Rent Dead Space 2 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Dead Space 2

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.4

16331 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Stellar Sequel

posted by sk0m9914 (ROANOKE, VA) Mar 10, 2011

Member since Aug 2009

PROS:
-Engaging story
-Disturbing at times, in a good way....
-Awesome weapon selection (Force Gun FTW when your crowded)
-Death-defying, awesome game moments you don't get in many other games.
-Multiplayer is a breath of fresh air amongst a sea of sports and FPS's.

CONS:
-The fear factor wasn't all there when it should have been.
-Difficulty shift midgame and no knowledge of "insdestructable" enemies at a certain point in the game can lead to some "?" moments, especially on the higher difficulties.

SUMMARY:
In my opinion the fear factor wasn't present this time around like in the first game. Survival takes more of the dominant role and very few moments that are intended to be scary actually were. If you have played the original Dead Space as I have, it may have made you immune to the scare tactics it was very well known for as it did me.

Don't get me wrong though, this game still has some tense and dramatic moments you don't get from many games and they are truly unique as well.

Weapons and upgrades are still the same with a few new additions. Not much change here but that is a good thing.

If you are on harder difficulties, I suggest stocking up as you near the end of the game, YOU WILL BURN THROUGH AMMO QUICKLY AND THE LAST THING YOU WANT TO DO IS RUN OUT.

Multiplayer is refreshing and surprisingly fun and isn't and afterthought like many single-player games. They could build a whole game from the multiplayer, it's that good in my opinion.

Overall great sequel and I am looking forward to the next installment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Its true, Your Moms Gonna Hate It...

posted by Apple_Jaxs (PARKER, CO) Mar 8, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

Dead Space returns to the Xbox and PS3 with everything you could possibly want. You return as Isaac the not so lucky CEC engineer who once again has to fight off waves of nercos, seems he can't get a break. Dead Space is riddled with fun and frights and even the return of the Ishimura, but you'll find that out soon enough. Without giving to much away this game is a must rent, if not a buy. The multiplayer is in similar taste to those who are fans of the Left for Dead series. With 1 team of humans against 1 team of nercos. The game has tremendous replay value. If you like frights and fights Dead Space 2 is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The way 1 player shooters should be

posted by ThePRocket (MANAHAWKIN, NJ) Mar 8, 2011

Member since Aug 2007

I played the first dead space and liked the game.. This version - im half way through and can tell you its a more polished version w/ better cut and interactive scenes... It reminds me of the old resident evil games.. where you were literally creeping through a board... waiting for something to pop out at you...

They do a GREAT job of dulling your senses so that when these moments come, you are hit completely off guard because you may have been too busy picking up something strategically placed in your way etc.

Love the game... can't wait to get home and fnish it.. first night spent 4 hours playing...

I love games that are like long movies... Once its over - put it in the package and back to gamefly.. satisfied.

If you have never played Deadspace.. they have a cool intro movie to catch you up on the events of the first one.

I recall beating the first one in about 9 hrs... so if you have time... just rent them both and knock it out ...

heard a lot of flack about paying for online ... I rented madden and had that same issue where if you didn't have the code you needed to pay for it.... It is a bunch of BS.. but for what its worth.. I can't see this online being revolutionary or I'd have seen more people on xbox playing this long term...

maybe ill do the trial online to check it out.. but this is a beat and done kind of good game to me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent and Moving title

posted by batoviiking (MENIFEE, CA) Mar 7, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

If you are looking to get horrified, this game fails at it. If you are looking for something to keep you on your toes, then stick with this game.

This game was one of the first survival horror games I had played in many years. The last one that I had played was Resident Evil 4 and I would have to say much of this game is comparable in terms of fun.

The game itself has very good pacing and if you are playing it for the first time I highly suggest you stick to a difficulty setting the challenges you at every turn. Much of the game involves actually having to think and strategize with your weapons, ammunition, and limited cargo space. If you go any lower you will lose out on the immersion and most of what makes the game so engulfing will be lost.

Some of the game does repeat in enjoyable ways when it comes to combat but it is so sparse you will actually like the rematches with the different horrors as the small twists introduced will keep it fresh.

As for bugs and errors I believe I only ever got one and after a reset to the checkpoint I never got any others. Many other games you can expect 3 - 5 bugs but this one I won't be surprised if you never recieve any.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sooooo INTENSE!

posted by KneeNose (SURPRISE, AZ) Mar 7, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

Great game 10/10 only thing sucked was only a 2 day trial for online play, other then that it was great

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Edge Of Your Seat, Start to Finish

posted by mrcparker1980 (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Mar 6, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

I really didn't get into the first Dead Space with the same repetitive surroundings. This game starts off unexpectedly and a roller coaster ride from then on. I like the different interactions in the game compared to the first and definitely buying after renting from Gamefly!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Game

posted by johnomaz (TURLOCK, CA) Mar 6, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

My god...I haven't had a game make me feel like that in ages...well, at least not since the first Dead Space. It will make you think "Why am I playing this. I don't want to open that door. Freaking noises...somethings about to happ....AHHHH!" Amazing game. Fun to play. Kept me playing for about 10 hours of gameply. WELL WORTH THE RENT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

can't stop play fun

posted by naspalm253 (TACOMA, WA) Mar 6, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

I have dead spaces 1 and i have played that over and over now heres dead spaces 2 and man it is a blast from the first one.. i love this game hope they make a part 3. The rating is 10+++++++++++. i like gamefly becuase u can hold it and have time to beat it. all i have to say is two day renting or a week such a short time to play just stop and go to gamefly.......

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Team Work

posted by Muslimonduty (EWING, NJ) Mar 6, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

This game is extremely fun when playing with a good team, team work is extremely important. Great Graphics and game play, worth renting. If your a lone wolf do not get this game, you will end up getting eaten by a 1000 alien thingies.

Only problem is you do not get a code with this, so you have to buy it for 10 dollars or you can get it off ebay for about 5.

Overall extremely fun game.
Gets a 9 from me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wow, did not see that coming!

posted by Espman (NEWARK, DE) Mar 4, 2011

Member since Oct 2009

Lets me start by saying i died within the first 15 seconds. No, that is not a typo, i mean 15 SECONDS! That let me know exactly what kind ride i was in for. And let me tell you, I thoroughly enjoyed every single second of it! The game play is more linear then the first one, which means very little backtracking, and Isaac actually is a character this time, not just a voiceless drone doing what everyone tells him to do. The voice acting, especially for Isaac, was superb. You can really feel the twinges of emotion, desperation, and overall fear in the characters. The Lighting, or lack thereof, perfectly set the mood, and made me have my weapon at the ready position for almost every corner. Oh, and believe me when i say, no place is a safe spot. Enemies can come from just about anywhere, and are not limited to climbing up walls or out of vents. Get real familiar with kinesis and stasis, because when ammo is low or your weapon is not doing enough damage, these are the tools that will save your hide.

For the avid Dead Space enthusiast, there is a chapter, which i will not spoil, that brought an equally warming and dreadful twinge of nostalgia, so be ready for it. Overall, this game did a fantastic job of combining accurate gun play, decent puzzle play, fast paced action with an awesome storyline, and a thrilling ride straight to the creepy end.

Oh, one more thing: for all the whiners out there that turned the game off after the first time they died, get over your self's. If you're looking for a top selling game that you can practically walk through undamaged on the hardest setting your first time around, your basically looking the lousiest game ever made, which you'll probably whine about too. Stop being a little girl and take the challenge head-on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

dead space 2

posted by shelly (PLATTSBURGH, NY) Mar 4, 2011

Member since Jun 2009

never played anything like it b4 i so love it !!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dead space 2

posted by stone1 (CLINTON, IA) Mar 3, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

Before i explain how fun this game is you need to do some visual thinking, imagine every good review or this game, imagine 10,000 more good reviews and multiplay it by your phone number and that might be underselling it. This game is amazing, I don't really play survival horror games, I hate being scared but dead space is so amazingly fun i really didn't care if i was about to go in my pants. If you play this game it is normal to have the uncontrolable urge to press the KEEP button 5+ times. People hate on the mutiplayer but i think its awsomely fun to blow my buddies head,2 arms,and mutated bloody shoulder claws that has my other buddies head on it with a well aimed line gun shot. Playing as the necormorphs is really cool and remember they could haved dropped multiplayer but they are that dedicated to the fans. The one tiny thing that sucks is at gamefly users, you need a redeem code to play multiplayer,they give a 2 day free trial witch is enough to dicide if you are hooked or not. If you KEEP the game you get the redeem code. If you had a gamefly acount for a while you get discounts so i got the best game to ever enter my xbox for 40 bucks! why are you still reading CLICK RENT NOW DEAD SPACE 2 IS GOIN FAST CLICK IT STOP READING, seriously like now, are you still reading, BUY IT, RENT IT, STEAL IT, GET IT NOW!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

INCREDIBLE- YOU SHOULD DEFINATELY BUY THIS

posted by sleepychris1 (CINCINNATI, OH) Mar 3, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

PRO = 1) Amazing cinematic gameplay(sometimes you will like your watching movie)
2)Graphics are so good it dosent even use cutscenes
3)One of the best storylines I ever played
4) having to dismember enemies in order to kill them provides a completely new type of gameplay
5)fun weapons never seen in any other game
etc...

CON = 1) The enviroment often makes you feel confined and is too similar to the first Dead Space

If you already have'nt, I advise that you rent and complete the first before triying this because the story will seem abrupt if you don't.
WARNING= If you play this game on Easy or Normal diffilculty, it will waterdown and ruin the experince. If you don't, you will realize you have a boat load of ammo and weapons left because it only takes a couple shots to kill and trust me, theres no fun in that. Also, it negates and ruins Dead Space's original tatics of dismemberment, so start on Hard diffilculty. Since you will die a lot, you will be motivated to lower the diffilculty, but like Bioshock and Halo, the experience is most fun when it's challenging.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

!!!!!AWESOME!!!!!

posted by Shanaka236 (RICE LAKE, WI) Mar 3, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

I never did rent the game from here, I bought it straight out instead. This game was down right awesome in my book. The creepy factor was through the roof. Heck I had my brightness turned all the way up and I still couldn't see anything. This was a definite upgrade from the first game. If you were a fan of the first game, then you'll love this one. My favorite thing about the game the most, was all the twists it had, from the very beginning it made me go what!!! and it continued throughout the rest of the game. On a note be ready for some controller change up from the first game, its not exactly the same as the first one, but I'm certain people will get used to it. Graphics were down right amazing, even for being a game that is almost totally dark the whole time, luckily you have your flashlight Mr. Clark. The storyline...well, I won't give any spoilers, but be ready for a good one. All in all, great game, 10 out of 10 for me...and hope you guys enjoyed it as much as I did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Well Worth the 50 dollars

posted by LaVieBoehme (OAK HARBOR, WA) Mar 3, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

Dead Space 2 is of course the sequel to Dead Space 1. Now the obvious is out of the way. Lets gets down to business.

You play the character Issac Clarke. The soul survivor of a repair operation gone wrong. Aboard the ship known as the USG Ishimura, houses a series of horrors that that can leave you sleeping with the light on and having your famous machete close to your bed. The enemies you face generally deal a series of different kinds of "space zombie" known as the Necromorphs. Dead Space 2 continues Issac's adventure and the after math when escaping the God-forsaken ship.

When you come to. You find yourself aboard a medical station known as, the Sprawl along the moons of Saturn. The Necromorph out break has leaked onto the station and Issac must set out to destroy the one artifact known as the Marker. Which has been creating this nightmare.

First gotta say. If you can take the jumpy moments, the serious blood gore, and sheer creepiness of this game. You'll still find your self on constant paranoia while playing. The changes from 1 - 2 make the game much easier to cope with. They make Issac talk in 2 which makes it much easier to connect with the guy. It was fun watching him go through not just the physical challenges. But the mental and emotion trauma he was currently dealing with as well. When I get the new armor I felt like even more awesome then before. And if you want a real challenge. Play through the game with nothing but a plasma cutter. Makes things more interesting. The detail to the game is phenomenal. Voice acting was perfect. Animation went off with out a hitch. Only came across one glitch in the game. Which sort of made me chuckle a bit. The game has it s funny moments.

Above all the Game is well worth the drop of 60 bucks. Every thing to the game flowed well. And it deserves a perfect 10/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Easily one of the best games of the Year.

posted by EvanHaseo (CHICO, CA) Mar 2, 2011

Member since Jul 2005

Dead Space 2 takes place on the Human Colony known as The "Sprawl" located on Saturn's Moon.

STORY

You play as Isaac Clarke, who was subject to experimentation after the events of the first game, and like any person in this situation he wants to get the FOCK off the Sprawl, but the Necromorphs that are spreading through out the Sprawl aren't going to make it easy for him.

GAMEPLAY

Like the first game Dead Space 2 is basically a third person shooter like the gears of war series. But what sets Dead Space apart from other shooters is "strategic dismemberment system" which basically means aim for the limbs, this causes more damage and it also brings a bit of strategy to the mix, rather then the typical aim for the head Gunplay. As for weapons: Isaac acquires' mostly engineering tools.

PRESENTATION

Visceral has made one fine looking game and not just what you see is is whats great the sound is whats truly incredible, that the animation is what makes these grotesk monsters come too life, lastly there is absolutely no graphical issues at all.

DLC

SEVERED DLC 560 MSP/$7.00 a second scenario, and also 3 weapon and suit packs each are 400 MSP/$5.00.

VERDICT

For ME this is a perfect game so I give it a 10/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good, but not Great

posted by AirmaX (HUNTERSVILLE, NC) Mar 2, 2011

Member since Mar 2007

I will preface this with I'm not a huge fan of the space genre. I like the graphics a lot but to me it seems a little repetitive. The weapon effects are okay but no "wow" moments for me. I'm sure ramping up the difficulty will defiantly be an accomplishment but other than that, I don't think I'll play it again. However, It's definitely worth a rental on gamefly!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by porkchop2011 (PERU, IN) Mar 2, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

My expectations were high for this game. It definantly exceeded them. The controls were spot on and the graphics were more than graphic. Everything looked excellent including the extreme gore factor. If you are not into heavy gore you may want to shy away from this game. If you are ok with it then you have to play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I need to go to Church

posted by wingzero7X (TEMECULA, CA) Feb 27, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

...Is exactly what you'll be thinking once you play this game. Its full of mind blowing puzzels and intense first person shooting. Use the enviroment to your advantage. Solve the mystery of Issac's mind. And face the endless hordes of necromorphs!!! Enjoy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ya

posted by gamester0504 (WILMINGTON, CA) Feb 25, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

this game is very good it will make your mom go crazy if she saw this game its full of scary stuff

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Dead Space 2's is so so good!!!

posted by jzubov (JENSEN, UT) Feb 25, 2011

Member since Jul 2005

This is a must rent game... The visual effects are suburb… I didn’t play Dead Space but that didn’t matter. This game is very scary at times made me jump a few times and keep looking behind while playing I had the surround sound speakers on.. Very creepy sounds... The weaponry make a mess of the things you want dead… The save points make it also to get you right where you need to be in the action spots. One point you are at a school and the creepy nature of it makes you feel the hairs on the back of your neck stand up. Dead Space 2's is so good; you shouldn’t have a problem picking this game up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good But Not Much Changed

posted by Roksin (RALEIGH, NC) Feb 25, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

I like to keep my reviews kinda short.

It was fun but it was too much like the first game. Which isn't always a bad thing... But in this case, after you beat the campaign there isn't much to do. Sure there is multiplayer but it really isn't that fun. It feels like a dumbed down bland version of left 4 dead.

All in all, if you liked the first you'll love the second. I just wouldn't recommend buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dead Space 2

posted by SharpAssassin (LINTHICUM HEIGHTS, MD) Feb 23, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

The game gave me the feeling I had back when the 1st Resident Evil came ot. Certain scenes had me jump a little. Intense game indeed. See they need to make Resident evil like they did before, Just like how Dead Space is. Get back that horror in the game insted of action pack. The new R/E games are not even thrilling anymore, Even though still fun, Just not horror anymore. Keep Dead Space the way it is. Horror, I love that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWSOME

posted by wolvin25 (LEHIGH ACRES, FL) Feb 22, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

Oh my god this game just kept pulling me in when i thought i was just about to put the game down.... BOOM plot twist god this game is awsome a must play for this year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

EA Online Pass Prevented a Sale

posted by InlineFourPower (MOUNT PLEASANT, MI) Feb 22, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

I am a huge fan of the Dead Space franchise but decided NOT to purchase this game as a result of their online pass system. I already pay for Xbox Live and internet access, I feel like that ought to be enough to play my 60 dollar game online.

The game itself is great, even the multiplayer (which I got to play for a few hours before my trial ran out). I was terrified that the franchise would be ruined by a less scary atmosphere. Instead, the game was better in every way.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse