Rent Dead Space 2 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Dead Space 2

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.4

16327 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

looks like its gonna be awesome cant wait to play!

posted by CrazyOpossum17 (MC VEYTOWN, PA) Jul 30, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

i was watching it on YouTube (walk-through) and it looked awesome but i saw some comments and i started to second guess but I don't care and i'm going to get it on either gamefly or at gamestop and see how it is myself point is i'm looking forward to the game and can't wait to play it its going to be sick, cool, bloody, gorey the whole nine yards!!!!!!!!! :D :P

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Even better than the first.

posted by jacksonran (BEDFORD, IN) Apr 23, 2013

Member since Aug 2010

Dead Space was a great game and they added just enough features to make this one even better. They didn't overwhelm it with new things to ruin the game. (like resident evil did). Playing the first isn't required... but it does help a lot.

Good: Pretty much everything about it is good. It has thrill, horror, and action to the gameplay. You get a diversity of weapons and actions to help with battle and the leveling system is good. You can level up the outfit (rig), your stasis ability, and your weapons as you find the schematics for them.

Bad: Having to play the game a minimum of twice to get the all the achievements is a pain. Its a short game (roughly 10hrs) but I hate repeating the same actions in a game.

Ugly: Just like I mentioned for the first, the "hardcore" difficulty is too hard. You can only save 3 times and there are no checkpoints. I enjoy a challenge but have to be almost perfect at a game is a pain.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dead Space 2

posted by z107 (PETERBOROUGH, NH) Jan 26, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

Great game, no complaints. Good story line, death scenes are amazing.(Even Issacs death scenes are dope)
Highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Just plain awesome game

posted by sofakinghaggard (COLUMBUS, OH) Dec 14, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

This is exactly was a survival horror game should be. It constantly leaves you on the edge of your seat, More jump scares than you could ever want, leaves you praying that you have enough ammo to make it to the next save station. I can't say enough good things about this game. Rent it wait till is dark turn off all the lights and play you won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

epic

posted by GlobalAlarm16 (NEW ORLEANS, LA) Aug 14, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

So much better then the original. This sequel is much more fast paced and energizing. You never know what could be waiting behind the next corner! You know you loved a game when you regret putting it back in your mailbox.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

DONT HATE. BEST SURVIVAL HORROR EVER.

posted by joshuajames84 (CATAWISSA, MO) Jul 27, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Dead Space and Dead Space 2 are two of the best games ever made. If you complain about either game, stop gaming. One of the dumbest complaints i saw was that 2 had no big boss battles, while this is completly true at no point in the game does this thought actually cross your mind. You are so wrapped up in the game that you never even think about it. Only after you have beaten the game and have time to reflect does this even occur to you. shut up. By far the best set of survival horror games to date, and the 3rd should follow suite. BUY BUY BUY

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A FANTASTIC, and also scary, 3rd person shooter!!!

posted by BenC (REDONDO BEACH, CA) Jul 24, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

You wouldn't believe how much money I had to spend on new underpants after beating Dead Space 2. This game is s!#t your pants scary! Though this game isn't as scary as the original, it will still make you jump more than once. The game will take you about 10-12 hours to complete and that whole time you will be at the edge of your seat. There is one chapter in the game that takes place in the USG Ishumura, the ship from the original game. The ship is covered in duck tape and is in direpair. This makes the ship even more scary and it doesn't help that the ghost of your dead girlfriend is whispering to you, blaming you for her death and the horrific events of the first game. This section is very tense and one of the most memorable parts of the game. Speaking of your dead girlfriend, Nicole is a very complex character. She is pretty much Isaac's inspiration for his mission and his conscience. Nicole is so intimidating when she is angry, but Isaac always acts in control. Their relationship is very interesting and their interactions are one of the better parts of the game. The replay value of the game is very high and the multiplayer mode will keep you invested for even more hours. So simply do one thing, buy this game, you won't regret it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better than ever

posted by agarside97 (LAKELAND, FL) Jul 13, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

This is a bigger game on a bigger planet and Isaac just doesn't care. The game is a major improvement on the first one and the only flaw is that I have to wait longer for the sequel. This game blends action, horror, and the stress of prolonged silence in an environment where you see a dozen ways the enemy could come, and you walk through it without a hitch, though the moment you enter an area where you have no idea where they come from, they hit you. Isaac also gets a ton of character improvement, you get to know more about him and he speaks more, becoming less of a silent protagonist and more of a developed hero.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

review

posted by bay0610 (CRYSTAL RIVER, FL) Jun 25, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

if you want a game that keeps you on your toes you would like dead space

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by matthew13 (CHESWICK, PA) May 22, 2012

Member since Jul 2010

This game is really great and awesome!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Finally!

posted by SugarCookie091 (EUGENE, OR) May 19, 2012

Member since May 2012

It's about time that I found a game that scares me. Dead Space 2 is like Silent Hill on steroids!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

100% Awesome

posted by comicaleraser (CAMP HILL, PA) Mar 7, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

This game is one of the best games i've ever played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dead Space 2

posted by kadeblade (MARYVILLE, TN) Mar 7, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

Well dead space is a very good game and can be scary at sometimes but not always very intense moments i will say...and very creepy if you have not played this game i recomend if you like "horror" and "intense" situations.So you should rent this good game. :]

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

way to end it

posted by uzumaki_naruto (LONG BEACH, CA) Feb 9, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

or is the story goin to continue? follow isaac through his next adventure will leave u wanting some more!! but pls play the first one first

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good Game

posted by joshwa (WINSLOW, AZ) Feb 6, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

When it comes to the fear factor, this had me nearly pissing my pants one too many times. Though never happened, i kept getting scared enough that it should have! I skipped out on playing the first but this one was good enough. Great great game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dead Space 2 is AMAZING!

posted by FusionKaos (CARSON, CA) Jan 10, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

When I first heard about the dead space series i was relunctant to play it because I thought it was going to be like every other survival horror game out there. I was dead wrong(no pun intended). Not only does this game have a story makes you want to play every minute of it, the game play feels smooth and you can get hooked to it very easily. You have a variety of weapons to kill the necromorphs but they're not like other creatures you've probably fought in other games before. You have to cut off their limbs in order for them to actually die. Shooting them in the chest has little affect and you are simply wasting your ammo. The only flaw I can find in this game is the fact that you need an online pass to play this game online. However, you do get a free 2-day trial but the muiltiplayer isn't that great anyways. You should rent or better yet buy this game now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Upgrade

posted by jnat64 (JEROMESVILLE, OH) Jan 4, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

If you enjoyed Dead Space, then this should be a decent upgrade for you. There isn't any new groudbreaking controls to make it a new experience, but the ability to navigate zero-gravity with the propulsion system instead of stomach churning jumping, quick heal without digging in inventory, and actually use kinesis to a better utility make this a fun game to follow Dead Space. The story is also much stronger, and the humor is a nice twist.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the horror fo amazingness

posted by Dr_Hobo69 (RENO, NV) Jan 3, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

dead space 2 shows so much boldness and skill just survie this horrible massacre and dont get wrong i have died plenty, but i wanted to keep on playing because even though it is difficult you dont want it down but it will scare the lights off you so remembre to be prepared and thats why dead spce diserves a 10 out of a 10 in my book

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good game

posted by erictrivett (COLUMBUS, GA) Nov 4, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

if u loved deadspace 1 u will love this 1 not

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent

posted by True7errorist (NIXON, TX) Oct 8, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

Dead Space set a new standard for survival horror games when it first came out. It's sequel lives up to that standard. Walking around the sprawl alone in the dark is a thrill in its own. The graphics are great and the setting is as well. The atmosphere is not as malevolent as the first but you can still feel the horror moving around. The weapon additions are great. The Detonator has to be the most helpful next to the old plasma cutter. There are a lot of original enemies that make a comeback and a few new ones. The stalkers... well startled me the first time I encountered them in the church. You see ones' head peak out from behind cover and then get hit by another from the side. It's really crazy. The improved impossible version was my favorite part. You must play through the whole game with only three chances to save. I think taking the safety of saving the game whenever you feel like it adds to the player's feelings of anxiety and frustration. All in all it's a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Survival horror redefined

posted by wvryn (BURLINGTON, NC) Oct 6, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

Dead Space 2 is a very good game. It has a very sleek and fun gameplay style. The mechanics are better than the first game, things such as enemy movement, and the zero gravity areas are much improved. They are smooth are easy to maneuver. Anyone could pick it up and play it without even playing the first game. It takes care of the player by having a section of the menu that says: Previously on Dead Space so you know what happened last. The story is very fast paced and enjoyable, and the puzzles are fun instead of being hard and repetitive. The game also features a variety of unique weapons for the players disposal, no matter what your combat style is these weapons have you covered in some way. Like in the previous game there are work benches scattered around the game that allow you to upgrade your suits and weapons and make them better. It is not easy to get bored with and has alot of replay value. I really have to reccomend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

full on action horror from the get go.

posted by KSIChrist7 (INDIALANTIC, FL) Aug 30, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

This game is WOW it is just one of those games that the campaign is sooooo good that we just want to play it over and over. What makes this game different from the other horror shooters out there is that there is no warning signs that something is about to happen it just happens which makes the scary factor go way up. The only down side is that the game is VERY VERY hard i mean the normal setting on this game is like the same as most other game's "hard" setting. That may not be a down side necessarily but thats how it could be seen this is a most definitely a must play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

DEAD SPACE IS AWSOME!! :)

posted by BIOSHOCKBOY (NEW YORK, NY) Aug 24, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

This game is 1 of the shooters that I truly love. The story and suits characters and areas are excuicit. I truly recommend this game for people who like scary shooters. I hope you :),then :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Stunning!

posted by Scottsta53 (CHINA GROVE, NC) Aug 22, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

First off let me just say this game is absolutely EPIC. Every necromorph I came across just put a huge smile on my face as I got to blast off every limb, and stomp on their dead body. The depth of the story is compelling, keeps you glued to the controller for hours. With great spooky music and a horrific atmosphere as the lights flicker and blood covers the walls, walking through this game is a trip to remember. Enjoyed it from start to finish, definitely hope to see a Dead Space 3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good Game!!!

posted by XxDeadxSaintxX (ASHBURN, VA) Aug 17, 2011

Member since May 2011

This game is one of the best games i have ever played. it is action packed with scary moments.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse