Rent Dead to Rights: Retribution for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Dead to Rights: Retribution

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
6.5

2841 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Dead to rights: Retribution

posted by Dman3165 (BROOKLYN, NY) Jul 4, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a very underrated game. The graphics are amazing, almost as good as Batman Arkham Asylum. Gameplay is simple and controls are easy to use. Cannot say anymore. Must rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awessssssssssssssssomee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by vadic06 (HIGHLANDS RANCH, CO) Jul 15, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

dude this game like amazed me. the fighting was perfect the shooting and slomo was epic!!!. and has best hand to hand combat. i am so going to gamestop to buy this game!!.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Max Payne with Street Brawling - and a Dog

posted by Perian (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Jun 12, 2010

Member since Nov 2007

14 out of 16 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I really liked this game as a rental. Lots of button mashing hand to hand - with two button combos and slow-mo graphic kill sequences. You don't really hold onto guns, but constantly pick up the guns of those you kill. You can't hold much ammo, but it makes you use a variety of fun weapons. Good storyline, with a very enjoyable opening reminiscent of Die Hard. So many different ways to kill people - all with graphic gore, it kept me entertained at all points of my one and only playthrough. I think the rating is low, if you want to brawl and shoot - this is a great game. I wouldn't buy it though....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Great Rental

posted by DonMcNabb5 (ALTOONA, PA) May 12, 2010

Member since Dec 2005

12 out of 16 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

After the story is over, there isn't much to do, but that doesn't mean it's not worth a rent! The story is pretty crazy, fun, and exciting! It's full of all different types of action! It changes up the pacing well by letting you control your dog, Shade, multiple times through out the story! The melee combat is fun, but becomes less frequent farther into the story, and the disarming move is awesome! The gun play is good too and I loved playing this game from beginning to end!

Not to mention, this is one of only like 5 games that actually gives Avatar Awards! The full suit of GAC Armor you get for beating the game on Normal is pretty nice, my avatar is wearing it right now!

It's worth trying atleast once, but don't buy it...
it will get boring after the first few playthroughs!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Dead to Rights: Retribution

posted by BBall41987 (GARDEN CITY, NY) Jun 6, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

For anyone who has every played a 3rd person shooter game this game at first glance is not special. However, i did find somethings that were new and were unique about the game. The hand to hand combat was fun (although the finishers became a little annoying) and the shooting scenes were relatively exciting and different. Overall, the game is perfect for someone just looking for a quick rent as it will take you no longer than a week to complete. I rated the game a 7 for a solid fun storyline and good graphics and gameplay with a stale multiplayer. I do recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Shadow, sick'em boy! How bout another day?

posted by Flint879 (ALTOONA, PA) Jun 3, 2010

Member since Sep 2008

17 out of 23 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

Dead to Rights was a hard, but fun game back in the day. This new entry ditches the Max Payne copycat bullet time effect and focuses more on the typical 3rd person shooter/brawler aspect. Not a bad idea, but the game is so mediocre it's hard to say much about it.

GRAPHICS: They aren't atrocious, but they certainly won't "WOW" anybody anytime soon. Just typical graphics for today's standards except maybe a notch or 2 below.

SOUND: The voice overs are decent at best. Jack Slate sounds like he gargles nails and rocks every morning. The other people all sound either the same or bored that they have to voice the character. The other sound effects are pretty good. Like the graphics, they aren't crazy.

STORY: Jack Slate is a Grant City cop who plays by his rules. He tries to uncover hostage takeover and in the process his father is killed. Big surprise! Now he's on a rampage to take down the main bad guy along with dishing out a side order of revenge.

CONTROLS: This game controls fairly well. It's fairly easy to tackle the controls without getting too confused.

GAMEPLAY: Gears of War style cover system, typical 3rd person shooter, fighting, an attack dog that kills at your command and a B-movie action story. Shadow is the only redeeming quality in this title.

FAULTS:
-Checkpoints are frustrating at points
-Enemy AI is on the brink of dumb
-Seeing this story in a million movies and other games...Boring
-Takedowns are brutal, but become repeated and dull
-Enemy types are repeated and not full in variety
-Levels are pretty linear, same with the objectives

All in all, this title doesn't bring much new to the table. It's a typical action flick that everyone has seen a million times. With recycling enemy types and a linear story, this game won't be getting anybody crazy excited. Dead to Rights: Retribution is average, mediocre, familiar, ordinary and run of the mill at its best. It's the grayest you can get on the scale of being average.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Lot of Fun to Play, but Too Easy

posted by ChiaBing (GREEN RIVER, WY) May 14, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

11 out of 15 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

Pros:
- Good scenery and graphics.
- I have had a lot of fun with this game, beating up thugs and shooting bad guys. The hand to hand combat is fun, with good animation sequences.
- Shadow (the dog) is fun to control for a change of pace, with great animations.
- The game is fun to play and relaxing, as it is not too hard.

Cons:
- The game is not very difficult, even on higher difficulty settings, which makes for a relaxing gameplay experience, but not for those looking for a challenge.

Overall this is a very fun game to play. I would have rated it higher, except there is not a lot of challenge to the gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Non stop action

posted by Rhin042O (NORCROSS, GA) Apr 28, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

18 out of 27 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Even tho the game got mixed reviews I decided to try it myself. I bought the game on Tuesday. I have madenit to chapter 6 an am loving every minute of it. The combat system is actually very fluid despite what some have said. The brawling is top notch and just plain fun...taking their gun away from them and slaughtering them with it never gets old! The gun play is also very satisfying and there is never a shortage of enemies to shoot at. however Shadow is what makes this game something more than your average 3rd person shooter. The stealth missions always serve to break up the monotony of it all. I really enjoyed tis game and recommend it to anyone looking for a good game to hold them over until Alan Wake drops next month!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun at first , but later levels ruin my experience

posted by MrJimmy2011 (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Apr 29, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Ok, the game is quite fun at first , i get to play as Shadow, disarm people , and see the takedown moves. But after the first few levels, everything starts to get old. The levels are the same structure, you kill hordes of enemies and then battle with a final boss.
Also, Retribution doesnt have the old-school Slow-Motion dive anymore. I really miss it. \
Overall , good for a rent,

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Are you kidding?

posted by morgan72 (STRATFORD, CT) Jul 26, 2010

Member since Oct 2006

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I didn't know which made less sense, a cop with no gun, or the bad guys without one. Bad camera following, button mashing expectation, and a dog whose feet are rarely touching the ground made me think it was 2003 and this was an original XBOX release. Expectations are too high these days to release an original title so unpolished, and there are too many companies getting it right to have something like this offered up. Mailing it back with vigor and I may give the mailman a noogie for delivering it in the first place.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game!

posted by MEGAtron (PITTSBURGH, PA) Apr 30, 2010

Member since Apr 2008

9 out of 28 gamers (32%) found this review helpful

Absolutely phenomenal! Screw what the critics say. Controls are good, plot is insane, graphics and game play are INSANE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome Game!

posted by H3avenlyK3rBy (REDONDO BEACH, CA) May 12, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

First of all I love the story. Its very film noir. Slate is very gritty.

The enviroment is detailed and wonderful. The city has a dirty charm to it.

Controls are easy and not terribly clunky. Pretty much just like every other third person shooter. Directional buttons allow you to control what your dog does. Let me tell you...The dog is a much better listener then Sheva from RE5!

At times it can get pretty frantic. I wouldn't recommend starting off on the hardest difficulty possible because its just going to irritate you.

The only reason I didn't give it a 10 is the ragdoll effect that the enemies had. When you play a mission as Shadow the dog, which are stealth based, you have to drag bodies out of sight. Well the bodies I dragged were flailing all over the place like a kid having a tantrum. It was so ridiculous. Its hard to stay in character when dead bodies are flying all over the place and you are giggling like a school girl.

Everything into consideration: Great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DEAD TO RIGHTS

posted by murphy99 (WOODBRIDGE, VA) Feb 9, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

THIS game is terrible. You are a cop with a dog. It is not really a shooter game because when you pick up a gun it has like 3 bullets. I would not recommend this to anyone who likes shooter games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dead just plain dead!

posted by daichi (DAYTON, OH) Apr 27, 2010

Member since Jul 2004

9 out of 34 gamers (26%) found this review helpful

This game starts off really cool with letting you control the dog but then starts falling short after that the controls are very sloppy and aiming down sight sucks bad really bad but just running up to the baddies and disarming them is fun but after a while even that gets old after a short period. All in all worth playing for easy achievement points, but please don't buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT GAME

posted by thunder1 (CLARKSVILLE, IN) May 10, 2010

Member since May 2010

4 out of 17 gamers (24%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS AWESOME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Boringg

posted by iveyisgod2 (STREAMWOOD, IL) May 15, 2010

Member since May 2010

3 out of 15 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Got the game, put it in the tray, played the first 5 minutes and sent it right back, completely boring and repetitive from the start, terrible graphics, wasn't even worth my time of playing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awsome Game!

posted by Gamerg1rl (SOLEDAD, CA) Apr 27, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

4 out of 21 gamers (19%) found this review helpful

Way Better then the Xbox one.Very fun game a must rent.U can even unlock Avatar Awards!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

worth playing

posted by vizbeast (LAS VEGAS, NV) May 20, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

good game.very cool playing as the dog.combat is amazing as far as melee.shooting/tatics is alright could be better.this game is worth playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HORRIBLE Just plain HORRIBLE

posted by Deputy326 (GEORGETOWN, KY) Oct 29, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Thank goodness I borrowed this game from a friend of mine because if i had waited for Gamefly to send it I would have been upset. This game is Awful. I have never played a game so bad (with the exception of Infernal).. The gameplay is horrendous, clunky controls, interface and even the menu options are ugly. The only good thing about this game is playing as shadow, the dog. Keep your money and keep a slot open because you do not and I repeat DO NOT want this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Unplayable!

posted by RuningWolf (YUCAIPA, CA) Sep 3, 2010

Member since Apr 2003

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I have nothing to say about this game but unplayable. What the hells up with the load times on this game? They were so slow( as in minutes) that I actually thought it might be my game system so I had to check with another game just to make sure, I didn't even get pass the first misson. When it went to load the second one I waited and waited and waited and waited and waited until three minutes passed. Turned it off and tried again, wouldn't even load the title page. Checked my system with four other games, they load fine and play like they are suppose to so my conclusion is this is a piece of garbage period...What a waste of a rental!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst game on the 360

posted by rollerrock (DENHAM SPRINGS, LA) Jul 20, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

not even worth words,just bad,bad,bad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

two words

posted by Demsky (COATESVILLE, PA) May 3, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

3 out of 21 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

Bargain Bin

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WHAT

posted by SlipKnot34 (LANCASTER, TX) May 24, 2010

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

WOW THIS GAME WAS HORRIBLE. WHY WASTE THE MONEY CREATING THIS GAME. I AM GLAD I RENTED AND NOT BOUGHT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Absolutely Awful

posted by Deathpact (MARENGO, IL) Mar 24, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

As a kid I played the original Dead to Rights and had fun with it so I figured I'd give this one a whirl. I regret that decision. I literally do not know what this game was trying to do, but it failed horribly. The controls feel ancient and aiming is a chore. Even with the bullet time rip off it is sometimes extremely frustrating to take out a single foe. Enemy A.I is brain dead. They always know where you are, wander out of cover like they're following butterflies. The A.I has one mode, attack the target. There's no flanking, there's nothing. It's just attack, get into cover, attack. I am very experienced with shooters and always breeze thru the hardest difficulties of most of them, this game however was very different. The first 3 chapters are mildly enjoyable as I tried to convince myself things would get better, they only got worse. In the fourth chapter they give you 2 minutes to defuse 3 bombs which isn't hard in itself, the problem is the game throws a seemingly infinite amount of goons at you, making it extremely frustrating. I eventually got past this point and was killed immediately after, sending me back to do it all over again. At this point I packed up the game and sent it back. None of the characters are likeable and the story is just boring, you also can't skip the cut scenes unless you've already seen them. If you want to play a good third person shooter try Spec Ops: The Line or Max Payne 3. Do not waste your time on this dated atrocity.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Glitches galore but relatively easy Gamerscore.

posted by CtrlAltDefeat (BATON ROUGE, LA) Jan 10, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I loved the original Dead to Rights for the first Xbox, so naturally I wanted to play this one. The amount of bugs and glitches this game has it numerous. From your dog companion not attacking someone when their right in front of you, to enemies spawning in random corridors that you swore you just came from. The AI in this game is atrocious. With all that being said it is a solid action title and if your looking for a game that is fun and easy Gamerscore this is one of them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse