Rent Dead Space for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Dead Space

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.3

23942 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DEAD SPACE

posted by crazydriver (MCKENZIE BRIDGE, OR) May 22, 2014

Member since May 2014

THE IS SLOW,I HOPE THE NEXT ONE ARE BETTER.I JUST DO NOT THE GAME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesometacular

posted by INSANEPUNISHER (AURORA, CO) Jul 12, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

I, for some reason, give low expectations for many games. Then when i get the game, the game just blows me away. Dead Space was an awsome game!!! The visuals was spectacular, the weapons were gnarly. The whole game was a master piece. I dont know who or why any one would give a rating below an 8. Yes it does not have multiplayer but has a replayable campaign. Dead Space is a great horror game. The best time to play at night, lights off and sound up!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Classic and Memorable

posted by madanonymous (FRONT ROYAL, VA) Jun 27, 2013

Member since Jul 2012

I played a bit of this game around the time it first came out, but I never finished it. So I rented it and played it all the way through, and it was pretty good. I like horror games, this game didn't have too many jumpscares, which is good. The atmosphere is very well done and it's not ard to get immersed in the gameplay. The objectives and goals are clearly defined, at no point in the game was I confused about where to go or what to do; I was never stuck and I beat the game in a matter of 9 hours on Medium difficulty. Only thing I don't like about this game is the third person view. I'm not a fan of third person shooters, it just makes the character get in the way. This game would have been perfect if it had first person view.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dead Space: Dead Awesome

posted by BadKarma8049 (SAN TAN VALLEY, AZ) Jun 3, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

This game mixes the perfect amount of action/puzzle with blood and gore coupled with a scare factor surpassing any game of its genre.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not bad!

posted by J_Turk007 (WYOMING, MI) Apr 25, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

This game is pretty solid! The graphics are solid and the game plays well. My only complaint is that the game feels and moves slow. After the first 20 minutes have the "scary music" becomes annoying. This game series does not deserve to be rated as highly as it has been over the years, but it is a solid attempt by EA to have a quality game other than sports and the Mass Effect series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing game for its age.

posted by jacksonran (BEDFORD, IN) Apr 23, 2013

Member since Aug 2010

If you haven't had a chance to place this game, its well worth it even though its an older title. It has all the aspects of a great game to match today's titles. Its a good combination or horror and action with great diversity with gameplay.

Good: The all around gameplay is fantastic. You have multiple weapons and actions to choose from when facing a monster. You have to find the schematics for each weapon. (its not as hard as it sounds). The game is pretty linear so just check every corner to find them and the "logs" too.

Bad: There isn't much to say that's bad here. Its an isolated environment so don't expect much AI interaction. You do speak with a few people throughout the game during play with a projector though. If you are jumpy or get scared very easily, don't play this.

Ugly: I have to stay the "hardcore" mode. I love a challenge to a game (dark souls is a favorite) but this is too far. Its like being a guitar hero fan and playing Jordan on expert. Its too hard to even be fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

better than the demo

posted by madara_uchiha (MIDDLETOWN, DE) Apr 8, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

the game was full of thrills & action. the controls were good, in my opinion it has the controls for any third person shooter ive played making the aim for guns like call of duty made a lot easier to play. a couple of problems i had were the ammo the ammo always seemed to run out leaving you with stomp which you had to do twice or three times to kill an alien in which time you would die or lose nearly all your health. another problem the story was predictable at some major points even tho you had no idea when aliens would pop up. i cant believe i almost didnt get this game because of the demo, it was horrific and i dont mean in a scary way the demo left you off in the middle of the story with no ammo and no instructions on how to play. since the controls were good and the walking around was like watching a thriller i guess im going to rate this game a 7/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

perfect

posted by BIGUNGED2000 (CLERMONT, FL) Apr 6, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

PERFECT something new and original must play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

hated it

posted by chris031671 (MIAMISBURG, OH) Mar 15, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

controls are really bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Swing and a Miss

posted by calgorn (LEWISTON, ID) Mar 13, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

This game had potential. The gameplay was ok. Leveling up your armor and weapons was an interesting idea for customization. Scary zombie aliens had a little bit of intrigue. The graphics were excellent. The major downside was the camera angle. This game would have been better off as a first person. It was infuriating to have this slow moving, slow turning character constantly blocking the view of the left side of the screen. Even worse if you get backed up against a wall. He'll even block my view of the map on occasion no matter how i zoom or rotate. The frustration of the camera angle distracted from everything else making the 'scaryness' of the game non existant and just turning this into a very slow moving shooter game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Reinvents survival horror

posted by Hotflash (WOODBRIDGE, VA) Feb 26, 2013

Member since Dec 2008

This game pretty much reinvents survival horror, it is a true survival game, on the harder difficulties, ammo is rare, health is even rarer, I beat this game on every difficulty, and let me tell you, when you know one hit is going to take down 1/3 of your health, that's when the game really shines it's true horror nature, you fear going into any door, you take your time looking through everything.

The character development is not quite there with this game, because I assume they were concentrating so much on the world and actual gameplay, the story itself is a truly innovative and unique take on a first contact type scenario, but some things are repeated that have been done before, but, it serves a greater purpose.

The unitologists come into contact with the revered Marker of theirs, alien technology that was recreated by man that makes limitless energy, but also drives people mad, and eventually to kill each other or themselves, and then turns them into Necromorphs, which are grotesque monsters barely resembling a person, where instead of arms they are merely sharpened bones. So they find this Marker, and they use the, lets take this back and keep it plot point, but for a greater purpose, which, unfortunately, isn't fully explained until the second game, but it's alright, because you are too busy surviving to dive too deep into it, but the lore is still there in video logs and text logs that you can find throughout the game.

The games biggest drawback in terms of story is that you essentially seem like an errand boy, going from here then there, never making objectives up yourself, just doing what others ask, the controls are clunky and somewhat hard to get used to, but thats the point, at least for a survival horror, and something I liked, you never see Isaac's face, it's always hidden under the helmet, which gives you the feeling it's you experiencing all this.

Give this game a shot, and then go onto the other two, you won't be disappointed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

9 Neckro out of 10 approve this review!

posted by N3xium (DETROIT, MI) Jan 18, 2013

Member since Jul 2010

First off I want to say that if you play this game in the dark then don't be surprised if you get scared and want to wet yourself. This game is one of the scariest I have had to play through and I am no fan of the genre. I have disowned both Resident Evil and Silent Hill but Dead Space is something special.

STORY: Intense enough for your controller to be glued to your hands. The story makes you feel as though you truly are trapped aboard an abandoned ship with nasty aliens, which is good for experience. The story contains not only twists and turns, but also investigations on what happened to the ship.

GAMEPLAY: Great at first, but for me, it got a little repetitive after a while. Even so, what other game can you battle aliens in Zero Gravity!? There are about 7 weapons to play with, plus some special powers and melee attacks. There will be a LOT of limbs and dismembering of them. Even so, the gameplay was still entertaining.

GRAPHICS: Not only great, but they way the used them was incredible. The way they used the shadows and lighting in this game is really a big part of what makes this game scary.

SOUND: The sounds in this game arguably are the most scariest part of this game. You will hear sounds and not be sure if you are going to have to deal with what is making them now or later. These sounds tended to add a feeling of paranoia to the game and with what I know it seems intentional.

LASTING APPEAL: It took me 11 hours and 20 minutes to beat the game on Normal. After you beat it, there is a New Game Plus in which you can play the game again on the same difficulty, but keep your weapons and credits. Also, there is no multiplayer which does hurt the score.

OVERALL: It can give you quite the scare, but it all depends on the time of day you play and your sensitivity to horror elements. Definitely worth the rent and if you are new to the series. But a lack of multiplayer kept me from giving it a perfect 10/10 as that is a personal requirement.

S

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Metroid meets Resident Evil

posted by ramrod3 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jan 16, 2013

Member since Aug 2010

This game is awesome. I never heard of this series until recently. The gameplay is really good. The weapons are cool, upgrading the weapons and armor is fun as well. It's like Metroid and Resident Evil combined. More like Resi 4 than the others. I already have 2 and 3 on my Q, and I have yet to beat this one still.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Game

posted by bdog1011 (HILLIARD, OH) Jan 15, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

Awesome game I Love how creepy and terrifying the game feels.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

it was a good game

posted by McTodd (MIDDLETOWN, OH) Jan 6, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

i liked what the game was about the storyline is the best part. and i like the game at first but i got bored of it before i even beat it. i should go back and beat it before i say more and for the for 2 and 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

zzzzzzzzzzz

posted by TX_Bounty (GILMER, TX) Dec 19, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

Run around and stoot stuff. Kinda boring

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A cousin of the alien saga

posted by ComputerFallout (CORYDON, IN) Oct 2, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

Dead space is a basic sci-fi shooter with good graphics for it's time. You start out trying to get to the bridge of the ishimura a mining ship that went dark and you were sent to fix the problem but that means fixing everything because everything because they're all dead except for a few insane survivors and a madman. it gets repetitive and boring luckily you'll be to busy checking corners for xenos. Combat: is fun you have to fight differently than in most shooters accuracy is what's key to survival lots of bosses so it doesn't get to boring Plot: A good story it doesn't get horribly frightening but enough to keep you on edge length about 8-10 hours . Character:Basicly no back story he doesn't even talk all you know is that your a engineer and your girlfriends on the ship so he moves on . Graphics:Good grapics it gives it a atmosphere in the game blood everywhere, bodies on the floor,lights flickering a real blood pumper. Overall this game is not for children but if your bored and want something new this game is a good rental maybe buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DEAD SPACE

posted by lolipop (CAPE CORAL, FL) Sep 27, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

I DON'T HAVE DEAD SPACE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Difficult

posted by babygurl1985 (MCROBERTS, KY) Sep 2, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

Good game but very difficult to play and learn all the dynamics of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Loved it!

posted by Tealmyster (BELLINGHAM, WA) Aug 28, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

Although a tad repetitive it was still a great game! I found myself slowly trying to ease around corners, hesitant to go forward having to amp myself up because in the back of my mind, I knew what was coming, Great story line, very twisted and keeps you guessing. Good graphics, definitely brutal and worth it! Took me 9 hours and some odd minutes to complete.

TIP to those who want the full effect, play with a good set of headphones, it will enhance all the background noises, making the whole experience of Dead Space just a tad creepier!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best horror game I ever played

posted by will_i_am23 (PORTLAND, OR) Jul 31, 2012

Member since May 2011

Well, this is the only horror game I ever played, but I still think it is.

STORY: Intense enough for your controller to be glued to your hands. The story makes you feel as though you truly are trapped aboard an abandoned ship with nasty aliens, which is good for experience. The story contains not only twists and turns, but also investigations on what happened to the ship.

GAMEPLAY: Great at first, but for me, it got a little repetitive after a while. Even so, what other game can you battle aliens in Zero Gravity!? There are about 7 weapons to play with, plus some special powers and melee attacks. However, this game is not for the queasy ones as there are enormous amount of blood and gore. There will be a LOT of limbs and dismembering of them. Even so, the gameplay was still entertaining.

GRAPHICS: Not only great, but they way the used them was incredible. The menus are really cool to look at. Everything about the way menus and controls are displayed is just cool. I really liked all the colors that they used, from Isaac's suit to those menus I mentioned. Also, the sound effects were top-notch.

LASTING APPEAL: It took me 11 hours and 20 minutes to beat the game on Normal. After you beat it, there is a New Game Plus in which you can play the game again on the same difficulty, but keep your weapons and credits. Also, there is no multiplayer, but its sequel does.

OVERALL: "Dead Space" can give you quite the scare, but it all depends on the time of day you play and your sensitivity to horror elements. Definitely worth the rent and if you are new to the series.

SCORE: 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best horror game i ever played

posted by gibby415 (DALY CITY, CA) Jul 16, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

when i got this game i was thinking it was like fear.well i started playing i thought nice graphics and then i got more in the game and the story was so twisted,you didnt know what was gunna happen next.from start to end was awesome so gross and horrifying never thought it was like this. now i want to play the whole series. i really think you should play it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good game,very hard

posted by Aerohed (BRENTWOOD, TN) Jul 14, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

the campaign is very fun and different from other shooters as instead of headshots, you must shoot limbs first. also, you need to keep lots of ammo, as when fighting, you may run out. overall a good game especially for people who like horror movies

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pretty legit game!

posted by luisvilla0917 (TAMPA, FL) Jul 9, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

I kept getting surprised when something would drop from the ceiling or pop-up from around a corner, kept me on the edge of my seat. One of the best sci-fi horror games i have ever played. Love the series and can't wait to play Dead Space 3!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by MrPenguin (PFLUGERVILLE, TX) Jun 19, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

This game is just AMAZING! It takes a new take on the survival horror genre with alot of sci-fi in it too. I loved how they not only let you use just guns, but also the stasis ability, which lets you slow down time in a small bubble, and the telekinesis ability, which for those of you who don't know what that is, allows you to pick up objects and move them, even the creatures own limbs. I especially enjoyed using the ripper, a weapon that launches a large blade at medium range to dismember the necromorphs, though don't get too excited, because you only start off with the plasma cutter, a small pistol. As you get farther in the game, there are certain hidden objects known as logs, which reveal events that happened to surviviors before the necromorphs killed everyone onboard the Ishimura, in the form of audio logs and text logs, both of which tell their own stories. As an example, there are a series of audio logs which chronicle the story of an onboard engineer attempting to keep the ship's systems online, so the Ishimura won't fall back to the planet's surface. There are also video logs that explain what happened to the crew in the bridge before Isaac and his team land onboard.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse