Rent Deadliest Catch: Sea of Chaos for PS3
view large frontback

Deadliest Catch: Sea of Chaos

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, Wii
GF Rating
3.6

576 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

slow

posted by bruehawk (EAST GREENBUSH, NY) Dec 23, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

16 out of 16 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is very slow. you spend more time watching it load then playing. Won't try it again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Deadliest Catch: Sea of Loading Screens

posted by zev8910 (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Jan 11, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

For every 2 - 4 minutes of gameplay expect 60 seconds of load time.
The

Basic gameplay consists of:
Select location to travel to on map.
Load
Select activity (set pots)
Load
Set Pots
Load
Retrieve Pots
Load
Sort Crab
Load
Travel to port
Load
Off load crab
Load.
Repeat until season mercifully ends.

The reward for quicker and more accurate completion of tasks is load screens.

The effort put in to this title would have been acceptable on the N64 or maybe PSone. You are unable to use your own name for your ship, drawing from about 20 names, the logo selection contains about 10 choices. In the crab count leaderboards, you are referred to as "PLAYER". The only 'captaining' is throttle up, throttle down.

As a fan of the television series, I was excited to hire deckhands with familiar faces, but after the novelty of that wore, it was time to ship the game back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Way to much loading

posted by raskal2050 (SACRAMENTO, CA) Dec 8, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It's a fun game but the load time is way to long you play for like 30sec and then it loads for 60sec but if you're a Deadliest Catch fan then i would give it a try ther is also a morm.. for Capt. Phil of the C.M R.I.P

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Deadliest Catch, Great Show - Bad Game

posted by desertdad (NIXA, MO) Dec 20, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

15 out of 17 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I was really looking forward to this game, I love the Deadliest Catch show and was exicited to have this game out on the PS3.

With that said, the best part of the disc was the episode for Capt Phil (which is not exclusive to this game, it has been on TV).

The gameplay was fun for the first 5 minutes, after that its borning real fast. I think that the constant and long load times contribute to that.

If your a fan of the Deadliest Catch, this is a rental and not a purchase game. If your not a fan, I would not waste my time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

wow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by jomabro (CINCINNATI, OH) Jan 15, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The most uninteresting game I've ever played. The graphics are horrible and mini games are awful. Save game fly the postage and take this out of your Q. I'm shocked that anyone could release a game this poor.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Graphics

posted by magicgrl (WARNER ROBINS, GA) Dec 11, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

To be a PS3 game the graphics and load time suck, the iphone/ipod touch app is better than this game......

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dissapointed....

posted by Funzy30 (DINGMANS FERRY, PA) Dec 9, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I played the first and thought it was pretty good almost simulation like.
This one seems cheesy and more like an Arcade title. Played for 2 nights to give it a chance but... Not for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Designed for kids

posted by donab30 (BATTLEFIELD, MO) Jan 9, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is rated safe for ages 10 and above, but it should say that it's made for kids 10 and below. Very simple minded game composed of mini-games. Not realistic, not exciting, rather insulting to one's intelligence. Rate it a ZERO.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

First one Better second not so good

posted by Chris75189 (ROCKWALL, TX) Dec 6, 2010

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

First of all, if you ever played the first one on the xbox 360 it was alot more action. second this one is horrible on controls almost everything reason i gave it a 4 is it gets more interesting into the game but other then that i wouldn't recommend a buy on this one i would actually pass up on it and just go with another one, the graphics are good to a point other then that i'm actually going to send this one back, tomorrow i just got it and almost done with it with less then 5 hrs of play time

pros graphics

cons controls
story line

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game sucks!

posted by Wsb1206 (GULFPORT, MS) May 9, 2013

Member since May 2013

This game sucks! Do not even rent! Should be used to play "how far can we throw the disc down the street" that's about all this game is entertaining for!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I love the show not the game!!!!

posted by silentone513 (BOZEMAN, MT) Jul 13, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

Im sorry but this game really sucks, I'm a huge fan of the show and a lifetime gamer, but this game presents no challenge what so ever. I feel like its 1990 again. The hardest part I found was controlling the ship while dropping pots. Needs alot of work and hopefully they will produce one in the future with better graphics and alot more challenging.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

deadliest catch

posted by kidgalahad74 (HOMOSASSA, FL) Jun 26, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

alot of loading and could have been so much better with charting yer own course and upgrades to boat and crew...they should have taken their time and done it right

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Deadliest Catch: Sea of Chaos

posted by Quagmire111 (NORTH RICHLAND HILLS, TX) May 3, 2012

Member since May 2012

What a waste of time...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

posted by barryelvis (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jan 21, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

Very boring, not much to it but boring mini games inside a game. Even if your just looking for trophies not worth it. No platinum and to get 100% it would be time consuming. Rent something else

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Just a bunch of mini gmaes

posted by eyeeatbabies676 (SOUTH LYON, MI) Jul 19, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

unlike the first one that was half way decent this one is just a bunch of mini games to me it felt like i wasnt even fishing for crab everytime you actullay get to do something there is a count down like a mini game and your looking at the loading screen longer than you actually play the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Too much LOADING

posted by romero_247 (ARNAUDVILLE, LA) Jul 19, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

The game is Alright i guess but it kinda sucks at the same time. TOO MUCH LOADING!!!!!!!!! Wasnt much of a challenge either. I wouldnt recommend. But the actual show is good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst game of the year

posted by theriver10 (ALMA, AR) Jul 18, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

i have never seen such a bad game the first one u could drive the boat and do it your self but on this new one u cant do any of that u do in first person when its better in third person they have taken the fun out of this game and for that i will never play a deadliest catch game ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

show into game nice.. lots of flows and issues!

posted by Bacon1 (CARROLLTON, TX) Jul 12, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

The controls are frustrating! Not PL3 standards..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

it sucks do not get it. it will not even let yous.

posted by kccrusher1 (PINELLAS PARK, FL) Jun 23, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

it sucks do not get it. it will not even let you do what it says it sucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Boring

posted by roadrunner (GOODYEAR, AZ) Jun 15, 2011

Member since Oct 2007

I found this game very boring, would have rated it lower but zero wasn't a choice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

No Platinum?

posted by Junes2k (PRESTONSBURG, KY) Apr 24, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

I am a trophy hunter. I would of give this game a 3 if had a platinum but it didnt! So I gave it 1 cause I couldnt give it a zero.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Do not waste your time!

posted by Animator22 (SAN JOSE, CA) Apr 15, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2009

As much as you love the show please pass on this game even for a rent.

As others have said in their reviews this game consists of only 5 things.
1. Move the boat on the map
2. Set pots
3. Retrive pots
4. Sort
5. Offload

I know I'm repeating what others have already said but thats really it! Nothing more.

This game is all luck and very little stradegy. I just spent the last 2 hours filling my boat 4 times and offloading just to get 3rd place. It doesn't matter its all luck. Its really just a waste of time!

The other thing that really gets annoying is your equipment breaking down. You travel to one spot, engine died, fix it move on to the next spot, crane broken, fix it and move on and so on and so on. It happens alot on some missions and just gets old really fast not to mention it eats a ton of your fishing time.

I love the show too but I hate this game. This one game I truly hate just because they are tying to bank on the show.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not so good

posted by Rilol (HENDERSONVILLE, TN) Apr 14, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

For such an amazingly cool show, the game definitely did not lead up to expectation. The idea behind it is great however there is way too much "loading" time between tasks which makes for a very boring experience. I wouldn't recommend this game at all. The familiar faces was kind of cool but that is pretty much it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Love the show; Hate the Game

posted by dragum (WASHINGTON, DC) Mar 29, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

this game could have been so much better if they made it like the TV Series. Instead they blew it. Too much loading and graphics sucks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

terrible

posted by joethedog (CONNELLSVILLE, PA) Mar 22, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

no wonder you shipped this game to me!!! Im probably the first idiot to ever request it.. Unless you absolutely live for that show on tv, don't rent this game!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse