Rent Deadliest Catch: Sea of Chaos for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Deadliest Catch: Sea of Chaos

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, Wii
GF Rating
3.6

557 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
1

Horrible

omg

posted by zeiss (CEDAR CITY, UT) May 27, 2011

Member since May 2011

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

did the guys who made this game even play it after it was done. i loved the first deadliest catch i still play it today. i just dont understand what they were thinking all they had to do was take the first deadliest catch put a better crew a.i so there more human like than robot take off the stalking seagals tweak the graphics a bit. make the weather a little better like add rain some snow and i would be happy. everything in the first was better. i really do hope they make another but just go back to the roots and start there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Don't waste your time...

posted by Parable (RAMONA, CA) Dec 13, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

20 out of 22 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

I am a HUGE fan of the show.. Thought the first game was... ok I was really looking forward to this one... WHAT A DISSAPOINTMENT !!! I know it didnt get good reviews, but neither did the last one and I thought it was ok... This one has basicly 5 mini games you play the whole time and that is all. The first version was more real. I would only play this game again if I picked it up for $1 at a garage sale.

I had this saved for months and wish I could have been on the design team to help what is a great show turn into a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Nostalgia of Super Nintendo

posted by us_marine903 (GREENVILLE, TX) Aug 28, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game wasn't the worst game I've ever played. The achievements are very obtainable and the offer big paydays. The game itself reminded me off the games you would rent for Nintendo back in the day. They had a game for just about everything you could think of. I'm not a fan of the show, but I did enjoy messing around on this game. I like unique game play and this game was definitely out of the ordinary. The game is simple to understand, but there are frustrating moments. Things seem to happen with complete randomness. For example, I would replace my engine at port and then it would break with my first travel out to sea.
I would never buy a game like this but it was fun to rent for a couple of days. I recommend that you have at least a "two game out plan" so you don't disappoint yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Words can't express...

posted by Cujo71 (TALLAHASSEE, FL) May 23, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

just how lame this game is. I got it more for curiosity. Great day, it take boring and the word junk to a whole new level. How did the DC guys even allow their likeness on this mess. I played the first one and yes, it too was boring, but their was some strategy involved. This one only lasted 10 minutes for me. Save yourself the rental!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

They Ruined the Game

posted by BruceF (BENTONVILLE, AR) Jan 17, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed the first installment because I am a fan of the show and being a real life sportsman, I have a real appreciation that fishing/crabbing/hunting etc can be incredibly boring at times. The first game was great in that it brought the realism as well as some mini-games and the video tour of the Northwestern. Being able to sit in the cockpit of the Cornelia, Northwestern, and Wizard was just icing on the cake.

The new game is a huge step backward and a cash grab if I ever saw one. The entire game has been reduced to a series of "season challenges" with 6 repetitive mini-games taking place within the challenges. I'm probably half way into the game and will admit this one stinks. Same old bad graphics with no real improvement in game play. If you aren't a fan of the show, avoid this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Sub-par

posted by ChrisRG (SPOKANE, WA) Jan 16, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

In this new game, they have taken out everything that made the first game enjoyable, and replaced it with mini-games that aren't even that fun to play. In the translation, all of the realism has been lost, making this feel like a poorly executed arcade title. I love the show, and really enjoyed the first deadliest catch game, but after a couple of hours playing this, I had all but mastered all of the mini-games, and was left with nothing to enjoy about this title. In the first game the focus was being a captain of a ship, now you do everything but the captain duties (you can no longer go anywhere you want on the map, all spots are predetermined, and control of dropping and retrieving pots has been taken away from the player as well). The graphics are still terrible, the control is spotty, the story is boring, and the multiplayer is laughable. While the first game (Alaskan Storm) had its problems, the basic formula had great potential, and with some technical fixes and some added features and content would have made it a great game, Sea of Chaos fails in all of these areas. I think the only thing that made Sea of Chaos worth the rental was the hour-long "tribute to Captain Phil" special (if you haven't already seen it), but otherwise avoid this title at all costs. If you really must play a deadliest catch game, get Alaskan Storm, at least you will get more than an hour or two of a game that delivers a genuine experience- not just an attempt to cash in on the deadliest catch franchise. Shame on Crave for ever letting this garbage make it onto store shelves!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not what I was expecting

posted by rebman7 (SPRINGFIELD, MO) Dec 6, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

38 out of 45 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

I preordered this game and got this game the day it came out and I wish I could return it for a fair price. To me, this game was not worth $49.99. It lacks a lot of realism. Alaska Storm may have been boring but the fact that it was realistic gives it an edge over it. In my opinion you play the role of a captain more in Alaska Storm, and isnt that the point of playing it. The graffics are better however it feels like this game belongs in an arcade. If I bought this game for $10 I wouldn't be so depressed and disapointed.

I wish they took the details from this game and mixed it with the gameplay of alaska storm.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Deadliest Catch:a waste of my time

posted by Raven34 (SEATAC, WA) Jan 12, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Hmm let me start out by telling you the one good thing about this game.... easy gamer points. Game play is slow but its a fishing game so what can you expect. not very realistic- it seems like every time i drop my cage in the water and get an A score i come up with a cage full of crab... perhaps i should email the real people of deadliest catch and let them know all they have to do is get an A. I was excited for the fist 45 to 70 minutes racking up points. i recommend this game for people who either 1. really like the show and have noting but time on their hands or 2. is part of the actual cast of the show....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't waste your time.

posted by BostonStrong (BURTON, MI) Apr 20, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Big disappointment, love the show but the game is junk.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

A Game of Mini Games

posted by Mat1393 (DENISON, TX) Jul 29, 2012

Member since Nov 2010

Honestly I rage quit after the 5th mini game. Do not waste your tome play the first one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Deadliest catch 2

posted by kota21 (TEWKSBURY, MA) Dec 20, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

The gameplay was awkward and mentally exhausting; The graphics do not live up to modern standards.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Ehhhh

posted by bobaaganoosh (PLAQUEMINE, LA) Jun 10, 2011

Member since May 2011

I have to say, the first one was way better than this one on so many levels. If they would have kept the core gameplay from the 1st and added the graphics and mini games into this one, it would have been great.

I will say, the mini games they have you do are pretty cool though. But it's nowhere close to the realism Alaskan Storm brings to the table. The only reason I kept the game for a few more days was to at least get a couple hundred gamerscore loOl

It's overall worth a RENT, but no where's close to a buy. I suggest playing the first if you already haven't!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »