Rent Dead Space 3 for PS3
view large frontback

Dead Space 3

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.1

2078 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best dead space yet

posted by mrman1234 (LITTLE FALLS, NJ) Feb 21, 2013

Member since Sep 2010

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The only 2 issues I have with this game are this: completely dumb love triangle and not enough horror sequences. Dead Space 4 should not try to expand the scope of the universe, it should condense it, maybe a non-issac horror story. I just don't want it to get too big and action based that it loses its magic.

With that said, this was the best game in the series. The environments (space, frozen planet, mountains, etc) were top notch. Issacs character is well developed as an imperfect hero. Carver's character is a great addition to balance Issac's. The overall story was well constructed with very few pointless missions. Optional missions helped tell the complete story (maybe they should make a game based solely on the SCAF).

The weapons customization was good but slightly flawed. As soon as I got the grenade launcher, everything else seemed under-powered. You can still use the other weapons well and the combinations are truly innovative. Maybe in the next game they will make the rig highly customizable.

It took about 15 hours to beat on hard, so probably not worth buying. And the only DLC I think might be worth buying is the bot additional resources. I bought the bot accelorator and it is not useful. Overall, Dead Space 3 is a great game to play in a cold month.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game, but repetitive

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Feb 16, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2009

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Overview
==================
I've played each of the Dead Space games and this was actually my favorite. Not all would agree, but I actually found the story more coherent than the previous two games.

The game was very polished and still had a good balance between action and horror. The biggest complaint is the repetitive fetch errands you do throughout the game.

Pros
================
1) great graphics (some of the best this gen)
2) solid code (saw very few bugs or frame rate issues)
3) good story as far as dead space goes

Cons
================
1) repetitive
2) need online code to play co-op

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great End to the Trilogy.

posted by Tstruck6024 (LOVELAND, CO) Feb 16, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I see a alot of these reviews saying the story lacks in this one, but I would disagree. Sure sometimes the story strays, but don't be fooled this was a great great game. Less Scary? Maybe, but I think by now we know what to expect scare wise. This is a must play. The only negative is that you have to buy the game if you want to play online Co-op which I think would have been a lot of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

No save feature

posted by misterblasty (MIAMI, FL) Mar 12, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is garbage. I have played for hours on end, used the fake "save and quit" feature, only to restart the game later and have to play entire levels over.

Thank you for stealing my time EA.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Didn't like

posted by jayprime (BOYES HOT SPRINGS, CA) Feb 2, 2014

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a long departure from the original Dead Space. It is not a survival/horror type game. This is a third person shooter all the way. I played for an hour before I returned it to Gamefly. The characters are boring and the fighting is extremely clunky. The music of the game is dull and sound fx are nothing to remember. But I think I am jaded by the original game. A newer generation gamer who hasn't played the first one would like this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST EVER!!!!!!!!!!

posted by Jewlez (BRUNSWICK, GA) Aug 22, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game had me on the edge of my seat the whole time. Its by far the scariest in the series. With mind blowing puzzles, challenging zero gravity flights, and faster, stronger necromorphs, this game will not disappoint. I waited a long time to play this game, and it was well worth the wait. The story line grips you and takes you for the wildest ride as Isaac Clarke, who has endured more then anyone should. If you havent played Dead Space 1 or Dead Space 2, you should start there first. Reason for that is so you can build up the story properly, feel the pain Isaac has been through, which will fuel you in this game. This game has many side quests, which is well worth the trouble, giving weapons and parts for special things. I love this game, the developers and the series!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Dead Spectacular

posted by StarRaven (WELLINGTON, FL) Feb 10, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

19 out of 23 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Alright...this game is good. I said it.

I don't know why, but this series always puts me in a frenzy before it comes out.

The first Dead Space, for some reason I just had no interest in (and I play everything) and the day it came out, it was so popular, I said "Alright I'll give it a shot" and it was AMAZING.

Dead Space 2 was coming out and for what ever reason, I was kinda hesitant about whether it was going to be as good as the first one and all that. It was. It too was AMAZING.

Dead Space 3 comes around and I'll like "It's gonna be too action-y, Co-Op's gonna be lame, they're gonna mess this one up, doom and gloom, blah blah blah"
Nope. Game is great. Every thing you love about the first one, or second one is all there.
Is it LESS scary? Maybe...but, we're also used to the "Dead Space Forumla" -it's the third game guys. We know all their scare tactics.
Is it MORE action-y? I don't think so. Dead Space always had intense battles with Necromorphs mixed in with slow, creepy investigating. I don't think thats any different. I think the difference is the length of those battles and maybe the number of Necromorphs, but, it's really no different.
Has the story suffered? Yes...its a bit silly at times but it is still better than just about anything else that isn't a AAA game.

And lets be honest...it's the BEST horror game out right now. Even less mainstream horror games might be good but they don't have the polish this does, and the big names aren't cutting it anymore (Resident Evil - HA!, Silent Hill-Eh...)
My big comparison for this game was gonna be when people were hating RE5 for being too much action and my argument was that it didn't matter because a good game is a good game and RE5 was a better action game than most, however disappointing it was. I thought this would be the same, but it's NOT. This game IS horror and it IS Dead Space. Through and through.

If you like the first two. PLAY IT. You won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

best dead space yet

posted by pagefan13 (BURLINGTON, VT) Feb 21, 2013

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

i played every DS and liked each one but was not crazy about them. When i got this game it was so much better than the others ive played like 3 times.for anyone who says u have to pay for good weapons to compete in this games is crazy i made my first gun and was able to play like half the game while still using that first gun. as far as ea making u buy stuff u dont have to buy anything everything u can get by playing the game.i know paying to play online sucks but i bought the pass and thought it was well worth thought the game was more fun with a friend. so for me this was a great game worth every minute i spent on it and every dime i spent for the pass.my only real complaint was i wanted it to be longer its not real short but not real long either i think it took like 20 hours

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Too Much 3rd Person Shooter, Not Enough Dead Space

posted by Lethal_Noob (CHICO, CA) Feb 8, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

9 out of 15 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game just came today. Timing was excellent because I've spent the past three days running through DS2 on hardcore. I finished it though. Nailed down the platinum trophy at long last. Checked the mail, and there was DS3. Oh happy day!
For the first half hour or so I was mad about the music being so upbeat and completely out of touch. The combat is maddening now. You're attacked by a fast moving pack that laughs at your meager weapons and abilities. Don't despair though. The good folks at EA are more than happy to sell you the guns and armor you need to be in contention. For about 2/3 or the retail cost of this game, you can be completely geared up and ready to fight the hordes of enemies that will be coming at you. You'll also have to pay up some real world money if you want to play any sort of co-op. Fair warning. I'm going to keep at it and hopefully beat it in a day or two, then send it on its way. So far, the only thing scary about this game is the extra price tag you have to pay just to feel adequate. I don't feel any sense of connection to the characters in this game, and that is a real shame. I wanted to be disturbed, shocked, frightened even, but I'm just getting disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

9/10

posted by TROJAN027 (PHOENIX, AZ) Feb 6, 2013

Member since May 2010

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

i cant really say im a good game reviewer,but this game is a great game.i just got it in the mail today at 1:00 pm the game itself is really addicting and time consuming i started playing it once i got it at 1:00 and looked up at the clock and it was already 3:00. Alls i can say is if you liked Dead space 2 and 1 youll love deadspace 3. The only thing about this game i dont like is how frustrating some things are and how their are some things they give you no clue on how to figure out and it can become very frustrating but doesnt every game?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Whats going on at EA?

posted by Primer55 (EULESS, TX) Feb 10, 2013

Member since Nov 2011

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Has EA been taken over by the Kardashians or something? Will we ever see a game that doesn't have we just want your money written all over it. Does anyone at that company ever read any of the reviews on how awful they are now. I loved this series but this game is so uninteresting and frustrating that I'm already sending it back, and I haven't even gotten to the part in the story where the atmosphere changes to the cold blizzard like stage. Most Wanted was a complete marketing scam by EA and it seems they have no intention of changing that style of business.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

The worst out of the trilogy

posted by Yoku (INVERNESS, FL) Feb 10, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

I loved Dead Space, I thought 2 was good, but 3 is just a big pain. The story is pretty bad, and it really makes no sense. It's kinda like they're making up stuff as they go along and they threw common sense out the window. Plus you can tell it made for multiplayer with a lot of missions have you multi-tasking, and customization was a great idea, but when it comes down to it it's pretty useless. I mean I'm not writing that it's horrible, but it is bad, and anyone who gives this game a 7 or higher is just a fanboy who praise there faults. It's sad that they ruined a once great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible game

posted by bleblock (ROSEVILLE, CA) Feb 13, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

4 out of 12 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Worst game ive played this generation, terrible story gameplay sucks. Who wants to clmb mountains? Dead space is supposed to be scary. Once again worst game in the series not even worth the rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

boring

posted by blackunicorn666 (TUCSON, AZ) Mar 5, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i gave it 2 points because there are some cool scary parts... but as far as game play, boring. i feel like i played this game a thousand times in the late 90's and early 2000's... levels are not very interactive and weapons are boring and weak.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Dead Space 3 or Mass Effects 4?

posted by Chessfu (PORTAGE, IN) Feb 17, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Ok was it just me. Or does this game feel like another Mass Effects? Take away the TECH weapons and few other items. And Dead Space becomes Mass Effects. Same shadow org that wants artifacts for themselves. Just like in Mass Effects, Same Nav system, same feel as Mass Effects.

What Dead Space lacks compared to Mass Effects? Not a true RPG, all decisions are made for you. Like in MASS EFFECTS characters die off for no real good reason, expect to move story to next point.

Next the Weapons you need to improve can't be max out an made into super weapons like in DS 1 or 2.

DS 3 is a good game, not great as the Ads try to lead you to believe.

PROS: 3rd person shooter, Story line is interesting.

CONS: So hints, in case you get stuck, need to be able to carry 3 not 2 weapons.

I would to have seen what DS3 could do if they added a few more perks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Sad end to the Trilogy

posted by Jimbones84 (MOUNT PLEASANT, SC) Feb 8, 2013

Member since May 2012

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

The first Dead Space was awesome. This final rendition of the trilogy was a distant watered down version. The cover system felt very forced, and the combat was obnoxiously repetitive. I am wiping my hands of the Dead Space realm, and I wish that wasn't the case. There was a lot of potential with this series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Incredible

posted by kbodin1 (LYNN, MA) Feb 12, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

This game is just pretty awesome right from the get go. The graphics are sweet and the game play is pretty smooth. I love the storyline thus far, i've put about 9 hours into the game so far and i can't find much i don't like about it so far.
TPS games are always a step up in my book, they usually get either a 9 or 10 rating. I just got done playing Far Cry 3 and i thought it was pretty awesome for FPS, but this game is just leaps and bounds ahead.
Great job Visceral games, this game is a definite buy.
If you like DS1 and DS2, you'll definetly love this installment as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Dead Space 3: Spacier

posted by Eminemfan (MCCLEARY, WA) Sep 10, 2014

Member since Oct 2011

Alright so i`m gonna start by saying to everyone out there this is NOT a survival horror game anymore its an action game with jump scares. Does that make it bad though is the question. So I actually quite enjoyed this game to say the truth I thought it was a good action game with an okay story, some decent action, a good cover mechanic, and some not to bad characters. I only had one problem, I don`t know if this is the same in each mode for the game (There are multiple) but I REALLY FREAKING HATE the fact that all weapons run on the same ammo, I would have liked it better if each customization took different ammo. My only bad thing. Other then that its pretty good!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Dead Space 3

posted by hevinlyreign (SPOKANE, WA) Feb 15, 2014

Member since May 2012

Great game. I would say it is the best in the series. It is definitely longer than any of the other installments.

Story is great. There are more things going on in this installment, and more characters involved, which is good. But, still lacked depth and no emotion conveyed. I mean, there is emotion and sentiment, but the kind of the likes of Sly Stone in 'Rocky'

Graphics are amazing. The sound quality is too notch. The story is really good. I am confused, still, to the first prologue part of the game, to the extent to not knowing why it was there to begin with.

Customizing weapons was better than ever, but still lacked majorly. You are not really creating weapons, you are more so, creating 'tools' which, 3 games in, Issac should know that he is going to need more than a rivet gun to battle Necros. Where is the minigun? Especially in this version, there are mercs that are teamed with Issac which should have made it more versatile with tools/weapons. I tried nearly every possibility put just stuck with the same weapon the entire game.

Biggest issues are that it is very repetitive and it i too one-directional. You have the whole universe more or less on your shoulders, but you are directed in such a linear path that it makes it unrealistic... speaking of unrealistic, there are too many times in DS3 that are too unreal, to the point that it is gimmicky. Issac is just a man, not the man of steel... if you've played the game, you understand, if you haven't you'll get it.

Anyways. All-in-all. Great game. I got tired of the repetitiveness and towards the end of the game, I just wanted it to be over and was exhausted of looking for items, artifacts, and weapon upgrades.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bad

posted by BlueSteel209 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Feb 7, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

Dont get

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THE BEST

posted by SOUR_11B (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Sep 22, 2013

Member since Sep 2013

this is the greatest game ever created in the history of the world

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game, but still...

posted by catsamurai (GROVES, TX) Aug 31, 2013

Member since Oct 2010

I've love the series and this game is very good. The level select is an awesome feature, but the co-op feature isn't great. Especially for me because I have no one to play with. I don't know if I can't complete the game without the co-op missions, can I? Well, even if I can't it's still a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

An Awesome 3rd person Action Survival Horror Game

posted by Blackdomino8 (SAN JUAN, TX) Aug 24, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

Let me just say this game is amazing in so many Ways. The story is exactly where it needs to be. First off the gameplay is amazing. From cutting limbs off to Necromorphs to cliff hanging on a snow mountain, crash landing the marker homeworld on Tau Volantis, this game is incredible. The weapons in this game are bigger and effective than ever. Now you get to customize and combine weapons. Which gives it more replayablity. The horror is still there and hasn't left. The only thing that left is the ammo. It's a universal clip. Other than that seeing Isaac and Ellie again is superb. Of course I would rather see them stick together side by side. They should be a team in Co-op. I expected more from Ellie's character. She needed a gun like Dead space 2. So hopefully we see more of Isaac and Ellie in the near future.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Big Name Title with Little deliverance

posted by chargerbrett (DAYTON, OH) Aug 23, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

This was the first Dead Space game I played so maybe thats why I thought it was weak. I didn't like the controls, they seemed a little complicated. The enemies were a little too strong for the weapon strength. I played maybe only 2 hours into the game and sent it back. Worth the rent if you are into these types of games but definetly not worth the buy. Story was also hard to follow as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game of 2013 yet

posted by ksambad (SANTA ROSA, CA) Aug 23, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

I loved this game reminded me of old school resident evil games.... story line is cool and kept me entertained..... never played a dead space before and after this one, i had to back track and play them all. great overalll the customization gun menu is dope, reply value is high based on that and creating new cool guns. yet to play dead pool or last of us, GTA5 ..... still waiting gamefly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse