Rent Dead Space 2 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Dead Space 2

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.4

16334 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing.

posted by purplekun (WEST HAVEN, CT) Feb 19, 2011

Member since Oct 2008

This game is amazing. I've played it through three times already and I'm still not sick of it. Most of the achievements aren't too difficult either. The game is about 6-10 hours of game play depending on how difficult you want it to be. If you really want a challenge, play the game on the hardest difficulty the first time through. Otherwise, you get way too much ammo and the game is very easy, and you'll be done in 6 hours. Best game I've played since Red Dead Redemption.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A new king to the survival horror genre

posted by DanNaruto1 (CHANNAHON, IL) Feb 19, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

Dead Space 2 is a sequel in the vein of a Hollywood movie sequel. Rather than reinventing the formula that worked so well with the 2008 original, Visceral Games and EA offered more of the same–just bigger, louder, scarier, and the stakes are higher, just like a Hollywood movie sequel would, and it works.

Despite a few issues, Dead Space 2 is an excellent game. The Resident Evil games are still going strong, but the Dead Space franchise has something new to offer, and it does it with such skill that the series can lay claim to being the preeminent survival horror franchise on the market.

There are a few slow parts, and the “go and fix it” missions get slightly tedious. The sequel does not significantly add much to the gameplay of the first, and the weapons are the same with only a few additions, plus the armors are limited. These gripes are easy enough to overlook though. The faults do mark the score down a few points because of it, but if you loved the first game, the second will only build on that feeling.

Dead Space 2 has set the bar high for 2011, and with the sequel, the franchise has made its case as the best survival horror series on the market.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing game!!

posted by sologun12 (STAFFORD, VA) Feb 18, 2011

Member since Jun 2009

This was an incredible game! Tied in with first story very well, but yet not so much were you would need to play the 1st one to understand everything. Everyone is saying multiplayer is terrible, i actually think its great! It is like Left for Dead alot, but still extremely fun especially if you play with friends. The campaign just as i assumed was AMAZING. Dare i say..... it was better then the first one which i played through about 5 times. The campaign is so detailed and long the game is on 2 disks, but is worked into game very well allowing you to switch to second disk with out having to exit back to dashboard or even to the main menu for that matter. I honestly feel extremely comfortable giving this game a perfect 10. There is no reason for it not too. Only turn off i can find about this game is that you have a 2 day free trail for multiplayer if you just rented it. After that you have to pay for multiplayer. That is no reason for me to bring down the score of this game. This game has a very intense and scariest game a have played in a VERY long time. Every little thing in game is detailed to the extreme. From huge necromorphs, to a magazine laying in a dark corner. Ai in this game is very intelligent. I was amazed facing a new necromorph named the stalker. As i went to kill one that was popping its head out from behind a corner to lure me close. Another stalker snuck up on me from behind and charged me. Knocking me to the ground and tearing me into pieces.
There are just certain games that i will always remember and be attached to, and the Dead Space series is one of them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Crisp, Iconic, Show Piece Loaded With Fun

posted by aF3ARofCHANG3 (WILMINGTON, NC) Feb 14, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

This game feels great to play. Clark the protagonist is responsive to control and the weapons he wields are varied and allow you to play how you would like. The environments and enemies are second to none. The checkpoint system is forgiving and the save system allows you to hop in and hop out when you have time to play.

Pros: Great Unique Enemies, Great Player and Weapon Control, Forgiving Checkpoint/ Save System, Best in Class graphics, Great replay value for Campaign (new Better Suits and powered up Weapons), great Polish

Cons: At time of writing 50% chance of hitting a bug on level six which requires you revert to an earlier save. Though, this is EA and I doubt it will take long to fix. Two Disc

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good game

posted by bboyversatile21 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Feb 13, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

Very scary

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Solid not Scary

posted by sugarsnaps (LOUISVILLE, KY) Feb 11, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

This game is solid and pretty fun but it isn't very scary, don't get me wrong it was very startling the first few times the dead aliens pop'd back up but it wasn't the kind of lasting fear that is usually present in most horror games, but i have to say that it is definitely an improvement from the last game and the game play and multi-player are enjoyable.
So i would definitely recommend this as a rent 7-7.5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ITS GRRRRRREAT!!

posted by pheyespy (ALTUS, OK) Feb 9, 2011

Member since Sep 2008

This game.... I love this game.

My first play through was a six hour run on a Friday night. I got off work and played until 2 am.

Everything that makes game a great is here. Visual and audio affects, tight controls and camera angles, and an intense story.

As always the game feels like you are right there with Clark, the lack of an bulky HUD really keeps you in the game. Although the stoic Clark for the first game was cool. No one goes through that without being changed, but he is still very human and doesn't copy an established video game archetypes.

A quick word on EA's marketing campaign. My mom took me to the release of Aliens in 1986 I was 6 years old. She loves scary movies and loves watching scary video games. That being said EA was too heavy handed marketing it. This game's pedigree alone was enough to make me want to buy it. Basically this game deserved better than what EA's marketing department came up with.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

best horror/action game so far

posted by GeeBaba (ORANGE PARK, FL) Feb 7, 2011

Member since May 2009

this is just for people who didnt like the 1st one, this one is amazing and you should play it, you can even play it 2 pr 3 times over with the new suits it keeps giving you and upgrading weapons, your mom dont like it but you will, unless your a sissy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Like Chocolate and Peanut Butter

posted by HvnsAngel (ENUMCLAW, WA) Feb 5, 2011

Member since Jun 2006

Dead Space 2 is an improvement on the original Dead Space from 2008 in almost every way. The team at Visceral have done a great job in taking Isaac to the next level by giving him a voice and letting his thoughts and feelings show through as the story progresses.

The story is told well and the cast of characters is interesting and finding audio and text logs throughout your journey can give you even more inside into everything. If you’ve played the original some questions will be answered while others will come up.

Game play in Dead Space 2 is largely unchanged from the 1st. Tighter controls, new weapons and upgrades. The suits that you can find and purchase now have special traits to them such as a store discount, increased weapon damage, or faster hacking time. You still use nodes and work benches to upgrade equipment, and be warned the doors that require a node to open are still in the sequel so I recommend having at least 1 on hand always. The fear factor is still here but, if you again have played the original you’ll have a bit of an idea as of what to expect.

Which brings me to my next point while Dead Space 2 can stand on its own and is a fantastic game, it goes to a new level if you played the 1st. There are moments and an entire mission which bring you back to the first encounter, mistake, and as a player your experience. You expect things that may or may not happen, simply because the original had you wired by the 2nd play through as to what you need to expect and Visceral plays on that in a few areas to get inside your and get your blood pumping.

So like chocolate and peanut butter, Dead Space 2 is a great game and while the 1st isn’t a required play, mixing the 2 together makes a better experience in terms of story, gameplay, and fear factor.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing ride the whole way!

posted by TXsucks (HOUSTON, TX) Feb 5, 2011

Member since May 2009

This game is an amazing game! They improved on all of the things that they were lacking on in the first one. The graphics are top notch and the shading and lighting are even better, the story line will keep you engaged and submersed in this 3rd person sci-fi shooter. Not to mention that they improved the controls a lot so no more having to aim your weapon in order to reload it. The RIG has been revamped competly for easier useage for the player. Now the only thing I found to be less than perfect was the multiplayer now I'm not saying it's bad but it will probably get very repetitive very fast. This game is a definite rent. The campaign has a lot of replay value and the multiplayer isn't terrible. Definitely rent this game and if you don't like it... Well just be happy you have GameFly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

hooked

posted by joshstory (CORONA, CA) Feb 4, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

this is my first review. i enjoyed this game so much i just added dead space 1 to my que. great game great graphics, and challenging. It gets pretty intense u have to take breaks! i have not played the multiplayer but as far as the campain goes all in all theres nothing i didnt like about the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

tons of what made the first awsome!

posted by jbruggs (DAYTON, OH) Jan 31, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

Pros: this game brings back many elements of what made the first so addicting. the dismemberment, the weapons, the 3rd person in game style and HUB, and lets not forget the scares/soundtrack! On a number of levels this is beefed up. New wepons that are loads of fun and a great overhaul on your character play. Issac moves faster and you now can manuver in Zero-G. Your telekenesis and Stasis are much more useful and the stasis recharges itself over time. ANother bonus is the variety of suits, there are many and each has a diffent perk to it. The story is just as rich, and the pacing just keeps you moving at an insane rate. bigger/harder enemies pop up more often, and they're are just loads more necromorphs to kill. Then there are those little touches that make as much of an impression. Certain parts in the game just make you say," HOLY CUSS!" The enviornment of every area is unique and scary beautiful, a great example is when your are in the church of unitology. There are many places in the game where content is interactive and just adds so much flavor to the game. And to par with that, that graphics are just so great, every chance you get to look out a window I reccomend you do it...if you dont shoot it out that is:)

Cons: What made the fisrt game even better was the amount of audio logs that provide a little backstory, in DS2 they're are just no where near as many. There are also little points in the game when you have to hack and vent crawl, I just foud them to be annoying when they happended, but rest assured its not all the time. My other gripe is how this game kinda felt like Bioshock. You see the outside, you go outside, but it does not happen enough, being in a city I expected a bit more grandscale, and a bit more interacton with the populace, but it happens rarely. 1 more is towards the end of the game, the pukers, you"ll see. the muliplayer..dont bother.

Summary: The game is amazing but the final boss/ending is a bit weak. But hey, DEAD SPACE 3 anyone!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good but too short

posted by Wallace (OZONA, TX) Jan 30, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

When i first got the game i was like ahh yeah and when i saw the 2 disks i was like ahh yeah again i started playing it and 2 hours into the game it asks me for a disk change. Now i was like what the F%$& this better not be short, the second disk lasted longer but i ended up beating it in only 6 hours. This game is good but is way too short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME!!!

posted by gameking5 (SEAFORD, NY) Jan 25, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

This game is amazing. From the start you will never want to put down the controller. EA does a great job with mixing horror with adventure. The zero G is amazing and the combat can get very intense at times and the puzzles are greatly planned. If you loved the first Dead Space then you will love this, also there is a special surprise towards the end of the game that really shows that EA cares about the Dead Space franchise. I hope this game wins game of the year because EA really deserves it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse