Rent Dead Space 2 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Dead Space 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.4

16339 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Dead Space 2

posted by 4TW (BURLINGAME, CA) Feb 8, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Amazing story, gory and scary but extremely fun to play, worth more than one time playing the single player campaign. This is a game you don't want to miss.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

So nice you will play it twice!

posted by ThInKiN (SANTA ANA, CA) Feb 7, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you liked Dead Space you will love part 2.

Awsome story, insane graphics and plenty of monsters to go around.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

True horror.

posted by Chargolith (HILLSBORO, IL) Feb 7, 2011

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Scariest game I've ever played. I would have to stop and take a break because they keep the tension level so high for so long.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

What it lacks in subtlety...

posted by rmfreeman (NEPTUNE, NJ) Feb 7, 2011

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I wouldn't call this a horror game. It abandons a lot of the suspense of the original in favor of 'resident evil'-like action. That said, what it lacks in subtlety, it more than makes up for with non-stop action.

I kind of wish they branched out with more weapon options though, as with only one exception or so, all of your character's equipment and weapons are the same.

Still, it's a very solid game. I kind of wish they hadn't abandoned the mood and atmosphere of the first though. That's what happens when you add a ton of enemies to a game. You no longer wonder if there's something creeping up behind you, because there's no question, something always is, making it seem less like Silent Hill, and more like Duck Hunt.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Through insanity and darkness you find redemtion.

posted by pyrofire43 (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Feb 6, 2011

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Dead Space 2 brings back all of the horror and gore of the first with a cinematic feel that compels.

Pros:
-Death sequences and super gory and are so unique that you'll find yourself purposefully losing just to see how you die.
-Truly scares you.
-Main character is now voiced and is a quality character.
-Swarms of necromorphs will test your abilities and require different tactics.
-Cinematic scenes are intense.
-Scares and action will get your heart pounding.
-Very fun multiplayer that loads quick and requires true teamwork.
-Atmosphere is epic scary.
-Quality horror puts recent movies to shame.
-Improved Zero G moments that allow you to fly.
-Gore Gore Gore

Cons:
-Big boss battles of the first game are almost completely non-existent.
-Necromorphes aren't varied enough, and become stale.
-Extremely hard when low on ammo.
-Multiplayer physical struggles will make you sick of hitting the "A" button.
-Multiplayer leveling has little room for customization for human, and none for Necromorphs.
-Wish there were more multiplayer levels.

With 9 hours of intense one player action, a decent replay value, and very fun multiplayer I have to recommend buying this game, but you should at least rent this game. It is a must play for any MATURE horror fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dead Space 2: The new standard in survival horror

posted by R3D3MP7ION (HOUSE SPRINGS, MO) Feb 2, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'm not one who scares easy so I was shocked when I found myself falling out of my chair at certian points through out the game. The scares may be mainly pop out a monster when you least expect it but it's expertly done the backgrounds are so emersive, carry an omionus feel, and are fantastic all the way through. The story from the original is greatly exanded upon the new enemies really help to balance out the necromorph roster, All with individual strengths and weaknesses. The new weapons (even if only a few) were very effective and fun to use, allowing you to take a stand your way from proximity detonations , to electrical spikes, to sniper fire, or any of the classics from the first installment. multipule siuts all with there own attributes to give you a little edge. The controls are tight and feel natural after about 25mins. The camera is smooth and fluid the gameplay is so absoulutly seamless I was in chapter 5 before I took advantage of one of the many save points through out the game. I never seemed to hit that cinema scene that pionts out hey a new level and to top it all off it starts off with the most incredible opening sequence I have ever seen. If I had anything negative to say about th game its the final boss fight felt anti climactic ,but the events leading to and the events afterward all meld together to make an extremely satisfying ending. Oh and watch all the way through the credits trust me on this. So in closing Dead Space 2 rich'dark and saturated in blood and insanity. " It's discustingly beauitiful."

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Just as good as the first

posted by Jeebusify (EVERETT, WA) Jan 31, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First off the campaign is great. I'm the type of guy who is very disappointed with sequels, and I have to say this one stacks up very well with the original. The opening sequence actually tops the first one, and even though I am used to the control scheme and the style of the game it is still down right creepy to me, I have jumped numerous times. Wait till you go up against the stalkers.

On the multiplayer, I bought it right off the bat so I didn't have to pay for that code. It still seems wrong though, how ever the game does have 2 discs and I believe both work for multiplayer. However I do love it. If you spend the time to figure out what works it is extremely fun, I have allready clocked 20 hours on it. The main thing is just to party up with people with mikes.

There are a few complaints though, the stomping of corpses for loot is really annoying and I feel like they added it just to make it more bloody. There are balancing issues needed fixing with multiplayer along with host miigration and connectivity issues needed being fixing. Also the add campaign was really distasteful. If any of you are parents and let anyone below the age the ESRB suggested play this game, you are a terrible person. This is the only game I have ever felt that about too.

So overall loved the game even though there were a few annoyances.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW

posted by lildlish (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jan 29, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game just blew me away! I didnt play the first one but i should've. The game it self is amazing its story is just wow, graphics beautiful, sound is incredible, lighting is good too, this is all around a perfect action/horror game, probably the best one I've played. The controls are easy to learn, multiplayer is great, i have nothing bad to say about this game. If you want a good game to play or something different than Call of Duty or Halo or whatever other game you play,at least rent Dead Space 2 you wont be disappointed. P.S. I beat the game and i'm still gonna buy it, thats how good it is!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Nearing Perfection

posted by Toastygmr (BLACKSBURG, VA) Jan 27, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Dead Space 2 really blew me away. The story is very well paced (much better than the first), the scares are good, and those action scenes (those who have played will know) are awesome.

Fantastic attention to detail, AMAZING sound design and polished gameplay make Dead Space 2 a must play.

I did encounter some glitches though while playing through the game, and while they weren't anything major they took away from the experience for a little bit.

Get your dismemberment on and play this game right away!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing Game!

posted by Donis187 (DORCHESTER CENTER, MA) Jan 27, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is what Gamefly is all about! What it is in my fantasy as opposed to the real: You put a game on your list that is JUST coming out and you get it that same week that it drops. First time this ever happened to me and I was stoked! And icing on the cake is that the game turned out to be the most fun I've had in a video game for a long while. Well paced, action packed, immersion type, jaw dropping moments.

The graphics are top notch, the gameplay is easy to get into. I felt the original as being a bit too slow paced and "quiet" and this one eases all those past complaints with only trade off being the scares. This game is less such as the original and the feeling of constantly being out of ammo is not as annoying as it was either. I HATE scouring for bullets especially when my gun evidently doesn't even fire bullets.

The shame with this game however is that it really should be a 10 rated experience. EA screwed up however by trying to gain an extra buck out of its customers by implementing a code system (again) that you must type in in order to play multiplayer. 800 points via xbox live, which I believe is about $10? And the multiplayer isn't nearly as deep or well thought out experience as the single player mode. It's one thing to have a customer buy the game then have extra features like armor upgrades and weapons as an added live fee feature, but to have something as second nature-natural as multi-player come with an added price? I mean this isn't halo or even Call of Duty Quality type multi-player here! Shame, shame, shame!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Underwhelming

posted by Tremonster (HAMPTON, VA) Feb 6, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

Unfortunatly, Dead Space 2 just didn't impress me like I thought it would. I should start out with the campaign. The main story is just way too familar to the first Dead Space. Escape this place, find this person, whatever. The second story about Isaac losing his sanity as the story progresses on is far more interesting than the main story. The second story moments are just too far apart and too short to truly get involved in.
The gameplay is another big problem. After about two hours of it, it becomes boring and uninteresting. The endless rain of just shooting necromorphs, severing their limbs, stomp the bodies, and rinse, wash and repeat. The difficulty is very steep in that half the time the area will be too darkly lit and you'll have a dozen necromorphs coming at you at Mac-10. Also, the prices for things while they'll not through the roof high, finding money is just rediculous. The graphics are pretty good and the gore is plentiful but besides that its got nothing else going for it in the gameplay department besides a few holy &#%! moments.
The last thing I want to get into is the multiplayer. While it isn't bad its either too familar or too unfair. When playing as the Marines its just another Third Person Shooter multiplayer Horde-like mode. As the Necromorphs its brutally unfair. The range attack just seems to take too long to really start to take effect on someone and you have to get lucky and sneak up to an enemy and start wailing on them to actually kill them and the likelyhood that you'll actually get away with it without another Marine beating up on you right after you kill the other one is about 1 in 1,000,000.
In short the game didn't impress me like I thought it would.

Story: 6/10
Gameplay: 6.5/10
Graphics: 8/10
Multiplayer: 6/10

Total: 6.6/10=7/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent 2nd attempt EA still greedy

posted by Painamatio (LORAIN, OH) Feb 7, 2011

Member since Mar 2009

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

First off I love the game some thing could of been different but all in all great 2nd showing for the series.

Pros
1) graphics were good an creepy little dark even with brightness turned up all the way.
2) sound was on par and the voice acting believable
3)story was good but lacking near the end was more tring to hurry the last few lvls cause you start not to care anymore.
4)play control is typical dead space tight and accurate

The Cons
1) missing some of the creepy from the first felt more like going from checkpoint to checkpoint.
2) the monster count goes to crazy near the end of the game and the fun gets sucked right out.
3) played through it twice for achievment didn't care about total completion like I did with the first.
4) sorta spoiler end boss TO EASY anfter the run you had to take to get there.
5) EA Is greedy and tring to single handily kill the used and rental market with thier online pass BS.We all know they are greedy but this is bad even for these clowns.Hopefully nobody else follows suit.

All in all its a good 2nd attempt for the game and EA IS GREEDY!

Mini rant
All game publildhers should remeber that DLC is to improve the game by expanding the experiance not to line there pockets with weapon packs, draft pack, max team packs, online pass BS .EA is the worst of these and capcom runs a close second.

Did I mention EA IS GREEDY!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

no good......

posted by russian_spy (VASSAR, MI) Apr 9, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

this game is challenging. i have play many games on their toughest difficulty and the medium difficulty for this game seems to be harder than almost any other game on very hard... you start out with little to no instructions other than to not die... u seem to always be running dangerously low on ammo.. and right when u get a decent amount of ammo they send out a big baady out to absorb all or most of your ammo... and health... forget about it... if u get a health pack u might as well just save it enemies do astonishing amouts of damage and for some reason enemies can sence your above low helth and will quickly dispatch of it or kill you...ohh and not to mention you will half of the time be blind because of the no light factor making fights about 8 times harder... i do like the fact that if you do play far enough there are actions sequence which you take part in... the multiplayer is a good aspect for the 2 free days you get of it... yup a big thanks to EA gamming... if you want permenant multiplayer for the game u have to pay 800 microsoft points.... everything thought about this games scores a low 3 and i personally think im being generous because of how much this game frustrates me...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Too much-

posted by JohnnyDrama (POMPANO BEACH, FL) Feb 27, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

I was a HUGE DS1 fan- played it through more than once- which is rare. This time- I have been playing Chapter 14 for several hours-- I don't even care about the end of the game anymore. It's not that I suck at playing games either- it just gets to a point where stuff keeps spawning and respawning, and the noise level and you keep playing the same scenario so many times through-running back through empty hallways to get to a store or a bench- just sticking this one back in the mail-im over it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

people are cheap

posted by WADEHILL (STEAMBOAT SPRINGS, CO) Jan 27, 2011

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

the only reason this has like any bad ratings is the fact that u have to pay a one time ten dollar fee to play the online multi-player unless u buy the game then u get it for free the reason game company's are doing this is for more money obviously but that's not such a bad thing the more money they get the faster they can bring us cool new games if u liked dead space u will like this it has better CONTROLS GRAPHICS cool ALIENS GUNS ARMOR MULTI PLAYER everthing if u did not like the first one u prob wont like this one this took a long time to wright so better freakin read it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Dead Space 2

posted by chrisandstuff (APO, AE) Oct 20, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Great graphics, awesome lighting. Story was kind of...to fake. Creatures just appear from no ware and behind you?! I don't like how you walk into a large room and trigger creatures to come out from everywhere...so your telling me all of these "Zombies" are hiding in vents and stuff the whole time? I never ever once have ran into the creatures while they are walking around or anything. They all just appear and I thought that was kind of lame after a while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Cheap moments in this game

posted by JayRidge (BROOKLYN, NY) Sep 18, 2011

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is not a regular 3rd person shooter, it is classified as a survival horror game because the character moves slow and has limited ammo to fight off the necros who come at you in horde mode. The game forces some creative use of remaining ammo and lots of stomping. Once you thought you cleared the room and would be free to explore, another one comes out of nowhere and rips you to shreds. This game is cheap and the environment detail is beautiful to look at gets really old, really fast. I made it to almost Chapter 7 and got annoyed with the gameplay. I enjoyed Dead Space 1 up to this point as well, it became a chore to play and the limited ammo with horde mode made it frustrating to play instead of experimenting with different weapons and ammo to get the job done.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

How to ruin a game.

posted by Lazyb34n (SAN DIEGO, CA) Aug 17, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

You know that movie you loved, and couldn't wait to see the sequel. Only to find out because people liked "feature x", they decided to go overboard with it in the sequel. Completely ruining what made the first one good. Thats this game.

The first Dead Space had suspense, an eerie atmosphere, a building sense of danger, and some gore. This game has gore, gore, gore, and a cheesy effort at suspense. Right away, there are bodies everywhere, blood everywhere, a monster in every vent, and yet people had enough time to wright on the walls with blood....everywhere. Instead of building suspense, they just turned off the lights and make you use a flash light. Dont forget to throw in some cussing since thats the new trend in games now!

4 hours of this and the game got returned. So much for this Sci-Fi story. I had some hopes for it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun game, super repetitive

posted by Thrakos23 (GLENDORA, CA) Feb 28, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Fun game, scary game (unless you turn sound off), and some cool weapons with your usual variety of zombie/alien themed monsters to kill with them. However, I stopped playing at ch.11 because I was doing the same thing that I was doing in ch.1. The game consists of walking into a creepy room with ominous sounds protruding from the walls, and a monster crashes through the: walls, ceiling, windows, and your occasional pretend dead zombie monster alien. You kill them, by meticulously cutting off their limbs, and then you go into the next room and it starts all over again, and never ends. That’s the whole game wrapped up for you, nothing more other than your simplistic linear story line with the occasional puzzle solving that any infant could solve which consists of basically taking objects out of machines and putting them back into other walls/machines. Hope this review helps!

Pros: Good graphics, fun shooter, pretty scary with sound up
Cons: Did you read above?...

Decision: A worthy RENT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

If you like scary movies.....

posted by PoppaDukes (SPRING LAKE, NJ) Jan 30, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

you'll love this game. It's not just the gore and multitude of ways of killing necro whatevers. The sound in this game is really done well. The sounds will make the little hairs on the back of your neck tingle! This the scariest game I've EVER played!
I also love the fact that it's not just an alien killing game because there are some spots where you need to solve a puzzle to advance in the game while being attacked so..... It's even challangeing while playing on casual. Excelent job on single player!
The multiplayer is fun. Kind of like left for dead versus but is down right frustrating if you don't have 4 people working together. For that it gets an 8.5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Dead Space 2

posted by golith1985 (CARSON, WA) Jan 28, 2011

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

One of the scariest games made. Surprises around every corner, and just about everything popping out of everywhere to take a chunk out of you. Only thing i dont like is having to put the transformed kids down otherwise a very well made game and better than the first

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Short-ish, and the code!

posted by bigred1993 (SANTA CLARA, CA) Jan 26, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Its kindof short, which is my only real problem with the single player.

The graphics are great, sound is amazing, controls very smoothly (melee is much faster).

The story is not convoluted, no matter what a lot of people say. Just pay attention during dialogue and its about as confusing as Mass Effect 2 (which is fantastic, even if its just "go here, kill them, talk to these guys, repeat).

Oh and ISAAC ACTUALLY TALKS. No longer do we play a soulless protagonist limited to grunts and screams. This makes the story much more compelling. It makes it....more.

This game would get a 9 from me, IF EA WOULD QUIT FORCING THESE BS CODES ON THE GAMERS THAT FORCE US TO BUY THE GAME OR SPEND 20 BUCKS FOR THE CODE THAT WILL LET US PLAY A MEDIOCRE MULTIPLAYER FOR LONGER THAN THE TWO DAY TRIAL PERIOD.

ugh....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A realistic review

posted by gzutenzo (BEAVERTON, OR) Feb 23, 2011

Member since May 2010

4 out of 13 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

This game has alot of polish, in fact it is nearly all polish. There is little actual substance whatsoever. The control mechanics are so slow that most of the time when you die it will be because something snuck up behind you. Since enemys can appear out of nowhere, above or below you at any time this is a cheap tactic. The entire game is compromised of corny one liners and stupid jump out of nowhere scares meant to make you twitch. Sometimes it works, but eventually youll get tired of just killing everything with no real direction.

Go to area, kill everything, go to next area, kill everything.

The first boss which you fight within the first 15 minutes will be the highlight of the next 4 hours. Its all tedious repetitive shooting.

That sounds great at first but enemys are rather boring despite all the necromorph dismembering. The story is shrouded in mystery and even the makers of the game have a really difficult time making it sound interesting beyond "oh hm?" Read interviews about convergence and the marker. It sounds like a child made it up and they are just running with it. What is convergence? Its when alot of necromorphs get together at once and then something happens. What happens? No one knows, and 2 games into the series, a few graphic novels, no one has a better idea.

So whats the point of dead space 2? I dont know, to kill weird aliens.

The death scenes are nice but it doesnt detract from the hollow gameplay.

If you strip away the graphics a bit, this title would not even jump on the radar.

On to the multiplayer -
There is one mode. Period. You play human or necromorph and switch off in a complete rip off of left for dead. Its really boring to do the exact same thing over and over on only 5 maps. Most of the time the rest of your team has no intention of finishing the objective and just goes for the maximum amount of kills. Someone yelled over their mic "screw the objective just kill everything i dont care." neither do I.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

bgfbfbfvbfbfbfbfb

posted by jordanwalker420 (SEDRO WOOLLEY, WA) Feb 11, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

3 out of 11 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

bbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbvbvcdgvfbfvbf

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome Game

posted by TheHuslte (MICANOPY, FL) Jan 24, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

6 out of 25 gamers (24%) found this review helpful

This game is amazing, it has good graphics, and its better than the first one. Enough said. It is worth the rent or to buy, either way you can have alot fun or get scared (if you haven't played the first on) so this game is a 9!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse