Rent Dead Rising: Chop Till You Drop for Wii
view large frontback

Dead Rising: Chop Till You Drop

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.9

1790 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game will make you LOVE Otis!

posted by Zerodin (MOUNTAIN VIEW, MO) Feb 26, 2009

Member since Feb 2006

86 out of 93 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

This game is NOT a port, it's a conversion. I'll explain what that means later on.

Because this is the Wii can't expect the same level of graphical polish, or number of on-screen zombies. What you can expect is a much richer experience, than what the original version has to offer!

This version of this game runs on the RE4 Wii engine. This means the following pros/cons.

+ Flawless aiming system.
+ More guns at your disposal, unlike the first game you can reload these!
+ Special moves are easier to pull off, making them actually useful!
- Jumping is gone.
- No photography.

As I mentioned there are some technical limitations, but the downgrade isn't all that bad! And the zombies have been made both smarter, and much more aggressive. They also respawn faster! You WILL find yourself backed against a wall, or surrounded from all sides very often!

There are new zombies as well! Poodles and Parrots, which as absurd as that sounds they present a threat, more-so as the game progresses.
In addition to the animal zombies there are zombie version of Kent, Jo, and Cliff to content with.

One story aspect that changes, is the fate of one of the game's psychopaths, you end up saving his life, and he provides you a valuable service!

Otis no longer calls you all the time! He hands you out rescue missions, and rewards you for rescuing survivors. If you do really good he gives you prizes!

The save system has been improved! No longer can you accidentally erase your save! You also get 20 save slots!

Remember how you were constantly had to beat the clock? Those days are over! You have all the time in the world during story missions, and you only have to hurry on rescue missions if you want a better grade! This also has extra modes not found in the 360 version!

Don't listen to fanboys and harsh "pro" reviews. I spent my money on this, and I am telling you that this is a great game! If you found DR on the 360 a fun but lacking experience, or don't have a 360, BUY THIS!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Way Better Than a 5.8, Trust Me...

posted by ShamWow (BLACKSBURG, VA) Jun 22, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

16 out of 18 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Wow, after playing Dead Rising: Chop Till Ya Drop for the Wii, I was shocked at the particularly low ratings the game has received. The storyline is very fluent and addictive, the gameplay is fun and simplistic, yet challenging at times, the environment is stunningly creative... what's not to like?

Well okay, there are some relatively negative points in the game, but nothing noteworthy. The zombies can get very annoying; well, just the special ones such as Jo, Kent, and Cliff. And the gun store is okay... despite the fact that it doesn't sell ammunition! A gun store that sells books, but not ammunition? Please...

Those are the only major faults I could find within the game. The weaponry is so original. You can use anything from guns to park benches to chainsaws to lawn mowers to buckets to orange cones... anything and everything is open for murder, making the interactive environment that much better.

In summary, don't let the less than stellar rating fool you. This game is REALLY good. It's not the best I've played, but it's certainly not the worst. I only wish Frank could've used a ShamWow to mop up all the blood.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Enjoyed

posted by viper12434 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Mar 2, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

13 out of 16 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

This was pretty fun even though it was just liked the first and you do a lot of th e same stuff it was very repetitive but really fun there are so many ways you can kill the zombies and the story line kept leading you on to the next clue i liked it. so if your in the mood to kill kill kill then this is the game for you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Version To Get! Resident Evil 4 Engine!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Feb 27, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

15 out of 23 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

The 360 was lacking and this game is better suited for the Wii. The controls are tight, the graphics (IMO) is superior to the 360, the zombies are way smarter (even on easy); and the camera system is gone so it does not get in the way. However it does get repetitive fast. Should sell million copies by summer!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Insert clever zombie joke here...

posted by Tarquin (DANVILLE, VA) Mar 4, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Okay. I was honestly very excited about this game when it was announced. Using the wiimote to slice and dice the zombie masses. How cool! Too bad something was lost in the translation.
Yes. I know it is a port from a more powerful system, but part of the charm of the first Dead Rising was wading into a dense (and I mean dense) horde of zombies with a make shift weapon designed to send zombie body parts flying in a number of funny ways. And when you cut the density of said horde down to about 1/8 of the original horde, the humorous effect of using the various makeshift weapons loses its appeal. And then throw in sluggish controls, you get a game that is simply just okay.
But, they added zombie parrots and poodles, you say? Sorry, these additions only serve to frustrate and distract from the fact that there are not enough zombies to make the main premise of the game work.
If you really like the zombie killing concept, then rent (obviously here at Gamefly) this game. Otherwise invest in a 360 and play the original or wait for the true sequel to come out on PS3 or 360.

One of the ways I gage my enjoyment of a game I receive from Gamefly is how long it takes me to decide to keep it, play it 'til it is done, or send it back. I sent Dead Rising: Chop Till You Drop back within 48 hours of receiving it. And I think I was mostly trying to make myself like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

better as a Wii game

posted by gmhickok (SCHERTZ, TX) Mar 3, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

8 out of 15 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

I tried this game on 360 and didnt like the controls. It definetly makes a better wii game. I finished it in a day and a half. Disappointed that it just kind of ended leaving our hero without (spoiler).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty Good

posted by Torchy (Milwaukee, WI) Mar 3, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Has a few draw backs, but honestly the first Wii game I've ever truly enjoyed other than sports games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

really bad port

posted by calebsdad (Bellevue, NE) Jun 8, 2009

Member since Sep 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

don't buy the hype. i played the 360 version and loved it. this is a bad port. the graphics are bad, they changed the flow of the story and it takes much longer to get to actual game play. the controls are wonky and the overall feel is less than desirable. if zombies r your thing, go for RE5 or play this game on one of the other consoles where it's fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

typical

posted by fraskew (MATTHEWS, NC) Jun 3, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

capcom has made a fortune by making the same game over and over and over with only very minor changes. mega man, street fighter and it's multitude of variations, and resident evil.

this is another tedious, boring, time waster. been there done that already. too many times.

yes, there is some humor in it. not nearly enough to make a difference though. zombie wasps, zombie poodles and zombie parrots though take away from the humor, believe it or not.

dumb game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

could have been better

posted by dagametest (MUKWONAGO, WI) May 2, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game had some great potential bud i did not like it at all. first the good stuff in the game: the graphics wernt to bad.
ok that was the good stuff, now for the bad: i tried to play but for every 5 minutes i played i had to wait and watch a clip for 20 minutes and every second through that i want to kick some zombie "butt" which made it seem longer. also you could not walk through a door without a loading time to it. the last thing is that it had very corny dialoge and some was just text bringing me back to gameboy color.
but then again i mostly play 360 games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Stop Before you Drop.

posted by Chesz117 (SMITHSBURG, MD) Mar 31, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Good:

Motion controls are not overdone and are well used.

Mission based gameplay gives you a little more freedom than the time restrictions placed in the original game.

Bad:

There are only 10-20 zombies on screen, and as soon as you've killed them and looked away, they have respawned again.

AI survivors are incredibly stupid, often wandering straight into zombies instead of avoiding them in any way.

Ugly:

The graphics are atrocious. The zombies are reminiscent of the undead from Resident Evil '96. Seriously.

Bottom Line:

If you have access to a 360, stick with the original. If you play games on an SD tv and are confined to a Wii, it may amuse you for a short time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better than i expected

posted by boxman4077 (BIGFORK, MT) Jul 20, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It had easier gameplay than the 360 version. every thing you did was not a race against the clock. more zombies would have been better and the zombie animals get really old fast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good game.

posted by butch2545 (SAN ANDREAS, CA) May 15, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When i got this game i was ecstatic to play it. Then when i found out that it had the same story line as the 360 version i thought " well this must be really good". I started playing and it is a very good game to play once but then it gets kinda old after the second time. But overall this is a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Is a switch option really so hard?

posted by Delphaniou (APOPKA, FL) Apr 30, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I'm left handed. The game requires both aiming and swinging... therefore the wiimote needs to be in my dominant hand. Swinging with my left, just trying to deal with the image on the screen being backwards, it doesn't even register. No switch option. Game fails.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great

posted by gamer717 (ANCHORAGE, AK) Jul 12, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

this is th greatest game ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Mediocre Port

posted by zorba1994 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Mar 6, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Single-Player: 4 out of 10 wiimotes
Multi-Player: NA
Overall: 4 out of 10 wiimotes

Pros: Dead Rising on the Wii.

Cons: Repetitive gameplay, not scary in the slightest, no picture taking, awkward controls
---------------------- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
Graphics: 4 out of 10 wiimotes
Gameplay: 3 out of 10 wiimotes
Storyline: 5 out of 10 wiimotes
(Categories do not all have the same value, overall score is not an average)

Dead Rising on the wii. It sounds strange already. This is a port of the Xbox 360, but it is flawed. We will, however start with the good things. New to the game is multiple save slots, and with individual mission timers as opposed to a giant timer for the whole game, it is easier access. That's about it. For those who are new to the Dead Rising series, the storyline is decent, for a zombie comedy game, however, for most people it is a pure recycle. Honestly, it takes super repetitive gameplay, where it is actually easier (and better for you) to bypass the zombies than attack them. Also, things that sound cool on paper, just aren't that fun. Chomping out zombies with a lawnmower just looks like you touch them and they disappear. The game isn't scary either. You know where the zombies are, no jolts, no wondering if you should open the door. Sure there is your ridiculously small health bar, but that's just the fear of dying, which is present in any combat video game. Add to that awkward controls, no wiimotion controls, and what could have been the saving grace of the game but they did not input, no picture taking, and you have a ridiculously boring zombie title. Lets hope the next Resident Evil or Silent Hill is better.

This review courtesty of Game Center: RPG PC and Console Podcast

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

As good, if not better then 360 verison.

posted by Danvath (LAKELAND, FL) Jun 18, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I played this on my bro's XBOX 360 first, and it was fun taking pictures, but you get sidetracked by it so easy. Then you lose track in the game, and lose interest in the game. This game follows the same storyline, and does not mis Frank being a journalist in any way. The story line is the same, and focuses on him being a photo journalist. Also the graphics for the WII verison are just as good as the 360 verison. Yes there is a tad diffrence from playing a 360 in HD then playing the Wii on 480I, but it is barely noticable. If you have a wii, and played the 360 verison. I suggest giving this one a try. The guns are so much better in this verison

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

this game is much better on xbox 360

posted by sobaski24 (CLEVER, MO) Apr 10, 2009

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game should only be played on xbox 360. i found the wii version very disappointing. there are far less zombies to kill and the missions are not very fulfilling. missions were really easy and do not challenge you in any way. the wii controls are not very strong for this game. if you want to play dead rising play it for the xbox 360, that version kept me entertained for hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Doesn't quite "Rise" to the occasion

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Mar 9, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I get the feeling that the Nintendo guys had a discussion about how to bring back the hard core game players after the second half of 2008, and one of them said, "Hey, what do they play on the 360 and the PS3? Dead Rising? Okay, let's make a Wii version out of that." That's how they made Dead Rising: Chop Till You Drop.
Problem is, there's no reason why players who have played the 360 version to play this one.
This game doesn't have as much an open environment as the 360 version, sometimes forcing players to go on rescue missions when all they want to do is go out and defeat zombies with all sorts of weapons.
It doesn't have the 360's picture taking feature, either.
And the Wii's lacking processor means not a lot of zombies will be on screen at any one time; they seem to fade in and out of the background.
Still, it's fun to demolish zombies with shopping carts, guns, chainsaws and other things.
And those who have wanted to play Dead Rising, but only have the Wii, your wish has been fulfilled.
Dead Rising: Chop Till You Drop is good, but it's not even close to the 360 standard. RENT IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good but not great

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Mar 2, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Many people know and love the first Dead Rising on Xbox 360. I never played that game, but ive played a fair share of Zombie games, and im pretty sure this is the first Zombie game for the Wii. When you play the game i think its pretty certain that this game prouble wasnt thought out very well and couldve been improved better. First off which most Wii gamers expect is pretty bad graphics and i know every Wii game has bad graphics, but it really takes away from the game. The story mode is pretty average and is slow paced most of the time with little spirts of fun. The game has you going though many empty rooms looking for things and honestly it gets really boring. It also has no multiplayer mode so when your done with the campaign, your done. So overall this zombie game isnt the best made, but for a first time zombie game on this console they didnt do a terrible job. If all you have is a Wii they try this game out, if you have an xbox or ps3 try out one of the other zombie games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not worth it

posted by hjmoore420 (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) May 23, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I am sorry if people think I am being some gamer elitist, but when you clear a group of undead, only to see one just materialize, or turn around no zombies, turn back around again, 20 zombies, turn around again 1 zombie. It was just boring. If you want to run around in circles repeatedly killing things you already killed, and playing through some loose storyline then go for it, but I couldn't get through this game, it was too stupid.

If you want a real zombie game get RE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awsome! Game

posted by Kevin815 (FREEPORT, IL) May 11, 2009

Member since May 2009

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Great Game Very Good Game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dead on Arrival

posted by SammyT (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Mar 6, 2009

Member since Jul 2005

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

To the other reviewers: Are you guys playing the same game?!

I've never played the 360 version, but was excited about it coming to the Wii. However, after playing it for an hour, I was thoroughly dissapointed. Everything about this game reeks amateurish and rushed. This game plays like something from early 2000 on the Dreamcast, as the controls are clunky and the other characters (not the zombies ironically) are completely brain dead. Seriously, the people you have to save either stand around or run around in circles saying the same lines over and over. Sigh.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this is bad!

posted by scidude0 (NEWARK, DE) Jun 13, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

i love dead rising,BUT THIS GAME REEKS OF A--!
Animal abuse is to much BUT ZOMBIE POODLES!!!??
FOR SOME REASON THATS TO FAR!
Macaws also they are annoying!
SO THIS GAME IS GETTING A 1!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

a polished terd

posted by NathanMIx (ROSWELL, GA) Mar 11, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

i thought "hey i liked the one for 360, i might like this one"

...

one word...

WRONG

this game is like putting really nice rims on a car from the junk yard, it is pointless

1.the graphics are bad (i know its a wii game but still)

2.the cut scene audio has a delay

3. there is a cut scene seriously every 3 minutes, not kidding

4. the controls are confusing and ridiculous (you control your camera and movent just the nunchuck)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse