Rent Dead Space 2 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Dead Space 2

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.4

16330 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

An Engaging Ride That Doesn't Let You Go

posted by Nytraz (RAMONA, CA) Jan 25, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

93 out of 99 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

If I could rate this game on just it's Single Player experience, it would easily be a 10/10. Everything that you loved from the original Dead Space is back, and all the kinks have been ironed out and improved tenfold.

Many of the familiar weapons are back here, including some favorites like the Plasma Cutter, the Line Gun and the Force Gun, as well as a couple new ones that are extremely fun to use, mainly the Javelin gun. The game feels much more action oriented and is very fast paced, always keeping you on the edge of your seat. But any of you horror fans don't need to worry. So far, this game feels as scary if not even scarier at times then the original. I've nearly jumped out of my seat a couple times now.

Graphically, the game looks just absolutely astounding. Everything from fires to dimming lights really draws you into the game, and Issac's new RIG makeover looks great. The controls are also much more fluid then the first one, making it a lot easier to stomp a crate on the go or make a quick turn around when need be. You also can reload without having to bring your gun up, making it easier to escape and chamber more rounds into that weapon. The best part by far though is being able to use enemies limbs to impale themselves. I can't count the number of times being able to do this has saved me ammo and my own skin.

The sound is spot on, like you'd expect from the first Dead Space. It's used expertly to get you spinning around to check what you just heard plenty of times. And the story is extremely well spun, spurring you on to figure out what really is happening here on this station.

The only downside is the multiplayer. While it can be fun, it does tend to seem kind of tacked on, more of a gimmick then anything. But if you're buying Dead Space 2 for the multiplayer, you need to get your priorities straight!

All in all, I would say definitely rent this game if you're into an action horror. Just know that this one isn't for the faint of heart.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Almost perfect

posted by Markus1142 (SOMERVILLE, NJ) Mar 7, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2010

52 out of 56 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

Dead Space burst onto the scene a while back, and changed the survival horror genre. The bar had been raised when it came to terrifying gamers, by providing genuine tension, quality story, and well developed characters and locations in place of the cliched tropes and recycled plotlines.

And Dead Space 2 still manages to be an improvement over its predecessor in almost every way. The single player campaign is a decent length (10-15 hours on a first playthrough) and builds on the first game, while perfectly setting up a third. New Game + lets you start over with all your upgrades and inventory on a different difficulty setting. All the previous weapons return, and new ones are introduced.

The fantastic decompression and zero-G sections from the first game are no longer limited to indoor sections of the Ishimura, or to your gravity boots - huge sections of Titan Station and its surroundings are now open to full 3-d exploration.

The multiplayer, while limited, is entertaining - a team of 4 humans try to achieve objectives while a team of 4 necromorphs try to stop them. There is only one game mode with five maps available (for now, anyway) so it gets a bit repetitive, but the humans' objectives have some diversity to keep it fresh.

There are a few frustrations with the game; items carried with kenesis will sometimes just vanish, and the enemy spawning feels cheap at times, with necros spawning behind you or right on top of you at will.

The other big dissappointment is EA's online license. You get a 2 day trial of the multiplayer mode, then you need to buy a $10 license to continue to play multiplayer (unless you purchase the game outright, and use the code that comes with a bought copy of the game.)

The multiplayer isn't a huge part of DS2, but fortunately, the single player campaign easily stands on its own. Definitely worth at least a rental, if not an outright purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Single player heaven

posted by vegetacampbell (BROOKFIELD, IL) Feb 9, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

26 out of 29 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

This is the greatest survival horror game I have ever played. If you're looking for just multiplayer though; look elsewhere. EA wants you to pay to play if you rent it. Besides that weak fact this game is brilliant. If you like sci fi/horror do not hesistate to rent this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome Game

posted by Dead_Gears_Row (ESTES PARK, CO) Jul 24, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Dead Space 2 is nothing but fun and creepy at the same time. The story is smart, Action is well packed, and its challageing at all times. Multiplayer is OK but fits for this game, graphics are amazing, and the gore keeps you on your toes. NOT FOR CHILDEREN I would say 13 or younger. Only thing that keeps me from giving this game a 10 is that most of the areas look the same and the combat never really changes. This is a great game for new comers and Dead Space fans alike and i personally would buy this game instead of renting it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

RENT OR BUY THIS GAME!!

posted by Britney (WEST PALM BEACH, FL) Feb 25, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

This game is probably one of the best games I have played in the past 5 years. It has definitely taken over my previous favorite number one horror/survival game's spot(Resident Evil 4), and just blown every other horror/survival game out of the water! Even if you aren't a frequenter of the horror/survival genre, I would still recommend you play this. This is not only an amazing adventure through one of the most terrifying atmospheres I've ever experienced in a video game, but it is also a very emotional, well thought out, thought provoking story. And if you were a fan of the predecessor, Dead Space 1, then you will definitely find that your love for blood, necromorphs, & mud stomping the.. uhmm.. heck out of everything has been fulfilled yet again - only it's been fulfilled x100 this time around.

The single player I'd by far give a 10 out of 10, but the online, albeit it is fun, is not really very good and not as addictive as other games such as Black Ops or Left 4 Dead. Although, it is almost exactly like the versus mode in Left 4 Dead; you have the options to either play as one of four different necromorphs --just as you could play as the infected in Left 4 Dead--, trying to prevent the humans from completing objectives, or play as one of the humans, killing necros and completing not-really-so-fun objectives. I'd give the multiplayer a 7 out of 10. It's very clean and glitch free, simple, and at first fun.. but, unlike the single player --which I still find fun, even after getting my 1000G out of it--, the multiplayer fun has an expiration date.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

epic

posted by GlobalAlarm16 (NEW ORLEANS, LA) Aug 14, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

So much better then the original. This sequel is much more fast paced and energizing. You never know what could be waiting behind the next corner! You know you loved a game when you regret putting it back in your mailbox.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

DONT HATE. BEST SURVIVAL HORROR EVER.

posted by joshuajames84 (CATAWISSA, MO) Jul 27, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Dead Space and Dead Space 2 are two of the best games ever made. If you complain about either game, stop gaming. One of the dumbest complaints i saw was that 2 had no big boss battles, while this is completly true at no point in the game does this thought actually cross your mind. You are so wrapped up in the game that you never even think about it. Only after you have beaten the game and have time to reflect does this even occur to you. shut up. By far the best set of survival horror games to date, and the 3rd should follow suite. BUY BUY BUY

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great but has its moments!

posted by mackaveli (SPRING, TX) Aug 16, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Many times games that have success get worse before then get better on second releases. Overall Deadspace 2 showed much improvment over its predecessor. The graphics, gameplay and story all seem to have developed and matured very well into the second game of the series. Deadspace brought that erie feeling and tingling sensation up your spine while wiating for the next unforseen horror to catch you off gaurd. The first game made me reminscent of the first Resident Evil. The second game still has those moments, but over does it slightly.

Pros: The game is stellar from its graphics, gameplay, and story. The levels and characters are details and fleshed out in every aspect. The multiplayer aspect is fun and I think a welcomed addtion.

Cons: Too many instances of something jumping out at you (shock moments). It becomes so expected that something is going to jump out here or there in the levels. This actually just got quite old, and makes the game quickly loose alot of the shock/thrill appeal the first game had. As my complaint with all EA games, you have to pay for the multiplayer if you were not the original purchaser of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Another Great Dead Space Title

posted by EuroGamer6 (STERLING HEIGHTS, MI) Aug 15, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Dead Space 2 is a truly scary horror game that manages to keep you nervous and thinking at every moment. Problem is that it is not much different from the first game except that now it is online capable. The campaign is pretty lenghty and the strong part of the game as it has you return as the surviver of the first game, Isacc, in search of "the marker" to destroy it. The visuals are dark, clausterphobic, but very well detailed. The ship that you explore realy looks and feels like something truly wrong has happened. One of the best parts is the sound effects. Wearing a good pear of headphones while playing this game is highly recommended. This way, every creepy sound can be heard and it sends shivers down your back sometimes. The aliens you fight are deadly and horrific and they come at you from all directions quickly forcing you to move around. The dark environments make fighting the monsters very instense and gets your heart pumping. There are many pop out moments where they catch you by surprise so you never feel safe or alone. There werent as many memorable action moments or boss fights such as the first one but it still manages to keep your heart racing and your eyes wide open. A great title to rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Keeps you on the edge of your seat everytime

posted by coreycurry91 (GLENVILLE, WV) Mar 23, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I loved this game. Its a must rent for anyone who loves the Dead Space Series or any horror games. The lightning and graphics on the game were awesome, crispy. and the controls are fluid and easy to remember. I never had a bored moment and it always keeps you on your toes..never knowing whats going to happen next. I give it a 10/10!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Survival Horror Returns

posted by RowdyGamer (BELLEVUE, OH) Feb 2, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Just got done with Dead Space 2 yesterday and let me say its ten or so hours of my life that I don't want back. With enough edge of your seat moments you would swear it was a hollywood blockbuster. Jammed packed with action. All weapons and enemies return with loads of new ones. The game has taken what made the first Dead Space so successful and ran with it. Letting go of the not so fun parts. Backtracking, glitches, etc... Playing like a total Old school resident evil game there are tons of references to other pop culture movies and scenes. Which I found awesome. This is not for the casual gamer though I must say. Playing through my first time on normal presented a huge challenge for me. I found myself stuck and frustrated on a few parts. Not because the game was faulty but because i was not using smart tactics. Not sure bout everyone but I love a good challenge and Dead Space 2 presented that. Nice to not have a game in todays market that you can walk through in 5 or so hours. Oh, Yeah did I mention its a 2 Disc Game.(Not an extras disc but both discs are actual game discs) Half way through you will have to put the second disc in and it only gets better. Graphics are amazing. Sound is fantastic and creepy. Mark my words that this game will be a contender for Game of the Year. Yeah, I know its early to say that. Dead Space 2 is a must play for any serious gamer....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dead Space Done Right!

posted by Sideshow (JACINTO CITY, TX) Jan 29, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2004

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The thing i love most about this game is how quick it throws you into the action, no long boring intro, just tons of gore and madness. Immediately you will notice the massive improvement to the graphics and character/necromorph detail. Tons more blood, different baddies, and a protagonist that has a voice instead of being a mindless drone. The different suits and new weapons are also very refreshing, plus kinesis is more controllable allowing you to use your enemies own weapons against them. The intensity of the gameplay will keep you on your toes at all times; sheer darkness, noises of people screaming and things moving around that you cant see, and of course overwhelming amounts of enemies at times throughout the game. Havent really tried the MP just yet but from what i heard it probably wont keep you away from COD or HALO.

To me, this game is as solid as it gets and deserves nothing less then a perfect 10. If your a horror/survival lover, this one is def for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Edge of My Seat The Whole Time!!!

posted by GameStalker (BROOKLYN, NY) Apr 30, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

I absolutely loved this game from beginning to end.
I just couldn't get enough of the endless monsters coming out of inconspicuous places. What never failed was the "playing dead" trick, which I never felt for ever again after the first DS lol.
I swear the monsters got more creepier in every detail since the first one, but If you have the balls to play it at night time with the lights off like me than you will see exactly what Im talking bout!
When using weapons and health, you have to know what weapons will aid you in your journey. I wound up only using Pulse Rifle and The Ripper, and trust me those babies got me through. I would recommend that you pick weapons that you know how to use in any situation, either its killing speed enhanced necromorphs or exploding babies. And most importantly!!!>"USE THE ENVIRONMENT TO YOUR ADVANTAGE." there are things that will help you when you least expect it.
Im no spoiler, so Im not gonna tell you anything about Issacs troubles, and man are they TRIPPY!!
Good Luck fellow gamer, hope my review was helpful!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Adrenaline pumping intensity!

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Jan 29, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

17 out of 20 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

It's only January and 2011 is looking VERY promising. I wanted to to complete the entire campaign before I posted a review, but also add a twist by providing a list of survival tips and hints for Dead Space 2.

In DS1, you never felt safe. You never knew when a necro was going to pop out a vent shaft and try to gnaw your leg off. You’ll get the same paranoid feeling in this thriller. The random scare tactics will make you jump in your seat. Your heart rate will instantly rise, adrenaline starts flowing, and then you know you’re about to shred some limbs. The feeling was just intense!

Your character Isaac Clarke is no longer a stiff robot with zero personality. You can view his face, he talks and has emotion and character; something not seen in DS1. Not only has your entire persona improved, but your movement is much more flexible. It's extremely fluid, and I loved the added strafe ability while running, so you can run side to side much better...something crucial for avoiding hordes of necros and to get good positioning.

DS2 is an action packed, sci-fi bloodfest, necro space zombie, limb shooting gory masterpiece. You get exciting graphics, great sound, music, and voice acting, exhilarating fight scenes and sequences unlike any shooter. Getting all but 1 achievement was easy and very fun to unlock.

SURVIVAL TIPS/HINTS
- Because you can view your objective path any time, always explore as much as possible before following that. You'll find lots of secrets you'll need.
- Stomp EVERY necro body you see or kill (yes, EVERY). They almost always drop precious loot and ammo you desperately need.
- Use LB to run and strafe. Use it often and get used to it.
- Shoot the limbs obviously, and use your stasis powers to shoot the limbs back at them.
- Conserve ammo. Use your stasis powers as much as possible and upgrade those before your weapons.
- Play with the lights off and sound up

Milt Drucker
-gamertag-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

glad i did what i did

posted by codemastr (DENVER, CO) Feb 10, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I went out and bought dead space 2 because I was tired of waiting for gamefly to send it and it was the best thing I ever did I love it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

More of What You Love (Detailed Review)

posted by Whatheshiz (GOLETA, CA) Jan 25, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

14 out of 18 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Graphics are better and it launches you right into the game. If you liked the first one, you'll definitely like the second, the story never stops twisting and keeps you guessing the whole way through. The cut scenes are much more intense and require player intervention in some cases, throwing you into a panic if you reach down to grab a soda while you watch. Much more blood, newer weapons, a better "suit system" which grants bonuses to different areas (ex: hacking, certain weapons, item slots, defense, etc.) instead of just upgrading your suit, new enemies with fear-instilling tactics (no joke, some actually have tactics now), new and more mini-bosses, new zero G abilities, and more than I can list here without giving it away.

My FAVORITE thing about the game is the re-amped usage of Stasis and Kenisis. Stasis recharges slowly over time which allows you to use it more without worrying, and Kenisis becomes an absolute necessity to save ammo on harder difficulties (with more improvised weapons available, not just stupid flame containers). The two combined gives you almost unlimited possibilities with weapons and improvised on-the-spot combat.

Visceral gives their classic Dead Space formula a few new additions that definitely make it better than the first. Very high replay value.

I overall extremely happy with my purchase.

I only give a 9 because I feel the multiplayer will lose its novelty against other multiplayer games, such as Black Ops and Reach. That is my only gripe.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

LESS CHILLS AND MORE THRILLS

posted by bigfreaky (TULSA, OK) Feb 12, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Dead Space 2 is to Dead Space as Aliens is to Alien. This is true both in the setting, which now takes place on the colony instead of the spaceship, and in the theme, which is less horror and more action. The controls now allow you to adjust your aiming speed to compensate for the added gunplay, and this is a good thing. Perhaps Visceral felt that limiting the aiming speed added to the tension in the original, but I feel that the perspective and camera do a lot to maintain a sense of immediacy in the combat and handicapping the controls was never necessary.

Enemies are greater in number and variety, and the same can be said about the environment. Though the scenery is more diverse, I have to say that none of it is as scary, dark, or oppressive as it was aboard the Ishimura. There is less of a feeling of dread in these more open and well lit surroundings. Another aspect of the game that is diminished is the puzzle element. If you played the demo, you played one of the very few actual puzzles in the entire game. I have mixed feelings about this. I miss the satisfaction of solving problems on the ship, but I do enjoy the new emphasis on action.

Whether it’s better than the original or not, I still think it is a great game and I was very entertained by it. EA clearly intend to push this franchise in an episodic manner; it even includes a recap of the first game’s plot called “Previously on Dead Space”. As long as they can maintain the same quality level as this title, count me in.

I should also mention that I didn’t play the multiplayer. It’s an asymmetrical class-based team deathmatch thing like Left 4 Dead, so it’s probably not fun for pickup gaming. None of my friends were playing this game, so I never had an opportunity to play it online the way it was meant to be played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

true sequel

posted by GRIMLOC (PINELLAS PARK, FL) Feb 14, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

this is how a sequel is done. it true to the first one but has enough new to keep you moving through the lurking darkness. the visuals are great. they did not mess up the controls. and i feel that nothing is worse than getting a part 2 to a game you loved. just to find out they moved all the controls around. also this game brings my sorround sound to life like few others games. i would suggest that if you have a surround system you use it here. WARNING if you did not play the first one. get it first. you will enjoy this one more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Ridiculous!

posted by GaminMCGee (WASHOUGAL, WA) Feb 12, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I am on my fourth playthrough and every tun still gives me suspense. The good things about this game are: graphics, intensity, stroyline, combat, and achievements. I love the graphics of this game, every necromorph limb i blow off with he blood squirting everywhere always makes me cheer, or cringe in fear. This game has the intesity to last 10+ playthroughs. Every time i battle the widely feared Stalkers, I am always screaming in joy and fear! I will be honest, I never played through Dead Space 1, but the story line for Dead Space 2 was still easy to follow, as well as very gripping and deep. The combat for this game is over the top amazing. It messes with the idea that a headshot is a one shot, one kill sort of a deal. With Dead Space 2 you are forced to play against your own muscle memory and shoot not only the necromorphs heads, but also their arms and legs. One of my favorite things about the combat in this game is the way you can shoot a necrmorphs leg off, and it will still crawl at you with the speed and intesity as it would have if it was still in full sprint straight at you. And finally, I love the achievements in this game. They force you to go outside the normal killing box to get kills no normal person would think to do to a necromorph. But my favorite achievement of all would have to be Hard to the Core, this one requires you to beat the gameon the hardest difficulty setting. When on the hardest difficulty setting, you are forced to play through the whole game, saving only 3 times. You can save wherever you want, but you can only do it 3 times. The only one downside to Dead Space 2, and that is the online play. Don't get me wrong the online play was absolutely amazing and fun, but in order to play the online you must have a code, which you can only attain by purchasing the game. But if you do rent the game it gives you a 2 day free trial, which was cool, but I think it should have been no code, and just allowed game renters to play exprience the online.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

If you're looking for an andrenline shot...

posted by SaintShiv (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Feb 2, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game provides you with heart pounding thrills from beginning until end; superb lighting, voice acting, mechanics and a masochistic-way of keeping you coming back for more! If you like survival horror than this is a must-play, without a doubt. This rivals old greats like Resident Evil 1 and Dino Crisis, when the genre was relatively new, surprising and fresh.

I played my first time on Zealot (very heard) mode since I'm an experienced gamer, and the game felt very real albeit a game. I recommend upgrading the Plasma Cutter (pistol) as soon as possible, followed by the Detonator (mines), Contact Beam (additional stasis/massive dmg) and Line Gun (personal preference; grenade/large area beam, like a larger Plasma Cutter.)

Plasma Cutter -> Detonator -> Contact Beam -> Line Gun

(MINOR SPOILER ALERT)

Once you enter chapter two, you encounter your first power node-lock door; there's a power node nearby (through the doors past the save point on your left), you definitely should unlock this door as it contains schematics for power nodes. This makes power nodes available for purchase in the store, you can go back to the store you just encountered, and use up any remaining credits if you feel like you can afford them. Upgrades will keep you alive! Also, keep in mind power-node lock rooms are random loot except schematics (not all rooms have schematics but most of them do) and other set items. I suggest saving it before opening the door and re-opening it until you encounter a "Ruby circuit board", this sells for 10,000 which is the price of the power-node you just used on this door.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SCARY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by bredav0043 (JOHNS ISLAND, SC) Jan 26, 2011

Member since Feb 2008

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

this is one of the best games ive ever played. its mulyiplayer is pretty good and its very similar to left 4 dead's multiplayer..the single player campaign is awsome. its a pretty long campaign so thats a plus...this game is full of scary momements, the necromorphs will pop out of nowhere and scare the living shhhh out of you...this game is intense and will keep you on the edge of your seat the whole time... 10 out of 10 is my rating

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Dead Space 2

posted by Hays21 (STREATOR, IL) Feb 9, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Dead Space 2 is a fairly scary game. :). I love the graphics and gameplay. Since there is really good, I'll talk about some of the things i do not like about it. The multiplayer is fairly uneven when it comes to who you play with. When i started out online, My suit has 1 health bar and the other people on my team had 7 health bars. It made me and easy target, and i was a beginner so i didnt stand a chance. And the online pass to play is lame. Why is EA making people pay seperately for the online...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game, Almost Nothing to Criticize

posted by beantown85 (BROCKTON, MA) Feb 1, 2011

Member since Jun 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Having played the first deadspace, I knew what I was getting into when I got this game. It was definitely just as good as the first one with some upgrades. For those who maybe haven't played the first one yet, you're missing out.

Since the first one they improved some minor things within the game, such as the ability to have waypoints configured for the store, save stations, and bench, along with the objective. This was something that is definitely an improvement.

The gameplay itself is exciting and borderline addicting. They switch up the chapters' location so that the game doesn't feel like you've been in the same spot for the entire game. The music in the game suits this type of horror/survival game very well too and the added the spots where you can jump out of your seat because something surprises you so much.

I usually don't give out 10's to games unless it is absolutely perfect, with that said I gave it a 9 and I wouldn't change much of anything about this game. The only little things that I would change is the way you have to find the schematic in order to buy a certain weapon's ammo at the store. I think that once you get the schematic for the gun you should automatically be able to buy ammo at the store since there's no guarantee you are going to get ammo from an enemy once you are looting their corpse. I guess the other thing that I would suggest is that they add some cooler/better looking suits. The ones that they have in this game are nice, but seems like it would be even better if you were able to customize your suit's colors/armor etc instead of completely changing your suit all the time.

Definitely a great game though. I would suggest this game to anyone that was ever interested in any of the Resident Evil games or anyone that likes horror stories or anyone that likes 3rd person shooters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The First Game of the Year Candidate

posted by kyoput (LEXINGTON, KY) Jan 28, 2011

Member since May 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

It's definitely the best survival horror game I've ever played. The first ten minutes is full of more tension than most games can produce for their entire run.

Taking off points for the mulitplayer seems silly to me since that isn't why I rented the game and not what I judge it on.

The controls are super tight. The aiming is precise and generous in some cases, which really helps when you're being swarmed. Which happens often. And it's easy to see why the game spans 2 discs.

You are in a much larger area, a giant "city ship" with many different, beautifully detailed areas. There are a few "outdoor" segments in space in which you will find your focus drifting away from the mission and onto the spectacular vastness around you.

Just a very well done old fashioned scary game. A perfect combination of canned frights and messed up sights and sounds that will have you scaring yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfect, no flaws, Gory and has lots of action.

posted by skrull (STERLING, VA) Jan 27, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I preordered this game at game stop for 65$ to get the rivet gun and all the other bonuses. I didn't waste a penny. It beats dead space 1 and the fact that you can save your suits is even better. Multi player is awesome. Plus, the rivet gun is so good, I don't need any other gun, saves me credits and my whole inventory is full of ammo. I give it 10 perfection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse