like this game......but this game is not worth spending time..

Controls------7

Graphics------7

Gameplay---------0

level of Difficulty-----------very easy { this game wont challenge even the casual gamer}

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Flawed but fun

posted by StarGamer (LUCERNEMINES, PA) Mar 30, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

This game, though glitchy and a bit monotonous, was a lot of fun to play. Extremely intuitive controls, lots of different attack combos (when they work properly) and a really cool albeit dark environment. I liked the graphics, the sounds and the way the story is played, although I was hoping for more storyline.

This is definitely a rent, not a buy. No replay value unless you're such a perfectionist that you're willing to scour every inch of the landscape for the more than 500 collectibles in the game...

It probably goes without saying, but if you're really squeamish when it comes to creepy-crawlies, don't bother with this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Could be better...could be worse

posted by kahncory (VALPARAISO, IN) Jan 14, 2010

Member since Jun 2009

As far as Wii games as of late there hasn't been much out there that I would deam buyable, or even playable. I'll say this about this game, It' s very interesting to see the world from the perspective of a spider, or a scorpion...and being able to beat up or kill other insects, creatures is kind of cool...but that's where it stops...The story behind the game is subpar...and if I really was a spider why would I care that someone was killed...secondly the game is very reptitive go here...kill this....move on....scorpion go here...kill this...move on. Lastly this game was very easy and I think my two year old could have beaten it just slobering on the wii mote....Having said all this I would say worth a look at, but not much more...Rent it, beat it, and send it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Practically Unplayable

posted by RamCow (HONOLULU, HI) Jan 6, 2010

Member since Aug 2007

I was very interested in this game. I loved the game Spider for Playstation back in the day and was hoping for some modern equivalent through Deadly Creatures.

The story basically has nothing to do with being a spider or scorpion which makes the gameplay feel kinda pointless. Supposedly you're viewing the events through the eyes of the scorpion and spider. However, you'll play through 3 scenarios without there being anything related to the story. So it was interesting concept, but they definitely didn't follow through.

Most importantly, the controls and camera angles are absolutely terrible. The game is basically unplayable. The attempt at making the Wii motion controls was a complete failure. You'll attempt to attack and enemy with the motion controls unsuccessfully while enemies bite you on the butt.

The game is also very linear. You go to one area, kill some enemies and a new area opens up. Repeat for the entire game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse