Rent Dead Rising for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Dead Rising

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii
GF Rating
6.9

16113 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The best time I've ever had at working

posted by KrispyD (YORK, PA) Sep 12, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

134 out of 147 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

No, I didn't play the game at work. Playing this game was like work, but fun.

The game starts off really great and the whole idea of it is just, in Frank's words, "Fantastic!" I've always been one of those people who would watch an old zombie movie and say how easy it would be to get away from some slow moving dead people, but this game shows you how insanely hard that can really be.

See, a zombie goes down as easy as Gallagher smashed watermelons with a sledgehammer, and in not do dissimilar a fashion, but they surround you, and while you get distracted by one, some other worm snackycake will grab you from behind and have you pause just long enough to get gang raped by 10 to 100 walking dead. It's really an eye opening experience, and the game should be played by everyone just to see how truly tough it would be to survive a zombie invasion.

Seriously though, the game is crazy fun at first, even barring the glaring problem of only having one save game; perhaps the stupidest and most genius thing in a game ever. See, if you die, you can load a saved game, or start over, keeping your stats, and it's really a tough call sometimes, because you don't want to lose the skills you've gained, but you don't want to start all over again either. Frustrating.

Which is the perfect word for this game. It's a nice casual romp of blood and guts and bits of skull, but it really gears up towards the hard-core at some points, the one-save being one of them.

Getting more than just a few of the achievements and unlockables requires multiple playthroughs. Even playing through just once is nearly impossible as you just won't level up fast enough to deal with the challenges towards the end.

In the end, and it's somewhat my fault for trying to get all the achievements, the game becomes a bit tedious and boring, as you've likely played through several times already before going yet again to try and unlock some other goody. Still, smashing zombie skulls is always fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A game that could be better, but is great.

posted by Zane101 (POWELL, TN) Aug 13, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Dead Rising is a great game, no doubt about it. I played it on the 360 a long time ago, and didnt get too far and didnt tyhink twice about it. But, I picked it up again and little did I know it would be so fun.



You, the player, can make this game fun or not.



You can make it fun if you enjoy killing zombies with household tools and appliances, and wanna level your character for bonuses and WWE-inspired wrestling moves. You can try out the story, and even finish it later if you want, or you can try t do it all in one go, once you know what to do and what to get. You even have a camera, so you can be creative.



You can also make the game suck, by complaining about how The Convicts will keep getting you, the save system, the cases, which you have to make it to on time... like in real life... or, you can get annoyed by quick-time events.



No, the game is fun, one of the best i have played on the Xbox 360, but it may be too hard for some. If you find it too hard, then enjoy messing around. Thats why I bought the game in the first place!



Graphics: 8/10, Not the best, but good. Text sucks to read without an HDTV.



Story: 7/10, a sketchy plot with forgettable characters and silly boss battles (physcopaths)



Gameplay: 9.5/10, Easily the best part of the game, killing zombies has never been as fun as in this game. Same with bosses and people.



Controls: 8/10, You jump with A, Attack with X, Interact with B, Use the D-pad and bumpers for item management, etc, etc.



Entertainment: 9/10: Its how you interpret it. You may get annoyed and give up, or you may take the bad with the good and have a blast.



Overall: 8/10, a good rental for zombie junkies and for fun, but it may be too simple if you arent up for a real challenge.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

a good game even better if you have patience

posted by LAX5150 (BOONTON, NJ) Mar 11, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

26 out of 29 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

I found the game great all the zombie smashing fun you could ever ask for. The story is great, good cliffhangers and makes you wanna continue. Adding suspense by seeing if you can save survivors you stumble across on and uncovering the truth about the Willamette incident keeps the game interesting. However in order to get the full experience of the game and enjoy every boss fight and the thrill of saving people you'll have to replay the game multiple times. Especially, with several different endings players with patience will enjoy repeating the game every time you beat it. If you don't have the patience and just want to smash zombies and find out who is to blame you should just focus on the main storyline. Overall it's a great game with alot of twists and turns and great hi-def graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A little TOO hardcore?

posted by Twizlex (DAUPHIN, PA) Aug 30, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

182 out of 215 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

Dead Rising is a hard game to put your finger on. I loved the demo, had TONS of fun with it, but after about an hour into the full game, I absolutely HATED it. Then, sometime down the road, I liked it again. Going into it, I thought I could do the story, slicing zombie faces and leveling myself up along the way... but I was wrong.

The game is near impossible to go through on your first try. You'll most likely die not too far into it, and be forced to restart (your stats are carried over into your new game) or reload your last save. The fact that you only have one save slot is kind of a stupid idea, since you might not make it to a case file (story mission) on time and have to restart your game... again. It does, however, make a little bit of sense within the context of the game, so I guess it's somewhat forgivable.

The good part? Killing zombies is fun. As you level up and earn new skills, it gets even better. Want to suplex a zombie? Punch into a zombie's gut and rip out some intestines? Do Guile's Flash Kick from Street Fighter II and kick some heads off? You can! Add to that the many weapons you can find, from your traditional pistols, machineguns, knives, and swords, to your more unconventional stuff, such as a piece of plywood, a potted plant, a bench, a can of paint, or a mailbox, and you've got a plethora of options for dispatching zombies.

Graphically, a lot of stuff is pretty impressive. The skin textures on Jessie's face are nice - you can see little peach-fuzz blonde sideburns, and those are the most impressively-modeled ears I've ever seen! Seriously! The real-time reflections on sunglasses are also great, and you can still even see the eyes in there!

The game is really good for what it is, but I have to say that I think FORCING people to play through the game multiple times to see and do it all is kind of a lame way to give the game replayability. Beating the not-so-great story DOES open up infinity mode, but I personally found it kinda boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible Game

posted by theworm1244 (HOLLIS, NH) Jan 29, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I immediately got annoyed by how awful the cutscenes and overall story were. Gameplay wasn't bad, but it got hard too quickly. Saving system was horrendous. I put this game back in the mail within an hour of opening it.

Not at all my cup of tea but I can see some people liking it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Could only stand it for 20 minutes!

posted by KNoley (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Jan 19, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I literally sat down to play this piece of junk 20 minutes ago and am already putting it back in the mailer to send back to Gamefly. What a waste of time waiting to try this game out! There are no auto saves, which would have been nice to know ahead of time before I made a bunch of progress and then died taking me all the way back to the beginning. Not to mention that it is nothing but cut scene after cut scene. Add to that the most sluggish controls on the planet and how slow your character moves to begin with. Just an awful, frustrating game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dead Rising

posted by josephguyear (LAWTON, OK) Sep 2, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Well I am a big fan of the video games that involve me shooting zombies. I have to say that this was the lamest game that I have ever played. It is just all wrong. For one thing there is entirely too much talking, and there are not many places that u can save the game. This means that when u die u have to begin all over again. I didn't like it at all, got it one day and sent back the next....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best games I've ever played!

posted by Metallifan (SLATINGTON, PA) Jul 25, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Dead Rising is truly an amazing game, with its insanely large array of weapons, characters, and endings, it's a combination that can make only an awesome game. The mall is huge with tons of stores to enter and weapons to take. This game is challenging, yet fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

really fun game

posted by GamerAR (GREENWOOD, MS) Nov 11, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

11 out of 13 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

This game is really cool because of all the features it contains.There are a BUNCH of weapons including chainsaws,2x4s,and shotguns.You can take pictures to get points to level up,you can change into some wacky clothes,and if you decide not to solve the cases,you can go around the mall just killing zombies.The characters make the storyline exciting and mysterious.There are a few cons about the game such as being in a huge group of zombies and not being able to escape them and if you don't save often,you will have to start over from your last save,not to mention the few save areas.The game itself isn't so bad and i would recommend it to people who like killing zombies and shopping in malls(full of zombies!).So give this game a try and I hpoe you enjoy it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A must have for any gamer.

posted by Thormus (CEDAR PARK, TX) Aug 11, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

20 out of 25 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Dead Rising is so unique that anyone that wants to call themselves gamers MUST play it.

Graphics 10/10
Sure they aren't the most beautiful graphics in any game, but they are 360 quality graphics, and with over 1000 enemies on screen at once, very impressive. Everyone has their own shadow, including all of the zombies. Add that to the gory beauty of decapitating a zombie with a chainsaw, and you'll understand Dead Rising' s beauty.

Gameplay 10/10
Capcom pulled the gameplay of this game off greatly, everything is smooth while you play, and how can you NOT have fun playing a game where you kill zombies and take pictures of the devastation?

Sound 8/10
The voice acting in this game is the best voice acting I have ever heard in a game, and I've been playing games since the NES era, though while not in a cutscene, you'll hear mall music, which sounds like elevator music and gets pretty old after awhile.

Story 10/10
I cant say much here, because I don't want to spoil a thing, but when you watch the story unfold, you will fill as though your watching it all, coupled with amazing plot twists makes the story fantastic.

The only problem with this game is the save system. You only get one file, so if you screw up, you get to restart the game. Though there is a silver lining to restarting, when you do, you get to keep all the Prestige Points you've earned, which give you your level ups, so you get to keep your level and skill.

Overall 9.5/10
Dead Rising is a genre by itself, and its such a different experience than any other game. You have to at least rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

So much in one game...

posted by Silenoz666 (SAGINAW, MI) Aug 10, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

68 out of 88 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

Dead Rising delivers action, adventure, and RPG-elements all in one action-packed game.

You are a photographer with 72 hours to uncover why zombies have over-run a town. You must follow leads , cover stories, and avoid being killed by hordes of zombies.

There are over 200 weapons in Dead Rising, ranging from deadly Battle Axes to harmless Toy Swords. Nearly everything can be picked up and unleashed upon foes.

Zombie killing is entertaining, and through taking photos, escorting survivors and killing psychopaths, you level up and become more powerful. Frank can learn sweet wrestling moves, or gain more maximum health.

The game features plenty of endings, and unlockable game modes. An online leaderboard is available, and downloadable content is already out!

Tons of fun for a long time, Dead Rising features a little of everything. Definately worth a buy, one of the first great Xbox 360 exclusive titles!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

quite fun with a few mechanical snags

posted by imperial (WILLIAMSVILLE, VT) Aug 10, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

53 out of 69 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

First of all Dead rising is a extremely entertaining and unique game that manages to pull off being original without being completely revolutionary given the few mechanical flaws of Dead Rising. For Example there is an incredible amount of gameplay in dead rising, but unfortunately you wont be able to see and do it all the first time through given the extremely rigid and unflexible timeframe in which things must unfold. You will be given a fairly simple objective and then ou will be given a timed deadline in which the objective must be completed or game over. This is quite frustrating because the game also features a very unflexible checpoint save dynamic that doesnt entirely agree with the timed missions. For instance if you dwiddle away your objective time until you are stuck with something like thirty seconds left on the clock when the game saves you are literally up a creek without a paddle and you would have to start the story mode over again. However this potentially frustrating snag is not quite as punishing as it could be considering Dead rising is fairly easy and consistantly enjoyaable and turns out to be a game a player may want to play several times through anyway. that said dead rising is probably one of the most repetitive games in existence. The point is to kill zombies and complete optional and manditory objectives within a time limit. Luckily killing Zombies in dead rising happens to be extremely fun and amusing as there are dozens of weapons and choices to be made while hacking through literally hundreds of zombie brain eaters.
graphics-7
gameplay-9
audio-8
difficulty-easy to moderate depending on player skill and save usage
presentation-8
buy or rent-player preferance

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Too Frustrating to Be Fun

posted by mculberson (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Aug 16, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

55 out of 73 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

First of all, the good things. The graphics in this game are nice and crisp and well-done. The sound is excellent. Killing zombies is fun. And...well, that's it.

Other than that, this game is just plain frustrating. I don't know what they were thinking when they set up the save system and mission structure, but they sure missed the boat on this one. I consider myself an average gamer, and with time I can complete most games. But I'm so frustrated with this one after a couple of hours of play that I'm ready to send it back.

There's only one save file and very few save opportunities. You can save your character's skills and start all over again, but who wants to keep doing this? For those out there that like to find all the secret stuff in games and have A LOT of patience, then you will love this one. And as you can see by the reviews a lot of people do.

And I was VERY excited about playing this game, too. All I can say is that I'm disappointed and I just wish the actual structure of the game would have equaled the graphics and sound.

Also, how they could develop a game that doesn't have voiceovers in game so you don't have to read the incredibly small text is beyond me. Especially when the dialogue takes place in the middle of gameplay. The phone rings and you HAVE to answer it and stop everything. My eyes hurt from trying to read the small dialogue too. Not all of us have 50 inch HD TVs.

Too much was missed on this one for me to recommend it. If you're itching to play something, give it a try, because the graphics are sweet and the sounds are awesome. Too bad the gameplay doesn't live up to these standards. Only patient gamers need apply.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dead Rising is great! with only a few minor issues

posted by JStrobes (NEW ORLEANS, LA) Aug 10, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

14 out of 18 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

First of all let me say that upon returning home with ym game, I played it for 7 hours non stop. It is that type of game. In the 72 hour mode you can choose to do whatever you want. As long as you do some of the main story missions you can still free roam around the HUGE mall and kill as many zombies with whatever weapon you desire. You have so many options with all the optional side missions and lots of interesting stores to check out. With the unlimited mode even more possibilities are brought upon you. Now you truly are on your own and can do whatever you desire whether its kill 50 thousand zombies or just run around all day. This game is a must have and even though it has no multiplayer it has a ton of gameplay. The small minor flaws in this game are the save feature and the small text on the bottom of the screen. You cna only save in a few locations throughtout the mall so it can get fristrating at times if you play a long time and die before you make it there. But I still highly recommend this game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Original Game for once

posted by Arupei (CLOQUET, MN) May 11, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Dead Rising is not an easy game to get used to playing. The time system in the game can be frustrating but once you get used to it you have more time than you really think to finish things.
I enjoyed this game when I owned it and when I re-rented it here. I highly suggest that everyone at the very least try this game and experience something fresh.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun game, with one HUGE annoyance.

posted by dskyyy (SEVERN, MD) Aug 18, 2006

Member since Jan 2003

31 out of 45 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

Okay, this game is great. The graphics are amazing, even for zombies, and the amount of zombies shown on screen is mind boggling. I think EGM said that up to 800 zombies could be displayed at once. Now, I wont go as far as to say I have seen 800, but hundreds, definately.

Now, The only reason I havent gotten past case 1-2, is because of the super HUGE annoyance of the ULTRA SMALL TEXT that Capcom decided to use in this game. Capcom has publically announced that they ONLY tested Dead Rising on HDTV's. Now I know some of you are going to be like "upgrade to an HDTV". Well, it simply isnt that simple, especially if you have other applicanes that would need to be switched to an HD ready product (in my case : my TiVo box, with DirecTV. I would need to buy the 400-500 dollar version just to get HD channels, and I'm simply not going back to a non-TiVo TV experiance). So the HD switch, for me atleast, will have to wait. However, it's simply unexcusable that Capcom would ignore the 60-80% consumer base that have SDTV's and put this small, unreadable font, in their game. And yes, the font is pretty much everything you need to : 1. advance in the story, 2. see what items your picking up, 3. see what your partner in crime, otis, is telling you over the radio, because Capcom, I guess, did'nt want to have Otis, have a voice.

The game, if you didn't need to read, wouldve gotten a 9 or maybe even a 10, out of 10.

However Dead Rising gets a 6/10. Until a patch, fixing the font problem, comes out. Then it might go to a 9/10.

Until then......

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

teeny-tiny-speedy text

posted by LiquorBoy (ATLANTA, GA) Sep 21, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

14 out of 22 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

This game is not what i expected it to be. Instead of an all out zombie melee, I'm spending all my time trying to read this tiny duologue that appears for maybe 10 seconds. Seriously. If I am expected to do all the reading and half the game play that is required in this game, i'm better off just buying the strategy guide and reading that with a cup of joe. The characters give you important instructions in smallest type possible and you are expected to read and understand what to do next in about 10 -15 seconds. Don't believe me? See for yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Zombies Have Come To The 360

posted by gamerater (KATY, TX) Aug 9, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

27 out of 44 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

Capcom Jumps Out With The Zombie Game of the Year.

Pros-
>Great Graphics
>Gameplay
>So Much To Do

Cons-
>Yet Little Time to Do It
>Killing Zombies Gets Boring

Overall- 9.0 !!!!!
Xbox Live- Content

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Cool Game!!!!.......Oh Wait....

posted by dwonser (MEMPHIS, TN) Aug 18, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

10 out of 16 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This is a great game....at first. The concept seems well thought out and fighting zombies with pretty much whatever you find is great. But after playing for just the shortest time you realize this isn't a very good game. The save points are horrible. If you so much as mess up somewhere and havent saved in a while then you might as well start over because you are going straight back to where you last saved. After playing this game for about 30 minutes, I gave up playing and changed tactics. I started straight zombie bashing and searching for save points. After a while I realized there is usually 1 or 2 save points in each area of the mall. And if I remembered to save I did. But once you go into zombie bashing mode it is very easy to forget to save, or even sometimes impossible, due to the fact the are sometimes more zombies on screen then you can handle. After playing for about and hour I got killed and realized I didnt save for a while and it was start all over again. BORING! So I tried again. This time I focused on the main missions. It went well for the longest time, until day 2. After completing all missions on day one, you are told to wait until 6 am on day 2 to continue your missions. But as you wait you soon realize your mission time is running out. So unfazed by it thinking it was counting down to 6 am I went on to some side quests, and ended up fighting a boss character. The boss character was extremely hard and took FOREVER to kill. But I finally did and looked at my timer for the next mission, and it was just about time, so I started to run for a save point. But as I was headed there, the timer ran out and said I failed the whole story mode. I couldnt believe it. It was then that I realized I hadnt saved since like the second main mission, and thats when I decided this game wasnt worth playing. I played this game for 2-3 hours and must honestly say, DO NOT try this game unless you want disappointment. This game is fun for zombie bashing, for a short time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Great but frustrating.

posted by adhesive (GAINESVILLE, FL) Aug 15, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

14 out of 23 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

Wow, there is a ton to do in this game. The problem is getting to it. Now, for most objectives, it is neccesary to wade through hordes of the undead - but at least this can be done amusingly. Sledgehammers, chainsaws, frying pans... fish - they all allow you traverse a huge mall such as this, but not with ease. You start out with no skills, except an inept ability to use a camera. This gets a little irritating because it makes you extremely dependent upon the items you find to fight with. After using these items numerous times, the humor of them ebbs, and then getting from point A to point B becomes a tedious affair. Simply escorting (and you do that A LOT) becomes a problem, due to the factors mentioned before. Beyond that problem, you will run into the save system. Save points are few and far between, and getting to one is as tedious as getting to a mission objective. The forced leveling required to get anywhere is reminiscent of the old "Dragon Warrior" games - level or die. One of the most positive aspects of the game are the graphics - I've never seen a myriad of rotting bodies so strangely appealing. The fit soooo many mobs on the screen at one time it's really impressive. The soundtrack fits in rather well, and the animations and reactions of characters are very detailed. All in all, its a severe disappointment, but still worth a look into.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good game very annoying flaws

posted by DeltaXIII (MIAMI, FL) Jul 18, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Pros
- number of zombies at the screen
-Dawn of the death concept
-later in the game can get fun
-Can use pretty much any weapon

Cons
- Saving system not checkpoints at all, can take up to an hour to do some missions carefully just to die because one your survivors you trying to rescue push instead of zombie in a zombie infested crow..
- worst aiming system i have seen (the use of the left stick only)
-Dialogue...
-most annoying in-game call, every 10 second they call you through the game and your character becomes unarmed when it happens..
- weapons self destruct after 20-30 hits..
-Inventory system its not separate from weapons to health items ,so when you hit the zombies with a weapons and self destruct, you'll end up with an apple or health item
-some parts of the game it leaves wondering what to do next,example one part you are cut scene and the person you following its gone...

I like the game but i couldn't go pass their serious flaws and endless waste of time that i spend doing because of one of the many flaws..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Survival-Horror is supposed to be about Survival

posted by Garmichael (RENTON, WA) Jun 14, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Dead Rising is one of the best zombie games out there. Sure, you can play L4D or RE4/5, but those aren't really Zombie games. Replace those Zombies with Goblins, and suddenly, you're playing a fantasy game.

Look beyond the skin, and you'll realize that Zombie games are supposed to be about survival, resource management, knowing your surroundings, and planning.

Frank West, a photojournalist investigating a small town in Colorado via helicopter, is dropped off on the roof of a mall. When the United States Military intervenes and chases away Frank's pilot, Frank must survive in the mall for 72 hours until the copter returns. While trapped in the mall, Frank unravels a plot explaining the zombie outbreak.

The open ended nature of this game allows the player to explore the mall, seeking out locations that hold useful weapons and powerups, characters, and mini-plots.

The main objective of the game is to follow a series of timed missions that lead the player through the mysteries surrounding the outbreak. Along the way, Frank meets several key characters in which his missions revolve around.

The secondary objectives are numerous and equally engaging. There are trapped characters who need rescuing and psychopaths who need killing, plus a few surprises.

In order to perform a 'perfect run', the player must complete all primary and secondary objectives in one play through. To do this requires careful planning. Restrooms are used to save progress, which makes absolute sense and I wouldn't have it any other way. The player should have dire consequences for failure in a survival game. The tense nature of survival never quite hits home if death means nothing more than a minor setback.

For those who don't want to bother with survival and only want to kill zombies, pick of one of the no-thinking zombie games like RE4/5 and L4D. For the rest of us, we need more games like Dead Rising.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

zombie smashing couldn't get better

posted by ccpgamer (MONACA, PA) Mar 26, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is probably my favorite game. It has a great story and has awesome game play. The only thing was once you're finished the first time you probably won't complete everything. I'm still on my second try but the game has so many things to do it will keep you occupied for a long time. You're in a mall for 72 hours and everything is a weapon. If you are a person who want's to kill zombies, is a video gamer, and likes a game that will keep them staring at the tv screen for hours on end this is the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Was good at first.

posted by jammzbratt (LAS VEGAS, NV) Aug 31, 2006

Member since Sep 2003

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I was one that was probably like most people...totally hyped about this game. I couldn't wait to get it in the mail. I finally got it and got the chance to actually play it. That's where I realized...Hey this game isn't great.

It is cool for the first hour and then it just gets monotonous. Same thing over and over with a few things thrown in to make it a little different. The controls are ok...not great. It is cool that there can be sooo much on screen at the same time. Kinda aggravating when you can't find your player at times though.

Overall I am glad that I didn't run down to my local GameStop and plunk down $60 on this disappointment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Extremely frustrating, huge let down

posted by bebones (BLOOMFIELD, NJ) Aug 17, 2006

Member since Mar 2005

12 out of 20 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Did they not give this game to people to test before releasing? How they could only have one save block is beyond comprehension. I have a large HD television and can read the print from your two-way radio just fine, but to do so while in gameplay and forcing you to disarm is another point of frustration. Rent this game to see for yourself what a great game could have been. Keep it if you have a lot of patience and don't mind all of your hard work flushed down the toilet every half hour, and then having ot do it all over again because you have one lousy save slot. I'm probably sending this one back after only a few days.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse