Rent Dead Space for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Dead Space

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.3

23914 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

hated it

posted by chris031671 (MIAMISBURG, OH) Mar 15, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

controls are really bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DEAD SPACE

posted by lolipop (CAPE CORAL, FL) Sep 27, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

I DON'T HAVE DEAD SPACE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Astroids

posted by doc2kneisley (GRAND PRAIRIE, TX) Jan 13, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

While playing the game....the negative part is the astroids.....oh please... so riduclous to wait for 2 minutes to keep shooting until automatically....that really turn me off for not liking this games...for others maybe....but overall it isnt good game at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Might have been good

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Dec 5, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2004

1 out of 13 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

This game might have been an ok game except for the fac tthat yopur excepted to kill things 5 or 6 times before they actually die and the Camera in boss fights Just DO NOT work you get hit by something and next thing you know your facing exactly the one WRONG WAy so you have no idea what is coming at you why make the camera movein the First place? no reason really except it makes the game Impossible to play. And your always out of ammo theres no way you can buy enough Ammo because It costs far to much and you get far mo Little money in the game. This might Look like a Good game but it isnt. Your Movement is like your moving in wet Cement but The Mosters Move like they are super speed especially the Bosses dont waste a rental on this I dont see how this could get such a High Rating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Didn't like it

posted by ChrisMcD (FREMONT, CA) Sep 24, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

2 out of 12 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I always kind of wanted to play this game since it came out. I heard it was really good and it looked cool. The controls though make it feel clunky and all of the scenes are setup to try and scare you. Which really just makes it super difficult to kill your target because there is one behind you instantly and then sometimes multiples targets coming from all angles. This might be fun but the controls seem to be such a hindrance that it gets a bit frustrating. It also gets a bit old when every corner is a setup for something to come from behind you and attack. I played it for about 30 minutes before I got bored of it and sent it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible condition

posted by protogamer (ORLANDO, FL) Apr 20, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

When i got the dead space game, the back of it had tons of scratches and the edge had small but noticable chips in it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Great game that was ruined halfway through...

posted by Danjitsu (CORAOPOLIS, PA) Jan 27, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

5 out of 22 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

I was enjoying this game when it was a well done survival horror game. Then, inexplicably in the middle of the game, it stops and makes you play a maddening mini game where you use the right thumb stick to shoot asteroids out of the air. Sorry, I don't have the patience, nor the inclination to play your stupid little mini game more than a half dozen times before I say screw it and send it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

kinda lame

posted by leonkendy (SAN JUAN, TX) Dec 30, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 18 gamers (6%) found this review helpful

i expected it to be as awesome as the hype but i dont lie to myself, its kind of a pain. the controls suck, inventory grid is stupid, and its just a slow game. im on the 9th of the 12 chapters. im only gonna finish playing it bc i hate starting a game without finishing it. its not THAT exciting or scary either

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game Blows

posted by BlowMeNgr (BALCH SPRINGS, TX) Jun 29, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 59 gamers (2%) found this review helpful

This game blows

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

GREAT GAME(SIKE!)

posted by jordanm11 (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Jun 17, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 56 gamers (2%) found this review helpful

BAD!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dead Space

posted by TJSampson (SUSQUEHANNA, PA) Jun 16, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

3 out of 31 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

Graphics were crisp and clean but the third person point of view took too much away from the gaming experience. Essentially the character creates a "blind spot" and your constantly shifting to overcome it. Had this game been in first person P.O.V. it would have been 100% better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

NOT FIRST PERSON

posted by eddie1 (CUMBERLAND, VA) Jun 11, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 36 gamers (6%) found this review helpful

hmmmm. no first person, very annoying to have to look over a shoulder the whole time. I don't think a game can be called a "shooter" if you can't see the gunsights.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Couldn't Get Through It

posted by TheMartyr (BONNERS FERRY, ID) Nov 22, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I was actually contemplating purchasing this game. Glad I didn't.

This game probably looked good on paper...but just didn't translate. I found it repetitive and boring at times...and way too difficult there was one part that was the deciding factor on me sending it back. It literally was impossible for me too do. I attempted it at least 50+ times before packaging it back up in an infuriated rage.

I wanted to give this game a change I really did...but the game was just NOT co-operating with me.

People might disagree with me and that's okay. Let's just say this game is not of my taste.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

dead space-dead game

posted by hatman48 (PLAINS, KS) May 4, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 11 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

received dead space game. i played for 2 days and had nothing but trouble navigating. the map was almost impossible for me to follow. i would not keep this game if it were given to me.

i am not a young gamer. this was one frustrating game. i do not recommend it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

One of the few that wasn't a fan

posted by TheSolly (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) May 24, 2009

Member since May 2009

12 out of 37 gamers (32%) found this review helpful

The game's entire story couldn't be less original. The game had uninspired environments as unoriginal as the plot. Constant backtracking through the game really frustrated me- it's just lazy game design to backtrack half of the map and just toss a couple more monsters in the same hallway you just killed a couple in minutes before.
While gory and intense graphics were nice, the notion of severing limbs didn't really play out any different than aiming for a headshot in other games. In short, there was nothing to really set this game apart.
The entire mechanic of the zero-g jump seems utterly broken. Often requiring you to stand in the exact spot and look the exact direction the developer had in mind (without any clue to you) just to get the jump to occur. Mostly you get nothing for pushing the button.
Bad enough that the mechanic doesn't work so well- but to have timed sections you have to platform jump through is unbearable. By the tenth time you die from running out of air because nothing happens when you hit the jump button.....you'll be happy to turn this game off.
There just wasn't anything in this game that kept me interested in it after several frustrating episodes. Almost all of those frustrations came from the zero-g jump mechanic and constant backtracking.
I realize it's overwhelmingly popular, but I didn't enjoy the game much at all and gave up on it without losing any sleep over it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

An absolute waste of money

posted by RevScott (SAINT CHARLES, MO) Apr 16, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 22 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

One of the worst games I have ever played. The story is stolen from Event Horizon, the gameplay is slow and clunky (although it LOOKS good)-it takes forever to walk five feet and the 3rd person point of view gets in the way and ruins the experience.
I give it a 2 on the basis of graphics alone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Are you kidding me

posted by Bootyclown (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Feb 18, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

8 out of 42 gamers (19%) found this review helpful

This game looks good but plays awful and I thinking about returning it before I finish. Mapping may be the worst in game mapping system ever. Character movement is slow and unresponsive. The character can BARELY multitask and you can not jump, roll, dodge or duck. He can not run and do anything else at the same time. The melee attack is just plain stupid too. Practically everything you do requires you to hold down the trigger button nor can you run and reload at the same time. DO NOT LET ANYONE TELL YOU DIFFERENTLY. This game is NOT in the same class as Halo 3, Gears, Mass Effect or FEAR.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Good Game...Great Story...Terrible Gameplay.

posted by actionjaxn (DETROIT, MI) Feb 16, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 34 gamers (6%) found this review helpful

Good Game...Great Story...Terrible Gameplay.

If you are a fan of third person shooters, than this is a great game except only for the gameplay that sucks. It is a cross between Halo and Gears.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

I hated the controls and the entire feel of it.

posted by 2shoes (RIVERHEAD, NY) Dec 23, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

4 out of 36 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

I really didn’t like this game. I hated the controls and the entire feel of it. It was too hard to enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

DEAD SPACE

posted by forrrrrest (HERMISTON, OR) Nov 10, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

2 out of 33 gamers (6%) found this review helpful

Had fun learning how to play this game. Did not enjoy parts of the game that I could't figure out how to get past. After my second "road block" I ejected the game and sent it back to gamefly as many other games are more worth my time. Would I play it again? yes, if all other games broke.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Swing and a Miss

posted by calgorn (LEWISTON, ID) Mar 13, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

This game had potential. The gameplay was ok. Leveling up your armor and weapons was an interesting idea for customization. Scary zombie aliens had a little bit of intrigue. The graphics were excellent. The major downside was the camera angle. This game would have been better off as a first person. It was infuriating to have this slow moving, slow turning character constantly blocking the view of the left side of the screen. Even worse if you get backed up against a wall. He'll even block my view of the map on occasion no matter how i zoom or rotate. The frustration of the camera angle distracted from everything else making the 'scaryness' of the game non existant and just turning this into a very slow moving shooter game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Too Many Controls

posted by Rbentzel (Columbia, SC) Apr 10, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

Cool game, but the controls are too difficult to use. The game has a glitch, when you use Kinetic to install power modules, you have to try several times, because it doesn't always work.
Also the monsters are faster than your character and even on easy mode after Chapter 1, you die every other room. Makes the game go VERY SLOW!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Boring same thing every chapter.

posted by Munster79 (DAYTON, TX) Jul 12, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Just got this today and already sending it right back and taking Dead Space 2 off the Q. I got bored with it after the first chapter. You keep doing the same exact things over and over again, it was Resident Evilish at first but then it lost it's hold on my attention span. But then again I just finished the two Mass Effect games and those are pretty hard to stand against.

I don' t recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Only for fans

posted by MarcioNYC (BROOKLYN, NY) Mar 25, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 10 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

I didn't like the graphics, controls and camera. I felt like a parrot purched on a pirat's shoulder. Not nice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Doesn't Deserve All The Hype

posted by tfwcu09 (CONCORD, NC) Dec 19, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

The only things about this game I found to be done well are the dismemberment system and the graphics. Shooting enemy's limbs off and the effects is has on them is pretty interesting. Sadly that's the only thing the developers got right gameplay-wise. Controls are very slow and clunky, plus having to hold the L button down just to do simple things like jumping makes the process slower, and in sections that require good timing this will make you want to throw your controller through the TV. This game also has some of the most frustrating sections I've ever played in a video game before, the asteroid puzzle in chapter 7 is ridiculous and after that I will never touch this game again. I don't mind puzzle-solving and there's some decent ideas in this game, but slow and clunky controls combined with frustrating puzzles that require good timing make this game one that I recommend avoiding.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse