Rent Dead Space for PS3
view large frontback

Dead Space

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.3

11901 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Definitely A Sleeper Hit

posted by Liquidswar (BROOMFIELD, CO) Oct 16, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

72 out of 79 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

Strap on your diapers boys and girls and place the doctor on speed dial, because this game is frightening. I usually save my hard earned cash for buying only big name games, but after hearing rave reviews about this game, I decided to take a chance. Well, I'm happy with every penny I spent. Dead Space is like playing a Doom/Bioshock mix. The sounds and frightfest is on par with Doom and the story, graphics, and sense of solitude are on par with Bioshock. The most impressive part of this game is the atmosphere. The lighting, shadows, and fog create and film like realism. The sound is also extremely well placed -- having surround sound is great, but can be a bit too much for the nerves at times. No game is perfect, but this game does a pretty good job for it's first time around.

I played it through on normal and hard. Normal was a tad too easy to be normal, so I recommend playing it on hard to get the full dose of scare.

Pros: Amazing graphics and atmosphere. Nerve-Hacking sound. Great Story. Extremely gory. Fun in-game interfaces. Just plain fun to play.

Cons: Besides the fact that Normal is too easy, I'd sound like a spoiled brat if I tried to find something wrong with it. I'm just to scared to say anything bad this time around. "They're watching." (You'll get my corny joke later :P )

Good luck.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Only the dead come out alive

posted by SkinnyJr (DEERFIELD, IL) Oct 17, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

67 out of 74 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

Im not big on horror titles but this game has changed that. I never played silent hill or resident evil 4 because, well, I dont like getting scared. This game scares you in so many other ways than just having a loud noise and a monster jump out at you. The lighting is excellent- creating a very tense atmosphere. The ventilation system in the game runs throughout the entire ship allowing you to hear the 'pitter-patter' of the enemy moving along in the walls and ceiling. Dismemberment works sensationally. Every shadow is spine tingling, every corner holds something new, and every sound will have your trigger finger ready. The lack of a HUD immerses you in the game in a way I have never experienced. Dead Space IS an experience. Serious GOTY potential.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A game definately worth playing

posted by Sertasheep (LEXINGTON, KY) Oct 27, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

25 out of 27 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

Overview
Great game. A polished space translation of Resident Evil 4 style gameplay. Very well executed. The story in-game is a bit lackluster, but well developed outside. 9/10

Gameplay
Live "cut scenes" help make you feel your there. Integrated HUD and menu means your never out of the game. You can be buying a new upgrade, looking at your map, or reading a log and suddenly get attacked. You're never safe. The controls are solid. Isaac, the protagonist, feels very powerful and capable, which admittedly takes away some of the scare-factor, but for weenies like me, that's good. Something creeped you out? Just stomp on the limbs and watch it fly off, you will feel much better. Game length is long and satisfying. Last two levels seem a little subpar compared to the ones before it (perhaps due to story - see below).

Visuals
For those that are Metal Gear Solid fans, remember the room leading up to grey fox and the feeling it gave you? This is that magnified 10x. They did very well in setting up the atmosphere, especially if your a hardcore sci-fi space fan (which I'm not so that detracted me a bit). I still find abandoned hospitals, sleepy little remote spanish villages, and meat factories (on earth) scarier. Physics is slightly off for some of the bodies hanging (impaled); their legs fly off but the main body never moves when smacked. Dead bodies in general feel light and weightless.

Sound
Very eerie and creepy. Crawling sounds in the vents, pipes dropping somewhere, whisperings, computer voice mumbling or sometimes singing(!).

Story
Ending is cliche and they don't tie up loose ends. I guess they will make a sequel. In the Story department, I wish they veered off the beaten path of ALL standard horror. It gets old when you precisely KNOW when character will die. Story has too many things going on and too many subplots that doesn't tie together. Many things unexplained. They did well creating the "Dead Space" universe though. We'll see more I'm sure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wicked scary...sshhhh...what was that?

posted by jasonxb (BAY POINT, CA) Dec 23, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Nothing really really scares me if I know its not my own life in danger, but this game does manage to get my adrenaline glands pumping juice and has made me jump a few times. Graphics are nice and mood setting. Controls are solid. The audio is well done and the pace of the game works out well. My only complaint is all the back tracking that occurs. You will see the same hallways and set of doors 10 times. That keeps the game from feeling fresh the whole time. Over all though there is enough variety in creatures and level designs even if you are stuck on a space ship. This game is great to play in the dark. Its a medium paced action game with some puzzles. You will have to plan out your air supplies, ammo rationing and run, rather than shoot in order to survive. This is more like Resident Evil of old then Resident Evil 5 was. Dead space could have used some more polish with its story..or mostly how its told. With a little polish and less back tracking the sequel will be a huge success. This game reminds me of the first Assains Creed. Def. a franchise starting game this Dead Space is. I give it an 8 out of 10 because of the back tracking and the weird anti gravity jumps. How about some free float or a jet pack? The game also loses points for its boring voice acting, this is the main thing that keeps this game from feeling frantic as it should.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is what the PS3 is all about

posted by neuronet (DURHAM, NC) Nov 10, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

16 out of 18 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Before even reading this review, hurry and put this game in your gameQ.

This is the most intense, frightening game I have ever played. The graphics are amazing, the sound terrifying, the story fun and fast-paced, and it even makes you solve some puzzles along the way.

You are an engineer sent to help recover the mining ship The Ishimura which mysteriously went silent. It turns out the ship is infected with what looks to be alien life forms. These grotesque and creative creatures put the fear of God in me. I couldn't stop playing it.

I have now played through all twelve levels twice and still love this game. If I had to make a criticism, sometimes the tasks seemed contrives. Oh, great, I have to go find another freaking key in the middle of a den of necromorphs! But overall the play is so much fun it really didn't detract too much. If I could I'd give it 9.5 stars for that, so I rounded up.

Unless you don't like being scared, get this game now!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game!

posted by twr5270 (SURPRISE, AZ) Oct 20, 2008

Member since Sep 2005

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

To keep this review short and sweet. I played it for one day and can GUARANTEE that this game is addicting and overall fun to play. The controls are smooth and the game has that 80's Alien's movie feel. Along with the dark feel of the game and the monsters jumping out at you. It is a game that will keep you guessing, even though you know what's going to come at you eventually. If you like shooters, this is a game you need to at least try and get your own feel. This is my first review, but I picked a great to game to review. Hope you enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

In Space, No One Can Hear You Scream.

posted by aenderw (GREENSBORO, NC) Oct 16, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

18 out of 24 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I've been waiting for this game all my life I suppose. As a huge fan of sci-fi/horror genre, I naturally gravitate towards anything that contains both. Dead Space delivers in droves on every possible level - scares, graphics, depth, plot, and more scares for good measure. While I can't say everyone will love it, it has instantly stolen my heart.

The complaints I have lie with the zero-gravity sequences and your ability to properly navigate them. It may appear that Isaac (protagonist) should be able to jump on a particular platform, but in fact cannot because he is mere inches to the left/right of a certain point the game designates as the appropriate jump point. This tends to get you killed. You'll be attempting to rotate the camera to understand what is going on, and a necromorph will begin hacking away. The game also slowed down a bit during a few of these sequences, but this certainly didn't ruin the game.

Aside from that, I thought the game was flat-out AWESOME! As mentioned, this game does a great job creating an atmosphere that is both unique and frightening. The graphical detail on Isaac, the environments, and the necromorphs are phenomenal, as is the nearly excessive amount gore therein. The soundtrack and audio manage to be scary by themselves, creating epic battles and white-knuckle walks down dark corridors as a result.

Dead Space offers a great deal of depth as well, allowing the player to upgrade their suit and weapons by using nodes found throughout the game. I'd recommend thinking twice about each use of a node, as it's not possible to upgrade everything to its ultimate power in one playthrough. You can however reach max upgrades via the "New Game +" feature, a second game continued with all your prior powers.

I'd recommend Dead Space to fans of Aliens, Event Horizon, The Thing, and well, video games in general. It's an amazing journey through the Ishimura (the ship you traverse), and I'll be making it again soon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Finally, survival-horror done RIGHT

posted by MementoMor (SAN CLEMENTE, CA) Oct 22, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

When so many games out there are just so-so, a game where every second ranges from on-edge fear to jumping and shouting in terror is a must have. That game is Dead Space. Probably the best game ever made, never have I been so enthralled, enamored, and affected by any game on any console. The graphics are stunning, the sound incredible, and the atmosphere...CHILLING. Any HUD or inventory is projected by hologram a foot in front of you so that, except for saving, you are never removed from the action. Running from a too-close swarm of enemies to get back a few steps and start blasting actually strikes fear and frantic urgency to your very core. One of my favorite games, Resident evil 4, was creepy sure, but never made me really jump or yell out like Dead Space constantly and consistently does. Even the last moments of the game before the credits roll smack you with a true OH $#!& moment. If you want to play a generic hack-and-slasher or cookie-cutter shooter you have a HUGE selection to choose from. If you want to be immersed in a cutting-edge, terrifying, interactive experience; get Dead Space. Warning: Best played at night, with no lights, sound blasting. Get ready to be scared...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Next best thing to Resident Evil

posted by dl1151 (GATESVILLE, TX) Feb 26, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is pretty much RE 4 or 5 but just in a different setting.
It was fun all the way through and had a good story line, but only worth beating once... This game makes a good rental game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very Addicting Game!

posted by MadRienell (PRINCE FREDERICK, MD) Dec 21, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

If you are a big fan of horror games, you will love Dead Space. This is one game I can play and never get tired of. The design and creep factor of the game was not disappointing at all. I'm pretty hard to scare, and there were a few moments that made me jump out of my chair. The storyline is great; there is always something to keep you hanging on, wondering what is going to happen next. (I admit I'm biased, because I love space-horror adventures like Aliens, etc.) As far as variation, it kept me interested and on the edge of my seat. Not only was I curious to see what sort of creature would be introduced in the next chapter, I was also curious to see what the next area, room, section of the ship would look like and what my mission would be. There's always something new you have to accomplish, and that kept the game intriguing.

The design of the ship is awesome, in itself. It really looks like what I imagine a space ship to be like, down to the detail of the rooms, bathrooms, engines, communications, hydroponics, medical labs, and so forth. They really put a lot of interesting detail in the design so the player didn't get bored navigating around. Also, it creates a lot of new places for creatures to jump out at you!

The only thing I didn't like was at the end of level four: there is an extremely aggravating mini-game where Isaac has to sit in a seat and destroy asteroids until his ship-mates get the automatic targeting system fixed. While that sounds easy enough, its not what you think. There are more asteroids than you can easily shoot, and the controls become frustrating. The gun is slow and hard to target. If you don't adjust your targeting controls (Y and X axis) you'll be freaking out if you don't like reverse movement. (Left goes right, up goes down, etc) Other than that, the rest of the game was highly enjoyable.

I will be playing this game on all modes to see what I can unlock until Dead Space 2 comes out 1 Jan 11!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A must have horror for the PS3

posted by Abogah (CANONSBURG, PA) May 29, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

One heck of a horror game! A must have for the ps3! Hoping for a sequel!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game this year

posted by avelez10 (BRONX, NY) Nov 11, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I dont know why some people are giving it 5 6 or 7. This game is great, everything about it is good. It is scary and has good graphics. It is challenging and fun. Doesnt beat Resident Evil, but can maybe make it as big with more sequels.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by Jaybird43m (CATAWISSA, PA) Nov 10, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Well i am not a person that gets into the sci fi games but i gave this one a shot and was very impressed. Graphics were very good. Which is a plus because that is one of my top priorities in games. The story was nothing extravagant but it keeps you interested. There are definitely a bunch of make you jump parts and also very cool backgrounds and noises. The weapons are different but i liked them a lot. Cutting off limbs and stuff is always a plus. Not a fan when you shoot something in the leg and there head flys off so this one is detailed. Once you beat it you can also play through again with everything you collected already so i actually went through this game twice b4 returning it. If you like to shoot things with cool weapons and get a little jump out of it this game is a must.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Let down

posted by officeninj (GAINESVILLE, FL) Sep 23, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2009

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game has great graphics, and wonderful atmospherics. When you walk out into a vacuum, clinging to the outside of your ship in zero-G, it really feels like you're about to explode or fly off into nothingness. The gameplay, however, is totally cookie-cutter. Linear missions, collection errands, and a ton of awesome weapons that you can never, ever afford. The immersion takes a bad turn during combat, too; you may not know it, but this monster is only destroyable by flinging red barrels at it. It looks just like the others, but is immune to weapons! I had to look at a walkthrough just to figure out why my weapons work against 99% of the enemies but when confronted with the one PLOT monster, which looks just like all the other generic baddies from The Thing, it is immune to everything except red barrels. Fantastic.
If you're into survival horror and love to ration ammunition, this is for you. Otherwise, don't bother.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

dead space. a primer

posted by darthdaddy (BROKEN ARROW, OK) Jan 9, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

If I could give a letter grade to this game it would be a B. I rented this without knowing much about it aside from what friends and coworkers told me. The game itself is an over the shoulder "resident evil 4" esque style shooter where you are sent to some ship for repairs. It doesnt take long before you and your 2 comrades figure out something evil is going on. You spend the bulk of the game communicating with your friends via video monitor, having them tell you to go this room for this keycard, or to hit this switch to open this door. kinda bland objective wise. you do find video and text logs of the crew which are informative and creepy, however the text logs are so small, you have to lean in on your tv to really read them. Through a virtual store you can buy new weapons and items to help you on your quest.By finding power nodes, you can upgrade existing equipment, but 10 hours in i find myself with only 3 which needless to say, didnt do much for my growth. now for the positives, for a dark game, the visuals are amazing and i really like how there are bodies human and non, lying around everywhere. you can even stomp on them. they do a great job of adding depth and weight to the bodies, you can actually see them move as you pass over them get a great sense of what they feel like. at one point, you go outside and its amazing to see and hear zero gravity. it is truely amazing.
all in all dead space is a very cool game which doesnt require much thought or exploring as you have a nifty little device that points you in the right direction, even if you get lost.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dead Space

posted by marinevet32 (JACKSON, MO) Nov 8, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I didn't find this game as exciting as the reviews where for it. It seemed to get me lost in the maps and trying to follow the story line was at times impossible. Was not happy with the game at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

God save me

posted by AdamCa (TROY, MO) Jul 17, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

if you are not scared easy this will make you cry do not play it in the dark but still this game is awsome and scary,but more scary

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Chapter4 Asteroids

posted by murphious (DECATUR, IL) Jan 7, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game Dead Space has loads of atmosphere and the physics are top-notch. However, after playing on medium difficulty, I came across the contoversial "Asteroid Defense" section. It seems the designers decided to make this section much too different and challenging than the earlier game play. For a PC player I can see it being a bit easier to use mouse for aiming. But using a XBOX/PS joystick/joypad makes it very difficult. I stopped playing after MANY tries and frustrating misses. Oh well, good game from what I could finish of it. It seemed fair and balanced until this unnecessary section.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Tense

posted by Peloquini (MILWAUKEE, WI) Dec 19, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Great creepy atmosphere. Great Heart pounding music. The Slow controls bothered me alot. Some fun weapons some silly ones. Pretty graphics. Zero-G level parts and Zero oxygen areas are very well done.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME

posted by fighter456 (COATESVILLE, PA) Oct 17, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i have been waiting for dead space for almost a year. i thought the game wasn't going to be great, but i was proved wiring. i must say the game play has easy and fun controls. the aliens are sick looking which i like. i think one of the coolest things is how everything is built actually into the game. your inventory is really in front of you. i found that amazing. the game really wasn't all that scary though. once you get into the game you kind of expect the aliens. i really like the weapons in this game. Each one has it's own surprise. i really like this weapon called the line gun. well this game is party much perfect so i guess it was worth the wait

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Wait... There's a monster at THAT corner!!

posted by omega9 (CARMICHAEL, CA) Aug 5, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

Imagine if you will, the most terrifying haunted house (located in a space ship) in the vast cosmos. It's an intense half-hour of chills, spooks and frights that leaves your drawers soiled and invokes mild cardiac arrest.

Now, imagine that you exit said thrill attraction, only to re-enter the front door and wind your way through its scares (scarier the first time), creeps (I'm actually starting to get comfortable here) and surprises ( psst: there's a monster that appeared behind you... again...). After the 2nd half-hour, you think that something unexpected MUST be just around the corner. You're wrong. Its exactly what you knew was coming, and after you unlock that door (and backtrack a few kilometers [we ARE in space here]) you'll get pounced on from the corner/shadows/vent that you already have your weapons trained on.

If you love clunky controls, repeating the same half hour of gameplay for about 10-12 hours (let's face it, in some cases thats a GOOD thing) , and wandering through claustrophobic corridors (that can also be a good thing) in an attempt to confirm your prediction of the storyline... then this is the game for you. Let's just hope you enjoy being tricked by the exact same scare over and over again.

If, however, you enjoy environments in games. If you have a little crush on a thing called variety. Heck, even if you only have a passing encounter in the night with that little thing called 'gameplay', this might not be your title.

Take whatever agility and fluid movement you can from GoW and you get an idea of what this ultra-forgettable main character's (I don't even remember his name/mission/reason for existence) virtual puppetry feels like. Tack on ridiculously predictable 'scares' and a black on black color scheme and you get a 2nd rate knock-off.

This game is Rhianna to R.E.'s Beyonce. I can't say its not pretty or 'atmospheric'. I CAN say that I rode the 1/2hour ride for about 2 hours (out of optmism) before I got sick of it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

wasn't so great

posted by MMAFighter (LYNWOOD, CA) Jul 10, 2009

Member since May 2009

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

for some reason, i think everyone exaggerated on how scary this game is. Actually, it isn't scary at all. I actually found it boring, really boring. Its the same thing over and over again, run from point A to point B and kill whatever is in your way. I was really disappointed. So much hype for something that i feel wasn't worth my time. It has a great story but the game just didnt cut it in my book. If you disagree or feel as if this game is better than how i described it then rent it. If you get scared EXTREMELY easy then rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Dread Space

posted by Selfish1 (MESQUITE, TX) Jun 27, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Dead space made me dread space. I know its corny but for more than half the game I was dreading going on. Lets just get right down to it, the story sucked. I didn't care about this character heck the guy never talks everyone just tells him what to do.
And I can't even really explain the story because it didnt have a point and made no sense. its really nothing to even consider going into detail over. The game is very pretty I did enjoy the cinematics but the weapons aren't very creative infact most of them suck and take too many credits to purchase the suit upgrades are pointless and for that matter so are the gun upgrades you find your self only being able to fully upgrade one gun which doesn't make it all that powerful. the map sucks and is frustrating to use when in a desperate situation. and so is the path marker system. there were many times where you didn't know whether you had to fight all the aliens or simply run away. The game is very realistic in the sense that this really is survival horror I mean the game never really stops when your in the store buying things you can be attacked when your on the bench upgrading things you can be attacked. Which really gets you thinking why this is even part of the game its really quite annoying to handle trying to have enough money and at the same time try to survive, heck I've got reality for that. In a video game its annoying I don't like asking myself why am I doing this. In Resident Evil and Silent Hill the weapon upgrade the maps everything meshes flawlessly and works with out frustration. this game could've been the same all the elements were there but were just executed wrong and with a story you dont care about and time and time again saying to yourself when is this going to end please let this be the last chapter please!!!

Rent no buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Blood, Gore, Violence - This game rocks!

posted by cureme (HERMOSA BEACH, CA) Oct 18, 2008

Member since Oct 2003

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Amazing game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not worth it

posted by majjestic (TAMPA, FL) Jun 10, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

5 out of 16 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

This game is very repetitive with the same monsters and no bosses about 75% through the game. I suggest renting it if you want it that bad. It can make you jump from time to time but not the scariest game, the only real great part of this game is the creative death scenes but if the games strong point is when you die that isn't very good. You will usually be doing chores and fetching games going back and forth through the same paths finding yourself bored. I give it a 4/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse