Rent Dead Space 2 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Dead Space 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
8.4

16354 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Disc Unreadable

posted by KiDD_HuRLeY (GILEAD, ME) Dec 27, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Yeah js recieved my first game after making my GameFly account and had troubles at first with the ''Disc unreadable'' prompt coming up..then it was fine now im 3 hours in and cant go 5 minutes without it happening, game is awesome/disc is horrible..people need to take better care of discs while using or they needed to be tested before sent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not about the game

posted by collin9199 (CORAL SPRINGS, FL) Jun 16, 2012

Member since May 2012

This game is great, I loved every second of playing it. However I originally played it on the PS3 where it is one disk. The multi-disk thing that the Xbox seems so fine with doing just kills me. Maybe I am spoiled, but I can't stand when a game has to be multiple disks, and come on this game is not very long in any event. There is absolutely no logical reason for it to be two disks. My honest answer is buy or rent this game, it's great, just don't do it on the Xbox. If that's all you have then forget about this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Fight it!

posted by pigmadic (ENGLEWOOD, CO) Apr 10, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

online pass enabled

en.wikipedia. org/wiki/Online_pass

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bad graphics

posted by PROWLERSL (FORT WORTH, TX) Mar 15, 2012

Member since Sep 2009

Slow gameplay

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

dead space

posted by joey96 (TUCKER, GA) Dec 11, 2011

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game was very boring to me probably cause Im not a dead space player but it was very poor to me but he graphic were good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Lame game

posted by Ripper594 (OSSINING, NY) Aug 18, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

Got it yesterday and played through the first 2 chapters and became bored... the character moves so slow that I just couldn't take it anymore so I returned it the very next day.
waste of time... just not worth it.. nothing special about this title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Nightmare controls-Cumbersome , clunky

posted by SpiderX (LA VISTA, NE) Jul 30, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Take like 3 buttons to pick something up, you have to stomp on everything in the game to reveal it's contents, then another to pick them up and another to use them, ..you feel like you walking in mud the whole game, it's tell you to do stuff and then auto deaths you. After stomping 1000 times I couldn't take it anymore. There was nothing fun about this terrible controlled , auto death, game. Even hitting a monster was so bad as you can't aim it just swings wild and auto deaths you as you smack a wall while your trying to fight a monster , while trudging through what feels like mud.

None of my family or friends liked this garbage in any way what so ever. I would not play or own this trash for free.

Total junk...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BAD

posted by imyourbigdaddy (CHICAGO, IL) Jul 28, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

THIS GAME IS HORRIBLE! THE MAKERS OF THIS GAME SHOULD BE SLAPPED! PIMP STYLE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What a waste

posted by tj1371 (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Jul 22, 2011

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Don't know why this game got such high reviews. I couldn't get past 10 minutes of it before I was ready to toss it in the trash. The big problem is that it is DARK. I hate games where some dip programmer thinks game players want to stumble around on a screen where you can't see anything. The game setting to control the brightness did not work. Move the slider until the logo is barely visible, it said. Well, the slider moved as far right as it would go and no logo ever appeared. So, once the game started, everything was dark. Want a hint? Turn off all the lights in your house at midnight and walk around and bump into stuff. That way you can save your money and not rent or buy this game. Anyway, lack of controls (after 10 minutes all you can do is turn on a weak flashlight and open doors), no directions on which way to go (just run around in the dark in circles), not being able to see anything, all make for a headache.
What a waste of time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WASTE OF MY TIME!!!!

posted by jacob6400 (RENO, NV) Jul 14, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

i love shooting games,this game does have great graphics,cools guns and all that stuff but....just wasnt my game really hard even on casual mode,way way way to dark of theme to it,i rather be in a fire fight than weird creatures coming after me...wheres there fun in that??? to me just a very very horrible most stupidest game i have laid hands on there for i give it a big 1!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible

posted by mmel1313 (DELTONA, FL) Jun 25, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

game has zip for a tutorial, starting in casual gets you dead a few hundred times trying to get down the corridor. found 2 walkthrus that were zero help as there is too much comming at you to keep your destination stable. then you get dead again... stuck in a straightjacket, no wepons. no ability to kick W.T.F ...if this is easier than dead space 1 no wonder no one i know has either of them... mike's sticking to halo.... much more satisfying

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Resident Evil IN SPACE

posted by cobia90000 (HINESVILLE, GA) Jun 25, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

I ordered this game having not played the first edition of it thinking that this would be a new type of first person shooter with futuristic weapons, However when it arrived I was quickly disappointed. The very first weapon you get is a cheap Walmart flashlight. All this game has the exact same theme as Resident Evil it is just set in space not Earth. A government (or big corporation) get a hold of an alien virus and wants to infect human kind and you are all that's left to stop them. If I wanted to play Resident Evil I would have Just rented it instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dead Space 2

posted by ss73 (BELLEVILLE, IL) Jun 6, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

stupid awkward controls- couldnt even clear the first level after multiple attempts. so dark you cant tell whats going on. terrible

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible

posted by GMBBrian (PHOENIX, AZ) May 27, 2011

Member since May 2011

I couldn't even get past the opening scene. Telling you to run but gives you no direction on where to go meanwhile it's bad enough you can barely move because you are injured, but then you have creatures coming after you. After the 4th time trying to figure out where to go and seeing the secure area signs, you still can't get there because your guy doesn't move fast enough. LAME!!! Nice opening. I don't have the patience for this kind of stuff to open a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst game I've played in 21 years of gaming

posted by Flypaper (Centennial, CO) May 21, 2011

Member since May 2011

First let me said if you can't switch the controls from inverted in a first person shooter, it almost IS NOT a first person shoot then, more like a bad action game, at best.. And that is what I found with DS2 with the first 20 min, I couldn't get past playing it for more then 30 min, with such horrible controls I simply just gave up on this game. After changing the controls to inverted I found it was a bit better but still aiming down the sites of any gun would leave me aiming back to non-inverted controls, moving inverted, shooting NOT inverted, with the options setting on invterted, can you say "horrible design?" I still could not aim, at all. I looked like a 2 year old trying to move my way around the screen. With buggy camera angels and by far the worst control lay out I've seen on any game I had this sad game back in the mail box maybe 45min after opening it. Do NOT waist your time with this game, unless maybe you play non-inverted and enjoy really bad games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Extremely disappointed

posted by spyda2010 (MAUMEE, OH) May 9, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 15 gamers (13%) found this review helpful

This game looked a lot cooler it the promo videos. I mean, it's partly my fault since I never purchased the first game, but come on.. I at least thought they would give you a summary of what happens (similar to how they do it in Mass Effect 2.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sucks

posted by joe20200 (GAITHERSBURG, MD) Apr 9, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 18 gamers (6%) found this review helpful

now the game itself is good but you have to pay for online so i give it a 1

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This was Horrible....

posted by 1mangod (READING, PA) Mar 28, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

4 out of 20 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

It's so freakin dark you can't see a blessed thing and after 2 hours of getting killed and not being able to find any weapons, I sealed this baby back up and sent it back. Not worth it at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game is junk.

posted by rcbraddock (CANYON, TX) Mar 23, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

3 out of 19 gamers (16%) found this review helpful

This was the most boring game I have ever played, I tryed hard to stay into it but fell asleep just about every time I played it. Waste of time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Glitched out

posted by Kirkinout (LEESBURG, VA) Mar 18, 2011

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 16 gamers (6%) found this review helpful

Got to chapter 6 and the darn batteries were gone!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game is awkward

posted by Jeremy1 (GRIFFIN, GA) Mar 10, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

3 out of 18 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

It has a different beginning to a game. Where you start out trying to go somewhere with no weapons and you have aliens jumping at you from different places. There is no way to block them or anything. So its a waste of time to even try it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not for me!

posted by BACKDRAFT14 (ROSEVILLE, CA) Feb 24, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

2 out of 20 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

Game sucked! Did not like any part of it and will never get another dead space game! Just having aliens kill me when you can do little about..not even a decent game! Worst game Ive ever played!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Just about the Multiplayer

posted by JukkaTibbs (INVER GROVE HEIGHTS, MN) Feb 12, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

5 out of 24 gamers (21%) found this review helpful

If you plan on getting this game for the multiplayer, its gonna cost you extra

Okay, I was soo excited to get this game in the mail today only to see that when I popped it in the Box that I needed a Access code that would cost me 800 Microsoft Points just to play online with access ???
Is that correct?
Maybe I am just mad at EA Games for such a stupid idea.
Thanks, Gamefly 2 days of paying real money and anticipation all for nothing really.
Im soo bummed out I dont even feel like trying the single player game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

THis game sucks

posted by splibby (WINDHAM, NH) Feb 12, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

2 out of 25 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

I played all but the beginning of the game and it was enough for me to drop it. Any game where you die immediately in the beginning because you didn't choose the correct path is ridiculous. I figured I would give this game a chance but just like the first one I was severely disappointed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dead space 2? more like dead space 1 and a waste..

posted by Huzoozoo (GRANADA HILLS, CA) Jan 29, 2011

Member since May 2007

8 out of 49 gamers (16%) found this review helpful

..of time. This is a rare time when I both play the original game before the sequel and quite enjoyed it. However the sequel is exactly the same as the first game except since the first game was original and interesting, the sequel just apes the freakin' first game and there are almost no surprises since you've seen them all before.

You play as Issac Hayes and I guess you happen to be crazy in this game. Now, I liked the first game because Issac didn't talk. I don't care about his dialogue because he didn't need it. He was a blank character that I could imbue with my personality. Now he's dropping F-bombs (which shocked me so much I forbade my 10 year old daughter from playing past chapter 13) and trying to pass a semblance of plot or something when in reality you go where some jag off tells you with no question.

You travel through the most unimpressive space station i've ever seen. It apparently consists of 2 apartment blocks and a hospital and a secret lab. Oh and like half-a-block's worth of kid stores. That's it, you end up back tracking through all these locals and they don't get anymore interesting like the 3 separate visits to medical in DS1.

In fact you end up visiting a local from DS1 and that ends up being the most enjoyable part of the game, because it tricks you into thinking that your playing dead space 1.

So this game is exactly DS1 with terrible levels, all the same guns and 2 new ones, the same enemies and 2 new ones. That's about it.

Even though the endgame level of the first game was probably the worst of the whole thing, it has nothing on the last level of dead space 2. In this level the game forgets it's a horror-action game in tight corridors and pretends it's mass effect 2 or something as it just gets bored and throws enemies at you because they blew all their cool set pieces an hour ago. Seriously you're running around and blasting guys with 6 space bullets left? What is that? Is that scary, forgetting enemies take 3 shots to kill?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse