Rent Dead Space for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Dead Space

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.3

23914 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A MUST HAVE FOR SURVIVAL HORROR FANS

posted by TheGuRu (RIVERSIDE, CA) Oct 24, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

All i can say is wow. If you are a survival horror fan then this game is definitely a must. Its like they toke doom 3, Bio shock, and resident evil 4 and all the things that made those game great and mixed them together to make dead space. The atmosphere in this game is incredible. I haven't seen atmosphere this good since i played bio shock in fact it might even be better. The game plays a lot like Resident evil 4 with a third person view and an over the shoulder aiming system. But what really sets it apart is the tactical dismemberment system and how the weapons revolve around this idea. Basically the creatures you fight in this game called necromorphs can't be killed with the old fill them with enough lead till they stop moving tactic other survival horror game have done in the past. Instead you have to take them out by cutting them up limb by limb. All the weapons in this game have there own way of dismembering your enemies like the plasma cutter which can rotate 90 degrees to accommodate for the situation that your in or the force gun which just blows them apart. But by far my favorite gun in this game is the ripper. Its like a futuristic saw that shots out saw blades then holds them in a tracker beam to be easily moved to the limb of your choice. another aspect of the game i like was the fact that there is no HUD. All meters including your health are located on the back of your characters suit. Also your inventory and all other screens are projected out of his suit. this adds a new level of intensity to the game because it does not pause the game when your accessing this screens. This game does have it cons too. There were some minor camera problem at some points in the game but nothing that ruins the gameplay to much. Also the story wasn't the greatest but then again you don't play survival horror games for their story. Over all this was a great game and i loved it and if your still reading this stop right now and go play the game already. REALLY GO PLAY IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

frickin great game

posted by thrian (ALISO VIEJO, CA) Oct 24, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

great

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dead space. Gameflyers Awake.

posted by Largefont (ORMOND BEACH, FL) Oct 24, 2008

Member since Jul 2005

This game borrows alot form Metroid, Aliens the Movie and Resident evil. The game Rocks. It at first bothered me that it was a littlle slow and the weapons are very weak but just like resident evil 4 you upgrade them as you do with your minning suit and secondary weapons. This actually is great cause when you beat the game it makes you want to play it again with your weapons ammo upgraded. This is a keeper which is rare for me being that it came from EA; being that they make short, short games and EA would charge the gamer for the Start and B button if they could. I usually dont care to support comapany that do this but it seems they got this one right. The length was a bit on the short side still and alot of backtracking and level retracing. You will revisit the same levels. But the monster will always come at you diffrently and very convincing on the scare factor and beacuse you are so focused on the monster the level is the last thing on your mind. Sometimes the quarters are so small that it is hard to know where the monster came from so be prepared. dont stand next to Vents. That my only advice.

The sound is worthy of an Oscar. It is stunningly well done. I like to think that Dead Space is goig to be a new Franchise. It is as scary as Condenmed Criminal Origins and The Suffering, the first ones cause the Sequels Sucked. This is a Fun Fun game. I stongly recomended and suggest that you play it on Easy and have patience for it. Trust me that it will reward you. The achivement points counts are good. This is not a filler until resident evil 5 comes out, this one truly stands out. It borrowed alot from other franchises but they delivered a promising gaming experience and did it justice.

scare factor a 10. Sound 10. Gameplay 8. Replay value a 8. Keeper factor an 8. Visual a 7.

Overall 8.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dead Space

posted by leejgray (WHITEFISH, MT) Oct 24, 2008

Member since Jun 2004

Choosing between a 9 or a 10 was tough. This game is smooth, excellent graphics, story line and creatures are the best i've seen yet on xbox360. Try turning your lights off at night and turn up the volume of your HD Set, I'll bet you'll jump, get cold sweats, and be a basket case when you pause the game... It's that good. If you like Scifi, Dark Stories, and some scary jump out of your seat stuff... This game is for U!

Keep Blasting!!!

L8er.
CRUMBOXLT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

non biased review

posted by banzibill (CABOT, AR) Oct 24, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

In the same way Bioshock brought us something new with its underwater utopia, DS takes us into the deeps of space on a driftway ship giving us breathtaking views with completely glassed areas, space walks on the hull, and a chilling and frightening tour around the destressed Ishimura

Pros:
1.)controls. They are spot on and take only a few minutes to get accustomed to.
2.)graphics. The visuals are very well done and really suck you right into the game.
3.)upgradable items. enough said.
4.)decent story
5.)mission objective pointer. I don't think enough can be said about this little jewel. This
add on gives you the ability to play the game today, and come back a month later and not be lost. Simply clicking the button shines a holographic like light on the floor directing you to your objective so you don't spend hours looking at the poorly done map ui trying to figure out where you are at.
6.)downloadible content. Right from the start they give you the option to buy a better suit off the market place. I did, and I must say it made my experience better.

Cons:
1.)predictible enviroment. Sadly after a few levels you come to realise the predictible habits of the monster spawns.
2.)rinse,wash, repeat...this is perhaps the biggest flaw in the game. The game is non stop fetch this, open that, repeat. There are NO moments where you are left wondering what to do where to go.
3.)map ui. navigating the map is a nightmare. Terribly done.

Summery:

In the end, this is a very fun game definatly worth playing. It has a good 15hours of gameplay for those who are casually exploring every part of the ship. I did find that by the last three chapters I was just playing only to finish the game as the same ol was geting very old to me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Played up to Chapter 9

posted by scalan15 (MONMOUTH JUNCTION, NJ) Oct 24, 2008

Member since Jul 2004

I have 3 chapters left, so far I can compare this gaming experience to Bioshock, overall bioshock is a little better detailed with the weapons, etc, but the overall gameplay of Deap Space is much better, and I loved Bioshock, this game is lots of fun and a must rent, maybe even buy, I must add that the controls for the game are great. It's taken me around 9 hours to get to chapter 9, that includes some pauses because I have a 5 month old baby, so I'm not sure if that's included with the gameplay. But this game is a 10 for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Read if you want the truth

posted by JacobC77 (RICHVALE, CA) Oct 23, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

ok, im not gonna lie this is a great game.....for about a week. trust me, its a definate rent, but save your money for better games.

lets start with the good
- graphics are great, the lighting and detail is insane, the blood looks real, and in the parts where theres no gravity the blood floats, and the physics are great.
-the story is good, obviously not the first of its kind, seems kinda like doom.
the weapons are great, all upgradable and have secondary firing options, and theres about seven.
-as you progress, they slowly introduce new enemies, and the enemies your use to fighting get better.

alright, now for the bad.
-the game itself is about 8 to 12 hours long depending on how fast you play through it.
-even though the enemies change, it gets kind of repetitive, and some of the enemies are based off halo.

so in all
there isnt too much wrong
mostly the stroy is too short and repetitive
the graphics are great, but they should have spent more time making the game longer.
and also, you can only play through the game one way, you cant change the outcome at all, so replayability is not very good, unless you wanna try a harder difficulty

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

DOWNLOAD THE FREE SUIT NOW!!! EXPIRES 10-28-2008

posted by Perfec7 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Oct 23, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

Whether you have a copy now or it's in your 'Q', go to xboxlive market place to download the "Elite" suit while it's free. This is the most powerful suit in the game, which is perfect for those of us that play for fun and only plan to rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

play it

posted by PYR0SIS (YUKON, OK) Oct 23, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

this game is like bioshock in many ways. the story is lacking but the gameplay makes it more than worth playing. weapons variety is very good also.
the environment is what makes this game it will scare the heck out of you at times and other times you will find yourself looking around and admiring the designers creation.
my wife even likes to watch me play this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Beautifully Dark, A Fantastic Horror Survival

posted by mr36man (CASPER, WY) Oct 23, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

This game had everything i expected and more. I read about this game in GAME INFORMER MAGIZINE the article in the magazine made the game look like game of the year material.

As engineer Isaac Clarke you crash land into the USS Ishimura. Things don't seem right, a crew of 1000 are gone...

Right when i jumped into this game I was stunned the graphics were wonderful. After obtaining the basic weapon I discovered that the key is strategic dismemberment of the alien inhabitants. You go along fixing the mining ship piece by piece. Going along you can buy upgrades to you "RIG" and other weapons that you acquire thought out the story. I would just suggest if you want i thrilling more intense game i would start out on the medium difficulty.

This game had moments that made me jump in my chair. Whether it was a pipe bursting or an alien busts through an air duct. The back story of the game was put together really well. I would recommend this game to whoever wants a pulse pounding experience with darkness lurking around every corner.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dead Space is a 10 out of 10

posted by Combatl33t (BELLEVUE, WA) Oct 23, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

I truly love this game. I haven't been this enveloped in a game since RE2. I can't count the number of times that I literally jumped in my chair while playing this game in a dark room with my AMG headphones. surrounded by my 5.1 yeah. Even when I knew something was going to happen and I knew that I was going to be suddenly attacked by a monster, it still made me jump because they just had perfect shock timing.

I do have one little complaint about this game though. Upgrading weapons helps a lot, but when you finally max out a weapon with the nodes the weapon doesn't look any different than when you first got the weapon.

I just want a weapon to look a little different when upgraded.

Well that is all I have to say. Make sure to rent this game and only play this game at night, in the dark, preferable alone, and with headphones. You will truly enjoy the true horror of this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Must Rent At The Least!

posted by Se7enFX (WEST SACRAMENTO, CA) Oct 23, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

I did not have the slightest bit of interest in this game when the trailers came out. I thought it would be another failure by EA, but I was proven wrong when the reviews caught my eye and a rental copy in my xbox. This game gave me the entertainment I wanted and the hope for more successful games from EA.

STORY
You play as Isaac, an Engineer who works for the mining company and is sent on a repair mission... Until of course they crash land into the ship Ishimura. Soon after you'll know the ship is filled with infected humans known as the Necromorphs.
The story is pretty decent and has some twists and turns. There are video, audio, and text logs involved, making you more immersed into the universe.

GRAPHICS
ABSOLUTELY STUNNING AND BEAUTIFUL. From the amazing view during the intro, the dark, claustrophobic corridors in the ship, to the outside view of the asteroids and planets in outer space. The only other game I can compare graphics-wise would have to be Gears Of War.

SOUND
As you walk through the deep maze-like hallways, you can hear the ship creak around, the breathing in Isaacs mask, and the cries of the monsters from time to time. The random bump sounds make you feel like someone is right behind you (which sometimes they are). Simply put, the sound is as amazing as the graphics.

GAMEPLAY
Some of the gameplay comes from other games, mostly the 3rd person and the upgrade system
can be compared to RE4. Other than that, the various weapons are quite satisfying, especially when they are fully upgraded (personal favorite is the pulse rifle). Instead of aiming Necros in the chest region, the best way is to dismember their limbs by shooting them off. You will see that there is no HUD, the health bar can be seen through the spine, and the logs are basic holograms that are viewed in front of isaac.

The gameplay may feel a little repetitive sometimes, but it wont disappoint, I assure you.

SUM
The game is perfect, though my only wish is for co-op. A MUST OWN/RENT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This is one awesome game

posted by Kirbtech (SOUTH HOUSTON, TX) Oct 23, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

I loved this game the graphics where great but it was only scary at the beginning when you didn't know what to expect after a while you become so powerful you don't really get spooked any more. I did love that after you beat the game you could go again with all your stuff but after you beat the game twice you'll feel done with it. besides those two problems this is one great game and should get a multilayer if not in an update then in the sequel if there is going to be one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A mixture of Resident Evil and Bio Shock

posted by peanut81 (LEITCHFIELD, KY) Oct 23, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

Dead Space is takes place years into the future, you are sent to check on the crew of a planet eater that has not responded for days.
This game has a excellent story, awesome but creepy graphics. They did a really great job on lighting and sound effects. They took the best parts of Bioshock and Resident Evil 4. I would highly recommend this game if you like horror shooters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Dead Space- A modest review by a modest man

posted by ryanclicks (MOBERLY, MO) Oct 23, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

After eight hours ans thirty-seven minutes of pure gameplay (no cutscenes) I walk away from Dead Space with a new view on video games, heck, a new view on the industry as a whole. I have never been truly terrorized by a game before, but Dead Space has truly shaken me and I can gladly say nothing has ever scared me as much as this game. Not even FEAR (heck, in comparison, FEAR looks like HALO.)

Dead Space has truly blurred the line between game and interactive cinema. I was completely immersed in every aspect of gameplay. Even the map screen was interesting, and that says a lot about a game. What blurred the line for me was how well the game got under my skin. Resident Evil and Silent Hill, both favorite series of mine, handle scares pretty well. RE has become more of an action series and SH just gets lamer with each game, but Dead Space is something completely different. If you have ever seen Jacob's Ladder and experienced the dread of that film, Dead Space will bring back memories.

If there was one word to describe this game, that word would be horror. This game has nailed fear in a way most movies could only dream of. I almost quit playing near the end, not because of difficulty or boredom, but because I was afraid of what was to come next. I can not stress enough how truly scary this game is. There is no comfort to be had in this game. Not even an inventory screen can break you away from the scares. Let me explain.

There is no HUD in this game. Your health is represented by a meter on the back of your character and your ammo is a hologram floating above your gun. Your inventory screen, map, and other menus are holograms that pop up in front of your character. When activated you still have full motion control, sans shooting, and things can still attack you. This level of immersion is so awesome, you truly have to experience it yourself. I hope more games emulate this.

I loved this game. There are so many good points to it: the beautiful graphics, the haunting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Simply put - Amazing

posted by Irishy (WATERTOWN, CT) Oct 23, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

There are games that claim to be "next gen", this is one of those that lives up to the claim. Everything about Dead Space is a delight. The graphics are AMAZING, the story line is something out of a big budget summer movie, the controls are perfect (use left trigger + Y to jump in zero grav...you'll need that later) and the weapons are creative and fun to use.

But what really blew me away was the attention to detail the developers paid to the smaller things. The lighting, for example, is so spot on realistic and creepy. You really feel like you are there. And they throw some "shadows" at you that really bugged me out. The sound is amazingly creepy...I turned around more than once in the game just to check and make sure nobody was behind me.

I played Too Human before this and that was a complete let down with its shoddy graphics and horrible controls. This game made me a believer in what a great development team can do.

A++

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by bulitt (TEMPE, AZ) Oct 23, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

This is easily the best game to come out this year. the genre is plagued with games that just aren't frightening and this one is terrifying. It stays away from cheap scars, and though it is particularly gory, it doesn't rely on gore to shock or scare the player. It's plot, though a little cliché, is incredibly deep and finding logs to flesh out the story is rewarding and if you look carefully and pay attention there are some truly poignant and funny aspects to it. The controls are responsive and combat is exilerating because of it. When you die, and even great players will occasionally, it never feels like a flaw in the game. The only aspects that may keep annoy some players are it's odd difficulty curve (it gets very steep at times and then goes back down) and some missions are a little repetitive. It is an amazing game in which every detail combines to make it an enjoyable and terrifying experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Twinkle Twinkle Little Star

posted by basicanime (FARMINGTON, MO) Oct 22, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

Wow, is this game wickadly scary, The Music in it is superb to the point its messes with you. And each and every little noise that put into the game also messing with you. So far with everystep you take you hear things and wonder is it a monster alien zombie thing or a survior that gone insane to the point that they are bashing their skull agaisnt the side of a wall. THe game littery forces you to move very slow with the weapon at ready. Many of times I end up hearing soemthing behind me and end up turning around and shooting a canister or something of htat nature that was rolling across the floor, but the moment ther was no noise at all Im attacked from behind screaming and yelling at the game creature to get off of my character. And the silence of being on the outside of the spaceship in this game in really neat. It almost intense cuase all you hear is you character is his breathing and his muted footsteps.

All in All this reminds me of John Carpemnters the THing in Space, I would recommend this to anybody who loves to play a good scary game in the middle of then ight with the surrond sound and High Def turned up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Chilling

posted by xxyo92xx (LITHIA, FL) Oct 22, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

the game is a must have from its amazing graphics to its smooth game play and horrific storyline the game catches you in the first five minutes. this game is not for the feint of heart it will keep you scared and shaking and jumping around every corner.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

DISMEMBER/GORE/TWIST THIS GAME FTW

posted by BAMBAMBOOM (ORLANDO, FL) Oct 22, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

AMAZING, the fact that u can kill something by taking limb by limb off is amazing. Not to mention that at the same time the twist are amazing. Gore is just a non-stop thing, AND THE LAST THIG I HAVE TO SAY IS if u want a horror game GET IT!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

awesome horror game 9.5

posted by importspor (ORANGE, NJ) Oct 22, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

This is my first GF review.Ive rented many games before but this deserves a review.First the games atmosphere is freaking awesome,it really puts you in the game.Second is the sound affects,incredible,the random noises and voices really start to mess with your mind.This is the first game in a very long time that has me scared to go down a hallway and around a corner.EA Redwood have truely outdone themselves with this great new franchise.im only in act 3 and so far the effects they put in have you looking over your shoulder to see if an enemy is behind you.to many details to explain, definetly a buy in my book.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Old ideas with New Life in Dead Space

posted by Legion13 (GREAT MEADOWS, NJ) Oct 22, 2008

Member since Dec 2004

I was a bit skeptical about this game until I watched the SciFi Channels 1st look. It was a great game overall, yet did get redundant like any other game, go here do this. The real hero of the game is the setting, and the environment. Overall this game took pages from the books of the Aliens Franchise, Event Horizon, The Thing, and most noteably Bioshock. Playing this game by itself was creepy enough, but throwing this on 5.1 Surround, with low lighting, made it better. The shadow play while walking, the distant sounds of metal bars dropping, sparks popping out of walls. And the lighting added a new atomsphere to a shooter, since Bioshock. I believe it was Chapter 8, you here Hush Little Baby playing thoughout the Complex added chills. This game was by far worth the rental, it deserves a sequel.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GAMING PERFECTION

posted by adam2300 (HARMON, IL) Oct 22, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

awesome game amazing graphics very intense and scary

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Survival Horror Since Resident Evil 1

posted by marvelous1 (CHARLOTTE, NC) Oct 22, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

Ok, besides Silent Hill 1, there hasn't been a game that has really been "scary"...this game will have you paranoid with every step you make. If you have surround sound, you will be in for an even bigger treat. You will hear random screams, footsteps, cries for help, canisters and shelves falling, while trying to find your way in a pitch black room. It gives gamers a challenge without being impossible to progress...just incase, they're plenty of save spots, which I recommend you take advantage of...from the combat to the storyline, this game blew past my expectations!!!Don't rent it, buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wet your pant's with excitment and fear.

posted by Mailman (DUNKIRK, MD) Oct 22, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

This game is very nice and has very good gameplay. The story is etchy at first but it will eventualy become clear(like any other horror game). If you loved Resident Evil 4, you will find this game to be a good substitute.

The enviroment is covered in blood(perfect!). It makes the game creapyer. There are also places on the ship where there is no gravity which makes for fun times.

The gameplay works like this: Each gun you buy has different aiming lazzers. An exception for one gun, these lasers are actualy the range of your weapons attack, so any part of the alien/zombie that is infront of this lazzer will get hit (unless they move out of the way and your "bullet" dosent go very fast like the pistle).

The enemies in the game require you to shoot their limbs off.Some require different limbs shot off but i'm not going to ruin it for you by going into detail. Find it out yourself. As you progress in the game you will encounter different types of alien/zombies. This will make it so you arn't fighting the same thing over and over again. So the game alway's has some challange.

When you start a game you can choose 3 difficulty's(do I realy need to tell you what they are). Once you beat a game you can unlock stuff like new clothing for your character.

Now for some negative info. For starters, one thing that you will recognize is that you can't take any objects with you(creats, explosive containers, boxes, ect) when you enter an elivator which realy isn't that bad. The last negative thing that I can tell you is that it gets kind of booring just going one place to the other(just the concept, this never realy effected the game play to much). But I must say that these negatives are really, really small. But even though they where small I had to take off a point.

In conclusion, I would say that you HAVE TO PLAY THIS. You will wish that it didn't end in 12 hours. But with the unlockables you will be playing longer then that.

Have a fun and scary time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse