Rent Dead or Alive: Dimensions for 3DS
view large frontback

Dead or Alive: Dimensions

Not Rentable
GF Rating
7.6

542 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good game for a newcomer

posted by alex1609 (WESTON, FL) Apr 12, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is my first time playing a DOA game and going through the different modes was really entertaining and an excellent way of learning to play and getting to know the whole story behind the characters.

Plot: I used to think that DOA was just another tournament centered fighting game, but now I am actually hooked up in the whole DOATEC's evil plot involving ninjas and voluptuous girls fighting on multi leveled frays. The Chronicle is probably the best part of the game as it takes you through the story of previous DOA games with beautiful videos and training sequences mixed with entertaining fights using franchise's main characters.

Graphics: Awesome. I didn't know the 3DS was capable of such detailed modeling and the landscapes and levels are really amusing to look at. Of course, a lot of players will also find amusing to give a look at the gallery of 3D girls in the Showcase. But then, that too is really well developed.

Sound: Well, the voice over is alright. The music is not memorable, except for the Chronicle parts. Sound effects are what anyone could expect from a fighting game.

Gameplay: Excellent. DOA is a fighting game with a lot of interesting mechanics to master and a lot of variety with all the different characters available to play. However the bad news is that a button masher could easily take on a master player with good luck and well placed kicking through multi-leveled frays. The game plays out excellent on the 3DS and the use of the Touch Movelist adds a lot to the experience (tough it also helps button mashers).

Overall, this game should be well received by any fighting game fan and I would recommend buying it to flesh out the whole experience. I'm not giving it a 10 because the levels did get a bit repetitive and the music could've been more memorable, but I believe anyone can put that aside and give it a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fight-em Up

posted by bobgamer1 (LAND O LAKES, FL) Aug 5, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This gameplay was better than 3DS Street Fighter 4. The graphics were fantastic and the fighting techniques were fun to kickbutt! A must rent or buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Dead or Alive: Dimensions for the Nintendo 3DS

posted by anybootyfeela (CLEVELAND, OH) Aug 24, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

So walking into this game was a big experience for me, as it was my first 3DS game play attempt. I loved the colors and animation to this game, and was very happy with the several amounts of game play modes there were for me to choose. The 3d was not much of a problem for me playing and it did have its fun moments. A big feature i didn't like was that you are able to pick your combo move on the lower screen with the touch stylus and it will do an auto perform for you. That to me took away a lot of the fun that fighting style games presents to you, but at the same time you don't have to use it. i just feel it makes online play less enjoyable. As for the story line, way to drawn out and not enough into the action moments for me, a lot of talking going on here. So with that said it was fun and short lived for me i would say its a great rental , but a horrible purchase choice. Thankfully we have Gamefly to help us in making better purchase decisions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good

posted by jackjack1515 (CHAMPLIN, MN) Jun 18, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

this is a great fighting game way better than super street fighter 4. I found out that there is no blood in the game but sept for the ending scene and the cronichle is really short I finished it in an hour and 30 minutes although it is really fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game

posted by SUPERBEAST (SEFFNER, FL) Nov 14, 2012

Member since May 2008

Great game! Graphics are nice and the combats smooth. It has cool things like Tag challenge ect.; epic screen opening were you vcan actully look around the place useing gyro censor. Best of all tons kof charcter to choose from!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

dead or alive

posted by gamerking123 (KENT, WA) Aug 22, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

this game is amazing great pics and lots o characters and modes i wish they made a second game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Definitely Worth Checking Out

posted by Francision (SANTA ANA, CA) Jul 17, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

Dead or Alive Dimensions on the 3DS is one of the prettiest titles on the system yet. If you're familiar with DOA, there's pretty much nothing to explain then. The game is straight forward fighting action with a punch, kick, block/hold and throw button. Gameplay feels very easy since anyone can button mash but it goes pretty deep if you like analyzing in-depth details like frames/counter holds. There's quite a few modes here such as Survival, Tag Challenge, Training, Photo Album/Figurine collection, Arcade, Online/Local battles and the all new Chronicle mode which is basically the story mode of the game that chronicles the past DOA titles to fix up some unexplained stuff. But I have to say, the story is pretty bad. Nothing interesting and it doesn't really make much sense, not to mention the voice acting is quite horrible. All the characters from the past titles are included in this title making this the biggest roster in a DOA game to date. 3D effects are very nice and give you a sense of depth in the arenas and there's some pop-up effects that will wow you. Sad thing is, the framerate takes a little dip when you switch the 3D slider on but it isn't that much of a deal breaker. All in all, DOAD is a very entertaining fighting game that will satisfy any fighting fan on the 3DS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Horrible

posted by lilray345 (LAKE STATION, IN) Feb 20, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

I thought this game really wasn't that great.
None of the characters were any good i give this game a thumbs down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

For once a story

posted by xScareCrow (ELLERBE, NC) Dec 10, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

the past DOA games always lacked story while this may not give you a insanely short story mode for each character(like the previous games) it gives you Story Mode that explains things much better at what is going on other than the previous titles and if you never played the older ones this game makes up for that. Its not the perfect game ever but what is. Its a darn good fighting game and thats what you will be doing most of the time. One thing i will say for sure is the DLC is lame and should have been packed with the game I could not get all the dlc due to the game would not update despite getting notifications about the updates being available.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

boo

posted by yoda9428 (TONAWANDA, NY) Oct 15, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

this game is lame you keep doing the same thing every time you play. also Parents should not get there kids this because it has swearing like call of duty black ops but this game has no blood i hate it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i wish there was a 0

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »