Rent Dead Space for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Dead Space

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.3

23932 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesometacular

posted by INSANEPUNISHER (AURORA, CO) Jul 12, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

I, for some reason, give low expectations for many games. Then when i get the game, the game just blows me away. Dead Space was an awsome game!!! The visuals was spectacular, the weapons were gnarly. The whole game was a master piece. I dont know who or why any one would give a rating below an 8. Yes it does not have multiplayer but has a replayable campaign. Dead Space is a great horror game. The best time to play at night, lights off and sound up!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dead Space: Dead Awesome

posted by BadKarma8049 (SAN TAN VALLEY, AZ) Jun 3, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

This game mixes the perfect amount of action/puzzle with blood and gore coupled with a scare factor surpassing any game of its genre.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

perfect

posted by BIGUNGED2000 (CLERMONT, FL) Apr 6, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

PERFECT something new and original must play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Game

posted by bdog1011 (HILLIARD, OH) Jan 15, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

Awesome game I Love how creepy and terrifying the game feels.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best horror game i ever played

posted by gibby415 (DALY CITY, CA) Jul 16, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

when i got this game i was thinking it was like fear.well i started playing i thought nice graphics and then i got more in the game and the story was so twisted,you didnt know what was gunna happen next.from start to end was awesome so gross and horrifying never thought it was like this. now i want to play the whole series. i really think you should play it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by MrPenguin (PFLUGERVILLE, TX) Jun 19, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

This game is just AMAZING! It takes a new take on the survival horror genre with alot of sci-fi in it too. I loved how they not only let you use just guns, but also the stasis ability, which lets you slow down time in a small bubble, and the telekinesis ability, which for those of you who don't know what that is, allows you to pick up objects and move them, even the creatures own limbs. I especially enjoyed using the ripper, a weapon that launches a large blade at medium range to dismember the necromorphs, though don't get too excited, because you only start off with the plasma cutter, a small pistol. As you get farther in the game, there are certain hidden objects known as logs, which reveal events that happened to surviviors before the necromorphs killed everyone onboard the Ishimura, in the form of audio logs and text logs, both of which tell their own stories. As an example, there are a series of audio logs which chronicle the story of an onboard engineer attempting to keep the ship's systems online, so the Ishimura won't fall back to the planet's surface. There are also video logs that explain what happened to the crew in the bridge before Isaac and his team land onboard.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

scared the heck out me!

posted by macdoja (NEWARK, TX) Jun 14, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

the year this came out i almost missed it cause of 'fallout' fever. this syfi horror game is my all time favorite. it not only reminded me of classic scares from silent hill or resident evil but setting it in space was right up my ally. clever things like having to dismember enemies gave it a new feel over other shooters. but what helped the most to make this one of the scariest games was the ambience. hearing something scuttle around in the walls, made me walk in circles waiting for something to jump out. i was on the edge of my seat the whole time i played this game. i really felt this game was this best that year even over fallout 3, not to take anything away from it. i just felt much more while playing this game. epic tier 3 engineer is my most proudest achievement still to this day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome!

posted by HironoriHayashi (GRAND HAVEN, MI) Jun 8, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

Totally awesome! It makes me want to play the next one

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

eerie

posted by uzumaki_naruto (LONG BEACH, CA) Feb 9, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

this game makes u hold your breath while u play gruesome, puzzling, challenging ull love it play this before the sequel to appreciate this guy's nightmare

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

True Sci-Fi Horror...

posted by bgm1975 (DAVENPORT, FL) Dec 22, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

One genre I miss is the Sci-Fi horror films, like Alien and The Thing. This really brings me back to those films, and it really redefines horror games. Take lessons from this Resident Evil, because its nice to be able to shoot AND move at the same time. Definitely one of my favorite games and favorite IP this generation, even love the films and comic books.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dead. On. Arrival.

posted by Jovi39 (GOLETA, CA) Nov 21, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

This has to be my favorite game in recent memory. You put on your suit and go on as Isaac Clarke, an engineer sent out to repair a spaceship that has sent out a distress signal. Upon getting there, you discover quickly that everything has gone to (heck?) and back.
In this game you will find yourself trying to escape from the spaceship while being chased by what lurks in the dark.
This game is perfect to play with the lights off, and some nice gaming headsets on. It is a truly scary game and will keep you jumping for a good 8 hours. Some may argue that being stuck in a spaceship going from once place to another may get repetitive, but if you really get lost in the game, you will not think that because you will be too busy enjoying the ride.
This game does offer some challenging levels. It is not just a shoot everything that moves. Its focus so much on story that its just an overall great experience.
So... is it worth it? Yes. In any way you want to put it: Buy or Rent. This game deserves to be put in your console because it really is one of the recent greats, and you don't want to miss out on this experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game is phenominal

posted by fredthebeagle (LANSING, MI) Oct 24, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

This has got to be my favorite xbox game so far. The game starts off very exciting, with good graphics and a good plot. It sort of starts you off with no idea really what to expect. Then all sorts of wacky hijinks ensue. The atmosphere of this game is one of my favorite things about it. Its spooky! Your always creeping around corners waiting for something disastrous to happen. Aliens jump out at you and scare the poo out of you!
There are save points EVERYWHERE! Screwed up? Don't worry, just reload from 2 minutes ago. This game has a very limited cheat code allotment. Its helpful, but not so helpful that it "carries you" through the game. Just enough to give you a bit of an edge. Some of the weapons are neat but I ended up using the pulse rifle 95% of the time. You actually could use it for the entire game if you wanted to be boring. Another great thing about this game is its beatable by any skill level. I suck at games, really badly. But I was able to get through this game and beat it. Even though I played on the easiest setting I still found it challenging enough to keep me excited, but easy enough to not tick me off repeatedly.

But to re-iterate. The atmosphere of this game was great. Spooky, creepy, scary. Makes you jump out of your seat repeatedly. Great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

There is Dead Space then theres you will you live?

posted by ShadowCarnage69 (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Oct 18, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

This game was a really good game so good I played it 4 times it is creepy dark and full of secrets in the story I never knew allot about the story I first saw the movie and from were the movie left off is were your quest begins and I like that in the story shows what your about to face and you only have you and your team think its just a repair mission for the ship but they did not know what evil things wait inside for them and soon you and your team will to try to put a stop to it and trying to fix the ship and find answers to what happen to everyone you will see faces from the movie if you saw it makes the game feel more real makes you feel like your part of the story it is very scary for those that are afraid of noises the dark and seeing crazy things that make your heart race afraid to take another step along with the creepy song from the movie I hardly got scared I seen allot of scary games so I am use to the feeling of them but that is what makes this game so fun to play I gave it a 10 so if your into scary games this will be a perfect choice I already watched the 2nd movie of dead space and waiting for dead space 2 plus if you play it you will see what I mean its different then most games and it will change you and your fear on things hope you all enjoy it like I have it was one of the best games I have seen and was very fun question is will you survive or will your heart make you die in your own fears trying to run!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW!

posted by TBirdHammer (BRIGANTINE, NJ) Sep 9, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

Feels like you are in a scary sci-fi movie. I just started playiing it, it feels so scary at times, I just want to stop. I hope I can finish it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of my FAVORITE series now!

posted by Cusemanmike (CLARENCE, NY) Sep 6, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

Let me start off by saying I STRONGLY dislike deep space, futuristic, really sci fi action adventure stuff.....Never could get into games like Mass Effect and all that stuff because it just never did it for me. However, I do like the horror genre and through a reccommendation from a friend he told me since I like horror, I should give it a go and pick it up. I wasn't entirely enthusiastic, and I was coming in with rather unfair and brutally low expectations.

I could not have been more wrong. (In a good way!)

I was blown away completely. I had the lights off and my friend was sitting next to me (smirking because he knew what was coming) and the first "encounter" filled me with adrenaline. Not often do I get adrenaline rushes in video games, but when I do it's during extreme action sequences or during a story cutscene kind of thing especially in games of my favorite series but this was intense. I was on the edge of my seat for the rest of the game after that.

The gameplay: FLAWLESS. I absolutely love it and I totally can work with it. It's smooth, effective, and satisifying when you take down a Necromorph.

Story: I play games for the story so I thought I was going to be unimpressed but no no no no NO. From just the simple idea of the RIG and the fact you can see someones health status on their back is pure genius and fascinating. The story and plot (not going to give anything to this beautiful piece of work) was always a "Omg what's gonna happen next" and I could never put my controller down even though I did NOT want to go in the next room in fear what might pop out next.

Overall this game is a fantastic piece of art and I was just....awe struck. If you haven't picked this game up, I HIGHLY recommend it especially since it's cheap (20$ at gamestop) and to be frank, I would gladly pay full price of 60$ for this considering it was one heck of a journey to play this game to say the least! Bloody fantastic game and series for sure!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dead Space?!

posted by R1V3Rr4t09 (FALL RIVER, MA) Jun 5, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

Heck ya! A new take on the survival horror genre where you have to use your wits and run like there's no tomorrow. The object here is dismemberment. Every room you enter be cautious of vents and head straight for empty corners. From this angle you'll be able to take out any enemies quickly by going for the knees. Once this is done save ammo by stomping on foes once they are grounded. There is always drops so be sure to take notice. I had a blast with this game and I am happy to say that this game gets a perfect 10 from me. Great work and can't wait to play Dead Space 2!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dead Space ROCKS!!!!!!!

posted by 2011gamer (ROCK SPRING, GA) May 20, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

This is one very fun game. It is very futureistic. I love the story there were parts that made jump right out of my skin. This game is very scary at times and there are some very challenging parts. It took me two days to beat it. I plan on playing Dead Space 2 in the very near future. This is one of the best video games I've rented from Gamefly so far.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Most Terriying Game Ever

posted by reesespuffs (OMAHA, NE) May 17, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

When I put this game in my queue I thought it was going to be another survival horror game that wasn't scary. When I got it in the mail and played it, I found out that I was wrong.

Dead Space is the most horrifying game I have ever experienced. I can only play it 20 minutes at a time without getting too scared.I get scared right when I put this game in the console. There's only one way to described this game: spine tingling.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dead Space Review

posted by SETHSTER007 (NEW YORK, NY) Apr 26, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

This game was the creepiest game I have ever played!I loved how the stories chapters came together as one during the game.I also liked the excitment and the fear in the game.I announce that Dead Space is a really great game for people who like to take creepy challenges in video games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Too scary for me to play

posted by Thraxxx (NAMPA, ID) Apr 4, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

I gave this game a 10 due to the fact that it's incredibly scary (which is why people play it). The audio, the lighting, and every other aspect is designed to create a sense of fear.

The controls are good. The UI is cleverly implemented into your suit and gun. This adds to the immersion due to the fact that you don't have all kinds of information displayed in typical HUD fashion.

Graphics are great, lighting is excellent, sound is excellent.

I didn't even make it past the first level before I had to quit. (I'm a wimp)

If you can handle scary games, you will enjoy this one. I personally couldn't handle it so I'm sending it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by jonsey (CONROE, TX) Apr 4, 2011

Member since Feb 2009

This game is very fun and user friendly i want to say, very simple store to buy whatever your needing which is very nice to have rather then resident evils hope you find ammo around the corner. story is entertaining and the game will really make you jump plenty of times. Try it out if you like the horror shooting type.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dead space

posted by collin_carrillo (ROUND ROCK, TX) Feb 27, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

This game is basically a must play game for any and all gamers this epically exciting game will make you have loads of fun and scary thrills and chills. If you do not play this game you are missing out big time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing gaming experience!

posted by GameFool (DULUTH, MN) Jan 20, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

An excellent shooter that doesn’t feel like just another shooter. This is the gaming experience I want and why I keep playing video games.

The head shot is no longer king. Immediately, starting with a pistol that shoots in a horizontal or vertical plane to de-limb space mutants, I was impressed. Combine it with a dark foreboding near claustrophobic space ship with plenty of surprises. Throw in some psychic powers and clever weapons/armor upgrades. Then add some zero-G space combat. What you end up with is “Dead Space” and an amazing game experience.

I smiled for the entire game. This is what games were meant to be. Fun, exciting, engaging, novel, and visually stunning.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great

posted by MrGump (RIVERSIDE, CA) Dec 21, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

Dead Space is one of the best games i have played hands down if you haven't played it do you're self a favor and pick it up, and if you like a challenge try playing this on the hardest mood possible. Great Game not for the faint hearted

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Incredible.

posted by Whatheshiz (GOLETA, CA) Nov 30, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

made with extreme precision and care.

This game scares the soul out of you while unraveling the secrets of the Ishimura.

Graphics, sound, controls, plot, weapons, and gameplay are solid.

This game is a must have for any fan of horror survival.

And as a helpful hint, play them with a Turtle Beach headset (or equivelant). You'll hear things clearer, closer, crisper, and faster, and other things you would have missed on normal TV speakers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse