Rent Dead Island for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Dead Island

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.3

16688 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Zombie Apocalypse Gem

posted by JawKnee (LOS ANGELES, CA) Nov 15, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

Definitely should have bought this a while ago. Minus the glitches in the game, it is a lot of fun. Playing with randoms can be a challenge, but playing with friends bumps up this score a lot. Buying this game to keep most likely.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Nice and good zombie game

posted by pokehollow (LUTHERVILLE TIMONIUM, MD) Nov 8, 2013

Member since May 2011

Dead island was a great zombie game and very unlike any other zombies game i played before it has a good story great gameplay even though i found myself using bladed weapons the entire game but still a very nice game very open maps and there are several very good maps i recommend this to anyone who likes zombies games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The Blood is in the details

posted by N2388 (PHOENIX, AZ) Jun 25, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

The best looking in game blood I've ever seen! However with constantly frustrating and clunky game mechanics and an obvious disregard for any connecting storyline from one cut scene to the next, left me in disarray. This game could have been a great blockbuster zombie shooter / MMO. Great environmental detail kept me immersed just long enough to get yanked out again by tunnel vision, getting needlessly stuck on some random object and the fact that zombies kept auto spawning right next to my character where I had just looked to make sure it was clear. I couldn't even finish this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun but gets Repetitive

posted by lonewolf1991 (WINDER, GA) May 14, 2013

Member since Mar 2012

This game was actually a lot more fun than I thought it would be. I have never been a fan of first person or "Zombie" games (Not even resident evil I haven't liked one of those since #3) This game has some cool characters and a great story, and some terrifying "Zombies" especially the screamers they run at you, but have this horrifying scream before they run, and if you can't see them it will scare you. The only downside to this game is the constant running back and fourth. They give you areas to fix your weapons in between the 2 areas, but the constant run here get this then go here and get that, and then run back here and give it to me. Now then take all these and use them here in an area you can't get to yet, also when it comes to someone making a Molotov cocktail for you they use 5 or 3 bottles to make you one Molotov why is this game wasting my bottles? All in all I suggest trying this game out. I know when I get the money I will probably buy it since I haven't finished it yet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I really wanted to like it but...

posted by almightytaco24 (HOUSTON, TX) Apr 30, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

I rented this game because of the amazing trailer they released in rewind, and because I had heard it was a really good zombie game. As the title suggests, I really wanted to like it but it fell short for me. I found the game very confusing in the way quests are handled, and when switching from playing with people online, to single player. I spent about 20 minutes trying to get flares from shipwrecks for a quest with people who were apparently in my game, then they left and I got switched to a single player game and spawned in a different place with no flares at all, and I found myself in situations like this often. I didn't very much care for the combat system at all. It felt...dead to me. I didn't understand much of the story line, and all around it just fell short for me. It's not a bad game, at all. But it didn't blow me away either. I played it for one day giving it an honest chance, but Dead Island is back in my mailbox ready to ship back out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

a matter of expectations...

posted by jk013x (WHITNEY POINT, NY) Apr 29, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

if you play this expecting a first person shooter you'll be disappointed. this game, at least at first, is first person survival horror. and it's much more fun when played co-op. let's face it; the zombie apocalypse is always more fun when someone is watching your back. i'll amend my review as i progress through the game further, but so far i love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Job

posted by G0DS360 (DINGMANS FERRY, PA) Apr 11, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

Never ever wanted to play this game was really thinking it was an knockoff to left 4 dead wow boy was i wrong this game will keep you locked for hours plays like an shooter was very shocked only problem i really had was finding other players to join hands down a great game that everyone should try

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

dead island

posted by haveit_13 (MEDFORD, OR) Apr 9, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

asked four days ago you still havent sent it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

slow paced, and just plan terrible

posted by CannibuhL (BRONX, NY) Apr 7, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

i am a huge fan of zombies and rpgs and sort of open world games but this was the slowest paced game i have played, on top of that u almost never touch a gun as far as i have gotten into the game. i would not buy this, or rent it.....plain terrible you want a good zombie game thats funny and have action rent dead rising 2, old but far better gameplay in my opinion

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very good

posted by gingerchewbacca (SAINT PETERS, MO) Apr 7, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

Great game for a story based game or even for just sitting down and playing it cause the combat is always fun yet yields challenges. The game reminds me of Borderlands because the co-op its easy to find games and it will notify you if you are close to someone on the map and in the campaign/ level progression so you can play solo or with other people. I can't wait to get my hands on Riptide because of this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by bjg123 (RICHWOOD, OH) Apr 1, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

THIS GAME IS ONE OF THE BEST ZOMBIE GAMES MADE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Im sorry but really?

posted by CryonicJROK (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Mar 14, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

I love zombie games to death but this one I don't know I know I might have been late playing it but wow. The idea felt old I also may not have given the game a chance but wow just try it your self. lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not playable offline

posted by apollo81 (NAPOLEONVILLE, LA) Mar 8, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

I am a huge fan of zombie games thanks to the classic Resident Evil and I thought this would be awesome to play til I put the game in and told me I was not connected. I think all games should be playable on and offline because not everyone likes to play online.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great Graphics, mods, and glitches..OH my!

posted by Catgir (CARTHAGE, MS) Mar 8, 2013

Member since Jul 2012

Well I got recommend this game by a friend I know on skype. I was trying to avoid this game really, but my friend wanted me to play it. I got it off amazon and started it up.
This game starts out in a beach resort Banoi. When zombies attack. You play as one of the 4 players. Each of the players have different abilities like assasin, tank, jack of all trades, or the leader. As the game goes on you go to different places, like the city and jungle. Well for the first part of the game I found it a bit fun, but hated the fact that I had to get more than 1 weapon cause before you get to mod anything you don't get much use out of them. The map for more than one player gets a bit weird. Sometimes the map will show players different directions entirely than the other, this game definitely needs more than 1 player. Fact is they have a system where you can find random players near you that are playing to help out in the chapter you are on or further. Now this game has it fare share of glitches too. I have had the weirdest glitches in this game ever and took me and my friend over an hour to get back to a certain normal this game has. Quests in this game can get very VERY annoying if you don't get the people doing three at once. Especially in the city area there are alot of run around quests and quests that take you back and forth from one end of the map to the other. If you have more than one quest, definitely do them all and then turn them in. I would like to point out they have great graphics! Yes I felt I was there. really life like. The breeze in the game seems to go forever (not kidding there). I often wondered why it always looked stormy through the game though. I guess Zombies like it gloomy or something. Another awesome thing is weapon mods! I love the fact you can mod weapons and make them have elements. There is a few overpowering items in the game you can make as well.
overall it isn't a horrid game, but better with more than 1 player IMO.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

wow this game is sexist!

posted by catgirlgames (WESTMINSTER, CO) Feb 26, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

Ok…. So you start out riding in the head of a total sexist guy the opening is the playing getting drunk and pissing off women in skimpy clothing. Some pretty thick sexism.

I'm really sick of playing sexist guys that I'd rather kill than get through a video game world.

I mean the drunk effect is cool and all. I'm all for drug effects.

Oh… I can play as 1 of 4 characters.

So far nice fps controls and play.

Opening mission was ok…

Ok…. So where is the weapon?
Way to not make it obvious…. That's a great change of pace from highlighting everything and telling me where to go….. Ugh.

Smashing zombies with a paddle was fun. Though the story seems to be all sorts of annoying…. Also…. I hope I'm not the person from the hotel who's supposedly immune…. Or whatever. Because they have two female character choices. And they were referring to the guy from the hotel. Which sounds like me if it made sense to use male pronouns to refer to my female character.

So now I'm not sure that they even took the time to make the dialog work for both genders… figuring the guys playing would prefer male pronouns even if they're playing a female character. 'cause girl gamers don't really exist….?

This game's sexism and linear game-play may just ruin it for me. I guess boys really need sexism and linear game progression…. I'm about done with this game…

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Entertating but vast

posted by jaguar7676 (TITUSVILLE, FL) Feb 26, 2013

Member since Nov 2004

I played the solo campaign and with so many missions and hardly any real boss challenges...(my preferred weapon was kicking) I got easily bored. It seemed to offer no challenge other than going from point a to b. Weapons wore out but workbenches at least saved u. The mods were a nice bonus. This is a great game to waste time but don't expect a challenge.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Poor Game

posted by HeatAttack (SMYRNA, TN) Feb 18, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

This game would have been a lot of fun if it was not so heavily melee focused. Fighting hordes of zombies that can interrupt your attacks with limited stamina and weapons that often take 3+ hits to kill a zombie is simply not fun. This is even a problem with exceptional weapons at the proper level fully upgraded and modded. Not to mention that trying to fight multiple enemies that move around a lot, very close to you, is very frustrating in first person. First person in a melee game is never a good thing, an option to play in third person would have been nice.

Personally I would have been fine with removing 95% of the melee items and replacing them with Firearms/Bombs/etc. As well as more ways to loot ammo. It would have personally made for a much better game.

The looting is fun at first but after awhile, around the time you reach the second zone, you realize that 99% of the weapon drops are useless, and 95% of the misc stuff is stock piling in your inventory with no real use. It does give a little excitement when a good weapon finally does drop, or a crafting reagent you've been looking for is looted. However they are quickly crafted into a useful item and used up very fast with nothing being looted to replace it.

I also found it frustrating when an area I had cleared of zombies suddenly became full again. It is very tiresome to use up all of your good items you've been collecting and hording to clear out a section of the city only to have it completely full again in 5 minutes. I realize that zombies would eventually wonder back into an area so it can never really be cleared, but a full fledged respawn of all zombies in that zone is not a valid solution imo.

Glad I rented this and did not purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Second Attempt....I was wrong the first time

posted by RogueWRX (LONE TREE, CO) Jan 18, 2013

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented this game when it first came out, and I completely hated it my first go around. But, my friend just picked it up for me for $10, so I figured I would give it the benefit of the doubt and give it another shot, and I have to admit, I am glad that I did, because now I am loving it.
I will warn you right off the bat, if you are looking or a Left 4 Dead type experience, this game is not for you. That is the problem I had when I first tried it, but going in not expecting that amount of action, it is a lot like Dead Rising meets Fallout.

The Good:
- The visuals are absolutely amazing
- Taking on zombies with a massive arsenal of customizable weapons is just a lot of fun
- Beautifully crafted open world gives you the freedom to do pretty much whatever you want
- Using a bit of strategy to take on multiple zombies (since weapons wear down) makes things interesting
- Online multiplayer lets strangers drop into your game where you are in the story and vice versa

The Meh:
- Driving is a bit awkward
- Weapons wear down and need repairing quite often, not bad, just takes getting used to

The Bad:
- The only thing I don't really like is if you are playing with someone online, and back out, it will set you back a little bit

Long Story Short:
Don't expect constant action like you get in other zombie games, this is a different take on the zombie apocalypse. Like I said, think Dead Rising meets Fallout, and that is more like what you should expect. If at first you don't like it, as I didn't, make a point to give yourself some extra time, you might end up loving it like I do.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Better with your friends

posted by DragonDan2453 (CHANNAHON, IL) Jan 16, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

This is a game that is better with more people. Playing by yourself can both boring and frustrating. I like the idea of creating weapons and modding them. But I wish the game did a better job and made it better. This game isn't polished, it has a lot of glitches, and I mean a lot. Sometimes I will hear a enemy yelling the same word continuely, and never stop. And sometimes I can't even walk through a doorway for some weird reason. The way the zombies move is very realistic, no other game has as realistic zombies as Dead Island does. Modding weapons can be fun, but I wish finding the supplies and the way your inventory is kept was better. You can only hold about 14 weapons/stuff, though you can upgrade your inventory limit to about 20 I think, but still even though that is not enough. You can have a character hold your supplies and weapons, like a storage locker, but the problem is that she doesn't follow you around, so it you find a weapon bench, if you need something from your storage, and the character holding your stuff isn't around, your out of luck. The whole modding weapon ability is nice, but the way the game does inventory and storage of supplies is very sloppy and annoying. The story is uninteresting. Sure the game has a few cutscenes here and there, but the game plays them is a very boring manner, and barley shows any suspense or excitment in them. Most of them are skipable. This game allows 4 player co-op. Playing with your friends is a blast. The only downside to this is that when a player goes down, you have to use a med pack to revive them, which is kind of stupid because most of the time you will need them for yourself because of how scarce they are. You should be able to revive a friend for free without penalty. This game does have replay value, but it's only slightly moderate.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Surprisingly Immersive!

posted by twohawks964 (SOUTH OTSELIC, NY) Jan 3, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Zombie games? Never been a fan. Dead Island changed my mind, and that's no small feat. This game is, as my title insinuates, surprisingly immersive, drawing the player into not only the environment but the emotion of the situation. One of the greatest strengths of Dead Island is the people they got to do the voice-over work for the game. You can hear the "infected" coming from a long way off, and I found myself at times frantically trying to pinpoint their approach before getting waylaid! This creates a ton of excitement, and really adds to the tension. I loved the fact that almost everything in the environment is interactive, and there are a ton of side missions to keep you playing for days. Can't wait to check out Dead Island 2!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This Game Sucks

posted by Samr6202 (WEST HARTFORD, CT) Dec 30, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

This Game Sucks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

crazy adjectives

posted by sdflaco (MONTCLAIR, NJ) Dec 29, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Im a really big fan of The walking dead and this game in some ways felt like how the walking dead looked i greatly recommend this game. The only reason i didnt give it a 10 is because at some points it gets a little glitchy but still one of my fav games of all times so enjoy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

My review of Dead Island

posted by desolate23 (LAWTON, OK) Dec 26, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

Dead Island is another zombie survival and it doesn't stray from that at any point. The game isn't bad but it's not actually worth 40, 50, 60$. At most times I felt lost with the wilderness and the landscape and I normally got confused on where I wanted to go. Also the charecters you meet are boring and sort of have no actuall purpose. Hopefully the newer one Dead Island Riptide heals and tries to bring more life into the game and be less confusing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

do not know how to use wepon

posted by russ0101 (MABLETON, GA) Dec 21, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

do not know how to use wepon I can only kick

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ok

posted by zacharythompson (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Dec 18, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

This game is worth renting, but not buying. Dead island is more like an arcade game format to me. A lot of stuff is limited such as guns. This game is basically a melee game but you can use guns once you get to a certain level.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse