Rent Dead Space 2 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Dead Space 2

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $12.99

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.4

16311 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Scary movies don't scare me; this game scares me!

posted by giuseppesc (WARREN, MI) Feb 1, 2014

Member since Jun 2004

I really do loathe scary movies, because, in reality, they aren't scary. They can be hokey and opt to startle you rather than write a script that truly terrifies the mind. Having said that, this game scared the adrenaline right out of me, ironically, for startling me (and I cannot, for any reason explain why I hate it in movies, but loved it in this game), and then putting me in these low-survival rate situations that I barely tap danced my way through on many occasions.

Finding yourself in situations where your credits and your stock are scantly qualified to support you from area to area, or store to store, happens often. This type of anxiety keeps the fear alive, I'd say moreso, than the actual combat, or that startling factor I keep prattling on about. That tact of averaging out the proper amount of ammo and goods for the game is a credit to the developers of this game; I think it helps you integrate yourself more with Isaac. Atmosphere accomplished!

The voice acting is good in this game, although it did get a bit cartoonish at times. The death animations were beautifully gory, straight from the mind of a hyperactive 13 year-old boys mind. If I wasn't far from my last savepoint, and I encountered a new enemy, I allowed myself to be killed just to see how far the animators took it. I was never once dissatisfied.

This game built on what was good about Dead Space and then built upon it. Play the game, at night, with the lights off for full effect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

looks like its gonna be awesome cant wait to play!

posted by CrazyOpossum17 (MC VEYTOWN, PA) Jul 30, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

i was watching it on YouTube (walk-through) and it looked awesome but i saw some comments and i started to second guess but I don't care and i'm going to get it on either gamefly or at gamestop and see how it is myself point is i'm looking forward to the game and can't wait to play it its going to be sick, cool, bloody, gorey the whole nine yards!!!!!!!!! :D :P

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Pretty good but not great, not as good as 1st

posted by themerc (WEST ROXBURY, MA) Jul 9, 2013

Member since Sep 2010

Loved the first DS, good horror, good fun gameplay, great story, unfortunately DS2 kind of only really carried over the good gameplay from the 1st.

DS2 wasn't nearly as creepy, scary, and surprising as DS1 was, though I did really enjoy the setting in a couple of levels where there were giant engines moving, and it was an awesome visual to be outside in space right next to Saturn.

Story overall wasn't as good as DS1, seemed like most of the story was you just trying to find your friend and someone else you meet, it didn't really get interesting until it was towards the end of the game, but still wasn't as good as DS1. I also didn't really like the story in between games, seems like he too willingly joins the people who he was fighting against, kinda weak to me. Having to deal w/ the hallucinations of Nicole (your gf) was interesting and kind of crazy though; and she makes for an interesting character.

Gameplay, your typical DS gameplay, couple of the same guns from DS1, some new ones, upgrade w/ power nodes, buy items w/ credits, dismemberment and stomping mechanic carries over as well, DS combat is still pretty unique I think and I still really enjoyed it through 2. The only part about the gameplay I didn't like was how the game gave you less and less creepy horror and good surprises as the game went on, and actually after a while I just found it to be predictable, nothing in the hallways, move into open (or open enough) room plus vents equals necromorph attack. Some of these encounters were pretty frustrating and unfair too, you'd get swarmed by a bunch of necromorphs then one would seem like it spawned right behind and you get you for a cheap death. Also, ch. 14 is awful, it's more frustrating than hectic but fun because you're put in a really unfair area while taking on a whole group of charging necromorphs meanwhile fighting an un-killable necromorph.

Overall, I recommend playing this, fun game, but not as good and true as DS1.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better than the 1st

posted by J_Turk007 (WYOMING, MI) Jun 6, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

This game was much better than the original. Everything ran and played much smoother and the graphics were also upgraded. If you have not played the original no worries they will bring you up to date on the story. It is a perfect game for people who love a shooter but need a taste of a little something different.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A true survival game!

posted by MaximusSteel (CLINTON, IA) Jun 3, 2013

Member since May 2013

I have grown up with the older resident evil games where you had limited ammo and would barely survive your encounters with enemies. Sadly I feel that series has turned into a shooter type game, however I recently discovered this series and think I am hooked on anything Dead Space!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I want more horror movie moments!

posted by sysarugame (ROCHESTER, NY) May 24, 2013

Member since Nov 2006

The Pros:
I had a lot of fun with this game. It's better than the original in terms of story, scope, control layout, game play, design. I was blown away by the start, I loved the zero G sections (there should have been more, with more enemies to kill), and the new weapons and suits are fun. I played it four times from casual to zealot difficulty because of achievements and the fact that when you fully upgrade your weapons and rig, its time for you to hunt them instead of the other way around.

The Con:
In my opinion, Dead Space 2 suffers the same major setback as its predecessor. Namely, predictability. As with the first one, the first time you play, it is the best interactive horror movie ever made. However, the more you play it, the less on the edge of your seat you are because you know exactly where the enemies are gonna attack from. Now this makes things like the Hardcore achievement possible, but it takes away from what could be an epic game and makes it just really good. I am not saying they need to randomize where all the monsters come from, but just a few would be enough. For example, with all the metal grates available for monsters to jump out of, just once I'd like to be aiming to the left because that's where its supposed to come from, and be attacked from the right. On my last play through, the scariest moment I had was when I entered a room with two enemies, I subsequently died because I was messing with them (honest I was), and when it reloaded and I went back in, only one enemy showed up. I spent the rest of my time in there a nervous, tip-toeing wreck waiting for the other one to show and it never did. Even the lack of the expected can lead to some truly, horror movie moments.

Dead Space 2 the first time through is the best horror movie but a movie is fixed. A game should have a certain degree of flexibility. I'm just saying, upset the established order even a little bit and everything becomes chaos, and chaos would be good for this franchis

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Follow Up

posted by MrNutJob (VENICE, CA) May 18, 2013

Member since May 2013

The First Dead Space was one of the stellar moments with a new franchise being born. I've returned much later to play this one #2 and #3, having finished this 2nd Dead Space Game today I can say that it is a good game.

Keeping with the 'model' of the first one, here Isaac has a story going where in the first one you never really saw his face even, and the girlfriend wasn't talking so much. That is one of the things that I could have done without, too many people talking. I didn't actually care about his dead girlfriend any, could care less. I know they need a story but her mindless shrieking during the game was too much. The creatures were cool but I wish we could get some better weapons, I maxed out my pulse rifle, but it took me the whole game to do and it's Power wasn't all that lethal with the upgrade.

I did feel that the game mostly ended along about the 12th chapter or so, then I actually had to 'run' through it because I didn't have enough health! The unkillable creature was a bit much and the game lost its original perspective. I mean, just relax, there really wasn't any need to have to go running around like that!

Anyway, this game hasn't aged much... even though I was 3 years late playing it... (PS3 Broke!) But with my new Xbox I'm pretty fairly interested in playing Part 3 of Dead Space!

A superior series that can become better and better. I give the 'Coders' a fairly good score here, but lose the Chick and get a bit more serious!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the best survival horror games ever!

posted by N3xium (DETROIT, MI) May 1, 2013

Member since Jul 2010

I want to start by saying that not much has changed since the first Dead Space but in the case of this game that is actually a good thing. The developers realized of course that the first one was already onto something and thankfully didn't mess that up. You still play Isaac Clarke, except this time he has an internal struggle to deal with as well as endless necromorphs to pose as a deadly threat.

I should state that I am not a huge fan of the genre survival horror mostly because they almost always get it wrong (I'm looking at you Resident Evil). However Dead Space series is that exception where I can't turn them away.

This game did stray a bit from the previous one by including a multiplayer function that in my opinion doesn't work. I am someone who likes it when they try multiplayer but EA has decided to only allow a 2 day trial unless you buy the online pass. When I did jump on I found that the odds were very stacked against new people. Now I realize it has been 2 years and some have devoted a decent amount of time into it and that they would be naturally better equipped in the multiplayer but not having a natural balance to teams causes the multiplayer to lose any fun it could have been. But at least the single player stands high by itself!

Pros- Perfect pacing, scary atmosphere at every turn, sounds in the game add to the horror immensely, controls are easy enough, plenty of replay value especially with the New+ feature.

Cons- Multiplayer in this game is a letdown and could have been so much more. Also occasionally parts in the story feel drawn out or repetitive, but this isn't often.

Overall I give this game a 9 out of 10 just as I gave the first Dead Space. The only thing I actually took away for is the disappointing multiplayer. Definitely worth a rent but now that it is cheap I would also highly recommend a buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Even better than the first.

posted by jacksonran (BEDFORD, IN) Apr 23, 2013

Member since Aug 2010

Dead Space was a great game and they added just enough features to make this one even better. They didn't overwhelm it with new things to ruin the game. (like resident evil did). Playing the first isn't required... but it does help a lot.

Good: Pretty much everything about it is good. It has thrill, horror, and action to the gameplay. You get a diversity of weapons and actions to help with battle and the leveling system is good. You can level up the outfit (rig), your stasis ability, and your weapons as you find the schematics for them.

Bad: Having to play the game a minimum of twice to get the all the achievements is a pain. Its a short game (roughly 10hrs) but I hate repeating the same actions in a game.

Ugly: Just like I mentioned for the first, the "hardcore" difficulty is too hard. You can only save 3 times and there are no checkpoints. I enjoy a challenge but have to be almost perfect at a game is a pain.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dead Space 2

posted by z107 (PETERBOROUGH, NH) Jan 26, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

Great game, no complaints. Good story line, death scenes are amazing.(Even Issacs death scenes are dope)
Highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

BEST HORROR GAME IN YEARS

posted by Kenny97NWO (JAMAICA, NY) Jan 23, 2013

Member since Jul 2012

I NEVER PLAYED THE FIRST DEAD SPACE BUT WHEN I PLAYED THIS DEAD SPACE I WAS AMAZED I NEVER THOUGHT THAT IT WOULD BE THIS GOOD I CANT WAIT FOR THE THIRD INSTALLMENT OF THE DEAD SPACE FRANCHISE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Disc Unreadable

posted by KiDD_HuRLeY (GILEAD, ME) Dec 27, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Yeah js recieved my first game after making my GameFly account and had troubles at first with the ''Disc unreadable'' prompt coming up..then it was fine now im 3 hours in and cant go 5 minutes without it happening, game is awesome/disc is horrible..people need to take better care of discs while using or they needed to be tested before sent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Just plain awesome game

posted by sofakinghaggard (COLUMBUS, OH) Dec 14, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

This is exactly was a survival horror game should be. It constantly leaves you on the edge of your seat, More jump scares than you could ever want, leaves you praying that you have enough ammo to make it to the next save station. I can't say enough good things about this game. Rent it wait till is dark turn off all the lights and play you won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

hey where are the scares

posted by raddude (TUCSON, AZ) Nov 10, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

i heard this was a scary game then after i got i started playing right away it had a great beginning but i started losing interest fast maybe it was the fact that every time you progress your path is destroyed and there happened to be a million paths or the fact i just want to hurry and get assassins creed 3.honestly more challenging then hard but only when you get trapped in a small room with a monster coming in every 3 seconds i wished i had more interest in this game i really wanted to see the ending but got bored of gameplay

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Game

posted by DrewdabossXL (MOUNT VERNON, NY) Nov 6, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

This game has you Paranoid as you traverse this Huge space station that Any kind of creature will pop out the roof, or from the vents and dismember you brutally.The Key to this game is precision,So Making every shot count is crucial for the harder levels.Health tends to be scarce along with ammo when you really need it but the game leaves you with a sense of achievement one you thwart the more annoying levels. This game is perfect for people into the Horror Genre I'd go as far as to recommend it over Resident Evil.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Could not play. Disc 1 unreadable.

posted by gamerd01 (SALINAS, CA) Nov 4, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

After waiting almost a week to receive Dead Space 2. I was dissapointed to find out that the game was unreadable because of a scratch on the disc. I was very much looking forward to being able to play through Dead Space 2 before Dead Space 3 came out. This is now the 3rd game recieved from Gamefly that has been unplayable. Its very dissapointing and discouraging. I wish more people would take care of the discs when they recieve them so when returned, others can enjoy them as well. I know the game changes hands probably several time before it gets to the customer, and just wish people would be more responsible with things that are "rented" and not even theirs.

Thank you.
XBOX Live's aRcADe GAMenERD

PS. I shouldn't have to provide a rating for a game I have yet to play because of error.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I love this game

posted by zepedrof (DURHAM, NC) Sep 1, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

This is one of the best 360 games I played. Great game!
It has a perfect scary / space / Sci-Fi/ horror ambiance fans of this types of genre will love.
I had a great surprise playing the first one, this second delivers the same action we played through the first but with improved moves, better playability and better graphics. Oh yeah!
Get cozy on your couch, turn on the volume and get ready to be scared! this is not for the faint of heart. I jumped from sofa several times playing this, either surprised by an enemy or an effect of sound timely placed. We have to stay sharp as enemies pop in from all over at unexpected times.
Highly recommended title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Superb!

posted by Tealmyster (BELLINGHAM, WA) Aug 28, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

I loved the first Dead Space, and this one is even better! Graphics are amazing, make sure to look out the windows when you get a chance! The environment has fantastic detail.

Game play itself is great, definitely a lot smoother then the first, only down side in my opinion is the buttons have changed which having played the games back to back had my thumb stumbling upon the wrong buttons at the worst times.

Once again, I highly recommend a good head set for this one to really capture all the noises around you. It helped with the horror aspect because I'm finding myself jumping 10 times more in the second installment of Dead Space!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

bad

posted by Hgriepp (CHEWELAH, WA) Aug 27, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

This game was fun but whenever i got to a certain point the game would freeze up and not work I've done this five times trying to make it go past certain part in the beginning so it probable would of been fun but i sent it back and i got kinda mad so i hope gamefly does not send me a bad game again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

epic

posted by GlobalAlarm16 (ORANGE BEACH, AL) Aug 14, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

So much better then the original. This sequel is much more fast paced and energizing. You never know what could be waiting behind the next corner! You know you loved a game when you regret putting it back in your mailbox.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

DONT HATE. BEST SURVIVAL HORROR EVER.

posted by joshuajames84 (CATAWISSA, MO) Jul 27, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Dead Space and Dead Space 2 are two of the best games ever made. If you complain about either game, stop gaming. One of the dumbest complaints i saw was that 2 had no big boss battles, while this is completly true at no point in the game does this thought actually cross your mind. You are so wrapped up in the game that you never even think about it. Only after you have beaten the game and have time to reflect does this even occur to you. shut up. By far the best set of survival horror games to date, and the 3rd should follow suite. BUY BUY BUY

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A FANTASTIC, and also scary, 3rd person shooter!!!

posted by BenC (HOPEDALE, MA) Jul 24, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

You wouldn't believe how much money I had to spend on new underpants after beating Dead Space 2. This game is s!#t your pants scary! Though this game isn't as scary as the original, it will still make you jump more than once. The game will take you about 10-12 hours to complete and that whole time you will be at the edge of your seat. There is one chapter in the game that takes place in the USG Ishumura, the ship from the original game. The ship is covered in duck tape and is in direpair. This makes the ship even more scary and it doesn't help that the ghost of your dead girlfriend is whispering to you, blaming you for her death and the horrific events of the first game. This section is very tense and one of the most memorable parts of the game. Speaking of your dead girlfriend, Nicole is a very complex character. She is pretty much Isaac's inspiration for his mission and his conscience. Nicole is so intimidating when she is angry, but Isaac always acts in control. Their relationship is very interesting and their interactions are one of the better parts of the game. The replay value of the game is very high and the multiplayer mode will keep you invested for even more hours. So simply do one thing, buy this game, you won't regret it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome Game

posted by Dead_Gears_Row (ESTES PARK, CO) Jul 24, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Dead Space 2 is nothing but fun and creepy at the same time. The story is smart, Action is well packed, and its challageing at all times. Multiplayer is OK but fits for this game, graphics are amazing, and the gore keeps you on your toes. NOT FOR CHILDEREN I would say 13 or younger. Only thing that keeps me from giving this game a 10 is that most of the areas look the same and the combat never really changes. This is a great game for new comers and Dead Space fans alike and i personally would buy this game instead of renting it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better than ever

posted by agarside97 (LAKELAND, FL) Jul 13, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

This is a bigger game on a bigger planet and Isaac just doesn't care. The game is a major improvement on the first one and the only flaw is that I have to wait longer for the sequel. This game blends action, horror, and the stress of prolonged silence in an environment where you see a dozen ways the enemy could come, and you walk through it without a hitch, though the moment you enter an area where you have no idea where they come from, they hit you. Isaac also gets a ton of character improvement, you get to know more about him and he speaks more, becoming less of a silent protagonist and more of a developed hero.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by ScorpionDeath3 (ORLANDO, FL) Jun 25, 2012

Member since May 2012

This was so good I cant wait for the next one....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse