Rent Dead Rising 2: Off the Record for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Dead Rising 2: Off the Record

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.1

1599 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Frank is BACK!

posted by nicksadistic (IRRIGON, OR) Feb 24, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First off, I loved it! Loving the free run of the world and able to beef Frank up and earn cash. I also love the fact all your info can go back and front to free then to story. More weapons, more of everything. I'm goin to buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Dead Rising 2 "Off the record"

posted by camf05 (EL CAJON, CA) Jan 26, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love zombie games so of course i was drawn to the mutilation in Dead Rising 2, i have played the first 2 games also the 2 arcade that they released for dead rising. I think that every game up to this one has been unique in there own ways, the problem i saw with Off The Record was that it seemed to be almost the exact same game as dead rising 2 but just with a new main character and a few tweaks. Really liked the idea just felt as if i have already played this game and i just got it today.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

deadrising 2 off the reacord

posted by riverpuppy80 (CORTLAND, NY) Mar 19, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

it a good game fun to play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Its okay!

posted by Stacieplars4116 (DAYTON, OH) Oct 15, 2011

Member since May 2011

14 out of 17 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

This game is alright in the fact that its mostly a remake of dead rising 2 only with frank. Now not to say its bad or anything it just feels just the same. Now there are new things like new weapons to be found and new weapons to be made, theres even new locations like a thrill place with rides and all sorts of things. I would give this game a rent AT LEAST! don't be turn off by what others say. Now if you have played Dead rising 2 then i would just rent this its kinda the same game with now just Frank and new things and missions and a different story as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excelent

posted by killian265 (BLOWING ROCK, NC) Oct 26, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

alot of peapole might think that it is the same as dead rising 2 but its not. it starts out about the same yes but when you start plaing it is just great fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Almost exactly the same as Dead Rising 2.

posted by RachelBennettIs (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Feb 5, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This is basically the same game as the Dead Rising 2 with Chuck Greene. All they did was edit out Chuck and put in Frank West, it has the same cutscenes the majority of the time, the same psychopaths, the same survivors, etc. There is a new place, however, Uranus Zone, which comes with a couple new psychopaths and survivors.

In the end, if you've played it's predecessor, Dead Rising 2, then I recommend NOT buying this game. It's too much of the same. However, if you've not played it, then I do recommend buying this game. I know that's a bit backwards, but it's all in good intentions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Dead Rising 2: Off the record

posted by tymiq (LA MESA, CA) Nov 14, 2011

Member since May 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

DR2: Off The Record, is a nice improvement over its predacesor that any true Dead Rising fan won't be disaponted with.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Small improvements but, doesn't hold up this f

posted by Overnuke (LACEY, WA) Nov 6, 2011

Member since Aug 2005

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The Dead Rising is a great series, but Off The Record feels like copy and paste from the regular dead rising 2 game, the story is the same for the most part but, Frank replaces Chuck. There is some neat plot twists from the original story. The map is exactly the same except there is the added theme park area. There is new combo weapons and more missions in story but the game is just a polished Dead rising 2. There is a sandbox mode which is nice. I do recomed renting this game to play, but save your money for better games this fall.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Alright

posted by Armond (PANAMA CITY BEACH, FL) Oct 19, 2011

Member since May 2010

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

So if you have played the first Dead Rising 2 then you are not going to miss much. Sure they have added a sandbox mode which is cool and a extra 20 minutes to the end of the game but once its all said and done it still feels like the same game. At least rent it for the cool sandbox mode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awsomen game...DC

posted by dcsisson (TORRANCE, CA) Oct 23, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

best dead rising game yet, love all the different items you can make and different ways to F up zombies. honestly i love this game. must get

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

THE GAME SUCKS

posted by EPIC_GaMMeR (LAS VEGAS, NV) Oct 30, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 18 gamers (6%) found this review helpful

DEADRISING 2 WUS THE SAME AS THE OTHER DEAD RISING 2 EXEPT A DIFFERNT PERSON FTW

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HORRIBLE!!!!! DO NOT RENT!!!!!

posted by idestroyzombies (PANAMA CITY, FL) Oct 14, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 41 gamers (5%) found this review helpful

Game repetitiveness is ridiculous. The saving your game concept and timed missions are completely stupid. If you want to progress in this game, you have to save every 10 seconds. 90% of the game is CAPCOM's dumb cut scenes. Not to mention the repetitive characters and story line you see from every CAPCOM game there is out there. DO NOT RENT DO NOT RENT! I love zombie killing and it was amazing how many zombies they could fit in one setting, but the game just got dumb.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

kinda dumb...

posted by joshbball23 (SARASOTA, FL) May 9, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

just the fact that there is literally zombies everway...and there kinda hard to kill...takes alot of hits....and i dont even kno if theres guns...atleast not as far as i got...

Not satisfied at all....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Better then the first

posted by Rag5 (WILLIAMSPORT, PA) Nov 12, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

A lot funner then the first game. Game starts out great and the ending to this got me a little mad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good, but a bit too similar to Dead Rising 2

posted by Milhouse (SAN TAN VALLEY, AZ) Jun 30, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

I haven't played Dead Rising 2 ever since I traded it in last year and I've recently been in the zombie-killing mood so I decided to pick this up and give it a go. My first impression was it was exactly like the DR2 but with Frank West as the protagonist, which was a cool little addition to the game. That and the new little theme park area to explore called "Uranus Zone". You could tell that Capcom really just wanted to have fun with this one. The story had a nice twist towards the end to make it unique but other than that it felt the same as DR2. So after I beat the story there wasn't much to do that I hadn't already done before, just kill zombies. Sure sandbox mode was fun but I really wish they kept out psychopaths or at least made them optional. Anyway, the main problem with the game is it felt too much like the first one which really made it bland after awhile. There are a few bugs but by now I've gotten used to them since every game has them. So if you like the Dead Rising series or haven't played it in awhile definitely try it out but don't expect it to be an amazing game of the year contender or anything. If you're not a fan of the series then this game probably won't change your mind about that, just make sure to have fun with it. Game on!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

the game disc doesn't work

posted by sbtheoneshannon (DENVER, CO) Jun 29, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

my son could not get it to play thru... it was badly scratched and we tried our best to clean it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dont waste your time.

posted by gmosh (CORAL SPRINGS, FL) Jun 25, 2012

Member since May 2012

Only rent this game if you havent played dead rising 2. cuz is nearly exactly the same thing with just some minor differences.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Dead rising 2

posted by Brosove (FLORENCE, OR) May 22, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

This game is fun but if you screw up at all you have to start all over. The psychopaths are too overpowered by using guns against you when you have a bat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Dead Rising 2: Off the Record

posted by grilld_cheez002 (WINCHESTER, VA) May 5, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

I thought this Dead Rising was going to be lame because of it being a "What If" story line, but it was actually very fun and having the alternate story was very cool. It was a very easy 1000gs aswell :D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good game

posted by Teskad (ASHBURN, VA) Apr 7, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

The first one was better but this is a good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

zombies

posted by 18073 (SPENCER, TN) Apr 1, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

every thing is amazing if u like murdering zom bags

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It was fine

posted by Xman245 (LORTON, VA) Mar 1, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

Good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Carbon Copy

posted by DIRuler (EL SEGUNDO, CA) Feb 6, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

I was pretty excited to play Off the Record but when I finally got it I was pretty disappointed. The game is entertaining but they could have at least created a new angle on the storyline. Sure keep it relatively the same but don't just change the character and try to sell us on the fact that we are playing a different game. Anyway rent this one but don't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

deadrising2 off the record

posted by barneyjr (JUNCTION, TX) Dec 26, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

dead rising 2 off the record is a VERY GREAT GAME it is the next step for frank!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

i sent this back almost two weeks ago and it still

posted by dannyray420000 (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Nov 18, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

says that i have it im getting burned reply asap

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse