Rent Dead or Alive 5 for PS3
view large frontback

Dead or Alive 5

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.2

578 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent Game.

posted by CenturyChild (PROCTORVILLE, OH) Sep 26, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've always been a fan of the DOA games. So it was no surprise that I liked DOA5... but in fact I LOVE it. Truly the best in the series.

Tons of unlockables such as characters, titles, costumes etc. many will take some time and effort to get. Unlockables is always a good thing to keep you working for something.

The game looks great visually, and plays well too. Fighting has been balanced a bit better than previous games. For example, Counters are a bit more difficult to perform. They've also added lots of options in the training area to help you perfect you character of choice.

All in all, DOA5 is a solid fighter. If you even remotely liked past versions, get it.

DOA is the type of game anyone can play. It will only take you a couple minutes to figure out how to fight and the controls if you've never played before. Yet, at the same time, tonsd of room for veterans to really hone thier skills and become very good. Theres more to it than it would seem.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Fighting Game we've been waiting for.

posted by JM64 (NEW KENSINGTON, PA) Sep 26, 2012

Member since Feb 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I would still have DOA4 if it wasn't for its broken online structure. They could have just separated the lobbies from the ranked matches and I would have been happy. Alas, after 5 purchases and 5 trade-ins, endless frustration and hair ripped out, I gave up and moved on...

7 years later... Finally...
The answer to my prayers has arrived!!! DOA5!
jubblies, upskirts and bears, oh my! blah, blah, blah. Whew. now that part of the review is over, we can get to the meat of this game. The fighting engine. Rock/Paper/Perfection.

First, foremost and paramount, NO MORE WAITING 10 MINUTES BETWEEN MATCHES IF YOU LOSE!!!... A perk standard to every fighting game released past DOA4, thank God. This review will focus mainly on the online aspects of this game, btw. fighting games are for fighting, not story or CPU fights.

Second, the changes/improvements made to fighting experience... Certain charge attacts have enhanced properties at half-health and lesser, which, when successful, trigger combo cinematics that send your opponent into optional stage event triggers, like an indiana jones ball or an exploding helicopter. Very damaging when they connect. The game also feels a bit slower now, allowing more calculated strategery. New Moves, included Virtua Fighters, unlockable costumes, characters... stages with more action and environmental effects... This one has the complete fighting game package.

Third, the online improvements...
besides the aforementioned improvement, the search system for ranked matches is perfect. set rounds, region and skill range and hit x. The game does the rest, promptly. Practice mode can be accessed in the lobbies now. Totally Awesome, in my opinion! tag, loser stays, all the other weird modes return to the lobbies, no more pointless avatars... all things have been improved.

Like I said, FINALLY. I love this game. Enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun But NOT AN "M" Game

posted by Selectfew (MONTICELLO, FL) Jan 17, 2013

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

For a Mortal Combat or Tekken style Fighter .. its pretty good. The Graphics are Great. Combat can be a little "One Sided" , considering you hit once , they hit 5 times and youre stunned , so you cant block , while standing on one toe at the head of a Needle.

My main question however is the M rating? They flirt a bit , and OMG a bit of undone shirt. This game is T RATED. THE Gaming Commission should be a bit more real. All in all a fair game for everyone. But with nothing exciting to unlock , without Online Passcodes little replay value

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

it's ok

posted by Felix325 (ALBERT LEA, MN) Nov 7, 2012

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I just thought this game was ok. not worth buying but it's worth renting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Eh

posted by DocOMalley (SEABROOK, NH) Mar 18, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

Not much to say. The only enjoyable part of this game was Watching Kasumi's boobs jiggle about. I beat it and got all the trophies within a few hours (with breaks in between)
Very disappointing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Ninja

posted by JordanJay7 (SEASIDE, CA) Mar 1, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

This was my first DOA experience so I don't kno how to compare it to the others but I have to say I had a good time finishing off the story in this game. The graphics were cool but I would of liked to see more cutscenes that were movie like.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Solid

posted by Ashio (SARASOTA, FL) Feb 28, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

I thought Dead or Alive 5 was a solid fighting game. I played the old games on Xbox and Xbox 360 and always enjoyed the fighting mechanics and art style / Fanservice.

This game delivers the same experience as the others. You will definitely enjoy it. Only bad part I hated was the online lag, which seems to be really bad most of the time, but i you are just playing the story mode or vs mode for fun you will have a good time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Horrible game.

posted by Utael (SIOUX FALLS, SD) Jan 30, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

This games combat system is unresponsive. Its clunky, The combat doesn't even make sense. If you are looking for a fighting game try mortal combat. Anyone who claims they like this game for the play is just kidding themselves, its for the eye candy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Kept me wanting more

posted by Jackmort420 (SPRING CITY, PA) Nov 3, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

Why does it feel that the combat system is WAY too easy this game was walked through the first day i gotten it i was very upset about the story and how it was easier then the other DoA games i have been playing since the first DoA and with that being said i thought after the way they have all gotten increasingly stronger but this insult of a game has gotten so easy to accommodate the new comers to DoA rather upset with this game not to say it looks pretty much like the last installment in the DoA chain please make 6 a better game for your more hardcore fans

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

By Far The Best Dead or Alive To Date

posted by LeiFangHelena (OLD FORGE, PA) Oct 24, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

I've been a huge fan of the Dead or Alive series and this was a much needed evolution and return to form for the series after the disappointments of Dead or Alive 4 and Dead or Alive: Dimensions. If you're looking for a well made and fluid fighter or are a long time fan of the Dead or Alive series, this is a worthy addition to the series. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Interesting.

posted by Hero_Syndrome (TAMPA, FL) Oct 12, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

Its been the same ol' DoA. Perfect. Really couldn't ask for anything better than this!
Kasumi <3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

DEAD NOT ALIVE

posted by IbexThrone (HOUSTON, TX) Oct 8, 2012

Member since Feb 2011

Not the greatest fighting game ever but ryu hayabusa was fun. Comperable to TEKKEN .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Tekken with boobs

posted by Ronpthompson (NEWARK, NJ) Oct 6, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

I didn't really like this - the dialog is corny, and the characters all seem to be knock offs of fighters in other games. the storyline is nonsensical, and there are no really cool moves. Just so-so to me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best fighting games ever

posted by lilybird11 (VICTORVILLE, CA) Oct 1, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

Normally i rent a fighting game and the next day it goes back well because I'm bored with it this one kept my attention especially the story mode that was pure awesomeness definetly rent this and you will see what i mean furthermore this is a rarity for me giving anything a 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

it sucks so bad

posted by xXFeaRLe5S (ATHENS, GA) Sep 24, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

fighting games sucks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »