Rent Dead Space Extraction for Wii
view large frontback

Dead Space Extraction

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.8

2054 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

In space, no one can hear you shoot aliens

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Nov 3, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

16 out of 18 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Dead Space Extraction may be a departure for the series, being an on-rail shooter and all. However, it's one of the most impressive on-rail shooters I've ever seen, providing the Wii with a great interpretation of the game.
Extraction is actually a prequel story, following a group of survivors from an alien attack as they travel to the USG Ishimura. Unfortunately, they find yet another infestation to survive, which eventually ends where the original Dead Space starts. Considering it's an on-rail shooter, the story is pretty heavy. The entire time you're in the game, the story is playing out in front of your eyes. Just watching as a seemingly calm colony succumb to the parasitic aliens and descend into chaos is an immersive experience.
The shooting action is deeper than most in this genre. You can grab and throw objects, collect upgrades, open lockers and choose paths throughout the game. The weapons in the game can be swapped out, leaving you with four at a time. Twisting the Wiimote to the side activates an alt-fire mode, which gives you plenty of options throughout the game.
While there are a couple bosses, the game often gives you standard enemies that need to be killed by shooting their limbs. You get a stasis device which can temporarily slow enemies in a pinch. This becomes very useful toward the end.
On Normal difficulty, it's not too hard to run through the game's eight hour length. You can unlock higher difficulties, bonus material and challenges as you go through the story. You can also play 2-player co-op, a mainstay in the world of on-rail.
Having no control over the camera or your movement has it's downsides. If you don't grab upgrades the first time you see them, you may not have a chance later, the camera can move just as you try lining up shots and it can be disorienting.
The light-gun game is a dying breed, perhaps for a reason. But Extraction does so much with the genre that it makes the case to keep it alive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

On Rails

posted by dgolightly519 (PRESTON, ID) Feb 26, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If the title of this bothers you, good for you. Do not rate badly simply because YOU don't like the format. Games should be rated based on criteria, not on what type of game they are. This one should be rated as an on-rails shooter, an arcade style game, not as a Horror-RPG like you might rate a Silent Hill or other Dead Space game on another console. As an on-rails shooter, this game is loads of fun (though a bit easy from time to time). Weapon options (so far) have been interesting and story-line has been progressive and interesting.

I personally like the on-rails format, which also worked for Resident Evil: Darkside Chronicles. The fact that you are periodically able to choose directions helps to add some control to the game. An on-rails shooter is perfect for the Wii, with the point and shoot mechanism (even on my large screen).

This game is a solid 7, possibly 7.5. Do not trust reviews that say otherwise based on biases about the format, unless you absolutely hate this format of game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

House of the Dead Space

posted by teejay13 (GREENVILLE, NC) Oct 13, 2009

Member since Jun 2005

25 out of 29 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Obviously, the thing that most people hate is the fact that you're on a rail, much like an arcade shooter. That means you can't control your movement through the level, it's automatic. Your job is to shoot whatever comes on the screen. This removes most of the game's fear factor. No slinking around in the dark and checking every corner, not knowing when something will come at you.

On the plus side, the characters are interesting and the story is addictive. This game is less about investigating what's going on then the first one and more about just getting the heck out alive. Fans of dead space will get to meet familiar faces, both good and ugly, as well as visit some recognizable areas. And of course, 2-P Co-op is always a major plus in my book. Nothing brings friends and family together like eviscerating hordes of murderous monsters.

My recommendation is to get a Wii zapper or some other similar piece to get maximum fun out of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pretty good rail-shooter!

posted by Mobeer (BALTIMORE, OH) Oct 8, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

19 out of 23 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Hopefully you understand what a rail-shooter is before renting this game and giving it a low score because you're not in complete control of the characters movement. Anyways, for those who do understand, this is a really good game. The story is a great complement to the ps3/360 version of Dead Space. This prequel puts you in situations that you will find coincide with the original game. The voice acting is very good, and although graphicly the Wii is not up to ps3/360 standards the visuals are some of the best for the Wii platform that I've seen. The controls are done very well with the Wiimote, and never felt restricted or choppy to me throughout the game. I loved the original, and this new game is a fresh look at Dead Space in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

THE WORST GAME I HAVE EVER PLAYED

posted by Cassidy (PORTLAND, OR) Nov 18, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Dead Space: Extraction is literally the worst game i have ever played. There is one overwhelming factor which contributes to my rage and hatred: the fact that all movement in the game is determined beforehand. the only choice you can make is when and where to shoot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wasnt what i thought it was going to be

posted by Hienrich90 (TUCSON, AZ) Jun 21, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

just like what my title says I didnt think it was going to be like what i had thought.... I do not have much love for arcade style games i like to venture around the map and pick up stuff not go were the computer directs me....so defianitly a thumbs down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

House of the dead... in SPACCEEEE ~acee ~accee

posted by Jasnyder (KITTANNING, PA) Apr 11, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

Okay: If you're into house of the dead, that's great. This game is right up your alley. The Deviation from the original "Dead Space" is immediately noticeable.

Its got your "auto move", which was a terrible idea. you use your nifty little tractor beam to make spirited attempts at picking up ammo as your character automatically runs by it.

It wasn't scary, whatsoever. Part of my enjoyment of the original dead space was wondering when that crazy tentacle was going to burst from a wall and tear me to bits

I seriously played this game for maybe.... 45 minutes... before being fed up with it and turning it off. Sent back 30 minutes later.

Don't waste your rental time on this junk.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

just boring

posted by rattata101 (WELLSBORO, PA) Nov 8, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

i rented this game hoping for a good scare around halloween. other tittles had nicely impressed me like resident evil 5 and house of the dead overkill. i had played some of the original dead space with a friend and found it interesting and wanted to try something simular. so naturally tried this tittle with a couple friends. we played through the first four levels before i finally asked them if they were enjoying the game, i wasn't. they agreed that it was just not that interesting. i couldn't see through the cross hairs on the game, the plot was flighty, and the intensity of a horror game just wasn't there. on a positive note the graphics were descent for a wii game and controls were ok. we spent most of our time just grappling random things until we picked up something good. just not an interesting game. glad i rented and didn't buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

GOOD GAME BUT WAY TO SHORT!!!

posted by Hbk534 (HUBBARD, OH) Oct 26, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This is a great addition to the Dead Space franchise in terms of story telling. The only real downside from using the rail shooter perspective is that the extreme sense of fear and helplessness is taken away. You will no longer feel the sense of terror as you go intp the next room since you can't control movement. The only reason i didn't given this game an 8 is its length. Six and a half hours is unacceptable for a $50 game. Makes me appreciate that i rented it with Gamefly.

Story: 8/10 Good but not even remotley as scary as the original.
Gameplay: 6/10 Not many option being on rails. Takes away from the horror aspects of the environment.
Sound: 7/10 Almost as good as the original. Listening to audio logs with the wiimote while playing is difficult at best.
Replay Value: 7/10 Given its short length you might as well replay it. Diffent paths are available occasionally.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

I know it's a rail shooter; it's still lame

posted by RazielNDK (HALTOM CITY, TX) Oct 13, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

4 out of 12 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I played the first Dead Space game and loved it - terrific plot, and there are almost no hard sci fi games made these days, so it was a much needed addition.

This new game (yes, i do know what a rail shooter game is, thanks) is, I feel, an effort-lacking attempt to capitalize on the success of Dead Space. Rather than release an FPS game (which could have been easily done instead of this forced-perspective rail gunning nightmare) instead EA chose to make the next Dead Space game i played THIS.....thing. I understand redoing side scroller games, shooters, etc, but to go so far as to create an entire game with no control of the character aside from "Hey, here's a door, open it" or "shoot that zombie" is pretty........disappointing, really. Most of the terror in Dead Space comes from knowing that the second you walk around that corner a gigantic doom zombie could eat your face and still summoning the courage to walk around that corner.

Now if I don't have enough control of my character to make that decision myself, and instead am dragged through levels that may have been entirely lifted straight out of the first game, I'm not going to enjoy it.

Some may like this game but I am disappointed. I really hope EA makes Dead Space 2 and you can CONTROL the character.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

didnt get 2 far

posted by joshuaclvr (EL DORADO SPRINGS, MO) Apr 6, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

kinda gave up during the second lvl 4 shots and no control over my toon OMG

Peace
Joshua

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

disappointing...

posted by pozredbear (BROKEN ARROW, OK) Dec 31, 2009

Member since May 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I was so looking forward to this game as the first was a lot of fun. The gameplay was ok and the graphics were good and all that but I will get right to the point, this game would have been a real knock out fun game if they would have given you control of your own movements. It was so maddening to not be able to control weather you went back or forward or left or right, you couldn't even look in the direction you wanted to and the times they gave you a little free look it was only for like 4 or 5 seconds. It was very very sad. There were things that you could grab like power ups and ammo and weapons if you got to it in that split second you went by it and then boom it was gone. and they could have used a few more weapons choices and more ammo for the good weapons. Just think before you rent it, it is fun but so very maddening and angering that you cannot control your movements in the game at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The "Survival" Part of Survival Horror

posted by IllogicalJ (BROOKLYN, NY) Oct 12, 2009

Member since May 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

With the choice to make the new Dead Space a prequel and a rail-shooter, it's impossible for this game to be true "survival horror." You see, we already know where it's going--so the suspense is limited--and because we're stuck on a preset path, there's little that can REALLY catch us off guard. However, once you get used to the shaky-cam and clever controls (switch guns with the left, tilt the right for secondary fire), you'll find that the "survival" part--especially on harder difficulties--is "dead" on. Because you can't run away from your foes, evasion isn't an option, so every scene is smoothly integrated into a life-or-death battle. I'd call it an interactive movie, but the gameplay goes far beyond quick-time events, and really does make you earn your keep.

Even things that seem annoying wind up being thrilling. For instance, all guns have an ammo cap, and because you can't revisit areas (by choice), you can't go back for more. In other words: take your shots carefully, and learn to prioritize which enemies you use stasis on. (And for the love of god, don't miss.)

The inclusion of a comic book, audio and video logs, and more helps to flesh out the story--as a prequel should--and is actually entertaining in its own right. Challenge mode is fun, too, as is the task of getting a five-star rating in each level. This may not be as tense or frightening as the original, but it's certainly manages to put the "survival" in "survival horror."

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

First Person, Third Person Shooter

posted by Melarlo (BELTON, MO) Oct 16, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

Well, dead it is. After my wife and I both became true Dead Space fans, we were "horrified" by this entry to the series. With much FPS experience under my belt, I undertook the quest of Dead Space Extraction thinking that perhaps it would enlighten us to the very interesting story beyond Dead Space Downfall (which was enjoyed immensely)... unfortunately by taking most of the control away from this game it is a mindless, button-pushing jaunt through a probably entertaining story. This might sound great, but they could have just produced another animated movie that I would have bought. Without being able to control my character or discover things for myself, it kind of feels like Link's Crossbow with more blood and better weapons.

Now, don't get me wrong, Dead Space can still, most likely, hit the PS3 and/or XBOX 360 with a game that takes the story further without sacrificing the immersion into the story.

As this entry to the series stands, I cannot stress enough the lack of personal connection with the game play and would highly recommend this game for anyone looking for a point-and-click style game. Sadly, I think this game could have been produced in Flash and wouldn't have had to tie up My GameQ.

In the words of Comic Book Guy, "Worst. Prequel. Ever.".

My suggestion: Let someone else play, record it, and watch it later when you have some time to kill.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Another Game that should NOT Have been Made

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Apr 16, 2010

Member since Mar 2004

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Well Again another Game for the Wii That isnt worth a Cent and should never have been made. Unfourtunatly being a on Rail shooter makes this game really Boring and Actually rather No Fun to Play since all the Player gets to do is Push Buttons you have NO Control of the Charactur Your Playing Other then Shooting. The Game Moves for you at The Pace the Programmers Wanted so 98% of the time Your going by Things far to fast the other 2% of the time You Move far to slow. When will they make a GOOD Game for the Wii? Answer NEVER. It Would be to easy to make a Good game for the Wii so they Just Keep Putting out Trash like this for the Wii. This is one game that should never be bought or rented and should have every copy of it Burnt so no one else is exposed to the Trash this game is

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty Good First Time 'Round, But...

posted by JLOCKE5592 (PEMBROKE PINES, FL) Oct 26, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

The game was fun, it had a lot of "Oh ---!" moments in it, and the rail-system complemented the game well. The graphics were decent for a Wii game, although nothing compared to the 360/PS3 original, but it looked like the makers made an effort.

I had one problem with it the first time I played it through though, at one door, it was stuck loading. I thought nothing of it, and restarted it, and kept playing. Then after beating it, I was playing it with a friend, and on the second level, the screen just froze with odd pix-elation's on the screen. Again I thought nothing of it, I restarted the system, and we kept playing. Then within a half-hour after the last occurrence, it got stuck again, this time, the character was stuck staring at the path that it was suppose to follow, but would just not budge. There was still music and sound effects playing and the camera was still swaying, but the game simply refused to budge. By this point, I just about had it with the game.

I don't hate the game, but I am annoyed by it. I'm not saying don't rent it either, but just take these bugs into account if you read this before renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A mature shooter for the Wii

posted by Dirk2000 (VENICE, CA) Oct 22, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Dead Space is one of the tightest original franchises for next-gen consoles such as the PS3 and XBox360. The original boasts a great story line, ingenious art direction and most importantly, an involving and challenging game play.
Now Dead Space is available for the Wii, and with a simple but decisive trick, the developers have managed to present the original atmosphere and game play despite the Wii's obvious limitations in computing/processing power.
The trick is simple: Dead Space Extraction is an on-the-rails shooter, which is much easier on the processor. After all, the game "walks" players through the experience, so what we see of the actual game locations like The Colony or the space ship Ishumara is far less than the (freely explorable) original.
The result is a very enjoyable, action-packed experience that makes great use of the Wii's control scheme.
Dead Space Extraction marks the addition of a mature-themed title to the Wii game line-up – a segment that so far has been neglected by developers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

(yes, i do know what a rail shooter game is

posted by mike050876 (HIGHLANDS, NJ) Oct 22, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

(yes, i do know what a rail shooter game is, thanks) still the game would have been better left dead..........make it more like the 360 version and ill buy it again the way it is now .... lame.. short ,boring,enough said

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Ummmm, r u serious?

posted by Sinister (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Oct 2, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

4 out of 35 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

First off, you dont get to control your own dang movements, what the heck? In the game you have to pick up health packs and what not, but if you walk right past it, forget going back to pick it up, nope, game wont let you, why? Becuz you arnt in control of yourself, the game is. THAT right there, makes me give this game an F+++. Now you want a good Dead space, play xbox 360 verson.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Rail Game Ever!!!

posted by Dac2142 (POTOMAC, MD) Oct 7, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 12 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

With intuitive controls and cinematic action no rail game can beat dead space extraction.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by HaloFreakJ117 (BETHLEHEM, PA) Apr 6, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

The Gameplay for it is horrible, now it is great with the whole "this is what happened on Ishimura" but its horrible. It does not have the dead space scares like its suppose to have. You dont get the same dead space experience. It is so boring and not scary at all and i get scared easily. So i recommend not getting it but watching just for the story of things that intertwine with Dead Space 1.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

not bad

posted by skinnydragon191 (CHAMPLIN, MN) Jan 10, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

This game is a little old so expect to have some trouble playng the cd. The game is a little better then what most folks say it is in here becuse its got great graphics, the same zombie like theme you know in resident evil that we love and had a few scares.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Failed all because of the on-rails. Sorry!

posted by nr_clark (MARLTON, NJ) Nov 15, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

This was one of the first games I ever played on the Wii. I was blown away by how overall great the game was made. It had impressive Wii-standard graphics, chilling music, compelling/freaky storyline, great weapons system, pretty scary moments, etc....basically a very iconic game.

Unfortunately (and this is a big blow) there were two issues: #1: the on-rails movement thru the levels/chapters, and #2: the incredibly poor acting & body language of the main characters.

I say #1 because--hey, this isn't a theme park ride; the lack of exploration makes the game reek of a "play per token" sort of appeal like "house of the dead". This arcade-ish gameplay made the experience feel less freestanding, and more chained at the ankle as you try to grab a special item but move too quickly past it, so on and so forth.

I say #2 because, with the effort they put into the other features, I can't believe how "off" the emotions were. The reactions, ethos, fright, body movement, just everything was off. It really made a ragdoll feel of the characters, instead of giving them some sort of liveliness.

Obviously, as seen in Dead Space 1 & 2 on Xbox, the developers knew these two issues needed to be improved upon, and so they did make quite a few tweeks here and there as evident by the looks of the gameplay and character interactions. They look like completely different games compared to the Wii's game, IMHO.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

game play

posted by robertwilson (ELLISVILLE, MS) Mar 1, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

The only real problem i had with this game was how the game play was on desinated tracks; meaning all i could really control for myself was what i shot at. Needs user friendly walkabout controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game needs a higher score

posted by vdrguy (ACTON, CA) Feb 3, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

First of all, if you are looking for the same or a similar expierence as Dead Space on PS3/360 look somewhere else. As a person who considers himself a hardcore gamer but only owns a wii, i have played almost every game on the wii worth playing and i have to tell you this game is awesome, for a wii game.
First this is a wii game. The graphics are not as good as the PS3 so don't expect them to be HD. However this is some of the best realistic (not cartoony or stylized) graphics on the wii, especially faces. They look great and if you play a lot of wii games you would also agree that this is up there with Goldeneye and Metroid Prime 3 with graphics.
Second this is a Rail-Shooter. You do not control movement besides picking certain branching paths. You aim and shoot with the wii remote and reload and switch weapons with the nunchuck. This works suprisingly well for a horror game in that it is more akin to a film and features moments like turning sharply to an alien around the corner.
Third the first level in the game is wierd. It is very confusing and does not represent the rest of the game but (SPOILER ALERT) you play as a crazy guy who thinks people are trying to kill you and starts shooting his felow coworkers. After this scean you are introduced to the actual characters in the game and the story (a pretty good story by the way) is told through multiple characters.
This game is awesome and needs to be played if you love Dead Space, Rail-Shooters, or are just looking for a good wii game you might have overlooked. This game is pretty cinematic and as a bonus includes a visual comic which gives you even more backstory to the Dead Space cannon.
If you liked Dead Space enough to watch that Dead Space anime then you will like this game. If you enjoyed other wii shooters like House of the Dead Overkill or Resident Evil Darkside Chronicles (Which are both great wii rail-shooters) You will also love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse