Rent Dead Rising 3 for Xbox One
view large frontback

Dead Rising 3

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $49.99

Used: $24.99

GF Rating
7.6

1908 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing!!

posted by DonKodyOwnz (RIVERSIDE, CA) Jan 12, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is great there are a lot of stuff to do playing with your friends in the multiplayer makes it even more fun and trying to get all the combinations is great I rented this just to see what would happen and ended up buying it. Great game I recommend this to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Improvement

posted by ldevilhockey (KENILWORTH, NJ) Jan 1, 2014

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have played both previous games. This one is by far the most improved and the most fun. The time aspect of the game is not as restrictive as the previous which gives me more time to just have fun do more side missions or just kill as many zombies as I want without having to do something else. I definitely recommend this game to anyone looking for a zombie game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Mediocre at best

posted by znoixor (HASLET, TX) Aug 27, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Gameplay was eh at best not much improvement from the first two games, story bland, graphics looked terrible for so called "Next Gen" item customization only happens when you "discover" blueprints without them your character is too big of an idiot to tape together a flashlight and a pistol...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game, gets stale quick

posted by Friedmak33 (SPRINGFIELD, VA) Jan 15, 2014

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I had an absolute blast playing Dead Rising, for the first 5 hours or so. After that point, you get an idea of what the game is about and you realize you just want to finish the game. Don't get me wrong, I had a great time killing zombies. All the creative ways you kill them with the crazy weapons and vehicles, it's a lot of fun. It definitely gives you an incentive to find more blueprints to make more weapons for more fun. But that's literally the extent of the game. Even when playing with a friend via co-op, the game doesn't change. Kill zombies, find blueprints, kill more zombies, repeat. That's why I say you just hit a point and you're like, I just want to finish this. The later missions in the game get monotonous, forcing you to hike from one end of the map to the other, becoming more of a chore. And you keep thinking the end is almost there and lo and behold, there's another mission. Another thing I've never liked in games is a time limit. Even though the game gives you plenty of time, you feel rushed. Side missions randomly fail because you didn't get to them in time and the game blatantly shows you this by displaying in large red letters "Mission Failed". Just let me run around all day and kill zombies! Why do I need a time limit!

But for all my complaints, for a launch game, I think Xbox One/Capcom did pretty well with this title. Pretty good graphics with some simple fun. All you can ask for from a game day 1. The amount of zombies on screen at one time is pretty insane, and it's a lot of fun running them over with a Rollerhawg. I thought the boss fights were some of the better points in the game. Every one usually takes a bit of strategy to figure out and were some of the more memorable moments. Don't skip out on the Psycho fights that come available later in the game as well.

Overall, just a simple game that is just simply fun. Don't expect more than that. Definitely a Gamefly rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

How could anyone rate this game lower than a 9?

posted by Giantsfanj (PLUMAS LAKE, CA) Dec 5, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

For the guy that wrote the 3 rating is clearly either a gamer than has no clue how to play games or he is some PS4 fanboy. This game and Forza are the must haves for any Xbox One user. The variety of weapons, intensity of game play...especially at night. This game is just plain fun. Imagine GTA with zombies to kill. Putting together items to create super weapons is so much fun. This game is super intense and fun at the same time. This game should be played by anyone that has a Xbox One.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best of the three.

posted by beneko (CHULA VISTA, CA) Dec 20, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I will be trying to counter the negate reviews out there. First, the complaint that there is the two separate buttons for the picking up and use of an item, all you have to remember is that there cannot be a separate button to pick up and use food and then one to pick up all other objects. Then think of the X-button use item and the Y-button as the special use, it will become very easy to remember the buttons. Another trick that is completely necessary is to learn to pick up items as you are running, don’t take the time to make sure it’s in your hand simply watch the boxes, 90% of the time the closest item will magnetically lock into your hands, it may not be the correct item, which is where timing comes in (skill). Second, the bosses are impossible. This is completely true, unless you go in prepared. The problem here is that “they” are not treating this game like any other game where whenever you prepare for boss fights, this is done even in the simplest of games Pokémon so it should not be excluded here. Another thing everyone needs to know is that unlike in other games collectibles (mainly blueprints) are not optional in this game, they give fun toys to play with and give a great edge over the bosses. over all most of the people with low reviews are just complaining of their own sort comings, i completed all side quests given to me, found all collectibles, and completed the story with 2 days left to mess around earning me the rank S ending all on my first try. great game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great GAME!

posted by Lucky715 (SANTA MARIA, CA) Dec 6, 2013

Member since Sep 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This Game Is So much fun you don't want to see it end. I just wish the leveling up didn't cap at 50 but im keeping this game till the Xbox 2 comes out lol.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I love it

posted by Hey2thezeus (DUNKIRK, NY) Nov 26, 2013

Member since Jan 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Zombies zombies and more zombies! Its amazing how many zombies there are and how they all look different which i really appreciate. Ive played zombie games where you see the same 4-5 zombies over and over and it really pulls me out of the experience. I stood up on top of a car surrounded by hundreds of zombies and tried to find 2 zombies that looked the same and i couldn't, i hope more games do this in open world games with a lot of characters.

Ive laughed so many times . The things you can do in this game are ridiculous and graphic at the same time. You can see limbs flying when you hit or blow up a zombie while wearing ridiculous clothes. And whatever your'e wearing shows up in the cutscenes which makes it that more ridiculous when your'e talking about dying while wearing fireman boots with tennis shorts and a blanka mask from street fighter. Its a very fun game and theres nothing else like it out there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Judge this game for yourself

posted by balexanderdx (MCMECHEN, WV) Nov 26, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I had deadrising 3 preordered since May and almost cancelled it a week before launch due to some very judgemental reviews. I'm happy I stuck it out. This game is awesome. Graphically its not anything like Ryse or NBA 2k14 but its still better than Deadrising 2. The storyline is excellent and keeps you wanting more. I think theres about 2 hours of cutscenes. Many weapons to choose from. Zombies are all completely different looking so you dont get tired of killing the same construction worker zombie over and over again. Psycho battles are pretty easy with range weapons but some can offer a lil bit of difficulty.

I played about 2 hours of Co-op and it was pretty flawless. Destroying zombies with someone can only make the experience better.

Smartglass is a must. I used both my IPad and Android phone. It rarely messed up and add a completely different experience that I have never had.

Overall this is a must have for your xbox one. Its an exclusive, has many hours of gameplay (I've logged 21 hours so far and not stopping anytime soon), and I mean who doesn't like slaughtering 100,000 zombies?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great job!!

posted by silverpanda (MANTECA, CA) Dec 3, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

deadrising 3 is one of the best games i have ever played, it is in the top 10. people wont kno until they play, the ending is soo unexpected i loved this game.ending s

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

such a fun game

posted by weedmunchies (WILMINGTON, NC) Nov 25, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game is so much fun, the possibilties and stuff you can do in this game are endless, having a blast with this game. Recomended for everyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Controller + 400 commands not good for slasher

posted by Geekdomo (ROCHESTER, NY) Nov 24, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

4 out of 17 gamers (24%) found this review helpful

The main issues I have with this game are these. When you have a brainless slasher combat game you need simplicity of control. Often I would be fighting and accidentally hit a button that would throw my weapon away. Or when in the midst of combat I needed to eat some food the devs decided that picking up a bag of chips and then eating it should be 2 separate buttons. While from the outside it seems so common sense that it should be easy to remember, in the midst of combat its anything but intuitive and a real chore to remember the keys. Sure with enough muscle memory you might get it but its really difficult in the beginning. Ok so your amazing with muscle memory. Ignore that part of my review if you will. Instead the physics are laughable at best. Several times I would bump into another object to have my car explode and I flip no less than 300 times down the road to stand up unscathed. Once I bumped into a parked tow truck (a side rescue mission to clear out the zombies around this girl) The car became damaged but I kept on clearing out the Zeds. What happened next was hilarious if it wasn't so sad. The car blew up, I flipped 300 times in the air and flew into a building a block away. When I stood up I had killed all of the Zombies around the girl and every car in the area was on its roof. Its not just when the car blows up that the physics are laughable its most things you hit/run into when driving. Overall I was not happy with the gameplay/controls/physics. Also this is an obvious 360 game ported to the One. The graphics are decent at best. I realize its a release title and they didnt write it for the One but it still feels old.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Behold My Mighty Scythe!

posted by Semperboy (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Oct 21, 2014

Member since May 2010

Dead Rising 3 is, in my opinion, a retread, but a good retread. It saw everything they did right in the last game and kept to formula. sure, I wish there was a little challenge to making your combo weapons. But there is still nothing better than to storm through the streets, scythe in hand, ready to lop off some undead heads.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game

posted by zebrahater (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Sep 11, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

Good game very fun does get repitive awsome thou lot of fun its good time to build all the weapons really recommend it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best Xbox one game

posted by FAILN3T (INMAN, SC) Sep 11, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

This is the most fun game on the xbox one I have played,

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Solid Game

posted by krismonty09 (PARRISH, FL) Sep 9, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

This is a pretty solid game. Alot better the the previous two. Could use a better story line, of course all this game is based on is mass genocide of zombies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Dead Rising is Still Dead Rising But Next Gen

posted by CrazyGamer2186 (LUCERNE VALLEY, CA) Aug 31, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

Dead Rising is always the survivor horror series that always value gameplay and technology over story and character. If you wanting a survivor horror story that tells a decent story like Dead Space or a great story like the first four main Resident Evil games then this is not for you, if you want a game that is a great time waster and is fun doing so when it comes to zombie killing then this the game for you.

The story, it centers on another viral outbreak of Zombies but this time it is in Los Perdidos California, a city that is fictional take on various cities in California like Los Angles and the like. Anyway the main character is Nick, who works at a mechanic shop run by Rhonda, his boss. With the outbreak going it is a matter to survive but when it is evident that there is a conspiracy and a nuke like bomb going off to cover it up, Nick along with his boss and a girl name Annie tries to get out alive and stop the conspiracy that involves the ultimate zombie virus that can possibly destroy the US and all of humanity. It is decent to keep the series going but like always it is cliched and terrible acting but it doesn't matter since it is all about killing zombies, have fun doing it.

Gameplay is the typical flair of the series. Funny outfits to collect, various collecting to do, a detailed RPG like system to strengthen the skills of the main character, among with anything in the environment to kill the zombies, list goes on since there is much more to do like driving cars and such. All kinds of Zombies on-screen at once gives a great way of having endless fun besides all the things you can do. Story can last about a few days to a week depending on time you have, everything else and achievements keeps you coming back. Kinect just adds voice commands, it is fine. Graphics is this. It is not in 1080p but is near there. All kinds of Zombies on screen at once is cool and graphics is the best for a launch title on Xbox 1 Besides Ryse. Sound is great.
Overall and

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best launch title by far!

posted by TagNBag187 (JARRELL, TX) Aug 24, 2014

Member since May 2014

Very fun! After awhile it loses its edge and the last mission is kinda annoying but if you dont have anything to play on xbox one untill all the good games come out, DEF give this a shot. Tons of stuff to do and boss fights can actually be a challenge sometimes. At 35 bucks not a bad buy but i recommend renting it cuz it doesnt really have much replay value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

this game get really boring!!!

posted by psychokilla213 (ALBANY, OR) Aug 23, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

it fun for the first day but then it goes downhill from there

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Like GTA with Zombies

posted by Trey351 (SHEPPARD AFB, TX) Aug 22, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

This really does remind me a lot of a GTA game. Open world, stealing cars, tons of different escort missions and fetch quests, quirky humor, etc. The modification element for the weapons and vehicles loses its luster very quick and (like a GTA game) the combat isn't the best and can quickly become stale. Overall, though, the storyline is decent and the game is fairly entertaining.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

the worst game eever

posted by bman893 (WESTPORT, MA) Aug 16, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

Horrible game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

descent game

posted by elektron (CHARLES TOWN, WV) Aug 5, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

If you like wasting your time doing the same thing over and over then his is the game for you. It looks nice, but this game has very little payout when it comes to fun or replay ability.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

muy bueno!!!

posted by daniel35loco Aug 3, 2014

Lo recomiendo!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Build weapon; kill 10 zombies, weapon breaks

posted by krisreed82 (GLEN CARBON, IL) Jul 13, 2014

Member since Sep 2010

Over and over and over again. To me, this is a pretty mindless hack and slash. Maybe as a kid with an entire summer to kill, this would be fun. For someone with limited time with a job, skip this title. Story is the same recycled zombie story we've seen a million times before, movement seems clunky, and you have very little health with unreliable weapons. Absolutely not my cup of tea.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Loved it

posted by juntao3 (SURPRISE, AZ) Jul 6, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

Super fun game. Especially if you like the previous games. Mindless killing and crazy weapons and zombie killing is super fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse