Rent Dead Space for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Dead Space

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.3

23949 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Dead Space

posted by FaceDown (FAIRCHILD AIR FORCE BASE, WA) Nov 29, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

IMO this game was appealing but was hard to hold my interest more than 20 minutes. The story was kinda lacking and they could have done better with the creature design. If you are a fan of Resident Evil and Silent Hill series you may like this game. Compared to other survival horror games I didn't really get scared by anything, since you can pretty much tell when the enemies are gonna be in a room. All in all it's worth renting and playing, but not buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Dead Space

posted by Gardener (CORDOVA, TN) Jul 6, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Ok let me start out by saying that this game has awesome graphics, sound, and just the over all feel of a great game...except that whole scare thing the WHOLE GAME! I got to level 2 and I sent it back because I was tired of exploring the game and have something jump at me sooooo much. Hey I love horror movies, but this is too much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

I would like you to leave now.

posted by MillsBM (KANSAS CITY, MO) Oct 29, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

9 out of 24 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

I got Dead Space via Gamefly so I could plow through it real quick before the holiday onslaught of games started beating me into submitting. But sadly that was not the case. While over all the game was good. graphics, story, combat, etc. The game just royally over stayed its welcome with me. With most survival horror games they are very taxing. You are on edge all the time and are never calm or relaxed while playing. So I found myself 8 chapters into a 12 chapter game and feeling 100% burnt out. The game need to be shorter or have some kind of other game play mechanic to break up the pace. I got half way through chapter 8 and was done. I took the game out and sent it back. Not because it was a bad game, just because I had my fill. I did not care about finishing it. The previous 7 chapters where the same mechanics over and over again (fetch quests spliced with demons)and that did not help matters either. Its a fun ride but just to long for my tastes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Dead Space

posted by zenubio (FARMINGTON, MN) Oct 27, 2008

Member since Aug 2003

11 out of 30 gamers (37%) found this review helpful

Let me preface this review stating that I'm currently at level 8 of 12. I don't like to write reviews without having beaten a game, but my rental time was up. Also I'll state that I'm not a fan of the horror genre.

I had to rent this game based on everyone's high marks. This game is pretty good. The visuals and sound are top notch.

This game is obsessed with picking up items and it gets annoying after awhile.

I like that you can shoot the limbs of enemies, but the core spot should still be headshots and torso, limbs should just slow them down. It doesn't make sense that if they lose a leg they die.

This game will scare you, but it won't give you nightmares. Some of the scenes are brilliantly designed (strobe lights, music, etc) and really freak you out with enemies coming fast.

I was a little disappointed in how slow this character moves and how clunky the inventory system and map is. Accessing menus without leaving the game is a huge plus.

I really didn't like this game at first, but I just kept saying I'll just stop here, and then kept playing. It's too bad they don't have a demo, because you really just have to try this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Doesn't Deserve All The Hype

posted by tfwcu09 (CONCORD, NC) Dec 19, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

The only things about this game I found to be done well are the dismemberment system and the graphics. Shooting enemy's limbs off and the effects is has on them is pretty interesting. Sadly that's the only thing the developers got right gameplay-wise. Controls are very slow and clunky, plus having to hold the L button down just to do simple things like jumping makes the process slower, and in sections that require good timing this will make you want to throw your controller through the TV. This game also has some of the most frustrating sections I've ever played in a video game before, the asteroid puzzle in chapter 7 is ridiculous and after that I will never touch this game again. I don't mind puzzle-solving and there's some decent ideas in this game, but slow and clunky controls combined with frustrating puzzles that require good timing make this game one that I recommend avoiding.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

No More Mini Games!

posted by SirCoffee (MIDDLETOWN, DE) Mar 26, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

I was enjoying this sci-fi survival horror game until they hit you with a mandatory, near impossible mini game of shooting asteroids. I know, I know- sounds easy enough. Maybe it's because my reactions aren't as quick as they used to be, but trust me- it's annoying. I hate walkthroughs and any sort of online tips and tricks (i.e. cheating), but I had to google "dead space asteroids" and my hatred for this stupid mini game was shared by many. Graphics, plot, puzzles- all good up to that asteroid bit. Here's my issue- I like figuring out puzzles, strategy like choosing what to upgrade, exploring areas and finding stuff, and violence. Dead Space had it all until it came to an annoying halt with that asteroid "challenge". I feel it was unfair for Dead Space to start out as one type of game and then hit you with a different type of gameplay in order to complete the game. The variety of gameplay wasn't necessary, and maybe the programmers should have given you the option to bypass it once you replayed it over 20 times.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

One of the few that wasn't a fan

posted by TheSolly (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) May 24, 2009

Member since May 2009

12 out of 37 gamers (32%) found this review helpful

The game's entire story couldn't be less original. The game had uninspired environments as unoriginal as the plot. Constant backtracking through the game really frustrated me- it's just lazy game design to backtrack half of the map and just toss a couple more monsters in the same hallway you just killed a couple in minutes before.
While gory and intense graphics were nice, the notion of severing limbs didn't really play out any different than aiming for a headshot in other games. In short, there was nothing to really set this game apart.
The entire mechanic of the zero-g jump seems utterly broken. Often requiring you to stand in the exact spot and look the exact direction the developer had in mind (without any clue to you) just to get the jump to occur. Mostly you get nothing for pushing the button.
Bad enough that the mechanic doesn't work so well- but to have timed sections you have to platform jump through is unbearable. By the tenth time you die from running out of air because nothing happens when you hit the jump button.....you'll be happy to turn this game off.
There just wasn't anything in this game that kept me interested in it after several frustrating episodes. Almost all of those frustrations came from the zero-g jump mechanic and constant backtracking.
I realize it's overwhelmingly popular, but I didn't enjoy the game much at all and gave up on it without losing any sleep over it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Why such a high rating?

posted by Shlecko (TRACY, CA) Jan 8, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

4 out of 12 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I am very nearly at a loss for words as to why people are so infatuated with this game.

Let me first say that I was very excited about Dead Space. I caught on to it months before release when it was the cover story on Game Informer magazine, and was really looking forward to playing it. So perhaps it is, in a sense, my own fault for building up high expectations to a game that many other players seem to have never heard of before playing. Nevertheless, I was very disappointed.

Dead Space, by itself, is a decent gaming experience. The graphics are exceptional. The story is decent, and the sound is above-average. However, the controls are often frustrating...with the character often moving too slow to allow for the sense of frantic panic that is a must in a horror game. The level design seems too dull at some moments - almost holding your hand and guiding you through overly simplistic hallways towards your destinations - and too complex at others - forcing you to move, check your GPS-like navigation system, move again, check again, and make another move. There are surprisingly few puzzles or mind-tests in the game - which leaves it as sort of a mindless shooter for much of the experience. And where are the scares? I made it my mission to play this game in the dark with the sounds system cranked up, but I did not jump once, and experienced very little suspense. For a horror-genre game, this is simply unacceptable.

The real knock on this game, I think, is it's lack of innovation. Just about every respectable aspect of this game has been done before - and done better. Has anyone ever heard of a game called Doom 3? The scariest thing about Dead Space is that it managed to share so many qualities with Doom 3 and not get accused of cloning a game that was released YEARS ago. The dark hallways, the audio/written logs, even the plot share striking similarities.

Really, if you liked Dead Space that much, you should get a better experience out of Doom 3 or Bioshock.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Couldn't Get Through It

posted by TheMartyr (BONNERS FERRY, ID) Nov 22, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I was actually contemplating purchasing this game. Glad I didn't.

This game probably looked good on paper...but just didn't translate. I found it repetitive and boring at times...and way too difficult there was one part that was the deciding factor on me sending it back. It literally was impossible for me too do. I attempted it at least 50+ times before packaging it back up in an infuriated rage.

I wanted to give this game a change I really did...but the game was just NOT co-operating with me.

People might disagree with me and that's okay. Let's just say this game is not of my taste.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dead Space

posted by 007wannabe (FORT WORTH, TX) Sep 23, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Was not impressed with the controls for the cannon sequence, hard to manipulate and no accuracy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Boring same thing every chapter.

posted by Munster79 (DAYTON, TX) Jul 12, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Just got this today and already sending it right back and taking Dead Space 2 off the Q. I got bored with it after the first chapter. You keep doing the same exact things over and over again, it was Resident Evilish at first but then it lost it's hold on my attention span. But then again I just finished the two Mass Effect games and those are pretty hard to stand against.

I don' t recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good but slow to load

posted by RoyQue (NORTH MIAMI, FL) Aug 11, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

"Dead Space" is certainly a great horror game for the fans of the genre. Its POV is perfect, the combat is practical and the scenario, frantic, which makes for a good exploration game. The puzzles are difficult enough not to bore you, but still offering some challenge. The main problem is that everything in the game loads too slowly. Also, in terms of the story, it's frustrating that it's structured so that every challenge you overcome, you'll see that your efforts were fruitless, but that doesn't affect the game directly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not bad, but dissapointing

posted by LAKERSfan7 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jul 10, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

After reading user and critic reviews in magazines and online, I expected a lot from this horror survival game. While it does entertain and deliver some heart stopping thrills, the game soon gets very repetitive, and some of the mechanics, like the zero gravity function, can be very annoying and give major headaches. The landscape is dull and static throughout, and the setting of a ship requires you to often retrace your step in a maze like setting with a very frustrating three dimensional map. Still an overall decent game that might be worth checking out if you're short on options, but it definitely does not live up to its hype or high ratings.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Terrible camera

posted by ht204ht204 (LANSDALE, PA) Mar 25, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I have only played the game for a few minutes so I cannot comment on everything but the camera is horrible and I am seeing more games with this very close over the shoulder 3rd person camera and it is terrible. It makes the game feel slow, like you are playing in syrup or something and it leads to horrible views. I favor 3rd person to 1st person anyday by a lot, but this camera angle makes the game unplayable to me. It was rated 8.5 thats why I rented it, but after I died the first time a few days ago I never turned it back on and don't know if I will either.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A Dead waste of Time?

posted by chutchut (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Oct 30, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

When I popped this game into my 360 I was looking to be scared nay I needed to be scared and to be honest that didn’t happen. The graphics were decent but I thought The Force Unleashed and even GOW had more phenomenal graphics. I thought the use of stasis in the games was good especially since you have to dismember them in order to defeat them. The save stations were spaced nicely. The story is something that we have seen before and to be honest after the first cut scene I was ready to turn it off. There is nothing I hate worse in video games then a main character who doesn’t speak. I understand EA’s reason behind it but it’s just annoying. Be warned this game may scare you but it did very little for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Dead Space or Dead Spending?

posted by dss11b (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Mar 9, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

Dead space is a typical horror, over the shoulder, shooter game. Finding clues, unlocking doors, getting ammo, upgrading yourself, and getting the shet scared out of you from time to time.
Personally, I thought it was boring. Yes there were times where you get something that jumps out at you, or other things that make it interesting, however most of it is just running around trying to find stuff.
Compared to other horror games, like Fear II or Left for Dead, I thought it was bellow the standard. However I still rated it as a 6, people who like horror games, and have nothing else to do, should at least give this a shot. After all, one mans trash is another's treasure.
Dss

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Nice story - controls suck

posted by jimmyk (BLESSING, TX) Jan 15, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Intriguing story, but overwhelmed by the monsters. Controls function poorly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

great graphics story not much to say

posted by cates35 (DENTON, TX) Feb 28, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

this game did start out great i mean who doesn't love some mindless killing. Sadly thats all this game is. The storys ending can be seen from a mile away. I didnt read any of the text logs i found and i still knew what was coming. the graphics are amazing the detail in some of the things is just unseen in other places but added with the fact that the story is horrible, stupid achievements like playing basketball or jumping 100 times. Sadly those are not the worst draw backs. What you usually expect in a game like this is guns and i mean alot and difficulty. this game has about 7 guns. you really only need 1. the game is that simple and the other guns (minus the buzzsaw) are just poor to use. The worst of the worst is the difficulty. what made games like the resident evil series such a master piece was the difficulty,constantly sweating over conserving every bullet. untill the unlocked hardest difficulty you dont really need to conserve,And the melle is next to useless theres no aiming and it takes nearly 20 hits to take down one guy when 5 others are swarming on you. This game could have been alot better but they rushed it like so many others.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

More like Resident Evil. Halo and COD fans read!

posted by GoBucks (PATASKALA, OH) Jan 9, 2009

Member since May 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

One thing to keep in mind here. This is NOT a halo, COD type of shooter so dont expect to run around blowing the whole board up. If this is what you are looking for you will not like this game.

However if you are looking for a Tomb Raider, Resident Evil style of shooter you will love it. This is a third person style of shooter where you can solve miniature puzzles and have an in depth storyline that kicks in throughout the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Great game that was ruined halfway through...

posted by Danjitsu (CORAOPOLIS, PA) Jan 27, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

5 out of 22 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

I was enjoying this game when it was a well done survival horror game. Then, inexplicably in the middle of the game, it stops and makes you play a maddening mini game where you use the right thumb stick to shoot asteroids out of the air. Sorry, I don't have the patience, nor the inclination to play your stupid little mini game more than a half dozen times before I say screw it and send it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Are you kidding me

posted by Bootyclown (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Feb 18, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

8 out of 42 gamers (19%) found this review helpful

This game looks good but plays awful and I thinking about returning it before I finish. Mapping may be the worst in game mapping system ever. Character movement is slow and unresponsive. The character can BARELY multitask and you can not jump, roll, dodge or duck. He can not run and do anything else at the same time. The melee attack is just plain stupid too. Practically everything you do requires you to hold down the trigger button nor can you run and reload at the same time. DO NOT LET ANYONE TELL YOU DIFFERENTLY. This game is NOT in the same class as Halo 3, Gears, Mass Effect or FEAR.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Dead Space

posted by Aronsky (SAN MARCOS, CA) Jan 13, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I only played up to the part where you blow up the door in chapter 2. I probably should have played longer before giving my own opinion but I just couldn't get into this game. It didn't feel any different from any other horror games I've played. I'm not saying there was anything wrong with it but if you have already played a few horror games you probably won't get much out of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Wasn't so into the game

posted by Cameron360 (LAKE JACKSON, TX) Nov 16, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

4 out of 21 gamers (19%) found this review helpful

I've heard so many people say quote on quote "scariest game ever." not really, unless ur GLUED to ur tv 24/7 and get scared very easily. I didn't seem pleased with it. A bit repetitive with the shooting limbs off of creatures, getting air, health, blah blah. Wasn't that great of a shooter either. Guns were ok, but gameplay was boring. So, yeah.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Beautiful game, but boring

posted by msdawg81 (Olive Branch, MS) Jun 27, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

One positive thing that I will say about this game is that the graphics are gorgeous. Also, there are quite a few moments that will have you jumping out of your seat. The zero gravity gameplay was unique.

That said, I was very disappointed with the lack of diversity in the levels and creatures. By the time I finished level 5, I felt like I had played the same level over and over again. I liked the weapon upgrade system, but there really aren't a lot of options there other than upgrading some very basic characteristics like total ammo and damage. Controls were clunky, and there really wasn't much of a story at all until you get closer to the end of the game.

Looking at the other reviews, I guess I'm sort of on my own on this one, but I thought this game was average at best in more ways than not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Anything But Original

posted by HenryL65 (COVINGTON, GA) Jun 24, 2009

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 11 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

Perhaps I'm just not a fan of the horror-survival games (because they're all the same maybe?), but if you have any interest in this game, you'd be better off to spend an evening watching the movies Event Horizon and Resident Evil instead of a few days playing this game. This game is merely a mix of those two movies. Granted some of the design is original, like showing health on your suit or the pop-up holographs showing items, both of which I was cool with. However viewing over the shoulder became annoying as your peripheral vision is drastically limited. Also I found the controls sluggish.

As far as the violence and gore goes, I like Saving Private Ryan, 13th Warrior, Gears of War, and several other violent forms of entertainment, but this game was over the top. It became absurd; so absurd that the game lost any frightening aspect it may have had. Bioshock is a much better example of how to properly use violence and gore and maintain that eerie, creepy feeling. All in all, not worth the time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse