Rent Deadliest Catch: Sea of Chaos for Wii
view large frontback

Deadliest Catch: Sea of Chaos

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, Xbox 360
GF Rating
3.5

156 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

Nothing Deadly about this Catch

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Dec 22, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Fans of the Discovery Channel, Deadliest Catch, who want to get their hands on some King Crab, can do it from the safety of their own home with Deadliest Catch: Sea of Chaos.
Your job is to buy a boat, hire crewmembers, and go out into the rough Bearing sea and catch crab.
When you buy a boat, you get several different types of fishing vessels - some are large and slow but can carry lots of crab, some are faster, but carry less crab. You can do minor adjustments to each ship’s appearance.
When you get your crewmembers, each of them has a price paid in a percentage of money you make. Better fishermen will want a bigger cut, but if you’re cheap, you will end up with a crew that’s not seaworthy.
After you get your ship and crew, it’s time to head out and get your crab. When you leave the harbor, you go to a map filled with red spots - places with crab. Different spots have different amounts of crab - from very little to a whole lot. You pick a spot, head out, then start fishing via mini games.
First, you set the cages. Here, you drive your ship over the ocean looking for circles with numbers attached to them. You drive into the circle and drop the cage in the middle of that circle. You repeat until you have placed all the pots.
Then, you pickup the cages. Here, you watch as buoys float by, and as they get near your guy, you toss out a rope and hit the buoys to bring in the pots.
Next job: to sort the catch in the pots into two piles: large crab and everything else.
Finally, you get to unload your load back in port by tossing crab into a net while avoiding a crane and after that, you get paid, then go out and do it all over again.
Some other things might happen - you have to maintain the boat and crew, but mostly it’s you playing the same few mini games while fishing for crab.
And that’s the biggest turn off for the game - it get monotonous after a short while. Deadliest Catch: Sea of Chaos just doesn’t have the feel of the TV show. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst game ever

posted by belmont21 (SACRAMENTO, CA) Apr 20, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is so bad. Worst game ever. i got from here and played it right away and was mailing it back within an hour it sucked so bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not what I hoped for...

posted by teeteelee (BON SECOUR, AL) Jan 26, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The wii game is not what I expected at all! First of all, it was hard to understand how to do the moves and second of all it was a very repatative game. Just doing the same things over and over again gets old. My husband was looking forward to this game but after about 20 minutes of me playing it he was not at all interested. Moves were jerky and it doesn't really go along with the reality series. The cd-rom version is alot better if you ask me. Pros: you can somewhat design your own boat (choose the colors of it) and you have some choices of where to take your boat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

sorting sucks

posted by rmallen_2011 (WINTERPORT, ME) May 19, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

love the game but the sensitivity for sorting crab sucks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Total Disappointment

posted by justinstevens (CONWAY, SC) Sep 20, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

It is not what I imagined it would be. Considering the graphics and action abilities in other games such as; Strike (Bass Pro Shop) and Call of Duty. Not familiar with all the lingo for video games, but there is no comparison to these games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not as good as computer one

posted by gamerNathan (SHELBY TOWNSHIP, MI) Aug 3, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

Game was a little hard and boring..I would have shipped it backed sooner but kept missing the mailman..You just keep doing the SAME thing again..again..get it to TRY..not BUY!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

to difficult for younger players

posted by lgcrow (YUMA, AZ) Jun 2, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

this game had great graphics, the play control was a little difficult, my 6 year old got frustrated and dropped the remote and left, I tried it my self and found that if you worked on it for a long time and practiced you learned how to do it but most players don't want that they want to play and to show progress sooner. In short, (I am a big fan of the show) this game is visual great but as far game play I did not care for it, if you want a game that will set and collect dust till you get really bored then this is the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Better to be a show then a game.

posted by usfup328 (PALM HARBOR, FL) Apr 27, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

If I had to describe my opinion on this in two words it would be hard, boring. Hard for new people to even trying to play and boring for all those who play it. Its better off watching the show then playing this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst game i have ever played

posted by maverick62 (CORBETT, OR) Mar 17, 2011

Member since Oct 2009

this game is the worst game i have ever played on any system last reviewer said graphics look like ps2 looks more like 8bit nintendo almost to me so bad controls almost worse than the graphics don't waste your time or the stupid amount of time it takes this website to get you a game after you mail one in returned this game 5 minutes after i played it now gonna have to wait 5 days to get another game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Deadliest Disappointment!

posted by Champy12 (YORK BEACH, ME) Jan 29, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

I love this show and was very excited to see a game come out for it. The idea of buying a boat supplying it with a crew and fuel, and going out to fish in one of the hardest jobs known to man! Alas the controls for this game are poor at best. The graphics remind me of a playstation 2 game! I think they could really improve and make another next year with some improved controls maybe involving the nunchuk. Be wary of renting this game or at the very least be ready to return it the next day like I did...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »