Rent Dead to Rights: Retribution for PS3
view large frontback

Dead to Rights: Retribution

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.3

2069 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Dead to Rights: Gore and more gore

posted by ReeseyB (PITTSBURGH, PA) Apr 2, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Pros: lots of action, more blood and violence than the first games, little harder than the others, more storyline

Cons: many glitches (however some allowed you to beat the level easier), no save during gameplay (automatic save at checkpoints), some levels will really make you frustrated because they have a few connected scenes and if you die then you have to start ALL OVER.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

did you even play this game?

posted by schism (BOISE, ID) Apr 30, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

28 out of 34 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

This game is sick...its got some of the good stuff from the originals brought it up to next gen status with so much more. Its more like uncharted style shooting with a hand to hand system that works really well and hostage taking and combos...very fun. not sure whats with all the negative reviews, unless you're all perfectionist programers. this game is very fun to play and looks great. im 24, i play nearly every game, and this game is definitely worth the rental...which is why you have gamefly in the first place, right?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dead to Rights overall review :) SMILEY FACE

posted by Acey21 (PITTSBORO, NC) Jan 12, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Interview with Jack & Shadow

ME: hello Jack, mind if i comment your awesome game a little?
JACK: what you say shadow...good boy...sure a few questions
ME: first of all, i enjoyed your high intense action pack story
JACK: ha, a least you enjoyed it, sorry to stay about me and shadow though
ME: ooh, and i loved the cool weapons (sniper rifle being a monster), challenging foes and bosses, and level objectives....pretty neat
JACK: yeah, I'm still feeling the pain
ME: and may i say, you and shadow are just great designed characters
JACK: two or three times a week in a gym
ME: but overall the best thing about your game is the Trophies
JACK: thanks

overall review :) SMILEY FACE
STORY: 7 ( short but deadly awesome)
GRAPHICS: 7 (GREAT)
CONTROLS: 9 (awesome combo chains and finishers)
EXTRA COMMENTS: play this game on detective because it's faster and funner to win that way....I loved my time with this game, great shooter

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

This game fell short of my expectations

posted by zombieorc (MEADOW VISTA, CA) May 1, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

In Dead to Rights: Retribution, you take control of renegade cop Jake and his trusty dog Shadow to put an end to the corruption in Grant City.
The twisting plot of the dark crime noir story is probably the best part of this game. The look and feel of the game matches this dark theme as well building a good overall consistency.
The controls are responsive and the action is fast and at first very satisfying.
In some sections of the game you will get to take control of Jakes dog Shadow to perform two specific tasks. These sections are reminiscent of a stripped down version of the latest Batman game. However you don’t have very many options for taking down enemies. Basically you have a running attack, a stealth attack, and a regular attack that can transition into a “scrotallity”, which is biting enemies below the belt until they die.
The core game play consists of you playing as Jake. These parts of the game are very repetitive. From the start of the game, all of the combos are available and the only weapons you can use are guns and are either taken from enemies or found in crates spread around the levels.
The levels themselves are well rendered and polished, but they are also very linear and rarely have branching pathways.
In conclusion, this game fell short of my expectations for a Dead to Rights reboot. The game could have greatly benefited from more combos, unlockable combos, unlockable weapons and gear, customizable load outs at the beginning of levels, more open levels for varied strategies, more variety of enemies and missions, more attacks and maybe combos for Shadow.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Beautiful Concept, Flawed Execution

posted by LatukiJoe (BROKEN ARROW, OK) Jul 21, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

As a fan of the previous games, I really wanted to like Dead to Rights: Retribution. The opening bits were good enough to grab my attention. But it quickly became clear that the graphics were behind modern expectations. After playing such pretty games as the Uncharted titles or God of War III or any game in the Call of Duty experience, I expected a bit more and felt that the visuals come across as belonging on the PS2.

Graphics aren't my selling point, though. How the game plays is what determines the majority of my feelings about it... which is why I don't like this game much. The controls are clunky and as a player I often was frustrated as I tried to climb a tower or avoid an enemy and Jack would do the opposite or Shadow (the dog) would get in my way. The actual levels were very similar for me, repeating the same mundane tasks over and over while occasionally adding something new. I played this game on its hardest difficulty, which wasn't so much difficult as it was annoying. So much is out of the player's control.

I would not rent this game unless you really like third-person shooters with a clunky cover system and a side-kick dog that doesn't follow directions well at all. 3 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Swing and a Miss

posted by Juggalo23 (SANTA CLARA, CA) May 25, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Well all I can really say about this game is that it was better the the second one, and the second one was a broken mess this one came nowhere close to the first game in the series, If they really want a hit just port the orignal from the PS2 and update a few things and boom We have a hit. Real fans will not like this game one bit as did I but if you are new the the franchise and don't know any better you might like it. Playing as Shadow got really boring really fast the first three times i killed someone was cool but not cool enough to keep me playing, the story was stupid controls were very loose and a little broken, and trying to fight hand to hand while other enemies were shooting you was stupid.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

not bad but not great

posted by XxToboexX (MIDLAND, TX) May 25, 2010

Member since May 2010

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

Its exactly like how the video game magazines and other gaming sites say its just like any other shooter, if you have played the vary first dead to rights that came for the ps2 and the original x box and remember the story and how the game play was well for gt about it because this dead to rights has a completely different story line and game play. Its still the same person jack slate and shadow but its a different story line. The game play is cool could be better considering the fact of how long we DTR fans have been waiting for a next gen DTR. You can still disarm, fight hand to hand, slow time but you cant dive and shoot anymore in fact you cant jump at all, But it is true that it wasn't the slow motion stuff that DTR so popular it was the CQC and the disarming. The slow motion just added a little more style to the gun play. Overall its not a bad game at most id put out 30 bucks for it but it could have been better. The story line is pretty simple as always vengeance. There you go if you want to know more well then rent it and see for yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Same old rogue cop story

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Apr 27, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

11 out of 17 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

Namco's new third person shooter, "Dead to Rights: Retribution", is new only in the sense that it's a new title being released. This is the third in the franchise of Grant City cop Jack Slate and his faithful (and lethal) canine sidekick, Shadow. This game is being called a reboot of the series, but the only new is the system it's being played on. The story is familiar- Grant City is being menaced by criminal elements, the GCPD are ineffective in fighting against the criminals, and Jack Slate steps in to save the day by going on a one man killing spree. The game does offer some varied combat, with Slate being able to take out the baddies with various combos or with firearms. Melee combat controls well, but shooting can be a bit erratic due to some poor controls. Of course when Jack has Shadow with him you can always let your pooch tear out your enemy's throat, or you can go for something a little farther south on the body (You actually get a trophy for this. I'm not kidding.). Shadow controls decently until you try to look around, and then poor controls can make it difficult to get your bearings. Graphics are not horrible (though there are some clumsy animations) but they're nothing to write home about, either. Also this is short game, no more than an afternoon or two (if you want to stretch it out) at best. It's not the worst game out there, but there are just too many quality titles that are more deserving of your hard earned dollar than this one. This is a rental only.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Big Disappointment

posted by Keviathan (FLINT, MI) Apr 28, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

When I got this game I was really excited for what it could have been but it has obviously let me down. This game is average at best. First off the graphics are okay but when you compare it to games like Uncharted 2 or FFXIII it fails in that comparison. Not that they were trying to be like these games but they could of taken a few tips! I've also noticed some major lag time and a minor glitch (twice); I kicked a guy and he just disappeared into thin air. This game also lacks that smoothness in its hand-to-hand combat and the gun play is unsatisfying. Shooting is similar to Gears of War but of course is not as good.

I enjoyed being able to play as Shadow doing stealth missions and tearing up bad guys (Scrotality!). It is similar to Batman: Arkham Asylum in a way, enemies are initially blue, orange when they investigate, and become red when they alerted of your presence. The only thing that I didn't like was that when you drag enemies bodies away they flop around like rag dolls and it certainly takes away from the experience.

All in all, if you're looking for another mediocre title then look no further.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Must Rent

posted by db1980 (DAMASCUS, MD) May 12, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Let me start by saying I need a dog like Shadow. They really got into with this game. The graphics were great and the fighting sequences were excellent. The matrix mode really came in handy during a lot of the shooting scenes. I loved the hand to hand combat and just getting dirty wth the other opponents.

The gun play was a just ok for me. The best gun he had was the snipper rifle and the robotic machine at the end. Other than that the guns were just so so.

This game is a great rent and you won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Bleh

posted by JayDiggle (bountiful, UT) Apr 30, 2010

Member since Feb 2007

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game just did not seem like it was ready for prime time. I got the feeling, for the thirty minutes I played, that this was a last gen game. The controls are blocky the camera is annoying and the visuals are just bleh. It is not the worst game out, I just really felt no interest in continuing to play.
Please, save your money and rent this game first. I would hate to see someone spend good money on this game, just to be dissappointed.
As always, these are my opinions and thoughts. Make your own decision.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

dead to rights "dead in the water"

posted by SFCSullivan (MILWAUKEE, WI) Jul 27, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I remember playing the first Dead To Rights title for the PS2 years ago, and how much fun I had. It was a fresh idea, had tight controls and intuitive gameplay. On top of that, the whole cop-and-his-dog gameplay combination was a great idea and one worthy of substantial praise. A sequel was released for the Playstation 2 a couple of years later, though without much fanfare. The third entry in the series, being released for the playstation 3, I saw as possibly a fresh start to what originally was a fun adventure. However, this is not the case. The gameplay, although simple in concept, was actually a bit difficult and rather sloppy in its implementation. Also, the combat is slightly suspect and repetitive...and I expected more of a shooter and less of a slugfest, but this proved not to be the case. What we have is a game with playstation 2-esque graphics, a control not as simple as intended, and enemies that seem both repetitive and better equipped than the hero. I played for half an hour, and turned if off.
If you're looking for a good DTR title, break out your PS2 and play the first entry in the series, and leave this one on the shelf.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

shadow rules

posted by explicit1 (LARGO, FL) Jul 30, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

just platinumed it , clunky controls , but not horrible , brutaly good slow mo kills , the doggie was real fun , story was sorta stupid , but i liked the game overall

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

very good game

posted by joshboff (PALM COAST, FL) Feb 10, 2013

Member since Jun 2011

very good game to play preaty easy and fun you even get to play as a dog in this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THE BEST GAME I EVER PLAYED

posted by tori1lynn (GILBERT, AZ) Oct 21, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

YOU MUST GET

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

harg

posted by Hero_Toxiko (MORENO VALLEY, CA) Jul 12, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

you play a deluded sociopath who is paranoid and turns out he has a reason you also have a vicious psychotic ground clipping dog. you kill a bunch of dudes and unlock stuff on playstation home.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I love Dead to Rights

posted by sunni81 (NORMAN, OK) Jun 4, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

I love Dead to right series. I like the first 2 on PS2 I beat one of them and didnt have the time to beat the 2nd. Cause of I need a controller to the PS3 and the newer systems does not support the PS2 titles Anyway. I love the game play and using shadow the dog. Is so cool. The guns are cool to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ok

posted by paloshealth (PALOS PARK, IL) May 15, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

ok

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

review

posted by Billy1234744 (SAMSON, AL) Apr 24, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

This game was better than I thought it would be, I actually liked it, except I thought it had too much hand to hand combat for me. But otherwise I liked the shoot parts of it,and the dogs help was something differrent, it came in handy. thanks Billly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I"m having fun with it.

posted by Frogface (APO, AP) Dec 26, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

I never played any DTR games, but so far I'm having fun. The graphics are pretty good in my opinion. I keep think of how good it looks, even tho there are some fuzzy issues on the screen. The game play is good. The first time you do any of the slow motion moves you can't help but laugh at how graphic they are, but it can keep repetitive. There are a variety of moves, so it doesn't get too old. They mix it up where you can play the dog, and that is the best part of the game to me. I wish they made a spinoff with just the dog. Great rental. Great buy at discount.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Just a weak game

posted by Mquis23 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Nov 20, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

i figured i'll like the game i couldn't enough of the older PS2 version. But the one seem like it could be play on the PS2 it very stiff, and graphic are not that great, and the gun play/ hand to hand combat is very chessy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Weird

posted by infamous4 (TEMECULA, CA) Nov 2, 2011

Member since May 2011

this game is weird bacause of the controlls and gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Game Has To Much

posted by johnny135 (JACKSONVILLE, AR) Sep 19, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

This game will get on your nervous really fast with the bad language and the characters repeating stupid things. Shadow the dog had a bigger part that his master. The game took about a hour or less to get boring!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ok

posted by p3lover1 (ARVERNE, NY) Aug 13, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

Good iif you like running around hitting peoplee should have an online mode and story mode is short

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very Fun

posted by Hatchetmen582 (MEADVILLE, PA) Jun 7, 2011

Member since May 2011

This is the first game that I've played in the Dead to Rights series, but it was still a very good game. One thing is the trophies are easy, good trophy boost and i got the platinum from about 2 hours of play a night for about a week and half. Anyway, the story is not extremely in depth, but can still draw you in. The fighting style is fun because you can either shoot people with a medium range of guns found throughout the game, or you get up close and personal and beat them to death. Some of the parts can be dumb because there are a few long checkpoints that can get annoying. The controls can sometimes get screwy, like running into cover when your trying to run away from a GAC tank, which will then kill you. And by the way when you get to use the GAC tank is probably the best part of the game. There are 2 glitches that i came across, one helpful and the other not. The first glitch was on my first playthrough where i never ran out of ammo and never had to reload for about half the level, that was pretty helpful. The other glitch that happened was on the 6th level where Shadow got injured and he dissapeared for the rest of the level. Overall, it was a very enjoyable game with a slight challenge for the trophies, but nothing to extreme.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse