Rent Dead Rising 2: Off the Record for PS3
view large frontback

Dead Rising 2: Off the Record

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.4

957 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good game

posted by bombastic99 (ROGERS, AR) Aug 15, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i went in to this game thinking that there was not much added from the dead rising 2 but im glad i was wrong, it added Quite a lot from dead rising 2 a lot to the story as well as a new game mode, but all in all a lot of new content was added but im not sure if its worth buying but definitely worth a rent on here, even if you played dead rising 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun Time

posted by CreepingDeath29 (ORLANDO, FL) Sep 17, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It's a definite improvement from the original Dead Rising 2 with the removal of some tedious things about the game with a new area and new things to play around with, not to mention a different story if Frank West, the original zombie slayer from Dead Rising, was there in fortune City.

Not to mention a new mode, Sandbox mode where you can do whatever you want outside the story mode's limitations while keeping your money and level.

If you're doubtful, watch the playthrough of it done by UberHaxorNova and Sp00nerism on YouTube.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's ok...

posted by jsmooth2010 (TYLER, TX) Aug 19, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Not the best game ever, but it's fun to kill zombies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Same fun , with a few new things

posted by HatedxLegion (ROUND ROCK, TX) May 21, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This new entry into the dead rising universe is a very nice spin on dead rising 2 , in this new game this is a world feturing a returning hero Frank West, story wise its a spin off the second one just with Frank West, combat wise its a spin off of the second one with.... yes Frank west the game adds in some new features such as .... Uranus zone, new bonuses such as pp stickers, new combo cards, and new wepons. A returning feature (thankfully) is the camera!Old fans of the series will be very aquantied with this feature and new ones will enjoying taking pictures of this game in its prime. In all this is a very very fun game with a few new kicks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

thought it would have more

posted by BURZUM (TROY, AL) Apr 1, 2012

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'll keep it short-this game was exactly the same as the original DR2, only you play as a different character. Everything is exactly the same, except you can take pictures of things for extra PP & bonuses.

The addition of Sandbox mode is mildly entertaining, but gets boring after a while. The challenges were fun at first, but got old quick. I thought there would be enough newer content to make it a brand-new experience, but it was just a recycled game in a different package.
I give a 6, because it's still a cool game. Just not enough to stand out from its predecessor.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Defitnly worth a rent! :)

posted by Thedusty (CAMBRIDGE, MN) Mar 13, 2012

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

You can pretty much pick up anything in this game and combine it with something else and make it into a pretty tight weapon, there's no lack of zombies so you can pretty much fill your desire to slay thousands of zombies and the coop is pretty fun if you can find someone to play with. One drawback however is there is a time limit to every quest so your kinda running around like a chicken with its head cut off, but its still doable. Give it a try but i wouldnt but it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

one good zombie killer

posted by El_DucheBagger (SAN PEDRO, CA) Feb 10, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you like impailing zombies with random objects like fireworks, propain tanks covered in nails. And chopping bits off of them with ninja swords, fireaxes, broadswords, light sabers, and more this game is for you. The item combinations are both numerous and unique... the killer steven hawking inspired wheelchair + car battery + assult rifle is my favorite.... listening to the computerized voice of the chair talking trash to Zo.bies as you mow downs dozens with withering assult rifle fire is awesome... the bare handed combat is getting better too ... maybe by the next installment they will make it feel like it wasnt an afterthought thrown in in the last weeks of devolop.ent ... all in all a solid game for zombie killin. Hours of fun and solid online play ...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not Bad

posted by jcirca (MOORHEAD, MN) Jan 28, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is way better than the first, some things gamers should know: You can play sandbox mode, gain money and exp, which you can use in the story mode. Makes everything that much better. Hours of gameplay, depending on all the people you save, and or battle.. Didnt replay, don't see the replay value to high.. Overall, worth playing..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

His name is Frank West.

posted by GreedSama (WESTLAND, MI) Oct 14, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

If you like Dead Rising 2 you will like this game and if you like the first Dead Rising then you will love this game.There have been some changes since Dead Rising 2 the big one is that you can now take pic of everything around due to Frank's camera.Also the co-op in this game is better where you can play the full or do sandbox mission.

Now in co-op you won't be kicked from the Host if they are saving or something. Also Terror is Reality online gameplay is not in the game but you can earn money during the sandbox mission that Frank can use in the story mode.If you enjoy the first two games then rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Ok for a replay

posted by Slyfox43 (EL PASO, TX) Oct 17, 2011

Member since Sep 2008

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

If you played the first Dead Rising 2 then don't expect anything to be different, same gameplay, same items that you use to kill the undead, same storyline just features Frank West. Only new thing in the game is that amusement park.
Fun for replay if you are like me, I sold my copy of Dead Rising 2 after a week of playing it. Thank goodness for gamefly cause this game really does not have much to offer unless you are a fan of killing the undead or a fan of dead rising, really can't compare to Dead Island but I had more fun killing zombies in this game than Dead Island.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

One of those, fun for a while games

posted by CagedNeon (ELK GROVE, CA) Jul 19, 2012

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I stand by what i say. This is.....ok, i hate the fact that its pretty much what dead rising 2 should have been this whole time (not hating on Chuck at all). other than that i really dont have any complaints besides that this whole thing just could have been a digital download pack.....then again, just look at what capcom did to SFxT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

REALLY FUN.......for a little bit of time

posted by infamous4 (TEMECULA, CA) Mar 21, 2012

Member since May 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

its in the title

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

rising

posted by mecorey86 (BILLINGS, MT) Feb 12, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I liked this game...only problem I had is that if your gonna make a game like this it should have more of a realistic feel. These close up kinda graphics with a (Dead Nation) style would really capture my attention.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Same thing as DR2

posted by JFBIII (FAIRFIELD, IA) Oct 28, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Same thing, new missions. Seriously, that's about it. A few extras... should have just been downloadable content. I still give it an 8 because it's a great game and still fun as DR2, especially with a friend online.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Dead Rising 1.5

posted by RageJoin (COLUMBIA, SC) Oct 14, 2011

Member since Jun 2009

6 out of 16 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Game is the same exact plot as dead rising 2, except the main character's role is what would happen if you were in Frank West's shoes. Don't expect any new gamplay, or areas. It's simply a copy of Dead rising 2 with different dialogue.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

dead rising

posted by death_reper123 (DALLAS, TX) Feb 21, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this is a cool game it got dead rising,dead rising 2,and dead rising off the recrodit all about ZOMBIES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THE GAME

posted by vashalistsis (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jan 17, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Its a great game but the only chuck green boss battle even though the chuck is your co up partner but u kill chuck is a psychopath but he is old. But he is young in co up then having to kill him as a co up partner.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this was stupid

posted by tito4pres_gmail (PORTLAND, OR) Nov 29, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

I hate playing games over again. This should have been a free download . Is Capcom getting lazy? Same Game different caracter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

same game different skins

posted by chraven2045 (LUBBOCK, TX) Apr 7, 2014

Member since Jan 2012

basically take the story from the last game and reverse it or something then change the skins, this game blows

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Could have been better.

posted by xChaosDisasterx (SIOUX FALLS, SD) May 12, 2013

Member since May 2013

Dead Rising 2 Off the Record is basically a copy and paste of the original Dead Rising 2 except with a slightly different story and a different main character, otherwise the entire game is exactly the same in every way, the only major difference is the picture taking from the first Dead Rising.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Waste of time

posted by Zebra_warfare23 (SANFORD, FL) Aug 17, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

when they shipped the game to me i couldnt even play it because it was scratched they sent me the same game about 5 times and they were all scratched DO NOT EVEN RENT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Played this for about 30 minutes

posted by donomanx (LAWRENCE, MA) Aug 14, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

The original Dead Rising 2 was kind of a wack game that did very little to build off the first game. Not sure what Capcom was thinking when they released this a year later. After playing this for about half an hour I stopped and put it back in the mail.

If you played Dead Rising 2 then I'm not sure why anyone would punish themselves by playing through this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

WEAK!!!!!

posted by Poppxl (HAMDEN, CT) Dec 17, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

Over all just started slow and visuals are weak.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best dead rising yet

posted by greendude670 (BRISTOL, PA) Dec 13, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

I have played dead rising 2 and the first and all other versions to say capcom a really impressed me with how good the game they have made ive never completed the oringinal for xbox because they made the beginning to difficult you would have. to be level twenty just to get past chapter 2 they have improved the game and i was suprised that they brought camera use back in along with frank. I give dead rising off the record a 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

If you enjoyed DR 2

posted by DudexDiver (SPRING, TX) Dec 7, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

This game is exactly the same as Dead rising 2 ... even the story is very similar. I really liked the first one that's why I like Off the Record too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse