Rent Dead Space for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Dead Space

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.3

23949 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wet your pant's with excitment and fear.

posted by Mailman (DUNKIRK, MD) Oct 22, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

This game is very nice and has very good gameplay. The story is etchy at first but it will eventualy become clear(like any other horror game). If you loved Resident Evil 4, you will find this game to be a good substitute.

The enviroment is covered in blood(perfect!). It makes the game creapyer. There are also places on the ship where there is no gravity which makes for fun times.

The gameplay works like this: Each gun you buy has different aiming lazzers. An exception for one gun, these lasers are actualy the range of your weapons attack, so any part of the alien/zombie that is infront of this lazzer will get hit (unless they move out of the way and your "bullet" dosent go very fast like the pistle).

The enemies in the game require you to shoot their limbs off.Some require different limbs shot off but i'm not going to ruin it for you by going into detail. Find it out yourself. As you progress in the game you will encounter different types of alien/zombies. This will make it so you arn't fighting the same thing over and over again. So the game alway's has some challange.

When you start a game you can choose 3 difficulty's(do I realy need to tell you what they are). Once you beat a game you can unlock stuff like new clothing for your character.

Now for some negative info. For starters, one thing that you will recognize is that you can't take any objects with you(creats, explosive containers, boxes, ect) when you enter an elivator which realy isn't that bad. The last negative thing that I can tell you is that it gets kind of booring just going one place to the other(just the concept, this never realy effected the game play to much). But I must say that these negatives are really, really small. But even though they where small I had to take off a point.

In conclusion, I would say that you HAVE TO PLAY THIS. You will wish that it didn't end in 12 hours. But with the unlockables you will be playing longer then that.

Have a fun and scary time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Dead Space Breathes New Life into Survival Horror

posted by Cloud0426 (MARANA, AZ) Oct 22, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

I can't say enough good things about this game. SH and RE are both great series, but Dead Space takes creepy to a whole new level. Gorgeous, grisly graphics and some of the best sound design I've ever heard in a game combine to successfully make you jump on a regular basis, rather than developing a relative immunity like with many other horror games. If you have surround sound, it makes the already outstanding sound ten times better.
The controls are crisp and feel natural, correcting problems with both the RE and SH franchises. Isaac (your character's) aim is dead on, for the most part, although one thing is missing that would really help keep you alive: a quick turn feature, as enemies often appear behind you with no warning.
For me, the difficulty is just perfect when set to Hard; the game is just generous enough with ammo and health to keep you alive, but you're constantly forced to carefully plan and take stock of your supplies - never once did I have an overabundance of anything. The complete lack of the traditional HUD really keeps you immersed in the game world, as your health, stasis energy (used to slow fast-moving enemies or objects) and ammo are all displayed directly on Isaac's suit. In the same vein, your inventory, map, objectives and log are all projected holographically in real time, lending a sense of urgency to these tasks as you can be attacked while in the menus.
Add on top of all this some of the most innovative and well-designed gameplay sequences I've seen in a while, like zero-grav combat and puzzle solving and the most epic and terrifying bosses you could imagine, and you've got yourself a game truly worth its $60 price tag. Other than the lack of quick-turning and somewhat repetitive, fetch-quest type mission objectives, I really have nothing to complain about. Whether you're a fan of survival horror or not, you NEED to at least rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Overrated game, good but not great!

posted by JoeVegas (LAS VEGAS, NV) Oct 21, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

A lot of hype for this game, I've played it for 3 hours so far and it's decent but not amazingly great. (I'll finish it but won't buy it)
Graphics are ok but I've seen equal or better on Halo 3, COD4 or GTA4.
Creepiness is not that high, I've seen better on RE games on PS2, you want creepy get condemned, darkness, dark sector or Jericho, the only thing that makes the suspense bigger than other games is the "horror movies" music being played when attacked.
Aliens are nothing spectacular, only one type and they only do one thing.
Weapons are nothing spectacular, and to get ammo and upgrades you have to carefully use your points/money and the slots available in the menu to strategically use what you can carry, same with medkits.
Save functions are not like other game where you go to the main menu and select "save and quit" here you have to find a "save" station in the ship, what's up with that?
On the good side, it's a good game with decent graphics and a somewhat ok story, but it could use more diversified aliens and weapons that kick more butts and that look and sound more impressive.
Controls are not typical but after a while you get used to it and since you can't do many things anyway (can't crouch or jump...) you get used to it and get good at it quickly and after learning out to use stores, upgrade weapons and where to get medkits and nodes to upgrades stuff, it becomes good and you can move along quickly without being frustrated.
One feature that makes everything much easier is the ability to be shown which way to go without having to go to the map which looks great in 3D but can be too much at times.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

DEAD SPACE IS DEADLY!

posted by Soulgrip (TUCKER, GA) Oct 21, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

From the opening cinematic Dead Space sinks it's chilling hooks into you. With it's jaw dropping graphics and mind altering lighting effects, this game delivers! It sets the standard for HUD displays! And keeps you on your toes with alien encounters from every direction. You have to be quick and accurate to bring down these ungodly creatures. The action is top notch, the suspense is intensely overwhelming, and the HD visuals will leave you drooling. Add the rich sci-fi story and you have yourself one heck of an adventure! Wait until the sun settles and the lights are out to play this baby! You're mommy can't save you this time.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One Sentence

posted by iMattheW (STOCKTON, CA) Oct 21, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

This Game Frickin Rocks, the story is good, graphics are good, audio scares the heck out of me from all of the creatures, but it is a offline game so i might get boring cause theres no offline feature, but it's still good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Horror

posted by sportsfan6 (LOUISVILLE, OH) Oct 21, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

Dead Space is a great horro game. Blood and Gore thrive in this game. The way the shooting mechanics are is perfect and i would want to see it in other games. The story is phenomenal and i hope they make a movie out of this cus it would be great. Finally the game has a perfect sense of horror.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

EA Made a Good Game That is Not Sports!

posted by stabatrick (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Oct 21, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

I love R.E 4. I'm a big fan of the survival horror games. Dead Space takes on the same ideas as Silent Hill and Resident Evil, but gives you the ability to upgrade everything.

Make sure to go on Xbox Live Market Place and download the "Free" Elite Suite. Makes the game much better to carry items.

The Good: Great graphics in 1080P. The A.I on this game is very spooky. The ability to walk on walls and killing aliens while no gravity, is amazing. A lot of weapons to buy and upgrade. No loading. Go anywhere and not see a loading screen.

The Bad: It's the same thing over and over. Walk around, kill stuff and open doors. You do get to turn on things. No real story. The aliens are all about the same. No free roaming, just walk down halls to open doors that are not locked.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

CREEPY!!!

posted by armored06 (MONROVIA, CA) Oct 21, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

ok, if your a lover of challenges, horror and suspense, this is the game for you. I cant remember being this scared since the ring...(yes my phone rang after watching the weird video) I have a set of surround sound headphones. Let me tell you, I had to stop playing the game after the first fight with those creepy beasts. I remember how they talked about how sound was important to them in the making of this game. They really nailed the sound part. Not so sure how the experience would be on 2 channels. But on my 5 surrounds sound, it really scared the cr4p out of me! definitely a game to play after watching the ring or saw lol I really recommend it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Dead Space

posted by henley316 (BUFFALO, NY) Oct 20, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

One of the best game this year it's like bio shock in space and in third person also the cam view is great

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING!!!

posted by W4RM4CHINE (MANSFIELD, TX) Oct 20, 2008

Member since Feb 2006

This game has GAME OF THE YEAR written all over it. First, it has the best graphics I have ever seen on the XBox 360; Second, it has a great story line and isn't just a space horror shoot em up; Third, this game has made me have to change my underwear on more than one occasion. With 5.1 surround and a HD TV, this game is EXTRA CREEPY. With my surround sound on, all the ambient noise (or lack thereof), really causes you to turn around and see what's behind you. EA games has finally reached the pinnacle of video games. If you buy/rent one game this year, it would have to be DEAD SPACE. In the upcoming months there are going to be some great games released for both the 360 and the PS3 (Little Big Planet, Gears of War 2, Fable 2, Fallout 3), just to name some titles. These games are going to have major competition against DEAD SPACE. The only thing this game has against it is that the other games are more well known sequels (except for Little Big Planet). I have been putting the word out for this game to all my friends, and the ones who have rented/bought it agree with me...this is a great game and deserves a 10. If this game had a great Multiplayer (it doesn't have a MP), then it would be unstoppable. Do yourself a favor, give this one a chance...you'll be glad you did. Oh, bring an extra pair of shorts to change into.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Someone please give me some ammo.

posted by graydaddy1 (AUSTELL, GA) Oct 20, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

This game is great!!!!!!! The only problem is ammo, projectiles, weaponry. Now don’t get me wrong the guns you get are fine but it seams like when you find yourself in a tight stitch you run low on defense really quickly. Almost like being on a hot date and your deodorant wears 30min in. I would never buy that deodorant again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Space, the horror frontier

posted by gixxerboy (UPLAND, CA) Oct 20, 2008

Member since Sep 2006

With so many games coming out that are just mediocre this game stands apart from the crowd. Not only are the graphics outstanding but the game play is equally awesome. This is one of those games (like so many others) that I have been waiting for. But unlike those others that were just ok to play, this game is truly worth the price of admission. The weapons are equally impressive and one of my favorite features is that you have to think about the best way to take down the aliens by dismemberment not just shoot them until they drop. Of course playing this game in full surround sound is a must because I found myself jumping a few times. Survival horror in space, very cool concept. This is a definate must play, you will not be dissapointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

ABSOLUTLY AMAZING

posted by Leslie (HARTFORD, CT) Oct 20, 2008

Member since May 2008

Dead Space is really a wonderful game. It has suspense, action and it also involves thinking. It is also nerve racking because you are alone in a ship with a bunch of zombie it is pretty scary. this is the perfect game for the season and especially for the scariest month of the year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse