Rent Dead Space 2 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Dead Space 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
8.4

16354 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Creepy Goodness

posted by IamtheStig (PORT RICHEY, FL) Feb 2, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Dead Space is now one of the must play franchises. Along side the greats like Gears, Mass Effect, Bioshock and Assassins Creed. Turn off the lights turn up the surround sound and get ready for a truly chilling experience. Unlike other "scary" games. DS2 does not lose it's creepiness. This is due to a great story, great level design and great sound design. If you don't have surround sound, at least wear headphones to get the "whole package". I am on chapter 11 and I am hoping that this iteration isn't the end. I hope there will be a DS3. You owe it to yourself to play this game. If you didn't play the original, go get that first before you play Dead Space 2. It's just as good and the story carries over from the first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better than I was expecting from a sequel

posted by TahoeBlue (RENO, NV) Jan 28, 2011

Member since Mar 2008

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Every time there is a part 2 of any successful video game it seems the developers are saying to themselves, "if you make it, they will buy it." After Bioshock 2, Fallout New Vegas, and every Call of Duty game I was expecting more of the same but new levels. This game is the one of the few exceptions.
I am on the fourth level and this game is worth every penny. Bioshock level building, Dead Space fear and Mass Effect graphics and attention to detail.
I still haven't tried the new multiplayer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing!!! Cant Stop Playing!!

posted by jspeedy28 (DAVENPORT, FL) Jan 26, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This game is the best surival horror game thats been out in a long time. the first dead space was also a great game but this one tops it. the controlls are more responcive, the graphics are top notch, the sounds are amazing i had my 5.1 surround sound all they way up. theyve brough new weapons this time, a flight ability in zero-g segments, on some parts your in pitch black with only a flash light. the whole feel of the game keeps you on edge. no lie ive jumped atleast 5 times so far. The story mode is really well written and no loading times between chapters. and its all run in real time. everything blinds toget reallt nice. Multiplayer in this game is a funtime with friends Necromorphs vs. humans in objective game modes, on one map you have to try to get to the ecape pods from the uss ishmura. i had a really fun time playing this with friends, team work is key in the multiplayer if you want to survive. I love this game, i give it a 10. i recommend this game. Rent it if you dare!! game on!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

DEAD SPACE 2 IS ALIVE!

posted by SoulStain (RESEDA, CA) Jan 26, 2011

Member since Dec 2009

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

BIGGER, BADDER AND SCARIER THAN THE 1ST. I consider myself pretty desensitized to this kind of thing but i had crazy nightmare dreams last night after playing this. Its that good. If your a fan of the first game you will love this. Its two discs too so expect huge. The zero g walks are killer now too because you can actually control yourself with boosters instead of just jumping which to me is a 100% improvement. Im going to have to pick this one up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Ok I am not done yet but......

posted by Jedislayer (ESCONDIDO, CA) Jan 25, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I played 2 hours of this game and WOW! from the first sequence it gets down to business, You will not be bored playing this game, your hands are always gripping your controller on what is going to happen next. This game makes resident evil 5 seem like a walk through the park. Like i said I haven't finished the game yet (obviously it only been released today) but it is amazing! This title is a good title to kick off the year folks and I'm not kidding. Can't wait to see how this one ends!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent Sequel

posted by KayotixTX (CANYON LAKE, TX) Jan 24, 2011

Member since Nov 2008

10 out of 16 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

WOW!! From the dark corridors to the atmospheric music this game really does set the tone for what you will be in store for all game.

If you loved the first Dead Space this one will really knock your socks off. Single Player is were the game shines and it will creep you out from beginning to end,multiplayer seems more like filler. It didnt really need it but its an ok addition i guess.

Graphics,music and lighting and finally some conclusion to the story. love this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Mixed review

posted by Soldarith (WEST CHESTER, PA) Feb 5, 2011

Member since Apr 2009

15 out of 25 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

It certainly is not Dead Space 1 but it does bring back some elements that made the first popular. With great graphics, stellar sound effects, and creepy game play, the sequel had a lot going for it. Unfortunately, however, the longer you played the game, the more it began to feel "rushed" -- reaching a climax pace by the end of the game where you feel like your character: running past everything just to survive long enough to get to the end.

PROS:
- Graphics are great and well-used lighting really shines through (pun intended).
- Sounds are very well done and very well timed.
- Voice acting was spot-on, giving emotional highs/lows.
- Game play and controls were smooth, responsible, and what we'd expect from DS.
- Intriguing story continues from the first part.
- Space flight is amazingly-well-done.

CONS:
- Many weapons just not viable/used.
- Too much dependence on finding schematics for new items.
- The story begins to tapper off the longer the game plays; becoming dull & giving the player a numbness by the end.
- The monster density goes from reasonable to stupid 3/4 through the game, where you find yourself fighting off "the horde" in seemingly every room you step into.
- EA's Online Pass - $15 to play online, although its included in the game? No thanks. Personal note: I refuse to purchase (i.e. buy) any EA title that supports this model.

All-in-all, the game played very well but by the time you reach chapter 12, you just want it to be over. There weren't too many "oh s!$#" moments; which is what made the first game. While single player was entertaining, EA trying to charge for multiplayer is inexcusable and frustrating.

I believe its time to either invent something new for Dead Space or watch it spiral down to numb FPS playing soon. Same goes for EA: Stop trying to milk the gamer community for features already included in the disc; you're destroying your customer base (developers suffer for this, not you).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

AHHH! (my first review)

posted by cten85 (WEIRTON, WV) Apr 19, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Dead Space 2 definately hits the mark as far as scaring the pants off of you. The first 10 minutes or so are pretty intense and set the tone for the whole experience. It is a lot like dead space 1, especially the weapons, but that isn't a bad thing. Dead Space 1 was a good game. The thing that really strikes me is the atmosphere of the game, it's very dark and there are tons of creepy noises. Stuff crawling around in the vents, falling off of shelves behind you etc. It makes you swing your flashlight around in paranoia and really gets you into the game. It is a 2 disc game but kind of suprised me how fast I got to the second disc which leads me to believe its a pretty short game.

There are however some cons to this game. I found that if I played it for long periods of time I came to expect something to jump out at me so it lost some of the scare factor. Also there are too many weapons to buy them all, there isn't enough cash to go around. I picked 3 that I really liked and spent my cash on ammo and other things. The pace is relentless and inexperienced gamers may find it frustrating, especially having to aim for the creatures limbs which is pretty much the only way to kill them.

There is multiplayer but of course, in the new age of gaming, that is not included in the outragous $60 dollar price tag. You have to pay extra money to be blessed with what may or may not be a waste of your money and time. Roll the dice? However renting this game will NOT be a waste of your time because the single player campaign is where its at. If you like survival horror games you won't be disapointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by bxqbcat83 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Feb 17, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

love this game enough said

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Just as Good as the Original

posted by sturk1kl (DAVISON, MI) Feb 8, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I'm a major fan of the first Dead Space game. It was amazing to be afraid every time I turned a corner or turned on my flashlight. The graphics were amazing and the storyline was fantastic.

This game is just as fantastic as the first one. I've never been scared when playing games before, but there are certain parts in this game that made me jump a few times, like when a giant star comes crashing in my face while I'm walking around, or a school bell going off all-of-a-sudden. The graphics are just as good as the first, and I think the storyline is even better than the first game.

I definitely recommend this game to anyone who wants to be scared out of their mind!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I WANT MORE!!!

posted by 2old2ply (O FALLON, IL) Feb 2, 2011

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

First game I have played twice in quite some time even before sending it back to game-fly.
I could be more detail but no need there is plenty listed here. Great game can't wait for the next one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by WARDiehard (VOLANT, PA) Feb 1, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is the best game ever! It is very bloody, gory, dismembermentful and most of all scary. This is the sequel to Dead Space 2. Its confusing if you dont listen to the people when they talk. But it is very fun and is worth the buy. (sorry about the spelling)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game was soo amazing

posted by Ricangamer (BRONX, NY) Jan 31, 2011

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If you liked dead space 1 you will love playing dead space 2, The story feel soo much deeper and more different kind of enemies and way more guns. This game is a must buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Thee Best horror game out there!

posted by Jbunny1991 (PALMDALE, CA) Jan 28, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This Game rocks and i havent beat it yet but man is it getting good cant wait hopefull they will make another because this by far my most favorite game ever!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

More of the same

posted by Junkie22 (JACKSON HEIGHTS, NY) Jan 29, 2011

Member since Mar 2008

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

If you played Dead Space 1 then you wont be suprise or stimulated by much of the content in this game that many have said so far warrents a high rating. Dont get me wrong Dead Space 2 is a fun and challenging game but i feel as if its missing somthing that would get me hooked on it the way the first did.

For lack of sufficently new cocntent this game is only an 8.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing!

posted by Gator415 (SIOUX FALLS, SD) Jan 25, 2011

Member since May 2010

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I haven't really gone that far into the game, but it is defintely an awesome game! the game feels alot scarier than the last one and i was constantly jumping from things popping out. The story is interesting and i'm eager to dive back in soon and see where it ends up

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A-W-E-S-O-M-E !!!

posted by Artifact95 (AUSTIN, TX) Jan 26, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Best game by far for 2011...Graphics = 10 / Storyline = 10 / Gameplay = 10 / Bloody Gore = 10

OVERALL A GREAT GAME...PLEASE BUY OR RENT THIS GAME...YOU WILL NOT BE DISSAPOINTED

PeAcE oUt Peoples!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Gears of Space

posted by racoonsurvivor (HIGH RIDGE, MO) May 9, 2011

Member since May 2011

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Everything You loved about Dead Space is now dead. The scary unknown no longer exists, the intense action that had you hoping that the next corner was safe is no longer intense, and on top of it all the story that had you wondering what the movie and next game could offer has become a bland tale. This game's game play hasn't changed much and they added an okay multilplayer, however this series went from a psychological thriller with some good twists, to a cheap slasher with people jumping out of the shadows during the quite music. Basically if you were a fan of the first one you probably want to forget this ever happened.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Kinda Repetitive

posted by Matt31788 (WARREN, MI) Aug 17, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I thought it was going to be a very good game, but I just found it to be really repetitive. You kill some mutants then run down a dark hallway, open a door and kill some more mutants. Really that's all there is.

I mean, it is a well made game but the story and your tasks are just very bland and boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good game

posted by GamRGRRrLL79 (MACON, GA) Mar 21, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is a good, scary, and at times difficult game. It's not for me. I have found that maybe horror isn't my genre. But if you like horror games, this may be a good fit for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

EA Screwed Up BADLY

posted by VAMP1RE (CORTLAND, NY) Jan 26, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

18 out of 41 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

More of the same Necromorph killing fun in Dead Space 2. Sadly, however, EA decided to make accessing the online multiplayer a single use code for each game. That means that in order to play multiplayer for more than the 2 day FREE trial, it will cost 800 Microsoft points ($10).
That is a pathetically weak corporate attack on the gamers that buy used games or rent them. No matter how good the gameplay is, this game loses 4 points right off the top for it's corporate greed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Dead Space 2

posted by goodgametactics (CORAL SPRINGS, FL) Jun 11, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Not the best game for me.In my opinion, it was dark and made the game scary but not enjoyable. I'm rating the game a 7 for the good story line but a 6 for my overall enjoyment of the game .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

What ever!

posted by eclipse412 (LAWRENCEVILLE, GA) Jul 25, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is quit boring. In the beginning you have a bunch of ammo and you can kick some alien butt. But as time goes on and you change weapons you get less and less ammo. It get annoying.
The only way they scare you is by the typical nothing going on monster jumps out of the wall. And it happens all the time. Its funny because you know when something is going to happen once you play long enough.
It gets boring because you just running around because every time the person that tell you you have to meet them at such and such place it gets blocked off or something goes wrong. Really every time. So yoi know when the person say meet me at the train your really not going to meet them at the train because bla bla bla happens. STUPID, EVERY TIME, EVERY TIME
I sent this game back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is survival horror

posted by dnol47 (CHICAGO, IL) Jun 23, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I didn't know what i'd make of Dead Space 2, mainly because I never played the first one. But after finding a nifty feature that gave you a quick rundown of the last game, that saved me that problem.

From the moment you take control of Isaac Clarke (main character), you're immediately put in danger by the imminent attack occuring. The gore is very intense and nearly uncensored, so this wasn't meant for kids.

The combat is fairly straightforward, aim and fire at the weak spots. Of course, throw in the survival part and it'll be obvious ammo will be a luxury in this game.

The graphics are very good, especially the way body parts come off the enemies you kill.

The only thing that prevents me from recommending this to anyone is that there's parts and enemies that would question many people's moral views. But outside that, great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Started off great, but wow...Pfft.

posted by Tion97 (RAINIER, WA) Jun 3, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Okay, don't get me wrong, a four might of been a little nice...I know, but Read down a little more and you'll find out my reason for the low number...

First off, I didn't get the gun till about thirty minutes into the game, er maybe an hour. And its very frustrating when you get jumped in the beginning, and I couldn't see the (A) button popping up because it was on the floor, and disappearing ever second, so I had to rapidly press everything until I got it right (Took about five times).

I had absolutely no problem with the "Jump" moments, I do love them, and it's funny to hear myself suck in the air and go "OH MY GOD". But after the first chapter, I was just horrifyingly disappointed, I could tell when the "Jump" moments were coming, I mean about 80% of the time going around a corner, I figured out that something was going to pop up, and going in a hallway with a whole bunch of doors, something was bound to pop up at the end, so in the begging you think "Okay, something is going to pop up" your at the end thinking "Oh, never mind", then all of a sudden it does.

My point is, that I WOULD get this game for achievements, but don't buy it. Only worth renting it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse