Rent Dead Island Riptide for PS3
view large frontback

Dead Island Riptide

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.8

1139 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
4

Weak

More of the same...only worse.

posted by Existence (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Jun 10, 2013

Member since Jul 2011

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I thought the original Dead Island was fairly average: It had some problems but it was decent enough to the point where I felt like the designers were at least trying.

Riptide on the other hand, is the complete opposite.

It's more or less a game that vibrates of "glorified add-on" rather than a true sequel; almost every aspect of this game feels like a perfect transplant of the original DI.

The story is: You're on an island (again) and trying to escape it (again) with the military being involved (again) with the same 4 characters (+1 new guy). The story feels even less involved; there is virtually no back-story (due to it being nearly identical of the first), and I felt like I was even going through the same areas as the first (although Riptide is smaller in comparison).

Combat feels worse somehow despite being copied almost exactly. There are some technical issues: I found rendering problems that made some zombies look like they appear out of thin air; jumping is problematic because the player generally slides off of objects (and you're forced to do some platforming); and much of the same connection problems in MP as the first.

There are a lot of cheap deaths, so be prepared for that. Some zombies throw knives at you which is generally insta-death; medkits still take too long to work; zombies are still fairly aggressive and even regulars can kill you in 3 hits on occasion. There is constant respawning as well, so be prepared to fight a lot of zombies.

Other than that, some other atrocious additives are how they re-use subsections of areas over and over (i.e. most building interiors look exactly the same), and the game is probably about 5-10 hours shorter than the original. To give you an estimate: if you're just going through the story, it can actually be done in 4 or so hours in co-op.

If you enjoyed the first, well, you'll probably feel right at home here, but don't be expecting any kind of modifications or improvements whatsoever from this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Unstable

posted by boredatwrk (SACRAMENTO, CA) Jun 9, 2013

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game can be fun, but it's game engine is just too unstable on ps3.
Be prepared for hard freezing every 2-3 hours. Not only that, but you will be constantly dropped from their servers. It was seriously once or twice an hour, an entire game reboot needed to see others locally. The eventual predictability of this happening just becomes infuriating.

The content is also very lackluster compared to the original. The entire experience just feels like so-so dlc. I do like this series more than most, and would have originally been ok with putting 40 hours or so into it, but it's a mess.. I just can't recommend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun for fun's sake

posted by Papes (BENTON, AR) Apr 26, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

14 out of 18 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

The problems are the same as the original, but then, the original (in its seriousness) was a joking, fun game. The combat is a bit tedious, sure, and the missions, a bit annoying/far-fetched, but this is not meant to be Resident Evil or Left 4 Dead, or any serious zombie game. It's more like an extended Call of Duty zombies, with a different, expanded combat system/focus. The point of DI is the same as CoD zombies: to have fun, mostly with friends. Multiplayer isn't a separate game or any easier, because the fun of DI is just zombie-bashing. It's somewhat similar (in my own mind at least) to the movie Zombieland, with a loose story and just a fun destructive feel. Its a game to laugh and make fun of while enjoying it with friends, so it isn't self-aware like the gamespot review points out, because the game making fun of itself would take our fun out as players. So yes, a 3 or so in CoD or Halo terms, with a poor story and tedious details, but a 8 or 9 if rated by its purpose of zombie-bashing and a community game.

A game for that zombie-bashing mood we all get on occasion, not one meant to be enjoyed for its story, or played straight through in one sitting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

very cool!

posted by snowfam (SEELEY LAKE, MT) Apr 27, 2013

Member since Jun 2011

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Very cool game! i cant find anything yet about this game that i dont like . good gameplay, awsome graphics, cool weapons. thanks for another sweet game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

pure zombie carnage fun

posted by Heavymetal13 (FRESNO, CA) May 2, 2013

Member since May 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game is awesome but has most of the kinks that the original dead island and traveling around the ares to do side quests can get a bit annoying but on the bright side you still get to hack up some zombie butt with friends or by yourself a definite buy for gamers who like to zombies zombies and more zombies

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I like it

posted by mars188 (BRISTOW, OK) Apr 24, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2003

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

Did you play the original Dead Island? Did you enjoy the game despite it's flaws? I sure did and if you did also, then get ready for more bloody, head chopping, arm amputating action. This is simply more of the same for better or for worse. A lot of the same issues from last game are still apparent but the gameplay and setting are just too enjoyable to dismiss. For fans of the original, this is a guaranteed "Like"...For everyone else, Give it a rent thank you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Meh

posted by jamezbond12 (WAUKESHA, WI) Apr 30, 2013

Member since Mar 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

It had its ups and downs, but there are too many bugs and problems that make the game full of rage at times. it feels like it wants to be a brand new dead island but its not. honestly it should be a dlc but the map is too big to be that, honestly not worth buying i would rent if you played the first one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GREAT GAME

posted by CZR33 (CHINO, CA) Apr 28, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

It's not the best zombie game i've ever played but its just as good as the first one. It's stuff added in the second one that makes it better than the first one but Riptide is zombie smashing great fun. I loved it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME

posted by alexisBeyond (HIALEAH, FL) Apr 25, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

+ Continues the Story
+ Great visuals
+ Fun "Level Up" system
+ Great Weapon customization
+ Awesome environment

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worse than the first

posted by 07civsi (BUFFALO, NY) May 30, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

like the first game
multiplayer freeze
glitchy

unlike the first game
incredibley hard you need multiplayer or you will die
search and find on missions instead of the trail leading to the quest item
you start half way through the leveling system (lvl) (25 or 30)
bad voice overs
zombies respawn too much and swarm like a mfer

I honestly thought it would be better like the first game waste of money i had it preordered from gs and regret it should've went with gf

worth a rent not to own

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The way a zombie game should be!!

posted by BlaketheReaper (GATE CITY, VA) Apr 26, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Right from the start I loved this game even more than the first, this has to be the best zombie game in a long while another cool thing is you can play with up to 3 of your friends and it supports a group of you and three others on-line which is my favorite part, if you haven't played the first one I'll tell you a little about it you pick a character and do missions that help you get off the island you level up and earn money through out the game, the higher level the better weapons you can use and upgrade, I gave this game a 8.5/10 it's well worth putting in your Q.

Controls-Easy to pick up on.

Graphics-Good but not great.

Sound-Great

World-Awesome.

Gameplay-Fun, Fun and FUN.

On-line- Amazing.

Story-Pretty much same as the first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Step up from the first

posted by hethunder (CLIO, MI) Apr 26, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I havent gotten very far in the game but the graphics look a lot better than #1. so far i ahvent notice any glitches or flaws. As long as there is no issues like with the first one I dont care nearly as much. I like that you can import your character from the 1st and pick up where you left off level and skill wise. It seems like the mechanics for co-op play and joining a new game is a lot better than the first one. With the 1st game i would have to attempt to join a game 2 or 3 times, or recieve multiple invite. This one I have been able to join first try. They ahve added a couple new special zombies it looks like. And you dont have to wait long to get some cool weapons. I am very very please with this game right off the bat. I was with the first, but but all those issues and not being able to play for about 2 months, was a killer. Definitely check this out if you played and/or liked the first game. Let the Zombie Bashing Begin!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I love it

posted by fleagle7 (BOLINGBROOK, IL) Apr 24, 2013

Member since Oct 2009

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

I should probably start by saying that I am a hugeeee fan of the first Dead Island. I've got a buddy that has put in over 100 hours with me on the first one so, needless to say, we were both psyched for Riptide. Yes, it has all the god awful voice acting, cutscenes, and is glitchy as all helll, but its just so fun. There isn't much different either but, if you're a fan and can accept all it's flaws as something that give it character and can sometimes lead to some of the funniest things, it can be thought of as a great game. Think of it as a joke and as something that is just good old fashioned fun, nt some blockbuster with an amazing story and characters that make you feel for them, and you will have fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Dead Island: RIPOFF

posted by StarRaven (WELLINGTON, FL) Apr 25, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

6 out of 14 gamers (43%) found this review helpful


Terrible game.

From the second the game started, I knew I was in for a disappointment. Admittedly, I wasn't a big fan of the first game, although, I would have at least finished that one had the game not been broken.

This doesn't feel any better though. If you're smart, you know that, if anything, this is an expansion, rather than a fullfledged sequel. If you (or the developers) think that this is a sequel... that's a joke. So, don't expect any many changes from the first game.
Voice acting is atrocious. Graphics are insulting. Gameplay is sluggish and bland. Truthfully, I don't think I have anything positive to say, other than that if you liked and or made it through the first one, then for sure, check this out, otherwise, don't believe the hype. This is a terrible, cheap game. I feel bad for anyone who paid full price for this or anyone unfortunate enough by that ridiculous Collector's Edition (I guess any quality game can get a CE nowadays)

This is maybe on level with a mediocre PSN game at best. That's how cheap it feels.
Seriously, I know you've got something else to do with your time then waste it on this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

HORRIBLE.......

posted by CorvetteFury (APOLLO, PA) Apr 23, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

6 out of 14 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

definitely rent before making a purchase decision. this game has too many issues and flaws. the graphics are ok, the driving mechanics are stiff, the gameplay is extremely repetitive with hordes of zombies constantly respawning and taking too many hits to kill as no matter how much you level up zombies consistently stay the same damage wise and your stamina runs out constantly leaving you defenseless unless you have a gun and even with the stamina perk you have maybe two extra strikes. besides personal dislike regarding those issues it has frame rate problems where certain attacks and certain zombie movements cause the screen to freeze momentarily which isn't a problem with my system as i had read about the same issue in a professional review. and during a mission where i was to retrieve a boat which was the only boat in the area i came across an item on a rock and retrieved it then jumped back to the boat and glitched off the boat into the water and since you can't swim and just instantly drown my boat was stuck in deep water when i was revived... which made the boat inaccessible and reloading my game made no difference the boat was still stuck in deep water and there is no other in that area. that being said this game has been made with too many neglections and carelessness. only fun you'll have with this game is mindlessly hitting zombies in co-op which will not last due to the irritations of the issues. my rating 3/10 my recommendation try it as a rental and see how you feel about the game. everyone has their likes and dislikes this game just has too many dislikes for me and there isn't much of a story to it just go here and go there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

An Unfortunate Disappointment.

posted by Sentoul (CLAREMORE, OK) Apr 25, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

There was a lot of potential for the original Dead Island, and I feel that the majority of it was met provided that it was a new and unique title but the potential for Dead Island: Riptide was not as easily reached.

The primary problem that I encountered was as I played DI: Riptide I felt as though I was just playing the original title, as so little seemed to have changed between the two that it felt as though it was an expansion rather than a sequel. The same setting, the same characters (with one added that honestly did not look very appealing to me,) the exact same weapons and weapon mods, the same basic skill setup, etc. They seemed to be afraid of committing too much in the direction of trying new things out of fear of breaking the original formula.

My rating is going to be a 4, and my reason is that the original Dead Island I would give an 8. I can't sit here and say bad things about the original game's content but at the same time I would've hoped for something a little more innovative in the sequel, so my 4 covers the half they took from Dead Island, missing the other 6 points in the absence of any really outstanding "new" material.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game sucks

posted by Dayleeo (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Jun 12, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is bad, really bad. Fighting zombies with your fist just swinging like crazy missing everytime, bad graphics, bad story, bad game play, not worth the 2-4 days you will wait to reveieve this game. You will just send it right back and wait another 2-4 days.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Don't listen to the Trolls

posted by zzetagundam (HOUSTON, TX) Apr 27, 2013

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game was an amazingly fun experience, and very addictive gameplay, I admit it had tons of issues but it shouldn't defer you from it. A lot of weak minded people like to bash the game because they suck at surviving and can't seem to understand that they are fighting zombies and not people so the rules don't apply here and they go charging head on into a horde and gets kill. If you like Borderlands then I recommend this game as it is simular to that game but with zombies and a lot of melee weapons instead of guns although guns do make an appearance

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

CARBON COPY OF THE FIRST ONLY WORSE

posted by scudforce1 (CENTERVILLE, MA) Apr 24, 2013

Member since Jan 2009

3 out of 11 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

Horrible SLOW TEETH PLULLING beginning, horrible game play, the vioce overs are exactly like the first game so it feels like your still playing the first one. The weapons are the same as the first game, the driving still sucks the only differeance that is could see is more charachters to play as. the graphics are high end PS2 sometimes the characters mouthes move some times they dont. your back on an Island SHOCKER there why not Japan or Austrailia. any way dont waist your money definitly rent this game save your money to buy a PS4 or 720 which ever you prefere.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Rental only

posted by kreyes19 (NEW YORK, NY) Apr 27, 2013

Member since Oct 2010

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

Rental only

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Zombeism & Captailism into a repetitive title

posted by Chessfu (PORTAGE, IN) Apr 27, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2005

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I played the first installment and I was hoping changes would have been made in second. After you bash, slice, stomp and behead your first. Oh, 5 dozens INFECTED if gets old fast. Unlike WALKING DEAD where it's about SURVIVAL. This title isn't about LOOTING the DEAD. In order to sell the stuff back to the people your are trying to save.

I save why bother. Just turn the people your are trying to save into Zombies and take their stuff.

Below. I have listed, THE GOOD, THE BAD and the UGLY. My rating is not built upon, on line play, graphics or story line. Just game play, enjoy.

THE GOOD: You get to bash, dismember, stomp, chop and club INFECT WALKERS. Controls are easy to figure out. Looted areas re spawn loot when you leave area.

THE BAD: 1st person game, no access to firearms, defeat INFECTED including BOSSES re spawn when you leave area, spend too much time repairing weapons, AI SURVIVORS get killed easy in SURVIVOR camps without your help, NO ACCESS to lock picking skills, UNLESS you beat game the 1st time. Not enough fast track areas near the place you have to travel or clear. Can't fast track while holding QUEST ITEMS.

THE UGLY: It makes no sense how easy it easy to die in this game. Even with a chainsaw some of the BOSSES won't go down easy. In what ZOMBIE MOVIE has a INFECTED not been quickly done in by a chainsaw?

After a while it gets boring. A PUMP SHOT GUN early would have made it as least MESSY. Ok rental, nothing to write home about.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst game in years!!

posted by rekamyalp4321 (HIGHLANDS RANCH, CO) Apr 26, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I was a big fan of the first game but in Riptide, I couldn't stand playing the very first level. The wepons feel very weak than in the first Dead Island, the combat if choppy and hard to control, fame rate issues, glitches, and bad narrative. And I personally can not stand it when a persons mouth doesn't even move along with there voice. It brings me out of the mood and just flat out is annoying. This is a big step down from the first. Dead Island 2? No more like Dead Island .5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible!!!

posted by KiNgDel (ROSEDALE, NY) Apr 25, 2013

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

Dear Gamers,
Don't bother wasting your time renting this game! It's glitchy and the graphics are HORRIBLE! It looks like PS2 graphics. While playing the game, I killed a zombie and half his body went through the wall, the other half remained on my side of the wall...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

hi haters

posted by gundam420 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Apr 26, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

please stop trying to get people not rent or buy the game your negative comments are not helping at all if you ask me you all are quite rude and should let someone who hasnt tried the game try it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Surprisingly Fun

posted by chargerbrett (DAYTON, OH) May 2, 2014

Member since Apr 2013

Had a decent plot, tons of weapons, tons of different zombies, tons of side missions. I like this game better than Resident Evil. When you die they don't put you at the beginning of the mission, the zombies keep the amount of damage you inflicted so it's not very frustrating. Great game to rent if you love running around and just killing zombies. Had cool finishing moves showing heads and appendages flying off. Def worth the rent and maybe the buy if you get a hankering for some good zombie killing fun time to time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse