Rent Dead Space 2 for PS3
view large frontback

Dead Space 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.4

8407 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fantastic Game!

posted by treoptika (REDDING, CA) Feb 3, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

60 out of 64 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

Wow! Absolutely amazing game, but then again I am a fan of the series. I definitely agree with another users earlier review that this game is essentially a massive level pack for dead space 1. There's not a lot of ''new'' here, but as the old axiom goes don't fix what ain't broke. This game delivers on the scares, perhaps not as much as the original because of the fact that you've by now already played a dead space game and know what to expect.

A few slow spots here and there were actually Welcome additions to the game, as it gave me a moment to stop and breathe. If you want the genuine experience, send your room mate's off for the night. Sit directly in front of the screen, crank the sound up, and play in the dark.

I noticed there were a few internet tough guys on here all claiming how the game isn't at all scary or shouldn't even be reviewed as survival horror. Firstly, bump the settings up to the hardest available difficulty. Secondly, play in the dark alone with surround sound. Inevitably the jump scares are going to stop tricking you, but the real joy is in the overall ambiance of the game. I constantly felt like a person lost in the jungle with only a knife and a single bottle of water.

Oh. And as for all the "comic-book-guy" critics out there over-analyzing the plot or specific points of the story. Get over it. Its a story about freakin' alien space monsters. It's not such a horrible thing to suspend your belief for a minute and just go with the imagination. It's not like it's outlandishly crazy like Indiana Jones surviving a nuclear explosion in a fridge.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

DS2 Delivers

posted by Jsway76 (EUREKA, CA) Jan 30, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

20 out of 23 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

First of all, I want to say that I've read all of the reviews of this game on Gamefly and to be honest, I'm a bit ashamed of some of you. Giving the game a poor rating after only playing for 30 minutes is pathetic. If you quit that early on, you have no idea what you're missing. Moving on.

This is possibly the best sci-fi/action/survival horror game of all time. Sure it starts off slow, but the developers are building up to something here. For the first hour or so, they are setting the tone and mood for the story. If you can get to the "train sequence", you'll see what I mean. From then on out, Dead Space 2 is a constant thrill ride. The scares are perfect and unexpected. The storyline is engrossing and addictive. The graphics are top of the line for a console game, and the sound is subtle, eerie, and at the same time explosive and horrific. DS2 never fails to surprise or to deliver a complete, action packed, immersive gaming experience.

Isaac Clarke has gone from an "everyman suffering through his worst nightmare" to a "seasoned, had it up to here bad mamma-jamma". Which is the natural progression for someone who has done this before. And yet, all of the stress and violence has taken it's toll on him.

I am praying that the franchise continues if they are going to make such a close to perfect game as this one.

Yes, the multiplayer is seriously lacking, but I didn't buy this game to dismember my online friends. I bought it for a truely engaging, action packed, and horrific gaming experience. Which is exactly what I got.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I LOVE THIS GAME!!!

posted by JusticeArt (GRANBURY, TX) Jan 24, 2011

Member since Apr 2008

18 out of 27 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

My favorite game genre is survival horror, and the Dead Space titles are at the top of the list. I’m 29 and have been playing and collecting games since ATARI. And out of all the games I have ever played (which are a lot) I have never played a game as much as Dead Space; great game. Now the sequel is finally here and it’s amazing. This game (like the first one) has me constantly holding my breath, and admiring the details of the horrific art and designs. This game is definitely a heart pounding thrill ride and a must own game. I give this game a 10 for truly staying on top of the modern competition in what’s to be expected on todays games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The first was better

posted by tkolnik (HUGO, MN) Feb 6, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

16 out of 24 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Don't get me wrong; this game is great. It just seems like this game was not as deep and not nearly as challenging as the last one. This game has more weapons then the last, but there were no in-game games (zero-g ball, shooting range) and way less boss battles!
I've been reading most of the reviews and it seems like people who really loved this game are fans of the series. If you haven't played the first; do yourself a favor and try it before you pick this one up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Isaac is in deep..

posted by UkManiak (ROCHESTER, NY) Jan 25, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2010

10 out of 15 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Dead Space 2 is more alive than ever. Isaac is back and the necromorph are meaner than ever. The city you are now in, the sprawl has much more eye candy to see than the Ishamura. Isaac's suit and weapons look better, and he now has a voice and the personality suits this games genre very well.

You feel much closer to Isaac this time around for he may be infected and is having horrible hallucinations of his first love, Nicole. Not only is he being hunted by creatures but by his own government now as well. The emotional addition added to gameplay was well deserved and well played.

Those sweaty palms, my hearts-a-poundin' moments are back. The single player delivers and pleases beyond expectations. multiplayer on the other hand is another story.

Mulltiplayer is one mode, one boring and sloppy attempt at something new and fresh. Necromorphs vs. Humans, sounds better on paper than what was actually givin' to gamers. You will be bored with it rather fast which is a shame, because the concept of OmNomNoming a friends face off sounded lovely..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good, but still has it's flaws.

posted by PaqmanDan (CLEARWATER, FL) Jan 29, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Dead Space was a surprise to many gamers, with them saying that the game was a good chance for the survival horror genre to survive. The game had it's flaws though, which kept it from being fantastic.

Now on January 25, Dead Space 2 has finally been released.

Dead Space 2 is an amazing thriller from beginning to end. Issac Clarke, the protagonist, now has a voice of his own. Being a very bold choice from Visceral Games, this functions well. There are good voice actors and the sound design is phenomenal.

There are still zero gravity sequences, and they have been improved also. Instead of jumping from place to place, the player flies, which is a lot more fun.

Although there many things that keep it a float, there are still flaws that can keep some players from playing the game. The combat can be extremely frustrating, sometimes there are really bad difficulty spikes, other times there could be need a for rear-view mirror. What I mean by that, is that there were many instances where the games has me focus on about three enemies in front me, while I am unaware that there is an enemy about to attack me from behind. Other times, you had to quickly hack an object before an enemy gets to you. It really does not help when the necromorph can run 50 mph. Also, I recommend to play the game on the easy difficulty, mainly because of the spikes i have mentioned before.

Although the game has these unfortunate flaws, there are still many reasons to play it. There are amazing moments in the game and story was well done for a horror game of this generation.

Rent it if you want to try it out. Buy it if you are a big fan of the first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Dead Space 2

posted by lpcrierie (DUNKIRK, MD) Feb 6, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2010

8 out of 13 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Dead Space 2 is a great sequel for the fans of Dead Space. It definitely won't disappoint as far as gameplay and entertainment goes, though if you're looking for innovation between the two games, this won't be for you.

+ Most Graphics/Textures are the same, some better.
+ Physics are slightly better.
+ Still guarantees high scare factor.
+ Improved aiming.
+ Improved movement/'0-Gravity functionality.
+ More violence and a larger variation of spooks and puzzles.
+ Some improved elements, such as 'quick-healing,' constant melee and sprinting.
+ There's a great chance that your Mom will hate this game.

- Not much innovation.
- Could have seen newer enemies, as most of them are from the first game.
- Could have had newer weapons, as most of them are also from the first game.

Overall Rating: 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME

posted by BIGD378 (HIALEAH, FL) Jan 24, 2011

Member since Jun 2006

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

awesome game, awesome graphics, awesome sound, sound effects are even better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

like a prom date with a prude

posted by sheisster1 (DICKINSON, TX) Feb 3, 2011

Member since Apr 2008

12 out of 22 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

It's all flash and promises but you never get the sweet finish at the end of it all...

FANTASTIC sound design. Seriously. Whoever did the "foley"/sound effects should win multiple awards for their phenomenal work. The screams, clanks, whirrings, hydraulics, and other ambient atmospherics deserve the highest accolades.

The score is, well, a ubiquitous rehashing of horror movies. Orchestral hits with shrieking violins and blaring tubas are meant to emphasize necros jumping out of the walls at you..but frankly the musical score was more of a humorously overdone failure than something that solicited genuine fear.

About half the levels are stunningly beautiful and well thought out. The other half are redundant, claustrophobic, and unoriginal. How is it possible that a game could be so stunning and so bland at the same time? It's like opening a bottle of high end vodka and realizing your little brother drank it all and filled it up with tap water.

The enemies are too fast. Either that or Issac is too slow. Gameplay, as everyone else says, is poorly balanced. This is video game 101 here, folks. If you have nimble enemies, you simply must have a nimble hero. Either that or the game must have a hero with an extremely powerful arsenal. Don't make it easy. But for the love of all things right and decnt in the world...MAKE IT REASONABLE! I thought EA was above this sort of sophmoric fecklessness.

And finally...the last two levels are exponentially harder that the rest of the game. I am a level 13 on PSN, so I'm not a doofus newbie gamer. The number of enemies is ridiculous and only tends to exacerbate the problems I mentioned before....

All in all, I REALLY wanted to give this game a 8.5. But ugh...EA. Did you fire the folks in charge during the eleventh hour? Did some goober come in and take over and throw it all together in a hurried, ramshackle attempt 2 meet the release date?

Too bad. Could have been Game of The Year. sheisster1313

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Free game

posted by eedobaba (MEMPHIS, TN) Jan 27, 2011

Member since Jul 2006

7 out of 14 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Yeah, Dead Space 2 is super awesome.
But I thought I'd just point out that on the ps3 version is an installable copy of Dead Space Extraction, which you keep on your hard drive after you send the game back. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by kbodin1 (LYNN, MA) Jan 25, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

7 out of 14 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The graphics are awesome plain and simple. It sometimes looks like im watching a movie the graphics are so good, the gameplay is a bit confusing at times, there is alot to do and choose from, but its still fun regaurdless. I like that this is a 3rd person game too, if it was 1st person i would have only given it a 7 rating. This is definetly worth renting, but most will end up buying it after playing it a few days.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Solid

posted by Greener (SATANTA, KS) Feb 1, 2011

Member since Mar 2009

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Dead Space was probably my favorite survival horror title since Resident Evil 4 on the ol Gamecube. Call me desensitized but people just dont know how to scare these days. But Dead Space fixed that problem, and Dead Space 2 improved it further..kinda. The game was much too short, i had it beat in just two sit downs. The gameplay is the same as the first with a couple minor changes. Zero gravity has been much improved as you are given full 360 degree movement of Isaac Clark. This makes zero g puzzles and combat much more satisfying. Crawling through vents and hacking various terminals are also welcome new features. Combat remains largely unchanged, although i felt like there was a much greater emphasis on using Stasis (which recharges slowly on its own now, a great addition). While i wont spoil it for new players, there are new enemies next to impossible to defeat without it. And some impressive AI with a particular later enemy. There are many additional weapons this time around but to me many felt unnecessary. A sniper rifle has no place in the cramped corridors of Dead Space. The story sadly is the games biggest problem. Its quite generic and loses momentum as the game gets towards the end. Isaac is haunted by Nicole his dead wife the entire game but it is IMPOSSIBLE to understand what she is saying. No subtitle feature and she always talks in a scratchy radio like broadcast that i just couldnt understand. Especially if there's any kind of background noise. The game has multiplayer but the idiots at EA require us to pay for all their games online services now if you did not actually purchase the game. With a rent you can get a two day pass to play online and its basically an exact copy of Left 4 Dead online but not near as good. The game is fun. Creepy and atmospheric with new cinematics that serve their purpose well. Not enough here to warrant a purchase in my humble opinion but thats why we have our friends here at Gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Could have been better!

posted by Burnit (FORT COLLINS, CO) Feb 20, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Dead Space 2 starts off fantastic,(chapters 1-3) but fails to deliver. After chapter 5-11 it just feels like a point A to point B game with a little killing here and there. Then bam chapter 12 and you have a non stop wave of enemies that are pointless to kill. All the last few levels entail is stasis, shoot, run and repeat. The final boss is a joke and I expected something else, but never received it. Currently forcing myself to play through it again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Wonderful Sequel to a Great Franchise

posted by acedebase (HAGERSTOWN, MD) Oct 24, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

So I love this game. Yes, not as scary as the first, mostly because Isaac talks and it seems as though they toned down the background noise and music score. I think I am thankful though - nothing exhausted and frayed my nerves more than a few hours of playing Dead Space 1 because of the unnerving background sounds and music score. I noticed that the developers resorted to a few cheap tricks for cheap thrills - bursting pipes, random alarms and bells going off. But what made the first game so gut-wrenchingly unsettling was the constancy of the background noise and score - like a Sondheim movie. I liked it better when Isaac didn't speak - made it more creepy and hopeless. And it is the hopelessness of it all that absolutely sells this franchise. My God did I feel helpless in Dead Space 1. Not so much in 2, I felt empowered, especially with the addition of different tech suits. You can also predict a few developer favorites - in a large room with a button? expect necros to jump out from everywhere - in a tight corridor? expect them to jump out at you from both sides. In an elevator? Small - usually no worries. Large - get ready for some close combat. I found that I did a lot of close combat in DS 2 - so what DS 2 lost in suspense it made up for in intensity. Anyway - great story, great game - can't wait for DS 3!

(SPOILER ALERT)

My 2 cents on the ending - it looks to me as though Isaac was reading something on the screen (he's squinting). Possibly an incoming transmission. It appears that he is shocked by what he eventually comprehends the message to mean and turns to Ellie. So, either the message has something to do with Ellie or it has something to do with the remaining markers we hear about at the end of the credits.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

LOVE IT!!! Please let a third come out.

posted by jacktheawesome (MENDON, MI) Jul 26, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I thought the first dead space was amazing... and then i played dead space 2. DS2 is AMAZING! I just got finished playing it from start to finish on zealot, which was a good challenge. The pros: Takes one of the best games to date and makes it BETTER. New weapons and enemies, better story, incredible ending; and breath taking music and scenery that keeps you glued to your seat when you are not flinching in horror. The first couple of chapters i figuratively, literally jumped out of my shoes. The game is intense and doesn't let that mood down from start to finish. I can almost guarantee this game will come out as a greatest hit. If you liked the first one enough to finish it, you absolutely must play this one. I do, however, recommend playing the first one first, even if just to get the hang of it, as the second one is harder. Plus, you don't want to miss any of this story... absolutely riveting. It offers a new game plus as well like the first. The bad on this game... hmmm..... I can't say that i can honestly think of anything off the top of my head. If you play on zealot, you WILL die, probably often, if some see that as bad. Also, it is a tad short. Pick the game up if you like good times, good graphics, and action packed gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

I liked it but...

posted by ps3456 (PASADENA, CA) Apr 28, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Why are all the enemies so fast? But yet the main character moves so slow? Balance it out, game developers. Even the running is in slow motion. Other than that, good game to rent. At least respawning is faster than the first one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Dead space 2: Zero G Gore

posted by Ghostrazor69 (NOVI, MI) Mar 13, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Dead space 2 is a game that blends a fun and unique combat system with a heart pounding, breath holding survival game. What I enjoyed most about the game was it's sense of nonchalantly setting you back time and time again, this can seem repetitive in most games but was carried out well in Dead Space 2 as in the case that the city the game take's place in (the Sprawl) is a very large and unique city built on saturns third moon, as in comparison to the first games' many twisting halls and endless vents in the Ishimura. In the Sprawl you find yourself walking through candlelit apartment buildings belonging to satanist like extremists, or pacing through and eerie Kindergarten school complete with vampire babies, and of course the ever disorienting zero G atmosphere as is trademark in Dead Space. A new feature in the sequel is the ability to manuever through zero G enviroments with a jet pack, which adds to some fun spinning around in circles and watching bodies twirl in the air in front of you. The story in Dead space to falls a little weak for a survival horror game, when as in the first game you were part of engineering team sent aboard mining ship in need of repairs; yet when you arrive something isn't right and you slowly find out what had happened. When in the sequal you already know all about how the creatures are formed and the game takes no delay in telling you from the get go what happened to the colony, which leads to a dull dragging out of the games middle, saying however the game picks up into the adreniline filled rollercoaster it was created to be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

dead space 2

posted by chefcolby (SPRINGVILLE, UT) Mar 2, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

you know i thought and heard this game was good, but when i was playing it, it seemed really repetitive, i was told to play the game in the dark with surround sound and that would make it better but it really didn't, for those of you that watch horror movies would agree with me that it wasn't to scary if scary at all now one thing i give them credit on is the graphics, everything was really clear and sharp and the detail put into the game was fantastic but still the game isn't on my list of recommendations.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not All That Great

posted by HiYalll (SAN BERNARDINO, CA) Feb 14, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is good but not great multyplayer is a nice distraction from the main game but over-all its the same experiance... the style of the game relates back to the old resident evil games which is not a bad thing. Controles are good too, but it can be tricky to move your charicter at times like I said it just didnt live up to my exspectations.?.? overated 7.5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A solid overhype under deliver

posted by aroness26 (FRESNO, CA) Feb 5, 2011

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Dead space 1 was a great game. It dident need multiplayer or any fancy frills to make it great, the gameplay and the story carried it through and that's all it needed to become a classic. After a long wait and plenty of coverage the sequal has finally come out and its a solid game and nothing more.
The gameplay was well upgraded I loved the little touches the game had, the new reloads of your weapons the sound deisgn of the areas and music are all spot on. Looking at the game your drawn in just from how gorgeous everything looks, could be one of the best looking games of all time. My biggest issue before with the weapons was the workbench dident allow you to get anywhere close to finishing your weapon upgrades, even in a second playthrough it was rough but now you can, I found that when my first game was finished my main weapons were all half way finished and my RIG was maxed.
The multiplayer is decent I'd say. It's really fun it really gets you involved and it requires teamwork in order to win, you cant solo this by yourself. I only wish they had given us MORE modes to play in, they may give us more later on but right now it needs variety.
What this game does right is giving you the tools to dismember foes and with new weapons included it makes you really think what weapon works best in each given situation and you gravitate towards particular weapons more than others.
The BIGGEST issue however is the story, halfway in it goes NOWHERE. The beginning is good it really questions what is truely going on here but then it becomes an organic get to point A to point B game and nothing more. Go here destroy this the end. Even the ending where they had a golden opportunity to change the perspective of the Marker and what the necromorphs are they droped the ball and did nothing with it. This is one of the biggest story dissapointments in a long time.
All and all its a solid game its fun but not near as good as it could have been. It was over hyped and under delivered.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Dead Space 2 My Thoughts.

posted by Kinggamer16 (PARAGON, IN) Jul 8, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

(Dead Space 2.My opinion) The game I got From Game Fly Was A Very Good Game I Ended Up Playing It For More Than 20+ Hours But One Little Problem The Game Gets Boring After 2+ Play through's Because I Was Trying To Get The Mission Impossible Trophy (Complete Zealot Mode ) And After Chapter 6 It Really Started To Get Repetitive Not Because Of the Difficulty But Because I Did It All Before And Got Board With It And Stop'd Playing Around Chapter 10. Now The Scare Factor That They Say Is Some What Their The Game Uses The Old Movie Scare Stuff Like Walk Down A Dark Hall Way Then It Gets Quiet And Then The Game Makes A Really Loud Sound Like In Chapter 1 When It Tells You To use Your Marker To Get To the Next Point And Pitch Black Then The T.V Turns On and You Might Get Spooked But Nothing Scary.

(Dead Space 2.Multiplayer) WARNING If You Rent The Game You Will Have To Pay $9.99 And If You Get The Free Trial I Think You Only Get To Level 5 I Am Not positive But The Things I Herd Is That The Multiplayer Is Not As Good And Some Say It Is Not Worth The $9.99 I heard It Had 1 Game Type But I Don't Know I haven't Played The Multiplayer Yet Because I Just Payed $10.00 For Mortal Kombat 9's Multiplayer So I Dont Think It's Worth The $9.99 Maby If It Was $5.00 I would But Not For $10.00

That Is My So Called Thoughts On Dead Space 2 It Get's A 6/10 Pleas Rate This Up Or Down Thanks For You Cooperation.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A step back from Dead Space 1

posted by shuda424 (EVANSTON, IL) May 29, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This is another example where the creators tried to make things better by throwing a bunch of money at a sequel and just blew it.

I love deadspace 1, probably the greatest game on ps3, but this is an abomination ... its like a deadspace 1 necromorph =P

Why am I upset ?

1 - Isaac talks! For most of the first game I just thought Isaac was an evolved necromorph or something, his silence and lack of a face just added to the intensity

2 - Not really different from deadspace 1

3 - Stomping on corpses for ammo ... that is just too cheesy and takes away from the game

4 - Too much ammo

5 - Too many long hallways with nothing happening

Well, I can go on and on ... but really, I think they just dropped the ball. On a buy it, rent it, thrash it scale, its a rent it ... you are better off buying TWO copies of deadspace 1

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dead Space 2

posted by scott1977 (WARREN, OH) May 27, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Its an ok game but the online play was useless. i did not play online with this game but once. thats all it took for me to stop playing online with this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

First half is great! Second half, well...

posted by JesterCGI (LOS ANGELES, CA) May 19, 2011

Member since Apr 2004

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This is yet another game that starts out great, but apparently they ran out of time to finish the game, so instead of the second half being interesting, they just throw an un-kill-able monster at you that tracks you through the game from midpoint out.
And while you can't kill him, he/she/it can definitely kill any enjoyment of the game from there on out.

3 thumbs down...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Must pay for multiplayer, bonus game unavailable!!

posted by Depends (YORKTOWN, VA) Jan 30, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I received both the PS3 and 360 versions of Dead Space 2 on the same day (I had placed them on my wish list quite some time ago, and therefore did not think to go to the disclaimers to find out what I would not be getting by renting this game).

My initial reaction whenever I get the same game for 2 platforms is to decide which runs the smoothest, with the better graphics and a tighter control feel. I was disappointed to find out that as a rental, multi player will cost you $10 if you want to play beyond the 2 day trial period. In fairness, this is listed on the product page.

So, with that out of the way, I installed both (that's right, 2) discs for the 360 while I did research for the single PS3 bluray disc and what made it a "limited edition". Turns out, the Wii port of Dead Space extraction is on disc as well, adding a full game remastered in HD, ready to demonstrate the move, and giving you about 8 more hours of gameplay for the same price.

What they don't tell you on the info page is that you cannot access this game without the code you would receive by purchasing it new.

I understand the companies fear of used games, trade ins, and rental services. I also would not buy a grand piano without playing it first. I recently purchased AC: Brotherhood, and short of reaching level 50 in multiplayer, have done all there is to do. I plan to trade it in for something else, and then get it on gamefly to finish the ranking up.

My point is that whereas I purchased AC: Brotherhood and in turn will trade it in to buy a new game, I will not be purchasing Dead Space simply for pre-punishing potential buyers. I might as well get DC online if I want to pay an online fee to play. Also, the DLC for Dead Space 2 is already out, rather than on disc, offering new weapons and armor. I remember using the Skorpion? suit in the first game, which was overpowered and left no desire for replay. To offer DLC from day one is either a cash grab. Very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse