Rent Dead Space for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Dead Space

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
8.3

23976 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

In space, no one can hear you scream

posted by WrittenOut (OVIEDO, FL) Apr 20, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Dead Space successful does what it sets out to do: It creates an original, atmospheric experience that is built around keeping you on edge through every step of the game.

The pacing in Dead Space is perfect.

At the start of the game you are literally thrust into the clutches of a massive mining shuttle that you are investigating due to a total communications blackout and your ship is pulled in by a seemingly unknown force. Upon the shaky landing, you and your crew members leave your shuttle and enter the giant and seemingly abandoned mining ship; it doesn't take much foresight to see what is coming up next...

Within the first 3 rooms that you experience on the shuttle the dook really hits the fan and the thrills, scares and surprises don't really let up till the end.

In this aforementioned room you are tasked by your superior to check on the computer system, after all you are an engineer, and as you use the computer (which is located in a sub-room within a bigger room) the 2 doors for escape are locked, the lights shut off, and a loud crash comes from the ceiling where a hellish nightmare descends and skewers one of your fellow crew members right before your very eyes.

You are left helpless and unable to save him. Other crew-members are caught off guard and can not aid him in time. They eliminate the threat, but you are still left divorced from them. It is in this moment that the game really begins as you, unarmed, are attacked out of no where in an extremely dark environment. All you can do is run, and run like mad; and scream.

This setup sets the scene for what Dead Space is. It is a game that is more interested in keeping you on edge and always guessing than being a great game mechanically.

SUMMARY: The game has great graphics that are heavily focused on lighting (for obvious reasons). A great deal of emphasis is placed on sound. The game mechanics are passable for the genre but there is very little replay value.

Overall the game is an A/90.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Horror, but not that much

posted by watzhizfas (MARYSVILLE, PA) Oct 18, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This is an amazing game. The graphics are stunning, and the game play is fun. As I said, I didn't find this game to be overly alarming. The scariest parts tho are the dark ones. Those have to be the only parts I am scared of, when there's light, don't be afraid, the aliens are definitly visible. The game dynamics are incredible. Using thier long depended on limbs to your advantage is pure genius. Overall, great game. But like I said, scary sometimes, but not all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Scary as s#!t

posted by quailman (LAKEWOOD, OH) Oct 19, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

first i have to say that i loved this game. That being said its also one of the scariest games i have played. This game keeps you on your feet at all times, even when you think that your in a "safe" room, you never know what might be crawling around in the vents above. The dismembering part of this game add a little strategy to all the slaughter. Do you pump you enemies full of ammo or conserve it and blow a leg or two and run up to him and shove your boot through its head. The "in-game" cinematics (and i use that term loosely) are told mainly through a holo-viser that you can watch and listen to while walking around or defending yourself from what ever you may have stumbled into. This game has some similarities to RLH but this game completely blows it out of the water. Not to spoil anything but after you see a certain enemy you WILL be stomping on every dead corpse (trust me i did). All and all this is a fantastic game that will keep you up at night.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WoW!

posted by kos187t (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Oct 16, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

From seeing the game trailers to commercials on TV i knew from the get go this game was going to be awesome and never the less it is i just bought my copy today and Wow, am i stunned by the graphics, lighting and all out how great the game is also not to mention those scary parts in between EA couldn't have made a better game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Top notch

posted by Hishiyama (BOSTON, MA) May 13, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

indeeed a very good game. screw resident evil 5 ! this game is better.

this game reminds me of the resident evil 1-3 before resident evil 4 and 5 came out and changed the game from horror/puzzle to action/adventure.

this game is good. too short though. and needs more puzzles and hard clues and stronger monsters

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Dead Space

posted by Dudebro (SPRINGFIELD, GA) Apr 28, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

All in all, this game was pretty phenomenal. You have to get used to a couple of things (camera off-centered) but really... the learning curve is pretty quick.

The ONLY thing I dislike about the game, is that you can't change the difficulty setting for Round 2. So I missed 150GP :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

FREAKING AMAZING!

posted by Demask (MORRIS PLAINS, NJ) Apr 20, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was EXTREMELY scary just beat it now. Loved it a MUST RENT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

run. run now. NOW. RUN NOW.

posted by RllyOldGuy (WEST BEND, WI) Dec 18, 2008

Member since May 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Clue #1 this game is great - the wife says "eww, that is just gross" when I sever the first limbs with the plasma cutter. She did describe it to a tee, though - "hey, it's like Bioshock with aliens!"

A pretty good horror game concept with a giant helping of aliens and some great creepy sound effects. Best played in the dark of your basement on the big screen.

Story and plotline need a little help, though - it seems like the authors give away too much too soon, which dampens the suspense. And there is one scene where the plot violates the "rules" of the story (without giving it away).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Bioshock meets Halflife

posted by Mushburger (ALAMEDA, CA) Oct 17, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Dead Space is amazing. It takes the survivor horror genre and adds beautifully to it. Between the awesome environment and captivating story you easily get sucked into this game and are on the edge of your seat the whole way through it.

The main character (Isaac Clarke) reminds me a lot of Dr. Gordon Freeman of Half Life. A professional man caught in the middle of a horrible predicament and asked to go beyond and above to save the day. The disturbing characters and settings come very close to that of Bioshock but fall just short of capturing the imagination of the city of Rapture. None the less it is still great.

I for one am hoping this is just the beginning to a brilliant franchise

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOWZERS

posted by Redschool (MENOMONIE, WI) Apr 3, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have never played a better game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

my 10th review!! ok this game is...

posted by Firedog777 (BELLEFONTE, PA) Feb 10, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

very good but your about to see why its not great, it is true its VERY scary and it sometimes makes you look around the dark room your in and hide when someone knocks on the door (only if you play it at night or get scared easy) im really hard to scare and it made me freak out sometimes, and the weapons are really cool!! like the flamethrower weak as a rock unless upgraded and if you upgrade it all the way it shoots (to find out rent the game) but it is really cool and you might not guess what it is. as for enemys i found that if you shoot thier arm and a leg or 2 then that pretty much kills them DONT SHOOT THERE HEAD OFF!!! it just makes them very very mad! but one thing i found very horrible is they always know where you are even if you try to sneak past one thats on the other side of the room looking the other way =/ and dont get me started on how deadly the bathrooms are! and as for the end of the game it makes it worth playing a second time becuase you get many nodes and like $50,000 credits. and it takes at least 4 playthroughs to get ALL achievements trust me, my friend and me tested this theory and its in fact true! but one thing that may stop you from playing again is that its not scary cuz the spawns are the exact same!! FAIL!!! now heres my rundown

Good
- awsome upgrades
- many suits to wear
- fun weapons
- very scary adventure
- you will get paraniod while playing the 1st time through
- great story (action for guys romance for girls)

Bad
- enemies die rather easy if you know how
- plasma cutter is the best weapon when fully upgraded
- enemies just dont seem to play dead enough and when they do they get up at the wrong time =(
- not all guns are as cool as fully upgraded flamethrower

All in all i give it an 9/10 and hopefully the sequal will be much better and more scary
Questions? comments? msg my XBL gt = Firedog777

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Satisfying action in Resident Evil meets Doom 3.

posted by Golarian (LAKELAND, FL) Jun 27, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Aim for the limbs! You'll probably have shot off over 1,000 limbs by the time you finish this game (It's an achievement). You'll quickly find a unique pistol cutting tool that'll have you slicing off legs and talons until the the last level. Every time it will stay satisfying.

You have many weapons to choose from. The wonderfully classic flame thrower, a fast firing plasma rifle, and a brutal saw gun, among others. All of which have unique upgrade trees and alternative firing modes. Your arsenal will feature more then just guns however. You are equipped with telekinesis (zero point energy field manipulator) and freeze ray powers as well. Both are easily activated while aiming any weapon. If all else fails you can just smash them in the head.

Dead Space is very pretty, I was surprised to learn it runs on the godfather engine. The shadows and textures with post processing effects combine to form some very spooky environments. There are a few cinematic sections encompassing asteroids and stars. Space horror games are common by now but Dead Space generally manages to capture a unique feel. You'll find quite a few scary moments but it's not classic survival horror. Expect an action game. Actually it's more survival horror then Resident Evil 5 so go figure.

The sound design is outstanding. From the perfectly fitting music, adding tension and terror. To the ambient creep of things unknown scraping against metal. It really shines in the zero gravity, space walk portion. Somehow it can be more frightening in near silence. When facing a monster while your oxygen is running low and the only noises are the felt vibrations from your weapons. Zero gravity is a lot of fun (at times dizzying). Try jumping to the distant ceiling while humming tunes from a Space Odyssey.

Dead Space is an overall a great game. Pick it up if you want a unique 3rd person shooter experience. Or if you are a fan of sci-fi horror. Just don't expect a System Shock 2 when it comes to the plot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better than I expected

posted by psifry (SAN JOSE, CA) May 11, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This was actually a lot of fun. I would suggest that if you are a decent player that you just start at the hardest difficulty so it will last longer.

Graphics were great.

Story I thought also was very good.

Gameplay was good, though I just wish it was a First Person Shooter rather than a "third-person" shooter.

Grenades would be a nice addition...maybe in Dead Space 2 if there is one.

Couldn't figure out how to start it off in "Insane" mode and keep my armor and credits, but I didn't really care to run thru the whole thing again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best game ever!

posted by vegan1 (CHULA VISTA, CA) May 5, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was absolutely beautiful. When you hear critics proclaiming that a certain game is full of heart-pounding excitement you usually discount the statement as being merely a metaphor, however, in this game, let me tell you, a metaphor it is not! My heart was racing and my feet were tapping like a jack-rabbit for the most part while playing this game. I have never seen a game with such utmost quality and realism. The gore is absolutely breath-taking and the monsters will freak you out! The campaign never gets boring, the storyline comprises of so many different scenarios it is unbelievable. I loved it and I know you will too!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

New Name of Survival Horror

posted by pwned1241 (MOUNT PLEASANT, MI) May 4, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game blew me away. It took me back to the days of Resident Evil 1. freaked out and worried to go around the next corner, swearing out loud and having to turn the lights on at points. Good length game, you had enough ammo to not feel helpless as in RE games, but not too much to feel over powered. I really liked the weapon upgrade system and of course the Zero G areas, made you feel like you were really in space and Zero G. If you have the extra cash, don't rent this one, buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome

posted by FLOWDANGO (MORRISTOWN, NJ) May 1, 2009

Member since May 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

All I can say is scariest game i have ever played, and it is RE4/5 but so much better! Just at least rent it and you will love it, easy as that!

I also recommend purchasing it right up, given it is discounted at a lot of stores new, just buy it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

wow

posted by LAWMAN60 (SUNNYVALE, CA) Apr 27, 2009

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was doubtful of this game when I heard all the great reviews, but decided to see for myself (I really don't believe in hype...see GTA 4). This is an awesome game.
It is not the type of game you just breeze through though. So much to see and do. I am still playing this game and sorry gamefly it's so interesting it may be awhile before I send it back, if I do at all, I may just buy the darn thing just to play it again after I finished to see what else I can discover.

I highly recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Gives A New Consept To Horror

posted by 1fastmaro (BRANDON, MS) Apr 26, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

In most horror games, the character is faced with the task of running or killing anything that moves with the same three bullet combo. In this game, you must dismember your adversary in order to stay alive. you will be faced with choices of either running or using every ounce of ammo you have to stay alive. the graphics are breath taking and the story is never ending as you find the reason why the ship is the way it is. you will find yourself up for many hours wanting more and more out of this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The New Face of Horror

posted by 580067 (HATTIESBURG, MS) Mar 1, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Dead Space is the first sci-fi survival-horror game I've ever played! The fear level on this to me is 4. This game will involve you dismembering creatures known as "Necromorphs", as Isaac Clarke. You'll be aboard a ship called the USG Ishimura. In the first part of the game you will be weapon less, you'll have to run from them. Sometimes you will enter a room with no air or gravity, the limit you can stay in an air less room is one minute. You'll sometimes find a "store", you'll be able to buy new weapons and buy health and ammo. The "benches" are were you can upgrade your weapons. The stasis and kinesis module are important. The stasis can slow malfunctioning doors and enemies down. the kinesis can move and throw objects (even the enemies' own severed limbs). Nodes are what help you upgrade weapons at "benches", but you should always keep one with you, you'll never know when you'll come across a door that requires a node to open it. Keep in mind that when you enter some rooms you can't leave it until the alien scourge has been eliminated, so when you hear sirens blaring, shutters shutting over windows, and the ship's computer saying it has detected "unknown bio forms" get ready for a fight. Semi-conductors can be sold at the store for credits(which are the currency in this game)to buy stuff, they come in Gold, Silver, Ruby etc. I hope you survive your time on the USG Ishimura. Good Luck!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Dead Space is Awesome

posted by PhalBob (SPENCER, MA) Feb 4, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

O.K. so i can't spell well, but here it goes. This game is almost perfect. It is full of action, and its really creepy to. The only thing I find annoying is the diffuculty of the game. besides that one thing it's really good. i give it a 9.5 my user name is also my xbox live gamertag incase you want to contact me, and any game recamendation will be appreitated.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pretty Freakin' Sweet!

posted by MagicNinja (THEODORE, AL) Oct 20, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Well, I heard about this game sometime last year. So I kept up with all of the developer videos on XBL. For some reason, this game reminded me of the hype Alone in the Dark brought us. My gut told me "This game is going to STINK!"

So I kept my mind open and figured if this game is bad at least I won't buy into the hype and be let down. All in all, I'm glad I decided to be optimistic about this game. Because...

This game blew me away. I first watched videos of 'Strategic Dismemberment' and thought it would be the ultimate downfall of the game. It's not. It's pretty awesome and does add alot of strategy to the game itself.

The graphics are beautiful! Enemies never looked so darn fantastic. The environment wasn't too shabby either.

The controls are nice and fluid. Everything is where it should be and are easy to play with.

Now, I haven't used the OTHER weapons. I decided to stick with the Plasma Cutter for some extra achievement points. But that weapon alone is freakin' awesome.

The gameplay itself is great, this game never lets you take a break. Your inventory system is real time, as well as Audio, Video, and Text Logs which only adds to the tension.

The sound and music are sweet sweet vibrations doing their magic on my ear drums, meaning the Audio is also Sweet! The Voice Acting is spot on as well.

Now some have complained about the fact there's no 180 degree turn button, well all you have to do is point the camera behind Issac and hold the AIM BUTTON! Instant 180 degree turn!

The story pulls you in. The writing is just great! Especially if you watched the Comic thingys on XBL.

If you're a big survival horror fan, don't rent this game.... BUY IT! You will not be let down.

Not once did I get angry with the game, even dying is fun since there are hundreds of Death animations for Issac.

Dead Space has just raised the bar in the Survival Horror genre. My hat goes off to EA for this one.

9.5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sweet!

posted by Thrasher90 (MONTEREY PARK, CA) Oct 20, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

dude this game is awesome I didn't know if I was gonna like it at first from the trailers but I decided to rent it anyway and I love it. I would describe it as Resident evil and Condemned but no evil homeless or zombies it's all full of these cool, weird, scary looking aliens and right when you start getting bored of the same bad guys you take on a new guy like twice as big wishing you could fight the guy before the whole game. So bottom line for me is rent it buy it w/e just play it, it has everything from awesome awesome graphics to intense battles with large groups of those aliens, cool weapons and upgrades, to insanely huge boss battles, oh yeah it's also really scary!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good but redundant and frustrating at times

posted by Khyros (Haddam, CT) Feb 9, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

First off... being able to upgrade weapons and one's armor is a nice feature that adds a touch of customization but I'll tell you what... the developer left out the best stuff and made it "Downloadable Content" that hit X-box live literally hours after the game was released... good way to milk one's customers eh? Yeah.. that annoys the heck out of me too.

I'm halfway through this title and so far have had at least a dozen controller throwing moments as well as an equal number of "Oh cool!" and "Whew, that was close" situations. The storyline is the very old and tired "alien infection" routine we have seen time and again although this occasion the plot is advanced in a very well done manner.

Gameplay consists of corredor crawls interspaced with Sprint For The Airlock and Zero-G Mario instances as well as a annoying Asteroids mini game. Fights are stacked against you and include gimmick bosses that either require use of the enviroment to finish off or quite a bit of limb shooting.

I would reccomend this title as a rental only and please... do not buy the add on packs as that will only encourage more developers to ship incomplete product.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Too much hype

posted by DECIM8 (Creswell, OR) Jan 12, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

9 out of 22 gamers (41%) found this review helpful

Touted as one of the break through games with an original story line and awesome third person shooting, Dead Space fails to hold my interest.

The story line was Doom 3, go to a planet find everyone dead figure out why, and low and behold it's some kind of 'religious' artifact turning everyone into monsters, this one just doesn't release demons.

The third person aspect was annoying to say the least, and constantly having to hold down the left trigger to prep, aim and fire was ridiculous.

Scary? Not really, you knew essentially where and when something was going to attack you. Don't get me wrong, I jumped a few times but it wasn't the fright fest it was rumored to be.

The first "boss" was pretty much a joke.

The equipment upgrades and weapons augmentation was a very good idea but poorly delivered. If you have to use the nodes to open the doors and upgrade your weapons, and they cost 10,000C each at the store? Not the best delivery, especially when it's a mission essential door. 'Let me see, upgrade my weapon or open the door and advance the story line...' It's not a choice, it's not an open ended RPG like Morrowind, Oblivion, or Fall Out 3, where you can just walk away and come back when you feel like it. You're stuck on a ship with the garbage at hand.

The good aspect was the idea of a limited HUD and the ideas for the inventory, communication, and weapon selection.

The idea of using industrial tools as weapons, very nice, especially the way they did it. The ripper was genius I can actually see one of those being used on a construction site for safety conscious foremen. While it contained new and very interesting aspects, over all it wasn't something I wanted to keep to play all the way through. I was done with it after the first boss. Hope you liked it better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Go Here, Go There..... who am I?

posted by CarlaGirl (FORT WAYNE, IN) Jul 7, 2009

Member since Mar 2006

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I read alot of the reviews before deciding to rent the game. It's fun but don't expect much in the way of really getting involved into the overall story. All you do is run around taking orders and Not really getting to understand the reason why your Guy HAS to do this. He doesn't talk, there isn't any real information on his exsistance other than the crews prespective of him. Gameplay is good, But after awhile of playing i always came away with the sense that at any moment, i'm gonna have to go to Point A for charecter B.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse