Rent Dead Rising 3 for Xbox One
view large frontback

Dead Rising 3

Rent

Keep for: $29.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $49.99

GF Rating
7.7

1614 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing!!

posted by DonKodyOwnz (RIVERSIDE, CA) Jan 12, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is great there are a lot of stuff to do playing with your friends in the multiplayer makes it even more fun and trying to get all the combinations is great I rented this just to see what would happen and ended up buying it. Great game I recommend this to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Improvement

posted by ldevilhockey (KENILWORTH, NJ) Jan 1, 2014

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have played both previous games. This one is by far the most improved and the most fun. The time aspect of the game is not as restrictive as the previous which gives me more time to just have fun do more side missions or just kill as many zombies as I want without having to do something else. I definitely recommend this game to anyone looking for a zombie game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game, gets stale quick

posted by Friedmak33 (SPRINGFIELD, VA) Jan 15, 2014

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I had an absolute blast playing Dead Rising, for the first 5 hours or so. After that point, you get an idea of what the game is about and you realize you just want to finish the game. Don't get me wrong, I had a great time killing zombies. All the creative ways you kill them with the crazy weapons and vehicles, it's a lot of fun. It definitely gives you an incentive to find more blueprints to make more weapons for more fun. But that's literally the extent of the game. Even when playing with a friend via co-op, the game doesn't change. Kill zombies, find blueprints, kill more zombies, repeat. That's why I say you just hit a point and you're like, I just want to finish this. The later missions in the game get monotonous, forcing you to hike from one end of the map to the other, becoming more of a chore. And you keep thinking the end is almost there and lo and behold, there's another mission. Another thing I've never liked in games is a time limit. Even though the game gives you plenty of time, you feel rushed. Side missions randomly fail because you didn't get to them in time and the game blatantly shows you this by displaying in large red letters "Mission Failed". Just let me run around all day and kill zombies! Why do I need a time limit!

But for all my complaints, for a launch game, I think Xbox One/Capcom did pretty well with this title. Pretty good graphics with some simple fun. All you can ask for from a game day 1. The amount of zombies on screen at one time is pretty insane, and it's a lot of fun running them over with a Rollerhawg. I thought the boss fights were some of the better points in the game. Every one usually takes a bit of strategy to figure out and were some of the more memorable moments. Don't skip out on the Psycho fights that come available later in the game as well.

Overall, just a simple game that is just simply fun. Don't expect more than that. Definitely a Gamefly rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

How could anyone rate this game lower than a 9?

posted by Giantsfanj (PLUMAS LAKE, CA) Dec 5, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

For the guy that wrote the 3 rating is clearly either a gamer than has no clue how to play games or he is some PS4 fanboy. This game and Forza are the must haves for any Xbox One user. The variety of weapons, intensity of game play...especially at night. This game is just plain fun. Imagine GTA with zombies to kill. Putting together items to create super weapons is so much fun. This game is super intense and fun at the same time. This game should be played by anyone that has a Xbox One.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best of the three.

posted by beneko (CHULA VISTA, CA) Dec 20, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I will be trying to counter the negate reviews out there. First, the complaint that there is the two separate buttons for the picking up and use of an item, all you have to remember is that there cannot be a separate button to pick up and use food and then one to pick up all other objects. Then think of the X-button use item and the Y-button as the special use, it will become very easy to remember the buttons. Another trick that is completely necessary is to learn to pick up items as you are running, don’t take the time to make sure it’s in your hand simply watch the boxes, 90% of the time the closest item will magnetically lock into your hands, it may not be the correct item, which is where timing comes in (skill). Second, the bosses are impossible. This is completely true, unless you go in prepared. The problem here is that “they” are not treating this game like any other game where whenever you prepare for boss fights, this is done even in the simplest of games Pokémon so it should not be excluded here. Another thing everyone needs to know is that unlike in other games collectibles (mainly blueprints) are not optional in this game, they give fun toys to play with and give a great edge over the bosses. over all most of the people with low reviews are just complaining of their own sort comings, i completed all side quests given to me, found all collectibles, and completed the story with 2 days left to mess around earning me the rank S ending all on my first try. great game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great GAME!

posted by Lucky715 (SANTA MARIA, CA) Dec 6, 2013

Member since Sep 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This Game Is So much fun you don't want to see it end. I just wish the leveling up didn't cap at 50 but im keeping this game till the Xbox 2 comes out lol.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I love it

posted by Hey2thezeus (DUNKIRK, NY) Nov 26, 2013

Member since Jan 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Zombies zombies and more zombies! Its amazing how many zombies there are and how they all look different which i really appreciate. Ive played zombie games where you see the same 4-5 zombies over and over and it really pulls me out of the experience. I stood up on top of a car surrounded by hundreds of zombies and tried to find 2 zombies that looked the same and i couldn't, i hope more games do this in open world games with a lot of characters.

Ive laughed so many times . The things you can do in this game are ridiculous and graphic at the same time. You can see limbs flying when you hit or blow up a zombie while wearing ridiculous clothes. And whatever your'e wearing shows up in the cutscenes which makes it that more ridiculous when your'e talking about dying while wearing fireman boots with tennis shorts and a blanka mask from street fighter. Its a very fun game and theres nothing else like it out there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Judge this game for yourself

posted by balexanderdx (MCMECHEN, WV) Nov 26, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I had deadrising 3 preordered since May and almost cancelled it a week before launch due to some very judgemental reviews. I'm happy I stuck it out. This game is awesome. Graphically its not anything like Ryse or NBA 2k14 but its still better than Deadrising 2. The storyline is excellent and keeps you wanting more. I think theres about 2 hours of cutscenes. Many weapons to choose from. Zombies are all completely different looking so you dont get tired of killing the same construction worker zombie over and over again. Psycho battles are pretty easy with range weapons but some can offer a lil bit of difficulty.

I played about 2 hours of Co-op and it was pretty flawless. Destroying zombies with someone can only make the experience better.

Smartglass is a must. I used both my IPad and Android phone. It rarely messed up and add a completely different experience that I have never had.

Overall this is a must have for your xbox one. Its an exclusive, has many hours of gameplay (I've logged 21 hours so far and not stopping anytime soon), and I mean who doesn't like slaughtering 100,000 zombies?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great job!!

posted by silverpanda (MANTECA, CA) Dec 3, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

deadrising 3 is one of the best games i have ever played, it is in the top 10. people wont kno until they play, the ending is soo unexpected i loved this game.ending s

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

such a fun game

posted by weedmunchies (WILMINGTON, NC) Nov 25, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game is so much fun, the possibilties and stuff you can do in this game are endless, having a blast with this game. Recomended for everyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Controller + 400 commands not good for slasher

posted by Geekdomo (ROCHESTER, NY) Nov 24, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

4 out of 17 gamers (24%) found this review helpful

The main issues I have with this game are these. When you have a brainless slasher combat game you need simplicity of control. Often I would be fighting and accidentally hit a button that would throw my weapon away. Or when in the midst of combat I needed to eat some food the devs decided that picking up a bag of chips and then eating it should be 2 separate buttons. While from the outside it seems so common sense that it should be easy to remember, in the midst of combat its anything but intuitive and a real chore to remember the keys. Sure with enough muscle memory you might get it but its really difficult in the beginning. Ok so your amazing with muscle memory. Ignore that part of my review if you will. Instead the physics are laughable at best. Several times I would bump into another object to have my car explode and I flip no less than 300 times down the road to stand up unscathed. Once I bumped into a parked tow truck (a side rescue mission to clear out the zombies around this girl) The car became damaged but I kept on clearing out the Zeds. What happened next was hilarious if it wasn't so sad. The car blew up, I flipped 300 times in the air and flew into a building a block away. When I stood up I had killed all of the Zombies around the girl and every car in the area was on its roof. Its not just when the car blows up that the physics are laughable its most things you hit/run into when driving. Overall I was not happy with the gameplay/controls/physics. Also this is an obvious 360 game ported to the One. The graphics are decent at best. I realize its a release title and they didnt write it for the One but it still feels old.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Build weapon; kill 10 zombies, weapon breaks

posted by krisreed82 (GLEN CARBON, IL) Jul 13, 2014

Member since Sep 2010

Over and over and over again. To me, this is a pretty mindless hack and slash. Maybe as a kid with an entire summer to kill, this would be fun. For someone with limited time with a job, skip this title. Story is the same recycled zombie story we've seen a million times before, movement seems clunky, and you have very little health with unreliable weapons. Absolutely not my cup of tea.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Loved it

posted by juntao3 (SURPRISE, AZ) Jul 6, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

Super fun game. Especially if you like the previous games. Mindless killing and crazy weapons and zombie killing is super fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Deadrising 3

posted by julijg (AULT, CO) Jul 4, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

i bought this game and have not received it i tried contancting support and they will not answer my question i called and no help great game but poor shipment

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Only one I've really like'd of the series

posted by joehomie31 (MESA, AZ) Jul 3, 2014

Member since Nov 2012

Usually I rent Dead Rising, play for about an hour or two, get bored and return it.
This time I can actually say they got it right.
The game is very addicting, and I've played hours so far just doing side quests and finding new weapon combos.
This is the only one I've liked of the series.
The story and voice acting kinda suck, but I think its supposed to be that way to coincide with the sarcastic humor.
Either way, great game!
Only took 1 star off because the main character isn't as cool as he could have been. Still hardly affects the game at all! :D
(RECOMMEND)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Dissapointing (in terms of controls)

posted by nomorewordz619 (NEW YORK, NY) Jun 19, 2014

Member since Nov 2012

I think that this is a good game, But I found it so disappointing. I have no problem with the story (which I liked) The characters (which was hit or miss for me) or the boss fights. I have played every Dead Rising game with the exception of Case Zero and of all of the games, this one's my least favourite because after I finished Off the Record I imediatly looked up to see if there was a third game. and I read about it and I was hyped and looking forward to it. To my disappointment it was an xbox one exclusive, I know that these games originated on xbox but I'd still like a port to PC or at least PS4 because of the constant frame rate drops that were nonexistent on it's predecessors. I can live with frame-rate drops if the controls were manageable. Yeah the real reason why I hate this game is is the fact that I found most of the commands tied in with other buttons and this game pulled an MUA PS3 edition of shaky-controller quicktime events that work depending how hard you shake the controller. I know that motion controls are now a norm for most games, BUT NOT WITH THE XBOX CONTROLLER. I probably would have liked this game more if the controllers weren't scarier than the new smarter zombies. it was a real shame considering how much the game offers (especially since you can go Chuck Greene anywhere instead of only in maintenance rooms.) If they ever make a DR4, I hope they get rid of the Gimicky motion controls and make the regular controls simple like in all the other games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

opinins

posted by dapenetrator (SAVANNAH, GA) Jun 6, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

it is preaty good its a mixture of gta and resident evil, its a zombie game your mission is to find your way out and complete missions and side mission there is a good number of zombies I like it cause at times it has more xzombies than you can handle and u can mix weapons and cars to have a more powerful weapon or vehicles and there is 100 diff weapon mixtures and u can wear different clothes, its great, not the best but preaty good and its not a nightmare creepy game....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good Concept, Horrible Controls

posted by MWD83 (OLD FORGE, PA) Jun 5, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

I love zombie games/movies. Grew up on the Resident Evils. This game is nothing like that. Almost no strategy involved. It's fun, in a simplistic kind of way. As others mentioned, crafting creative weapons and vehicles is fun. The missions get monotonous after awhile. You have to keep going back and forth, by yourself, over and over.

The worst part of this game is the controls. Your character moves like he is on ice skates. The combat situations in this game don't work with the controls. Not a fan of having to fight a boss that takes 4,000 rounds to kill. It's pretty much button - mashing and frustration against them. Never been as frustrated during a game as this one. Your life seems to deplete easily and trying to find food to replenish your health during a fight is even more frustrating.

Overall, graphics and scenery are the only reason this gets a 5. XBox1 graphics are pretty sick. The amount of zombies is awesome. But Microsoft should've scaled down the combat a bit, or made the controls more situated for combat. This is the only game I sent back before beating, and I always finish games. It's worth a rental to kill a day or two, but don't waste too much time on it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game

posted by M204 (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) May 27, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Dead Rising 3 is an overall great game, but it lacked in a few areas for me. This is the first time I played the Dead Rising series. The graphics are great and the amount of zombies on screen at once is insane. Game runs great, tons of ways to kill zombies. The game just did not keep my attention. But cant fault the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Waring Is HUGE HEADACHE!

posted by Sinkai (CHARLESTON, WV) May 10, 2014

Member since May 2013

So I spent the better part of 5 hours trying to figure out how co-op worked on this game. Got so mad I went And looked up online how to found out this game has had many people asking the same thing.

Tried every thing to get it fixed nothing worked.

Game play was clunky, Frame Rate was all over the place. The boss Battles where Too predictable.

And the story was dried out.

Over all I give this game a 1/10 It was nothing but a major headache to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

i loved it

posted by gunznbutta (MECHANICSBURG, PA) Apr 28, 2014

Member since Aug 2012

i played the first too of this seris and i had lot of complants wit the saving areas and not as much combination and inventory slots. dr3 is by far the best they fixed every complain and sum. and to go thru the city wit other ppl is real fun i played this game every day jus to finish plus i likr to get all the weapons

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Deadrising 3 a Great rental

posted by cutbank (RALEIGH, NC) Apr 26, 2014

Member since May 2011

I just finished the story mode in a few days, and it was fun. The psycho bosses are hilarious even if they are not conceptually unique or new. The game does not require any high level skills like a Blackops type game. You just make weapons and vehicles and follow the arrows to the next encounter as they come up. Pretty much any weapon you pick up will kill everything out there. I highly recommend renting this. There are $9.99 dlcs you can buy. I suppose if you really get into the game and want to explore those, you could select the keep option. However, the game is fast, so I would expect the dlcs to be the same.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not a zombie fan

posted by shayweezy (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Apr 26, 2014

Member since Mar 2008

The only reason I gave it a 6 is because of personal choice I'm not a zombie fan but if you are you will love this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Why srill so stupid hard.

posted by Mr_VIsta (MYRTLE BEACH, SC) Apr 18, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

This was fun until the first two stage boss at the get go.

Played the first two titles but never got into it because it was so stupid hard. Remember the only achievements you could get on the first ones was to fall over 10 feet and run a mile, which was run in a stairwell not to die.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Hard to start

posted by mrtnkaboom (KIEFER, OK) Apr 13, 2014

Member since May 2013

The game is hard to get into. I hate the fact that every weapon you get only lasts a few zombie kills then your stuck looking for something else to bash skulls in with. Plus the graphics for a new console game wasn't that great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse